Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 03:41:03 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 [981] 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3006686 times)
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
November 03, 2013, 11:51:53 PM
 #19601

Man i really don't understand you people. All you do is just whine and bitch here on the forums. I wonder what's the actual percentage of KnC customers that are whining because i see the same 10-15 people around out of the ~3000 orders(?). Why should you receive compensation for your own laziness/lack of knowledge of using the RMA system. There is absolutely 0 reason for you to complain like an incapacitated child. If the product you bought is sub-par with what they advertise then grow up and RMA it and in a matter of days you will have your perfect product. In the long term you are losing more than the shipping and the time lost while waiting for the RMA.
Because using the RMA system makes no sense from a financial point of view. You will make more BTC mining with 420GH/s now, than send the miner back in order to mine presumably with 550GH/s in 5-7 days.
I was given an RMA number on 31st and the next day Bitcoinorama was kind enough to give me the 0.98.1 Beta, which healed one of my Jupiters completely, which just shows that there is lack of communication internally between the different departments. While suggest a RMA, when there is a chance for a software fix?
Currently I am 99% convinced that my other Jupiter will be healed too, which makes me wonder why people decide to send boards back. That makes no sense.


Hi Cyper,

I don't know if you have tried this, but after reading the KNC forums, I found a reference to the #kncminer channel on freenode IRC, where some of the orsoc developers tend to hang around. I had a serious problem with my miner that was not resolved by talking to support on the phone, but Henrik (hno) from Orsoc was on the IRC channel and promptly got the problem sorted! My miner was hosted, but perhaps he, or somebody else, mighy be able to fix your problem or at least help troubleshoot. Worth a try, and much more effective than posting here. I don't think anyone from KNC or Orsoc is reading this thread(?)

I hang there quite often and has spoken with hno just yesterday, but he hasn't suggested anything that can fix my 2nd Jupiter.

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510976463
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510976463

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510976463
Reply with quote  #2

1510976463
Report to moderator
1510976463
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510976463

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510976463
Reply with quote  #2

1510976463
Report to moderator
1510976463
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510976463

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510976463
Reply with quote  #2

1510976463
Report to moderator
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
November 03, 2013, 11:57:44 PM
 #19602

Tried to raise the temp on the unit that's showing two bad VRMs. Made no difference.

[
And to RoadStress:

    If you have nothing of value to input, please keep that to your self. You don't seem to comprehend the whole situation.

I've asked KnC to issue an RMA LAST TUESDAY. They have not yet replied to me in regards to it. I origianally asked them when I received my unit. They told me to wait for FW 0.9.8, because that would fix it. I emailed them back saying it didn't fix the problem, and they haven't replied yet.
So again, if you don't want to be helpful, please keep it to your self, otherwise you are just one of the "whiners." Stop whining about other people. This is a forum, designed for discussion, what we are doing here is discussing.
to what temp?


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 12:21:09 AM
 #19603

just updated my mercury from .98 to .98.1 and HW errors went from 6.9% to around 1.5%. also, rejected was 3% to 0% now!

definitely a good upgrade. all cores functioning as well. none are off.

UPDATE: been running .98.1 for 30 mins now, hw errors down to 1.1% and dropping. still no duplicate shares!
0.98.1 was intended for those with a dead die; die 0
There is no other difference as far as I know.

thats what i thought too man, but its made a big difference for me!

My Saturn's currently running 0.98 with 1.2% hw errors, and only one core that keeps getting toggled on and off.

cgminer reports a long term average of 283.8Ghps.  Darned near the theoretical maximum of 284.  I'm not gonna touch it.

I must have missed something but where did that theorectical max info come from ? I was wondering what that was.
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 988



View Profile
November 04, 2013, 12:27:36 AM
 #19604

just updated my mercury from .98 to .98.1 and HW errors went from 6.9% to around 1.5%. also, rejected was 3% to 0% now!

definitely a good upgrade. all cores functioning as well. none are off.

UPDATE: been running .98.1 for 30 mins now, hw errors down to 1.1% and dropping. still no duplicate shares!
0.98.1 was intended for those with a dead die; die 0
There is no other difference as far as I know.

thats what i thought too man, but its made a big difference for me!

My Saturn's currently running 0.98 with 1.2% hw errors, and only one core that keeps getting toggled on and off.

cgminer reports a long term average of 283.8Ghps.  Darned near the theoretical maximum of 284.  I'm not gonna touch it.

I must have missed something but where did that theorectical max info come from ? I was wondering what that was.

Basically, each hash module has 192 cores that hash at 750MH/s each, so 144 GH/s per module.

From http://forum.kncminer.com/forum/main-category/hardware/13049-read-me-first-known-issues-slow-performance-dc-dc-problem-bad-core-map-etc :

What kind of performance should I expect from each model?

Each ASIC module is made up up 4 dies, of 48 cores per die, each die connected and powered by unique power and connectivity. See a good picture of the ASIC module here: https://www.kncminer.com/news/news-30

MERCURY

    Made up of (1) ASIC modules, 192 cores
    100% of cores functional, expected performance up to 144GH.
    75% of cores functional, expected performance up to 108GH

SATURN

    Made up of (2) ASIC modules, 384 cores
    100% of cores functional, expected performance up to 288GH.
    75% of cores functional, expected performance up to 216GH

JUPITER

    Made up of (4) ASIC modules, 768 cores
    100% of cores functional, expected performance up to 576GH.
    75% of cores functional, expected performance up to 432GH


Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
DimensionsOfHell
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 12:38:20 AM
 #19605

to what temp?


I got it up to 90c before I put the fan back on. I didn't wanna risk letting get any higher. I know the limit is supposed to be about 105c, but why risk it right?
Anyway, I noticed that when it got to around 90, all the VRMs showed an output of 0A. So I let it cool down, and when it got to about 51c, the two normally working VRMs kicked back in. I let it slowly climb back up by blocking airflow. I noticed when it gets to 75.5c, a third VRM kicks in. Its not until it hits 80c, that the 4th VRM kicks in.

As soon as the 4th VRM kick in, the temps get to 83c, and then every VRM drops back down to 0A.

So from this experiment; I've gotta figure out somehow to keep one of the boards under 55c (thats where it hashes the best, and the other one between 80c - 82c, which is freaking difficult. Just a bit of airflow makes more then 2 degrees of difference.
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 12:42:22 AM
 #19606

to what temp?


I got it up to 90c before I put the fan back on. I didn't wanna risk letting get any higher. I know the limit is supposed to be about 105c, but why risk it right?
Anyway, I noticed that when it got to around 90, all the VRMs showed an output of 0A. So I let it cool down, and when it got to about 51c, the two normally working VRMs kicked back in. I let it slowly climb back up by blocking airflow. I noticed when it gets to 75.5c, a third VRM kicks in. Its not until it hits 80c, that the 4th VRM kicks in.

As soon as the 4th VRM kick in, the temps get to 83c, and then every VRM drops back down to 0A.

So from this experiment; I've gotta figure out somehow to keep one of the boards under 55c (thats where it hashes the best, and the other one between 80c - 82c, which is freaking difficult. Just a bit of airflow makes more then 2 degrees of difference.
Roger that... 80 should have been enough I would think...


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
November 04, 2013, 12:44:03 AM
 #19607

to what temp?


I got it up to 90c before I put the fan back on. I didn't wanna risk letting get any higher. I know the limit is supposed to be about 105c, but why risk it right?
Anyway, I noticed that when it got to around 90, all the VRMs showed an output of 0A. So I let it cool down, and when it got to about 51c, the two normally working VRMs kicked back in. I let it slowly climb back up by blocking airflow. I noticed when it gets to 75.5c, a third VRM kicks in. Its not until it hits 80c, that the 4th VRM kicks in.

As soon as the 4th VRM kick in, the temps get to 83c, and then every VRM drops back down to 0A.

So from this experiment; I've gotta figure out somehow to keep one of the boards under 55c (thats where it hashes the best, and the other one between 80c - 82c, which is freaking difficult. Just a bit of airflow makes more then 2 degrees of difference.

I would suggest waiting for the next firmware, which should hopefully fix all problems.
I mean we shouldn't make our own fixes, right?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 12:47:10 AM
 #19608

just updated my mercury from .98 to .98.1 and HW errors went from 6.9% to around 1.5%. also, rejected was 3% to 0% now!

definitely a good upgrade. all cores functioning as well. none are off.

UPDATE: been running .98.1 for 30 mins now, hw errors down to 1.1% and dropping. still no duplicate shares!
0.98.1 was intended for those with a dead die; die 0
There is no other difference as far as I know.

thats what i thought too man, but its made a big difference for me!

My Saturn's currently running 0.98 with 1.2% hw errors, and only one core that keeps getting toggled on and off.

cgminer reports a long term average of 283.8Ghps.  Darned near the theoretical maximum of 284.  I'm not gonna touch it.

I must have missed something but where did that theorectical max info come from ? I was wondering what that was.

Basically, each hash module has 192 cores that hash at 750MH/s each, so 144 GH/s per module.

From http://forum.kncminer.com/forum/main-category/hardware/13049-read-me-first-known-issues-slow-performance-dc-dc-problem-bad-core-map-etc :

What kind of performance should I expect from each model?

Each ASIC module is made up up 4 dies, of 48 cores per die, each die connected and powered by unique power and connectivity. See a good picture of the ASIC module here: https://www.kncminer.com/news/news-30

MERCURY

    Made up of (1) ASIC modules, 192 cores
    100% of cores functional, expected performance up to 144GH.
    75% of cores functional, expected performance up to 108GH

SATURN

    Made up of (2) ASIC modules, 384 cores
    100% of cores functional, expected performance up to 288GH.
    75% of cores functional, expected performance up to 216GH

JUPITER

    Made up of (4) ASIC modules, 768 cores
    100% of cores functional, expected performance up to 576GH.
    75% of cores functional, expected performance up to 432GH



Cheers mate. Smiley I did miss that.
Mine a hair off that 142-143Gh  . 39 degrees.
Been lucky Smiley
Meizirkki
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
November 04, 2013, 12:58:46 AM
 #19609

In KnC were smart they'd have shipped the boxes 400Gh as promised and later provide an overclocking FW for everyone to play with. This way they'd never had to do RMA on all the slightly underperforming units  Grin
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 01:00:14 AM
 #19610

Well, this time 'round, I decided to try just 0.98, straight up...

There went the "Theoretical limit"...
Oyeah.


Just kidding... thats the first 5 mins, they always go back to 283, 284, 283


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 01:04:59 AM
 #19611

In KnC were smart they'd have shipped the boxes 400Gh as promised and later provide an overclocking FW for everyone to play with. This way they'd never had to do RMA on all the slightly underperforming units  Grin


Too busy bragging about what ORSOC did. It pains me to call these things KNC when the lion's share of what KNC did, they did badly and ORSOC actually were the ones delivering the goods.

They did miss a trick there, and compounded that by not being able to update the specs on their site too.
A cock crows on it's own dunghill as my granny used to say.
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 01:07:50 AM
 #19612

Well, this time 'round, I decided to try just 0.98, straight up...

There went the "Theoretical limit"...
Oyeah.

Where? 288 is the theoretical limit.
Not to mention all the messing you've been doing probably reduced the ave hash rate over time by some margin Wink
edgar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 01:14:03 AM
 #19613

showing the immediate ratings after reflashing is hardly 'BOOM, PoW' Etc

you know full well that these rates will fluctuate, so why go ON & ON & ON & ON?

do you really want to show you have the bestest in the barn 15 times a week, only to have to review the 'new truth' 15 more times.

you and feedback loop would do us all a great service by giving it a rest.. even a short one...

BooMM!!
FeedbackLoop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
November 04, 2013, 01:30:35 AM
 #19614

showing the immediate ratings after reflashing is hardly 'BOOM, PoW' Etc

you know full well that these rates will fluctuate, so why go ON & ON & ON & ON?

do you really want to show you have the bestest in the barn 15 times a week, only to have to review the 'new truth' 15 more times.

you and feedback loop would do us all a great service by giving it a rest.. even a short one...

BooMM!!

Nice way to squeeze Feedbackloop there for a well timed cheap shot dipshit!

Feedbackloop has barely been posting stats. I understand that you need to mix accusations there to actually get some flame going my way though. The only thing I have been posting way too much these two days are replies to useless trolls like you. And you are not even a good one. Go flame the newbie forum.


i removed an external room fan and raised GH/s by 0.8.

 'BOOM, PoW' Etc
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Tips for help? 1BzbfMHCrTeLjc7eCGrYVhH3QXSRodSuke


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 02:06:55 AM
 #19615

to what temp?


I got it up to 90c before I put the fan back on. I didn't wanna risk letting get any higher. I know the limit is supposed to be about 105c, but why risk it right?
Anyway, I noticed that when it got to around 90, all the VRMs showed an output of 0A. So I let it cool down, and when it got to about 51c, the two normally working VRMs kicked back in. I let it slowly climb back up by blocking airflow. I noticed when it gets to 75.5c, a third VRM kicks in. Its not until it hits 80c, that the 4th VRM kicks in.

As soon as the 4th VRM kick in, the temps get to 83c, and then every VRM drops back down to 0A.

So from this experiment; I've gotta figure out somehow to keep one of the boards under 55c (thats where it hashes the best, and the other one between 80c - 82c, which is freaking difficult. Just a bit of airflow makes more then 2 degrees of difference.

you did check for the plastic between the heatsink was taken off right..if not you should see clear piece of plastic if you look close over the edges of the heatsink/chip area?

i'm running my unit all my stuff is like below 42c with 1 20c and 1 32c other 2 now at 42c...i'm in a winter coming basement kinda thing with low humidity

cover off fans in front blowing crosswise

anyway just in case someone missed the memo on the plastic being left on heatsink and not peeled off before thermal grease added..easy fix....take off plastic re apply some new thermal paste *unsure of best one*

hope it helps all I got

Searing

       ▀
   ▄▄▄   ▄▀
   ███ ▄▄▄▄  ██
       ████
    ▄  ▀▀▀▀
▄▄
      ██    ▀▀
██▄█▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀███▀▀▀
██████████████████
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███▀▀▀▀▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███ ▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀████████
▀█████████████████
]
CoinPayments
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
DimensionsOfHell
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 02:13:16 AM
 #19616

Okay... update...

After two hours of messing about... I got the board that needs to be hot at a stable 73c, but it now shows 'FAULT' on one of the VRMs.
Even with the fault, the miner is showing 260GH/s average on CGMINER and 244GH/s on the pools side, both of which are slowly climbing. My 5s averages at around 271gh/s - 302gh/s.
I'm much happier with the speed now, but worried about that 'FAULT' on one of the VRMs.

What do you guys think?

Also, my Device Rejected rate and Pool Rejected rate has shot up from around 0.27% to now over 5%.




EDIT: Thanks Searing for the suggestion, but that is the first thing I did when I got my Miner. Keeping the temp cool isn't my problem. My problem was to actually heat it up. My miner normally ran at around 45c on one board, ad 48c on the other board. Now I have them at 65.5c on one board, and 73.5c on the other board. Never seen it run better then now. Just hoping to keep that stable.
FeedbackLoop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
November 04, 2013, 02:32:17 AM
 #19617

Okay... update...

After two hours of messing about... I got the board that needs to be hot at a stable 73c, but it now shows 'FAULT' on one of the VRMs.
Even with the fault, the miner is showing 260GH/s average on CGMINER and 244GH/s on the pools side, both of which are slowly climbing. My 5s averages at around 271gh/s - 302gh/s.
I'm much happier with the speed now, but worried about that 'FAULT' on one of the VRMs.

What do you guys think?

Also, my Device Rejected rate and Pool Rejected rate has shot up from around 0.27% to now over 5%.

http://i.imgur.com/kYxaZxSl.jpg

EDIT: Thanks Searing for the suggestion, but that is the first thing I did when I got my Miner. Keeping the temp cool isn't my problem. My problem was to actually heat it up. My miner normally ran at around 45c on one board, ad 48c on the other board. Now I have them at 65.5c on one board, and 73.5c on the other board. Never seen it run better then now. Just hoping to keep that stable.

For all it's worth:

According to the datasheet (http://www.lineagepower.com/oem/pdf/MDT040A0X.pdf) I would guess FAULT 4 just refers to the "IO Overcurrent" fault on bit 4 of the lower byte on page 20.

We see it at a higher current than it's brothers in the same board. Maybe a tiny improvised cooler on just that vrm to make it go away? Copper coins? Old motherboard coolers? Pray for no magic smoke?

edgar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 02:59:55 AM
 #19618

keep trying to up your game mouthpiece, your diversionary tactics don't go un-noticed. Nor your stalking..

now you are 'we' ?

Pray for you to give it a rest like you said you would, about 4 times.


Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 03:08:33 AM
 #19619

just updated my mercury from .98 to .98.1 and HW errors went from 6.9% to around 1.5%. also, rejected was 3% to 0% now!

definitely a good upgrade. all cores functioning as well. none are off.

UPDATE: been running .98.1 for 30 mins now, hw errors down to 1.1% and dropping. still no duplicate shares!
0.98.1 was intended for those with a dead die; die 0
There is no other difference as far as I know.

thats what i thought too man, but its made a big difference for me!

My Saturn's currently running 0.98 with 1.2% hw errors, and only one core that keeps getting toggled on and off.

cgminer reports a long term average of 283.8Ghps.  Darned near the theoretical maximum of 284.  I'm not gonna touch it.

I must have missed something but where did that theorectical max info come from ? I was wondering what that was.

Basically, each hash module has 192 cores that hash at 750MH/s each, so 144 GH/s per module.

Oops, I mathed wrong.

On top of that, I jinxed myself posting that.  Shortly after, the unit crashed in some way where it became inaccessible IP-wise.

Mercifully, off-then-on-again was all it took to make it happy again.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
edgar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


View Profile
November 04, 2013, 03:21:42 AM
 #19620

Bizarrely mine did the same thing...

Recovered immediately at 702Gh/s   for about 3 seconds.

'Pow'..etc
Pages: « 1 ... 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 [981] 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!