Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 04:58:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 [923] 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3011628 times)
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:11:21 PM
 #18441

ps, even at the server it is showing improved hash rate....thanks phoenix1969.

I also, what I noticed the with the increased heat the output current has increased...which is what I suspect as a culprit for some miners, or rather a low output is indicative of a problem.

But now with the temp rise, what has happened, the chip with disabled cores is down to just 1 disabled...
you are mighty welcome


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
1511369921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511369921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511369921
Reply with quote  #2

1511369921
Report to moderator
I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES I HA(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ TABLES I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511369921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511369921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511369921
Reply with quote  #2

1511369921
Report to moderator
1511369921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511369921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511369921
Reply with quote  #2

1511369921
Report to moderator
1511369921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511369921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511369921
Reply with quote  #2

1511369921
Report to moderator
texaslabrat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:15:21 PM
 #18442

ps, even at the server it is showing improved hash rate....thanks phoenix1969.

I also, what I noticed the with the increased heat the output current has increased...which is what I suspect as a culprit for some miners, or rather a low output is indicative of a problem.

But now with the temp rise, what has happened, the chip with disabled cores is down to just 1 disabled...

I've been tracking a similar line of evidence for the last couple of days through my experiments with BFGMiner and various firmware levels.  My theory is that on my underperforming board (and probably many others' out there) the issue is cracked solder ball joints due to the shipment of the machines with the heatsinks attached (soy, among others, have surmised the same so I'm not taking full credit on this idea).  All the jostling enroute flexed the boards causing the solder defects.  The higher temperatures allow some thermal expansion of the solder which might temporarily "glue" back together the microfractures allowing better connectivity.  The fact that the solder is also a bit softer at those temperatures may aid in that.  I'm not an industrial electronics engineer so maybe I'm talking out of my ass here, but that's the best explanation I can come up with so far.

That also means that it *might* be possible to repair the boards with the (in)famous cook-the-pcb-in-the-oven trick.

timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:26:38 PM
 #18443

ps, even at the server it is showing improved hash rate....thanks phoenix1969.

I also, what I noticed the with the increased heat the output current has increased...which is what I suspect as a culprit for some miners, or rather a low output is indicative of a problem.

But now with the temp rise, what has happened, the chip with disabled cores is down to just 1 disabled...

I've been tracking a similar line of evidence for the last couple of days through my experiments with BFGMiner and various firmware levels.  My theory is that on my underperforming board (and probably many others' out there) the issue is cracked solder ball joints due to the shipment of the machines with the heatsinks attached (soy, among others, have surmised the same so I'm not taking full credit on this idea).  All the jostling enroute flexed the boards causing the solder defects.  The higher temperatures allow some thermal expansion of the solder which might temporarily "glue" back together the microfractures allowing better connectivity.  The fact that the solder is also a bit softer at those temperatures may aid in that.  I'm not an industrial electronics engineer so maybe I'm talking out of my ass here, but that's the best explanation I can come up with so far.

That also means that it *might* be possible to repair the boards with the (in)famous cook-the-pcb-in-the-oven trick.



If that's true it's down to KNC badly packing them again, not supporting the heatsinks in transit.
DimensionsOfHell
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:27:32 PM
 #18444

I know it's been discussed a few time about Putty, but I don't know ANYTHING about it, or the basics of SSH. I tried to enter the Saturn with Putty, but it's telling me ""Network error: Connection refused"

Anyone can offer some help? Or is there a specific post regarding SHH for KnCMiners?



Also, my Saturn came with the rear two slots populated instead of the front two (right behind the fan), anyone else that? I thought they would be right behind the fans in the front for better cooling.

texaslabrat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:30:19 PM
 #18445

I know it's been discussed a few time about Putty, but I don't know ANYTHING about it, or the basics of SSH. I tried to enter the Saturn with Putty, but it's telling me ""Network error: Connection refused"

Anyone can offer some help? Or is there a specific post regarding SHH for KnCMiners?



Also, my Saturn came with the rear two slots populated instead of the front two (right behind the fan), anyone else that? I thought they would be right behind the fans in the front for better cooling.



You have to enable ssh from the web gui initially

Also it's interesting that you seem to have a six-socket controller board.  I think most of us have been shipped 4-socket boards with the remaining 2 having empty surface mount points.
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:31:17 PM
 #18446

KNC miner received!

Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
markm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 08:32:10 PM
 #18447

Also though the ssh might not ship with the same username/password combo as the web interface's admin/admin combo, as I could not log into mine using ssh even after enabling ssh...

-MarkM-

Browser-launched Crossfire client now online (select CrossCiv server for Galactic  Milieu)
Free website hosting with PHP, MySQL etc: http://hosting.knotwork.com/
texaslabrat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:35:32 PM
 #18448

Also though the ssh might not ship with the same username/password combo as the web interface's admin/admin combo, as I could not log into mine using ssh even after enabling ssh...

-MarkM-


The username for the webgui is "admin" and the username for ssh is "root"...both have a default password of "admin"  (it's in the online manual posted in the support section of knc site btw)
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:35:39 PM
 #18449

what other tricks can i try on this slo sat now...it was one of the faster ones...lol


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
DimensionsOfHell
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:41:19 PM
 #18450



You have to enable ssh from the web gui initially

Also it's interesting that you seem to have a six-socket controller board.  I think most of us have been shipped 4-socket boards with the remaining 2 having empty surface mount points.
[/quote]

Well I feel a bit stupid now. I enabled "CGMiner Remote Management Enabled" and thought that would be it. Thank you. Now my other problem is it won't let me type anything in the password field. It asks for login as I put admin, but when it asks for the password, it won't let me type anything.

Ugh. Why don't KnC just show everything on their interface? -_-'

I think it came with FW 0.95. I'll try updating it to 0.97 and see how things go. I'm only getting 132GH/s at the BTC pool, and it's been almost an hour now.
texaslabrat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:42:44 PM
 #18451



You have to enable ssh from the web gui initially

Also it's interesting that you seem to have a six-socket controller board.  I think most of us have been shipped 4-socket boards with the remaining 2 having empty surface mount points.

Quote
Well I feel a bit stupid now. I enabled "CGMiner Remote Management Enabled" and thought that would be it. Thank you. Now my other problem is it won't let me type anything in the password field. It asks for login as I put admin, but when it asks for the password, it won't let me type anything.

Ugh. Why don't KnC just show everything on their interface? -_-'

I think it came with FW 0.95. I'll try updating it to 0.97 and see how things go. I'm only getting 132GH/s at the BTC pool, and it's been almost an hour now.

it's normal for the password not to show as you are typing it..it's a security feature of Unix and Unix-like systems.  Just type "admin" and hit enter when prompted for the password.

As for "why don't they show everything in the interface"...ssh allows full unfettered access to the entire operating system.  It's kind of hard to do that from a web gui.  If you aren't comfortable with the linux cli..I wouldn't recommend you go poking around in there.
seanrarey
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


BuyAnythingWithBitcoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 08:43:50 PM
 #18452

My Saturn got delivered 3 hours ago at home, and I'm stuck here at work Sad ... I can feel all the BTCBTCBTC walking away from my wallet every minute that passes... d.day (difficulty change) is today (approx. 8 hours from now). This sucks. Hope I don't run into any problems with the miner.

Sudden stomach flu.

must..... rush..... home..... NOW!

Wink

DimensionsOfHell
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:47:56 PM
 #18453


it's normal for the password not to show as you are typing it..it's a security feature of Unix and Unix-like systems.  Just type "admin" and hit enter when prompted for the password.

As for "why don't they show everything in the interface"...ssh allows full unfettered access to the entire operating system.  It's kind of hard to do that from a web gui.  If you aren't comfortable with the linux cli..I wouldn't recommend you go poking around in there.


I tried both root and admin for username, and admin as password, but nothing works. It just tells me Access Denied. When I start to type the password, the courser doesn't even move. I don't think it's letting me type it in at all.
texaslabrat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:51:54 PM
 #18454

Quote

it's normal for the password not to show as you are typing it..it's a security feature of Unix and Unix-like systems.  Just type "admin" and hit enter when prompted for the password.

As for "why don't they show everything in the interface"...ssh allows full unfettered access to the entire operating system.  It's kind of hard to do that from a web gui.  If you aren't comfortable with the linux cli..I wouldn't recommend you go poking around in there.


I tried both root and admin for username, and admin as password, but nothing works. It just tells me Access Denied. When I start to type the password, the courser doesn't even move. I don't think it's letting me type it in at all.

The cursor isn't supposed to move.  But don't know what to tell you otherwise.  Have you changed the password of the webgui?  I believe the system-level password (ie ssh) is sync'd with that.
gateway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2013, 08:52:19 PM
 #18455

fyi..

Current Blocks: 266049 | Current Difficulty: 267731249.48242 | Next Difficulty At Block: 266111 | Next Difficulty In: 62 blocks | Next Difficulty In About: 6 hours, 34 minutes, and 44 seconds | Next Difficulty Estimate: 388489950.99321624 | Estimated Percent Change: 45.1044477416

timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:58:04 PM
 #18456

fyi..

Current Blocks: 266049 | Current Difficulty: 267731249.48242 | Next Difficulty At Block: 266111 | Next Difficulty In: 62 blocks | Next Difficulty In About: 6 hours, 34 minutes, and 44 seconds | Next Difficulty Estimate: 388489950.99321624 | Estimated Percent Change: 45.1044477416

Can't complain about that, we did it lol

Not great reading for Cointerra and Hashfast folks I imagine though.
il_minatore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265



View Profile
October 25, 2013, 08:59:12 PM
 #18457

whit bertmod I had 1 unit thi CurrentOutput: 0.125 A... a VRM that doesn't work correctly? how can I fix?

thanks
Dreadmand
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24



View Profile
October 25, 2013, 09:00:12 PM
 #18458

somethings up.  I'm fighting with all my machines, someone hates me.
i switched my nonworking machines to eligius, now they work again... .Smiley


What was the pool that makes your miners freak out?
slush...and it was fine before,....huh

Hey Phoenix, I was working fine on Slush but I wanted to try Eligius so I switched. I ran with Eligius for about half a day and noticed I was getting better results with Slush so I switched back. Thats when all hell broke loose. Currently my Saturn will not mine with Slush anymore. I've cleared cache, reinstalled firmwares and nothing. But Eligius works fine, any ideas?
I just had the exact same experience, so...no...im still trying to get this sat up...there is a cold vrm...?...what to do?

Thanks for you input man. It turns out that Slush's pool was down all this time. It is still giving trouble to connect to. I will just stay on Eligius for now
DimensionsOfHell
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 09:02:18 PM
 #18459


The cursor isn't supposed to move.  But don't know what to tell you otherwise.  Have you changed the password of the webgui?  I believe the system-level password (ie ssh) is sync'd with that.

Thank you very much. Yes, I did change the password for the webgui. I think I'm in now. But now what do I do now? Anyone know what command does what? As I've said before, I don't know anything about SSH, or linux for that matter.

Sorry guy for the problems, and the extra posts. Most of you guys are very helpful, so I've gotta ask :-) Thank you all in advance.



Also, now it doesn't seem to be mining. It started off at 38GH/s, then to 23, then to 16, then to 4, now to 2ghs and it all seems to be going to the "other" category on BTCGuild.
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 25, 2013, 09:11:19 PM
 #18460


The cursor isn't supposed to move.  But don't know what to tell you otherwise.  Have you changed the password of the webgui?  I believe the system-level password (ie ssh) is sync'd with that.

Thank you very much. Yes, I did change the password for the webgui. I think I'm in now. But now what do I do now? Anyone know what command does what? As I've said before, I don't know anything about SSH, or linux for that matter.

Sorry guy for the problems, and the extra posts. Most of you guys are very helpful, so I've gotta ask :-) Thank you all in advance.



Also, now it doesn't seem to be mining. It started off at 38GH/s, then to 23, then to 16, then to 4, now to 2ghs and it all seems to be going to the "other" category on BTCGuild.

Can you post a screen shot of the GUI and/or Putty window? Have you updated the firmware to .97 yet ?
Pages: « 1 ... 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 [923] 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!