Bitcoin Forum
February 20, 2019, 10:58:33 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 1099 1100 1101 1102 1103 1104 1105 1106 1107 1108 1109 1110 1111 1112 1113 1114 1115 1116 1117 1118 1119 1120 1121 1122 1123 1124 1125 1126 1127 1128 1129 1130 1131 1132 1133 1134 1135 1136 1137 1138 1139 1140 1141 1142 1143 1144 1145 1146 1147 1148 [1149] 1150 1151 1152 1153 1154 1155 1156 1157 1158 1159 1160 1161 1162 1163 1164 1165 1166 1167 1168 1169 1170 1171 1172 1173 1174 1175 1176 1177 1178 1179 1180 1181 1182 1183 1184 1185 1186 1187 1188 1189 1190 1191 1192 1193 1194 1195 1196 1197 1198 1199 ... 2139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3039472 times)
monsieur
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10

knc-shill-wannabe


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:25:32 PM
 #22961


just to inform u that there is something going on with Nov. batch...  Smiley

my Status (ordernumber 85xx) has changed from 'payed' to 'in progress'.

Thats the best news all week Smiley

My order still just shows "paid" order 93xx

so next week + 2 PH? Interesting..

I am scared. Will November customers please show respect to us October customers and not start hashing for a while once you get your units.

I thought you said you only had a USB erupter?

No, back then I meant KNC should help those newbie miners who are being introduced to bitcoin with Erupters by delaying November orders. I am a Saturn October customer (then upgraded to 5-unit machine). I also did a preorder of November, but was dumb enough to cancel it. So the only way for me not to feel too bad about this cancellation is if November units are delayed  Tongue
1550703513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550703513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550703513
Reply with quote  #2

1550703513
Report to moderator
1550703513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550703513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550703513
Reply with quote  #2

1550703513
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550703513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550703513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550703513
Reply with quote  #2

1550703513
Report to moderator
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:30:26 PM
 #22962



Thanks guys.  That is a little disheartening.  Efficiency is really going to be key going forward.  Midsize miners will need lots of hashrate with minimal electric use to stay competitive.

no it is meaningless here.

I did the math in another thread but if it costs $100 electricity to run 2 jupiters and right now 2 jupiters will get you about ~25 BTC the next 30 days it doesn't matter if that power bill is $50, $100 or $300 compared to 25x$800=$20,000

so perhaps you could save $50 per month the next 6 months with some other lower power cost (vaporware) miner?  $300 over 6 months vs $XXX,XXX Huh

Just make sure you keep your KNC miners running as close to 24/7 and all chips hashing as much as possible and enjoy the extra heat if it is winter in your area

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
warhawk187
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:32:24 PM
 #22963

I got an attack of the network lags after upgrading to 0.99  Angry

Downgrading didn't help, powering down, restarting and rebooting didn't help. Even with cgminer not running ping times can take up to 2 seconds. SSH'ing in is excruciatingly slow. One time I couldn't even ssh in until I restarted it again. I just barely got it mining again. I saw others had gremlins that went away, but I can't seem to find any way to repair it.

I would try a different ethernet cable and/or switch.


I have a 4th module that was working a couple days ago, that now refuses to kick on. I haven't tried heating up much and have tried alternating ports and running enablecores and still nothing. Warming it up is my next option but does anyone have a proven method on getting a Die to come back? I had 2 not detected and managed to find ports where 3 'liked' being plugged into. But I have not eliminated all the combinations yet because I don't know if I should be power cycling these so frequently.

Flashing to 0.91 worked to get it to detect all 4 cores at one point, but haven't had luck since.

Have you checked the power cable or tried a different one?

You mean the blue PCI-E cable? I tried connecting it to different PCI-E connections with my PSU (1050W XFX Gold) I have tried different ports and still nothing. I will try to get it a little warm next.

Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:35:19 PM
 #22964

I have a 4th module that was working a couple days ago, that now refuses to kick on. I haven't tried heating up much and have tried alternating ports and running enablecores and still nothing. Warming it up is my next option but does anyone have a proven method on getting a Die to come back? I had 2 not detected and managed to find ports where 3 'liked' being plugged into. But I have not eliminated all the combinations yet because I don't know if I should be power cycling these so frequently.

Flashing to 0.91 worked to get it to detect all 4 cores at one point, but haven't had luck since.

Have you checked the power cable or tried a different one?

You mean the blue PCI-E cable? I tried connecting it to different PCI-E connections with my PSU (1050W XFX Gold) I have tried different ports and still nothing. I will try to get it a little warm next.

I mean change the blue cable itself for another one, or remove the blue cable altogether and plug the PS cable directly into the module.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:38:26 PM
 #22965

Capitalising on the fact that I saw that dud cores are better disabled, here's an experimental binary that tunes things fairly aggressively:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

First it enables all cores on startup (so it can take a while before it starts mining!)
Then it will disable cores after only 3 hw errors in a row, but staggers disabling of cores 5 seconds apart.
Then it tries re-enabling cores after only another minute, but staggers re-enabling them.
If the cores fail 3 times in a row, they're decommissioned at that point.
Awesome. Thanks, ckolivas.

I'll fire it up now and report back my results after it has a chance to stabilize.


good work..  I suggested something similar eons ago but way before they gave up the keys to the code castle

hopefully the tuning application they are working on will have this ability in it as well (configurable)
this will allow our miners to stay more consistent than the crazy fluctuation


~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:44:44 PM
 #22966


Go back to 0.98.1, it's more reliable for many. Most people abandonded 0.99 as a lame duck.

98.1 beta seems to be the best in my book.. I run that on both of my 5 board Neptunes (or whatever we want to call them)

the newer cgminers are starting to have better features though, so hopefully we will be able to take those and run them on 98.1 beta  (unless there are some new files in .99 that I needs that I am not aware of)

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:47:40 PM
 #22967

more great news for the bitcoin community




What's wrong with the regular condoms?

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
lemonte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:48:02 PM
 #22968





just to inform u that there is something going on with Nov. batch...  Smiley

my Status (ordernumber 85xx) has changed from 'payed' to 'in progress'.

Thats the best news all week Smiley

My order still just shows "paid" order 93xx

Anyone know for certain that production has started ?

RenHoek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 500


*****


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 06:58:11 PM
 #22969





just to inform u that there is something going on with Nov. batch...  Smiley

my Status (ordernumber 85xx) has changed from 'payed' to 'in progress'.

Thats the best news all week Smiley

My order still just shows "paid" order 93xx

Anyone know for certain that production has started ?



knc promissed at farest Tuesday(11-26) as start of Produktion,
what correspond well with the Status change from today, i think!


 Shocked Roll Eyes Smiley Cheesy Grin  Cool

Esst mehr Scheisse, millionen Fliegen können nicht irren!  Cool
For this valueable Tip your ฿ Donation to:
1DNbwKGmQytSY69TuK9fLFQVXQjnVw18pY
kronut
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 07:49:16 PM
 #22970

KNC was on Swedish TV per hno :

http://www.svt.se/nyheter/sverige/svenskt-bolag-i-centrum-for-bitcoin-utvecklingen

4th picture has their video.
fubly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 549
Merit: 501


Trustless IceColdWallet


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 08:00:01 PM
 #22971


Go back to 0.98.1, it's more reliable for many. Most people abandonded 0.99 as a lame duck.

98.1 beta seems to be the best in my book.. I run that on both of my 5 board Neptunes (or whatever we want to call them)

the newer cgminers are starting to have better features though, so hopefully we will be able to take those and run them on 98.1 beta  (unless there are some new files in .99 that I needs that I am not aware of)

The file waas is new, i thing it does nearly the same what the old wasd does,
but i have no knowledge, which files handles this in fw 0.99.

We have to wait for the tuning suite, I think it will do this what happened with our RMA boards.

Reprogramm the eeproms on it.

each time you send a transaction don't forget to use a new address, each time you receive one also!
soapmodem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 08:26:16 PM
 #22972

Capitalising on the fact that I saw that dud cores are better disabled, here's an experimental binary that tunes things fairly aggressively:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

First it enables all cores on startup (so it can take a while before it starts mining!)
Then it will disable cores after only 3 hw errors in a row, but staggers disabling of cores 5 seconds apart.
Then it tries re-enabling cores after only another minute, but staggers re-enabling them.
If the cores fail 3 times in a row, they're decommissioned at that point.



Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2

Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?
That's probably a temporary thing 'till the memory leak is isolated Ckilovas is working on.  It most likely stops the leak.  But I could be wrong.....
As I mentioned in the official cgminer thread, the API works just fine, you just have to wait awhile for the new version to boot up due to the enabling of the cores at the beginning. Have a breather and congratulate yourself on making such a wise investment after launching it, and then do the normal 'screen -rd' ... or whatever it is you use.
kslavik
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442
Merit: 250


GET IN - Smart Ticket Protocol - Live in market!


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 08:36:57 PM
 #22973

Capitalising on the fact that I saw that dud cores are better disabled, here's an experimental binary that tunes things fairly aggressively:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

First it enables all cores on startup (so it can take a while before it starts mining!)
Then it will disable cores after only 3 hw errors in a row, but staggers disabling of cores 5 seconds apart.
Then it tries re-enabling cores after only another minute, but staggers re-enabling them.
If the cores fail 3 times in a row, they're decommissioned at that point.



Seems like API is disabled in this version with the following message:
Invalid command
cgminer 3.8.2

Was it done on purpose? Can we get it back, please?
That's probably a temporary thing 'till the memory leak is isolated Ckilovas is working on.  It most likely stops the leak.  But I could be wrong.....
As I mentioned in the official cgminer thread, the API works just fine, you just have to wait awhile for the new version to boot up due to the enabling of the cores at the beginning. Have a breather and congratulate yourself on making such a wise investment after launching it, and then do the normal 'screen -rd' ... or whatever it is you use.

I'm pretty sure that API is NOT working, I'm running it for 3.8.2 for 2 hours already and even though I can see stats from Knc Miner webpage, I get this response from the cgminer API itself (i'm using 3rd party tool to connect to api): ..."Status":"E","Msg":"Invalid command". This response is an API response. So, it seems that most of the API commands were disabled. Version of cgminer 3.8.1 works just fine.


               ████
             ███  ███
           ████     ███
         ███  ███    ███
       ████     ███    ███
     ███  ███     ███    ███
   ████     ███     ███   ██
 ███  ███     █████████████████
███     ███     ███           ██
 ███      ███     ██          ██
   ███      ██████████      ███
     ███      ██████      ███
       ███      ██      ███
         ███          ███
           ███      ███
             ███  ███
               ████

GUTS
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
smart-ticket protocol for events
live product with market traction!
    ███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   
  BTC ANN
  WEBSITE
  BLOG
   
  SANDBOX
  WHITEPAPER
  BOUNTY
   
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1000


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 08:37:49 PM
 #22974



Thanks guys.  That is a little disheartening.  Efficiency is really going to be key going forward.  Midsize miners will need lots of hashrate with minimal electric use to stay competitive.

no it is meaningless here.

I did the math in another thread but if it costs $100 electricity to run 2 jupiters and right now 2 jupiters will get you about ~25 BTC the next 30 days it doesn't matter if that power bill is $50, $100 or $300 compared to 25x$800=$20,000

so perhaps you could save $50 per month the next 6 months with some other lower power cost (vaporware) miner?  $300 over 6 months vs $XXX,XXX Huh

Just make sure you keep your KNC miners running as close to 24/7 and all chips hashing as much as possible and enjoy the extra heat if it is winter in your area

Your math may be right but it disregards that the vast increase in BTC price is also going to bring about large increases in hashrate/difficulty with all the new 'get rich quick' thinking miners.  I personally have been asked about setting up BTC mines from 4 different people this week, it is just insane.  This is why efficiency gains are important to me because I certainly cannot get much cheaper electric where I live.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 09:11:55 PM
 #22975



Your math may be right but it disregards that the vast increase in BTC price is also going to bring about large increases in hashrate/difficulty with all the new 'get rich quick' thinking miners.  I personally have been asked about setting up BTC mines from 4 different people this week, it is just insane.  This is why efficiency gains are important to me because I certainly cannot get much cheaper electric where I live.

I understand but just saying unless the miners become really cheap and only produce small amounts of BTC each month then it isn't a focus point.  You will make the lion share by picking the right horse (delivery when they promised)

late gen 2 I agree with you, but if you picked the right gen 2 (KNC) you can ride that out and plan for the first gen 3's (if you wish to continue mining)


you are at the end of the current cycle if power costs are a major factor in purchasing.


~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 09:47:11 PM
 #22976





just to inform u that there is something going on with Nov. batch...  Smiley

my Status (ordernumber 85xx) has changed from 'payed' to 'in progress'.

Thats the best news all week Smiley

My order still just shows "paid" order 93xx

Anyone know for certain that production has started ?

Channel topic from #kncminer on FreeNode IRC, set by hno, a KnC emlpoyee: "November shipment in full production"

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 09:55:04 PM
 #22977

Capitalising on the fact that I saw that dud cores are better disabled, here's an experimental binary that tunes things fairly aggressively:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

First it enables all cores on startup (so it can take a while before it starts mining!)
Then it will disable cores after only 3 hw errors in a row, but staggers disabling of cores 5 seconds apart.
Then it tries re-enabling cores after only another minute, but staggers re-enabling them.
If the cores fail 3 times in a row, they're decommissioned at that point.


Update

Here is that last binary without the experimental tuning for those that requested it:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer

I've renamed the experimental one. Here is an updated one with more tweaks to the tuning (does not delay before disabling):
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/kncminer/cgminer-tune
(Be patient before deciding what its performance is like since it takes many minutes to stabilise)

I did nothing to the API that wasn't in the previous binary. The most likely thing if it's not working is either you changed your api allow commands, or there were two cgminer binaries running at once and one was holding onto the port while it was shutting down, not allowing the new binary to bind to the port.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
lemonte
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 11:08:09 PM
Last edit: November 23, 2013, 11:19:21 PM by lemonte
 #22978

Is this going to be OK?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/EVGA-Supernova-1300W-Modular-Supply/dp/B00E9I2BYM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1384622838&sr=8-1&keywords=EVGA+G2+1300w#productDetails


I am a PSU short and don't get paid until Thursday so can't go with the Coolmaster.

demonmaestro
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


Mining for the hell of it.


View Profile
November 23, 2013, 11:16:01 PM
 #22979

Could someone help me out here. I am running .99 firmware and if i shut the miner down and bring it back up it will run about 140GH/s for a few hours then go down to 100gh/s It is a mercury but i am wondering why this is happening.

A fun ShoutBox. http://shoutscloud.com | Feel Like Donating? 1E1tJhAHVLCyw58pN7jXSFMLMrK6cDhw8v
Buy/Sell BitCoin & LiteCoin  Click here! | Looking for a great exchange? CoinBase Has you covered.
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 23, 2013, 11:21:35 PM
 #22980

Is this going to be OK?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/EVGA-Supernova-1300W-Modular-Supply/dp/B00E9I2BYM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1384622838&sr=8-1&keywords=EVGA+G2+1300w#productDetails


I am a PSU short and don't get paid until Thursday so can't go with the Coolmaster.


those are heavy on the amps so make sure you have enough and nothing else on that line (since you are in UK, I have no clue on your situation) check the full product specs on the PSU's main site

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
Pages: « 1 ... 1099 1100 1101 1102 1103 1104 1105 1106 1107 1108 1109 1110 1111 1112 1113 1114 1115 1116 1117 1118 1119 1120 1121 1122 1123 1124 1125 1126 1127 1128 1129 1130 1131 1132 1133 1134 1135 1136 1137 1138 1139 1140 1141 1142 1143 1144 1145 1146 1147 1148 [1149] 1150 1151 1152 1153 1154 1155 1156 1157 1158 1159 1160 1161 1162 1163 1164 1165 1166 1167 1168 1169 1170 1171 1172 1173 1174 1175 1176 1177 1178 1179 1180 1181 1182 1183 1184 1185 1186 1187 1188 1189 1190 1191 1192 1193 1194 1195 1196 1197 1198 1199 ... 2139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!