Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2018, 04:36:38 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 [458] 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 ... 1145 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [4+ EH] Slush Pool (slushpool.com); Overt AsicBoost; World First Mining Pool  (Read 4341912 times)
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 684
Merit: 501


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 07:40:13 PM
 #9141

So if Slush can't find a way to fix his pool even when he knows it has issues

Have you ever tried to find someone to take care for something very specific, which only you know? Guess what it take longer than for yourself to fix it. If he can't trust his (ex) hosting provider (OVH) how do you expect he can give to someone all the passwords/keys and etc for the pool?

Pool was working on the wrong block for x amount of time for y blocks. Block could be found in x*y amount of time... So in one case it is 100% loss in other could be anywhere from 0% to infinity(but probably average out to 100% long term)...

And this will always be the case for each and every pool ... and once again:

18264   2013-05-28 17:55:43   238386

and from blockchain:

Height   238386 (Main Chain)
Received Time   2013-05-28 17:55:41

We have found it 3 seconds later, but didn't know ... our x time is 3sec and for each and every block and for each and every pool or host on the network there is such time. I would agree if x is 1 minute or so, but come on 3 sec is nothing

Mega Crypto Polis - www.MegaCryptoPolis.com
BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
1537806998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537806998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537806998
Reply with quote  #2

1537806998
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537806998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537806998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537806998
Reply with quote  #2

1537806998
Report to moderator
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 08:16:51 PM
 #9142

So if Slush can't find a way to fix his pool even when he knows it has issues

Have you ever tried to find someone to take care for something very specific, which only you know? Guess what it take longer than for yourself to fix it. If he can't trust his (ex) hosting provider (OVH) how do you expect he can give to someone all the passwords/keys and etc for the pool?

Pool was working on the wrong block for x amount of time for y blocks. Block could be found in x*y amount of time... So in one case it is 100% loss in other could be anywhere from 0% to infinity(but probably average out to 100% long term)...

And this will always be the case for each and every pool ... and once again:

18264   2013-05-28 17:55:43   238386

and from blockchain:

Height   238386 (Main Chain)
Received Time   2013-05-28 17:55:41

We have found it 3 seconds later, but didn't know ... our x time is 3sec and for each and every block and for each and every pool or host on the network there is such time. I would agree if x is 1 minute or so, but come on 3 sec is nothing
Well that is bad planing... You have to have a backup plan... Or find one asap or 30 days. It is 1300$ per day he is not monitoring... For that money I would have a plan what to do in case that I would have to be with my parents that are on death bed. But then again I would also have time to look at my 1300$ moneymaker... So I really have no idea what Slush problems can be that he can't do anything... He was always able to fix it and protect his pool.

Invalids again? OK last time we figure it out when someone posted that data that blockchan info and timestemp doesn't help anything so don't use them as an example... Blockchan receive time can be up to 2 minutes wrong. Look at stratum detected new block in cgminer... Blockchan is not pool. It doesn't need to be updated ASAP... So x can be up to 2 minutes and 3 seconds... And if it would be just one I wouldn't care but there were 2. So just saying everything is fine nothing to see when others pools admins are upgrading there systems to 0.8.2 to remove invalid problem is stupid. But since only Slush can do that it is also pointless to explain what needs to be done to someone who is determent that everything is fine... Even when there are posts from Slush saying yes there is a problem... This is one and as far as I know was not solved since I did see this problem in a log about 4 days ago(look back, I have posted logs since I was told that this can't be). But do fell free to think otherwise.

Also when you are sure that this is fixed can you then please look at the stratums. I think there is also something wrong with them.

I'm experiencing performance problems with some EC2 instances and I'm solving this as well. Sometimes I need to restart pool software on EC2, which causes miners hoping to another IP from DNS roundrobin.
jctusmc03
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 10:09:29 PM
 #9143

If I have 2x 7970's should I be using two different miners on cgminer, or just one?
MisterAnf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 10:10:50 PM
 #9144


OK I have looked at numbers.
.....

And then there are smaller then 14% differences... Complicity normal with your speed and you did gain with them so total difference is only 0,001454909 in your loss(1 good block). So again total normal with one invalid if invalid is normal. But it is some time since I saw last complaint that block didn't fix itself. It was 18264 but since it is invalid that doesn't count...

And now answer the question honestly. At least to yourself. Was this work worth 0,001454909 btc??? Even if you have a ready spreadsheet to calc this?
My bet is - you were loosing money while calculating this. And while you did that, I was at the field flying paraglider. And my miner was mining. I did not loose anything. I gained, then gained indistinguishably little less, then gained again.
Or should I go like " Oh! Slush, you bastard, give me my money back!!! Your pool has stolen $0,002 from me today!!!! AAAA!!!1111" And so on for 300 pages... Really?


I will not.
nottm28
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 10:16:21 PM
 #9145

If I have 2x 7970's should I be using two different miners on cgminer, or just one?

I use just one - easier to maintain

donations not accepted
nottm28
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 10:18:46 PM
 #9146


OK I have looked at numbers.
.....

And then there are smaller then 14% differences... Complicity normal with your speed and you did gain with them so total difference is only 0,001454909 in your loss(1 good block). So again total normal with one invalid if invalid is normal. But it is some time since I saw last complaint that block didn't fix itself. It was 18264 but since it is invalid that doesn't count...

And now answer the question honestly. At least to yourself. Was this work worth 0,001454909 btc??? Even if you have a ready spreadsheet to calc this?
My bet is - you were loosing money while calculating this. And while you did that, I was at the field flying paraglider. And my miner was mining. I did not loose anything. I gained, then gained indistinguishably little less, then gained again.
Or should I go like " Oh! Slush, you bastard, give me my money back!!! Your pool has stolen $0,002 from me today!!!! AAAA!!!1111" And so on for 300 pages... Really?

I will not.

Lucko takes some getting used to but I think he's probably not all that bad - just imagine 'your wife moaning that you never help around the house' - but his posts usually have some point... best not to get too wound up about it - this is a friendly pool.

donations not accepted
jctusmc03
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 10:21:32 PM
 #9147

If I have 2x 7970's should I be using two different miners on cgminer, or just one?

I use just one - easier to maintain

Okay, I'm using one now for both so I'll just leave it like it is. Thanks for the info! Smiley
nottm28
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 10:25:32 PM
 #9148

If I have 2x 7970's should I be using two different miners on cgminer, or just one?

I use just one - easier to maintain

Okay, I'm using one now for both so I'll just leave it like it is. Thanks for the info! Smiley

No worries - if you ever need to switch pool it's less files to edit etc.

[EDIT] e.g. pool downtime or serious problems

donations not accepted
gbx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 03:43:28 AM
 #9149

Invalids again? OK last time we figure it out when someone posted that data that blockchan info and timestemp doesn't help anything so don't use them as an example... Blockchan receive time can be up to 2 minutes wrong. Look at stratum detected new block in cgminer... Blockchan is not pool. It doesn't need to be updated ASAP... So x can be up to 2 minutes and 3 seconds... And if it would be just one I wouldn't care but there were 2. So just saying everything is fine nothing to see when others pools admins are upgrading there systems to 0.8.2 to remove invalid problem is stupid. But since only Slush can do that it is also pointless to explain what needs to be done to someone who is determent that everything is fine... Even when there are posts from Slush saying yes there is a problem... This is one and as far as I know was not solved since I did see this problem in a log about 4 days ago(look back, I have posted logs since I was told that this can't be). But do fell free to think otherwise.

I can't believe you're still on this thread trolling and complaining.  I don't click the forum link very often, but when I do, I see Lucko complaining about something...

Slush fixed the invalid problem by proxy of asking a bitcoin-qt developer to fix a bug he encountered.  There are still legitimate invalids..  Two of them!!! (you can count).  It happens, life moves on.  Let me help you with that... because last I checked, you moved on to another pool.
 
I think you bring bad luck anyway.... with all your negative bullshit.
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1000


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2013, 03:53:33 AM
 #9150


I think you bring bad luck anyway.... with all your negative bullshit.

Not how luck works. Except for DrG who is apparently a bad luck lightning rod, or a bad luck strange attractor. Or something.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
fourd00rgtz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 151
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 04:34:56 AM
 #9151

I just realized I haven't found a block in a LONG time(Edit March 10th apparently), guess GPU's really are on the way out. At one point I thought I'd get into the "hall of fame" on slush's page, now up to 26 blocks found and the threshold just keeps going up.

First http://blockchain.info/block/00000000000000b12837c79d74cf0b9b24d18089ad339e954366701fd3d85a33?site=slush
Last http://blockchain.info/block/000000000000003d3c4a73a98774b35c52ec6e67e7ac57dc59d520527c04ca59?site=slush

But I'll keep hashing away until the systems brake or I'm literally making pennies a day.
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 06:21:42 AM
 #9152


OK I have looked at numbers.
.....

And then there are smaller then 14% differences... Complicity normal with your speed and you did gain with them so total difference is only 0,001454909 in your loss(1 good block). So again total normal with one invalid if invalid is normal. But it is some time since I saw last complaint that block didn't fix itself. It was 18264 but since it is invalid that doesn't count...

And now answer the question honestly. At least to yourself. Was this work worth 0,001454909 btc??? Even if you have a ready spreadsheet to calc this?
My bet is - you were loosing money while calculating this. And while you did that, I was at the field flying paraglider. And my miner was mining. I did not loose anything. I gained, then gained indistinguishably little less, then gained again.
Or should I go like " Oh! Slush, you bastard, give me my money back!!! Your pool has stolen $0,002 from me today!!!! AAAA!!!1111" And so on for 300 pages... Really?


I will not.
With yours speed no way. Even in a year you haven't lost anything worth talking about if every day is like that... But since I pushed you into publishing scores it is fair that I also did the work.
gourmet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 06:56:20 AM
 #9153

He did his best up until now and we trusted him! Now he is unable to take much care for the pool, because of more important issues - personal/family.
'Rats leave the sinking ship first' - if you are a rat, then leave. The rest of us (sailors) should trust our captain and keep the ship cut through the waves during storms ... at the end we may just not have rats on board Smiley

+1
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1016



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 07:01:19 AM
 #9154


I think you bring bad luck anyway.... with all your negative bullshit.

Not how luck works. Except for DrG who is apparently a bad luck lightning rod, or a bad luck strange attractor. Or something.


Thanks for those kind words.

Seriously was mining on BTCGuild for more or less the last 2 months.  This past week I was trying out 50BTC and it's PPS system which worked fine for a day and then I think I broke it.  I lost about 12 hours of earnings (easily calculated on PPS).  Seems like the pool was fine until I arrived (although they claim it was their host's server maintenance).

I moved back to BTCGuild (conveniently missing the lovely 1.6x earnings week) and have made 0.6x times earnings for the past 3 days (PPLNS)  Angry

Again taking offers from people who want to "bomb" other luck based pools.  I think my presence on BTCGuild has messed with OoC's charts for future difficulty calculations since I was on BTCGuild which had 40% of the hashrate...

Wonder if I could infiltrate ASICMiner...  Shocked














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
tea420
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 07:31:53 AM
 #9155

hi all,

i was on a trip for some weeks and the first thing i've done was to restart my mining pc. now after the restart the gui miner will not work on slushs pool. every time i start the miner the message appears:
api2.bitcoin.cz:8332....no json object could be decoded. failed to subscribe.io erros - 1, tolerance 2.

my miner was working for the last weeks without an interuption on an ati 7870/win7-300 mhash.

maybe someone have an idea? i'm at work and have no time to read the hole postings since the last 3 weeks.

kind regards, tea

SOLVED

it seems that the solution was to update my bitcoin client to the newest version 0.8.2  Wink
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2013, 07:57:42 AM
 #9156

hi all,

i was on a trip for some weeks and the first thing i've done was to restart my mining pc. now after the restart the gui miner will not work on slushs pool. every time i start the miner the message appears:
api2.bitcoin.cz:8332....no json object could be decoded. failed to subscribe.io erros - 1, tolerance 2.

my miner was working for the last weeks without an interuption on an ati 7870/win7-300 mhash.

maybe someone have an idea? i'm at work and have no time to read the hole postings since the last 3 weeks.

kind regards, tea

SOLVED

it seems that the solution was to update my bitcoin client to the newest version 0.8.2  Wink

port 8332 is for getwork (which is problematic, gets a 10% "penalty" fee, etc, and Slush is trying to get rid of anyways).

Try the proxy - https://mining.bitcoin.cz/mining-proxy-howto
I've been using it for quite a while and it's been very stable. I have all of my miners go through the proxy now.

aurel57
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 07:58:38 AM
 #9157

hi all,

i was on a trip for some weeks and the first thing i've done was to restart my mining pc. now after the restart the gui miner will not work on slushs pool. every time i start the miner the message appears:
api2.bitcoin.cz:8332....no json object could be decoded. failed to subscribe.io erros - 1, tolerance 2.

my miner was working for the last weeks without an interuption on an ati 7870/win7-300 mhash.

maybe someone have an idea? i'm at work and have no time to read the hole postings since the last 3 weeks.

kind regards, tea

SOLVED

it seems that the solution was to update my bitcoin client to the newest version 0.8.2  Wink

 I had same problem

Change your miner from default of slush pool to other, then input stratum.bitcoin.cz and put 3333 instead of 8333 ..that should take care of it make sure to save settings so you don't have to reenter

Tom
MisterAnf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 08:12:37 AM
 #9158


With yours speed no way. Even in a year you haven't lost anything worth talking about if every day is like that... But since I pushed you into publishing scores it is fair that I also did the work.

Is your hashspeed 100x mine?

This was my point ever since. This is why I insist that there is no loss - because to calc it is much more loss. I guess 99% of miners here are around 1,5 - 5Ghash/s and all those issues are nonissues. If those losses are bothersome, consider solo mining...
 
Same with Slush himself I guess. It is more resource optimal to bear with some minor loss and wait over it. There are new bitcoind versions to have. I believe major pool software updates will happen sometime. It`s much more cost effective to just move forward, than to delve into logs and try to find and reproduce bugs that happen for ... how much?

When you are a one-man-army you have to concentrate and focus your efforts on the important stuff, globally important.
And I like situation that we have now much more, than if Slush was replying every single moaner here, while pool`s reliability degraded.
The pool works. It accepts shares and sends out due payments.
Let us celebrate that, please!

  Tongue
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 684
Merit: 501


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 08:55:18 AM
 #9159

Wonder if I could infiltrate ASICMiner...  Shocked

Do it! Buy a share, that should do the trick  Tongue

Just joking btw. If you stay in one place for a long enough it will even out.

Mega Crypto Polis - www.MegaCryptoPolis.com
BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
tea420
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 30, 2013, 09:00:59 AM
 #9160

hi all,

i was on a trip for some weeks and the first thing i've done was to restart my mining pc. now after the restart the gui miner will not work on slushs pool. every time i start the miner the message appears:
api2.bitcoin.cz:8332....no json object could be decoded. failed to subscribe.io erros - 1, tolerance 2.

my miner was working for the last weeks without an interuption on an ati 7870/win7-300 mhash.

maybe someone have an idea? i'm at work and have no time to read the hole postings since the last 3 weeks.

kind regards, tea

SOLVED

it seems that the solution was to update my bitcoin client to the newest version 0.8.2  Wink

 I had same problem

Change your miner from default of slush pool to other, then input stratum.bitcoin.cz and put 3333 instead of 8333 ..that should take care of it make sure to save settings so you don't have to reenter

Tom
thanks for the answers:)

it seems that i was wrong. guiminer dont work^^

@vs3 :
Download official Windows binaries (EXE) or source package for Linux.
Run downloaded file. Console window will appear and proxy automatically connects to the pool. No command-line parameters required.
done
Now just change the URL in your miners from http://api.bitcoin.cz/ to http://localhost:8332/. Miners connect to the proxy using the old protocol, but the proxy talks to the pool by the new one!
how? sorry but i dont know where to add the new adress?


now the guiminer only appears at the taskbar and no more on the desktop when i start it.
Pages: « 1 ... 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 [458] 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 ... 1145 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!