Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 09:47:16 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 [422] 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 ... 1145 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [4+ EH] Slush Pool (slushpool.com); Overt AsicBoost; World First Mining Pool  (Read 4342161 times)
autonomous42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 11:52:31 PM
 #8421

Holy cow -- I've been watching https://blockchain.info/pools for a while today and BTCguild has grown alarmingly fast. They've found 49% of blocks in the past 24 hours. BitMinter and 50BTC have also shrunk dramatically. Has ASICMiner moved all their units over there? I was under the impression they were splitting their prowess over a few different pools to keep things kosher. Maybe they'll make a stop at Slush's Cheesy
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540331236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540331236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540331236
Reply with quote  #2

1540331236
Report to moderator
1540331236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540331236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540331236
Reply with quote  #2

1540331236
Report to moderator
1540331236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540331236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540331236
Reply with quote  #2

1540331236
Report to moderator
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 19, 2013, 12:06:22 AM
 #8422

Holy cow -- I've been watching https://blockchain.info/pools for a while today and BTCguild has grown alarmingly fast. They've found 49% of blocks in the past 24 hours. BitMinter and 50BTC have also shrunk dramatically. Has ASICMiner moved all their units over there? I was under the impression they were splitting their prowess over a few different pools to keep things kosher. Maybe they'll make a stop at Slush's Cheesy

Actually, ASICMINER has about 5 TH/s missing from BTC Guild as of this morning.  Not sure if they're having problems, or perhaps are selling older blades where newer ones are expected to run faster/more efficient.  What you see on blockchain.info is basically nothing more than "which pools got lucky".  BTC Guild has shrunk about 15% in the last 12 hours, yet due to good luck (~40% above expectations) it makes it look like we've grown dramatically instead.

http://blockorigin.pfoe.be is a much better site for pool size checking.  The 24 hours on Blockchain.info's graph is impacted *significantly* by pool luck.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
5120-01-518-6126
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100


< My mining rig >


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 04:10:24 AM
 #8423

Anyone working on client that will connect the upcoming BFL ASICs to Slush's pool?  I have some BFL FPGA's running BitMinter but that doesn't connect to Slush.  Can't get cgminer to run 'em -- error says "need to install USB driver" which has been done -- and I imagine the ASICs will have the same problem.
autonomous42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 04:31:10 AM
 #8424

Anyone working on client that will connect the upcoming BFL ASICs to Slush's pool?  I have some BFL FPGA's running BitMinter but that doesn't connect to Slush.  Can't get cgminer to run 'em -- error says "need to install USB driver" which has been done -- and I imagine the ASICs will have the same problem.

Are you using the latest cgminer version 3.1.1? It has a dedicated readme for ASICs as well as an executable for non-GPU use. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0. There's also bfgminer, which I have read has better ASIC compatibility, but I have no experience using that at all. There is no need for a new miner.
5120-01-518-6126
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100


< My mining rig >


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 05:16:32 AM
 #8425

Anyone working on client that will connect the upcoming BFL ASICs to Slush's pool?  I have some BFL FPGA's running BitMinter but that doesn't connect to Slush.  Can't get cgminer to run 'em -- error says "need to install USB driver" which has been done -- and I imagine the ASICs will have the same problem.

Are you using the latest cgminer version 3.1.1? It has a dedicated readme for ASICs as well as an executable for non-GPU use. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0. There's also bfgminer, which I have read has better ASIC compatibility, but I have no experience using that at all. There is no need for a new miner.

Ah, I see that even though cgminer says that I must load a Windows USB driver, it doesn't work with the Windows USB driver, and really wants me to use libusb instead.  How clever of the coders  Smiley

Hafta reboot to load libusb, but will wait until the current round finishes so I'm not penalized for a disconnect after 2.5+ hours of mining on the gpus.
minerg0d
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 05:39:13 AM
 #8426

As I said several hours back


Not worried about block 18084 - these things seem to fix themselves during confirmation time.


and oh look, it fixed its self.
I don't want to sound annoyed, but it ALWAYS FIXES ITS SELF so STOP your pointless moaning!

Geez..

Amen.
nottm28
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 19, 2013, 09:01:18 AM
 #8427

As I said several hours back


Not worried about block 18084 - these things seem to fix themselves during confirmation time.


and oh look, it fixed its self.
I don't want to sound annoyed, but it ALWAYS FIXES ITS SELF so STOP your pointless moaning!

Geez..

Amen.

Hey, is there something wrong with round 12345? I got paid too much for it...

donations not accepted
LordTheron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 197
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2013, 09:45:18 AM
 #8428

Still didn't get any reward for that block. Thats suck.

18074   2013-05-17 14:52:13   2:34:44   22016288   1833   0.00000000   236621    25.25560000    confirmed
Uliss
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 297
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 19, 2013, 12:00:26 PM
 #8429

Still didn't get any reward for that block. Thats suck.

18074   2013-05-17 14:52:13   2:34:44   22016288   1833   0.00000000   236621    25.25560000    confirmed

Don't worry!

and oh look, it fixed its self.
I don't want to sound annoyed, but it ALWAYS FIXES ITS SELF so STOP your pointless moaning!

Geez..

 
MSO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 12:47:16 PM
 #8430


I have tried to install different drivers for the cards, and I have tried installing a previous version that supports both cards. Neither worked. It seems to be the combination of the new card and anything but the new driver that makes GUIMiner not start.

Now, when I am running only the new card, Phoenix and Stratum Proxy, it stopped working tonight, a few hours after I started it. I restarted the miner this morning and it worked again. I hope it's a one time occurance, but I doubt it. It didn't happen with Phoenix and BCPool. Any guesses?


This happened to me when I upgraded Catalyst from 3.1 to 3.4 using only a single card (7770).  Catalyst 3.4 fixed some display problems (flickering pixels) but slowed my miner around 20%.  I wanted to revert back to 3.1 so I uninstalled all AMD software (including the driver via device manager) and then installed Catalyst 3.1.  GUIMiner failed to start after this with no error message.

I can only speculate, but I believe that the OpenCL package is not removed when Catalyst is uninstalled. Software developers frequently leave support packages, such as OpenCL in place because they cannot determine if other software not written by them may be using the interface.

So when the older reinstalled Catalyst 3.1 attempts to use the newer OpenCL from Catalyst 3.4, its probably misusing a changed interface causing an error that GUIMiner doesn't know how to handle.
oroboras
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 12:48:47 PM
 #8431

Still didn't get any reward for that block. Thats suck.

18074   2013-05-17 14:52:13   2:34:44   22016288   1833   0.00000000   236621    25.25560000    confirmed

Don't worry!

and oh look, it fixed its self.
I don't want to sound annoyed, but it ALWAYS FIXES ITS SELF so STOP your pointless moaning!

Geez..

 

Well, that is the first time ever I have actually seen it not adjust the reward.
In that case, I retract my previous statement.

@LordTheron PM me your wallet address, and I'll gladly share my reward with you for that block, 50/50 (we do about the same hash rate)
RayJay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 01:34:38 PM
 #8432

What is a normal rate for invalid blocks, we seam to have a lot of those lately on top of bad luck. I remember 2 yesterday and now two today.
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 685
Merit: 501


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 01:44:55 PM
 #8433

I need to restart my miner. Does someone know when will this round end  Huh ?

P.S. sorry for the spam, hope my post will trigger round end soon Wink

Mega Crypto Polis - www.MegaCryptoPolis.com
BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
oroboras
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 01:55:21 PM
 #8434

Current round duration:   2:47:07
Current shares CDF:   85.07 %

So not too long now, I guess.

EDIT: Unless I really don't get how the ratio works, which is highly likely.
kanta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 02:24:57 PM
 #8435

The CDF% will go up more and more slowly as more time passes. We had an 11 hour block the other day, no one knows exactly how long a block will take, that's part of the luck that everyone talks about
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 685
Merit: 501


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 02:31:07 PM
 #8436

no one knows exactly how long a block will take
I know, i was joking Wink
As a keep watching it seems it will never end Sad will go for a walk and will need to restart the miner later

Mega Crypto Polis - www.MegaCryptoPolis.com
BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
5120-01-518-6126
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100


< My mining rig >


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 02:40:07 PM
 #8437

What is a normal rate for invalid blocks, we seam to have a lot of those lately on top of bad luck. I remember 2 yesterday and now two today.

Invalid is just bad luck, too -- more machines hashing with increasing hash power = greater chance of "collision"
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


Dream become broken often


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 02:47:44 PM
 #8438

no one knows exactly how long a block will take
I know, i was joking Wink
As a keep watching it seems it will never end Sad will go for a walk and will need to restart the miner later

how long is it gona take to restart your miner? few shares off at the end shouldn't hurt, unless you have a very slow miner...and of course lets not forget the mysterious reward bug running around...maybe ya are better off to wait hehe

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
LordTheron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 197
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2013, 04:02:03 PM
 #8439

Still didn't get any reward for that block. Thats suck.

18074   2013-05-17 14:52:13   2:34:44   22016288   1833   0.00000000   236621    25.25560000    confirmed

Don't worry!

and oh look, it fixed its self.
I don't want to sound annoyed, but it ALWAYS FIXES ITS SELF so STOP your pointless moaning!

Geez..

 

Well, that is the first time ever I have actually seen it not adjust the reward.
In that case, I retract my previous statement.

@LordTheron PM me your wallet address, and I'll gladly share my reward with you for that block, 50/50 (we do about the same hash rate)

many thanks for that mate but I will be fine. Stopped mining here and will not come back until I know that the pool  is working as it should. No sign of slush  doesn't give me any confidence at all. It is disappointing that pool admin is not around for so long.

As you see not everything is fixing itself. here is another one..

18091   2013-05-18 23:10:26   2:23:58   18213818   2621   0.00000070   236826    25.03250000    confirmed



MyOldGeForce
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 05:28:53 PM
 #8440

I believe this is the workaround (pics and all in there to make it easy)

http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=7.0

Then that isn't the problem. I measured the corresponding pins on the monitor when it was unplugged, I got about 80 ohms.

Now I have tried running only a 4870 and also only the 4850 that worked before. Now they don't. Driver: 13-1 legacy. I'm beginning to think something in Windows is corrupted. For speed reasons, we deactivated windows update when we installed this machine, and then forgot about it. Now I have re-activated it to see if that does the trick. It will take some time, so I'll try it tomorrow. It's 10:50PM here in Sweden.

Have you tried using one of the older full Catalyst Suite drivers that support the HD4xxx cards as opposed to the legacy drivers? (not available for Windows 8 ).  The legacy driver set doesn't support hardware accelerated OpenGL support, (no Minecraft  Cry ) so perhaps OpenCL is compromised or removed too.

Yes I have. The legacy driver set for Windows 7 supports OpenCL, it even worked before I tried using two cards.



I have tried to install different drivers for the cards, and I have tried installing a previous version that supports both cards. Neither worked. It seems to be the combination of the new card and anything but the new driver that makes GUIMiner not start.

Now, when I am running only the new card, Phoenix and Stratum Proxy, it stopped working tonight, a few hours after I started it. I restarted the miner this morning and it worked again. I hope it's a one time occurance, but I doubt it. It didn't happen with Phoenix and BCPool. Any guesses?


This happened to me when I upgraded Catalyst from 3.1 to 3.4 using only a single card (7770).  Catalyst 3.4 fixed some display problems (flickering pixels) but slowed my miner around 20%.  I wanted to revert back to 3.1 so I uninstalled all AMD software (including the driver via device manager) and then installed Catalyst 3.1.  GUIMiner failed to start after this with no error message.

I can only speculate, but I believe that the OpenCL package is not removed when Catalyst is uninstalled. Software developers frequently leave support packages, such as OpenCL in place because they cannot determine if other software not written by them may be using the interface.

So when the older reinstalled Catalyst 3.1 attempts to use the newer OpenCL from Catalyst 3.4, its probably misusing a changed interface causing an error that GUIMiner doesn't know how to handle.

Thanks! Could Windows' system restore function help? I think I'll try that.
Pages: « 1 ... 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 [422] 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 ... 1145 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!