Bitcoin Forum
September 29, 2016, 01:33:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3151 (80.4%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 3915

Pages: « 1 ... 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 [437] 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 ... 1104 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3857657 times)
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 04:19:43 PM
 #8721

At 50BTC your around $5500 a bit steep for 10-14GH/s.  I wouldn't mind some kind of lite version maybe 2GH/s?  BTC in general is pretty bad right now for people just starting out.


Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
1475155987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475155987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475155987
Reply with quote  #2

1475155987
Report to moderator
1475155987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475155987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475155987
Reply with quote  #2

1475155987
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1475155987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475155987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475155987
Reply with quote  #2

1475155987
Report to moderator
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 04:20:40 PM
 #8722


That's why I love and hate our electricity Providers over here in Germany: It's stable as hell (and of course green [regional wind power only]) but they ask about 0.30$ per kWh!

So in terms of ROI GPU mining does almost never pay...

My main miner is at work I'm sure you can do the same in Germany Wink

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Paulizei
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 04:23:27 PM
 #8723


That's why I love and hate our electricity Providers over here in Germany: It's stable as hell (and of course green [regional wind power only]) but they ask about 0.30$ per kWh!

So in terms of ROI GPU mining does almost never pay...

My main miner is at work I'm sure you can do the same in Germany Wink

You're right! I'm already trying to do something like this... Wink
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2013, 04:36:28 PM
 #8724

5850 never uses only 80 to 85W. It uses 150W at stock and 165 to 191W at 300. Look at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

I have 6 of those and I have checked with the kill-a-watt and I can assure you that this is exactly how much power they use.

The rig that sits right next to me at the moment has two quad-core xeons, a bunch of hard drives and 3 of those cards. With all mining it currently uses 460-465W. When I stop the mining it uses 210-220W. One of the other rigs can barely run Solitaire but idles at 45W and goes to 215-220W during mining with two cards.

Oh yeah - and if you trust that page the 5850 should be able to do >400MH/sec. That's a BS - unless you water-cool it and waaaay overclock it. I've undervoltaged them (0.950V), underclocked the memory (500MHz) and overclocked them a bit (775MHz) and they do exactly 305MH/s and are perfectly stable and cool at 65-68C. I guess I could squeeze out another 30-50MH but I have to overvoltage them which makes even more heat and consumes more power - what I gain in megahashes I'll pay in kilowatts.

Let me know if you want pictures and screnshots.

Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 04:50:10 PM
 #8725

5850 never uses only 80 to 85W. It uses 150W at stock and 165 to 191W at 300. Look at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

I have 6 of those and I have checked with the kill-a-watt and I can assure you that this is exactly how much power they use.

The rig that sits right next to me at the moment has two quad-core xeons, a bunch of hard drives and 3 of those cards. With all mining it currently uses 460-465W. When I stop the mining it uses 210-220W. One of the other rigs can barely run Solitaire but idles at 45W and goes to 215-220W during mining with two cards.

Oh yeah - and if you trust that page the 5850 should be able to do >400MH/sec. That's a BS - unless you water-cool it and waaaay overclock it. I've undervoltaged them (0.950V), underclocked the memory (500MHz) and overclocked them a bit (775MHz) and they do exactly 305MH/s and are perfectly stable and cool at 65-68C. I guess I could squeeze out another 30-50MH but I have to overvoltage them which makes even more heat and consumes more power - what I gain in megahashes I'll pay in kilowatts.
Well my dose 395 stable but with 1 or 2 HW errors in 24 hours, 388 without errors and 410 for short time. And you need to buy a batter kill-a-wat or you didn't count in idle power.

http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/ati-radeon-hd-5000/hd-5850/Pages/ati-radeon-hd-5850-overview.aspx#2

EDIT: The only modification I made is Arctic silver thermal paste.

EDIT2: Mem @75 Core @ 948(395)942(388)970(410) stock voltage.
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 614


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 05:44:24 PM
 #8726

lady luck is here.. yippee Smiley
-and then the pools hashing power goes up and rewards go down.

And again my Windows decided to sleep in the middles of the long block before that Sad

18170   2013-05-23 14:45:45   3:00:18   24589717   150   0.00000000 ... after mining for 2h, but wasn't at home to awake it up.

and i am back again for the long block - Current round duration:   1:23:40

EDIT: bidding is open for me to let it go sleep again Smiley

BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
Paulizei
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 05:57:06 PM
 #8727

lady luck is here.. yippee Smiley
-and then the pools hashing power goes up and rewards go down.

And again my Windows decided to sleep in the middles of the long block before that Sad

18170   2013-05-23 14:45:45   3:00:18   24589717   150   0.00000000 ... after mining for 2h, but wasn't at home to awake it up.

and i am back again for the long block - Current round duration:   1:23:40

EDIT: bidding is open for me to let it go sleep again Smiley

This is hardly a Windows issue, if u set all paramters in Bios and Windows right (no sleep/Hibernation S1/S2/S3 power saving Modus at all).

Do you have any 3rd Party software running (Toshiba, Lenovo, DELL Power Management Software for example)?

P.S.: Windows (2000, XP, 7 and earlier) tends to have issues with falling into sleep mode or hibernation. Therefore the opposite seems quite strange to me...
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 614


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 06:10:25 PM
 #8728

It's Windows 8 machine running fine for weeks, but after the last restart (and some updates being installed automatically with it) - the miner stops even all lights are ON ... GPU fans stop, PSU is semi-passive, so no noise from it is normal = it went to sleep, i assume.
After touching the mouse the fans start again (monitor is lit up), but not the mining until it is restarted.

EDIT: BIOS not touched, no additional software - at least not power ralated or even running at the same time except miner

BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 06:39:03 PM
 #8729


And again my Windows decided to sleep in the middles of the long block before that Sad

18170   2013-05-23 14:45:45   3:00:18   24589717   150   0.00000000 ... after mining for 2h, but wasn't at home to awake it up.

and i am back again for the long block - Current round duration:   1:23:40

EDIT: bidding is open for me to let it go sleep again Smiley

I've had two nights in a row where my main miner crashes and cgwatcher didn't restart until I hit ok on the windows error report lol.  Disabled it in the registry/gpedit hopefully fixes this.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 06:54:20 PM
 #8730

I wish people would stop trying to take into account the resale value of their video cards when figuring return on investment. by the time that you get around to selling them, technology will have progressed to point where they will be obsolete, or the market will be so glutted that nobody will want them.

Case in point. i planned on building a mining rig using one of two motherboards i have laying around unused. Bought the video card and then  looked at the motherboards.... um... AGP. ack. so now the rig will have a new motherboard and CPU as well, and a $400 investment turned into a $750 investment. fortunately, for me this is a hobby so set backs like this aren't too upsetting.

a question on the MB though. it has 3 PCI-e slots, one is x16, one is x4 and one is x1. Can all 3 be used for video cards? will performance be affected? i'm not sure what the numbers mean.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
kanta
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 07:02:01 PM
 #8731

5850 never uses only 80 to 85W. It uses 150W at stock and 165 to 191W at 300. Look at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

I have 6 of those and I have checked with the kill-a-watt and I can assure you that this is exactly how much power they use.

The rig that sits right next to me at the moment has two quad-core xeons, a bunch of hard drives and 3 of those cards. With all mining it currently uses 460-465W. When I stop the mining it uses 210-220W. One of the other rigs can barely run Solitaire but idles at 45W and goes to 215-220W during mining with two cards.

Oh yeah - and if you trust that page the 5850 should be able to do >400MH/sec. That's a BS - unless you water-cool it and waaaay overclock it. I've undervoltaged them (0.950V), underclocked the memory (500MHz) and overclocked them a bit (775MHz) and they do exactly 305MH/s and are perfectly stable and cool at 65-68C. I guess I could squeeze out another 30-50MH but I have to overvoltage them which makes even more heat and consumes more power - what I gain in megahashes I'll pay in kilowatts.
Well my dose 395 stable but with 1 or 2 HW errors in 24 hours, 388 without errors and 410 for short time. And you need to buy a batter kill-a-wat or you didn't count in idle power.

http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/ati-radeon-hd-5000/hd-5850/Pages/ati-radeon-hd-5850-overview.aspx#2

EDIT: The only modification I made is Arctic silver thermal paste.

EDIT2: Mem @75 Core @ 948(395)942(388)970(410) stock voltage.

He said he undervolted his cards. I kind of wonder how much power I'm drawing from the wall.  I would assume it's in the mid to high 400 range, but I'm overclocked and over volted
I wish people would stop trying to take into account the resale value of their video cards when figuring return on investment. by the time that you get around to selling them, technology will have progressed to point where they will be obsolete, or the market will be so glutted that nobody will want them.

Case in point. i planned on building a mining rig using one of two motherboards i have laying around unused. Bought the video card and then  looked at the motherboards.... um... AGP. ack. so now the rig will have a new motherboard and CPU as well, and a $400 investment turned into a $750 investment. fortunately, for me this is a hobby so set backs like this aren't too upsetting.

a question on the MB though. it has 3 PCI-e slots, one is x16, one is x4 and one is x1. Can all 3 be used for video cards? will performance be affected? i'm not sure what the numbers mean.
Yeah, I don't know too many gamers that would be interested in 5xxx series cards now, since 7xxx cover the entire spectrum of price/performance and 9xxx series are due by the end of the year.

As for the slots, the x1 slot is shorter than the other slots so you'd need a workaround for that with a riser or an extender or something
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622


View Profile WWW
May 23, 2013, 07:03:36 PM
 #8732

a question on the MB though. it has 3 PCI-e slots, one is x16, one is x4 and one is x1. Can all 3 be used for video cards? will performance be affected? i'm not sure what the numbers mean.

what the numbers mean - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express. Basically this is is the length of the slot and and for video cards you need x16.

Can all 3 be used? - Possibly, but it really depends on the video card, AND you have to either use extender/adapter cables or cut the video card. And some cards are picky and work only in X16 and won't work on an X8 or X4 or X1 slot.

Bottom line - you can count on one card for sure, and the other two - in the x4 and x1 slots - probably not (or at least not easily).

KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 614


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 07:03:59 PM
 #8733

You will need PCIe extenders, but the performance will not be affected - mining is not PCIe bandwidth hungry

-1 for resale value - if you sell for 30$ something going for 50$ as second hand at the moment it is not obsolete - the important part is when to sell

BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 07:11:49 PM
 #8734

I wish people would stop trying to take into account the resale value of their video cards when figuring return on investment. by the time that you get around to selling them, technology will have progressed to point where they will be obsolete, or the market will be so glutted that nobody will want them.

Case in point. i planned on building a mining rig using one of two motherboards i have laying around unused. Bought the video card and then  looked at the motherboards.... um... AGP. ack. so now the rig will have a new motherboard and CPU as well, and a $400 investment turned into a $750 investment. fortunately, for me this is a hobby so set backs like this aren't too upsetting.

a question on the MB though. it has 3 PCI-e slots, one is x16, one is x4 and one is x1. Can all 3 be used for video cards? will performance be affected? i'm not sure what the numbers mean.

Video cards usually don't drop too much for 6-12 months.  I've had several video cards 1-2 years and I still got 60-80% off ebay.  Certainly if you've been running a 58xx card since it was new and doing bitcoin you've made up enough difference that who cares?

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 07:16:36 PM
 #8735

He said he undervolted his cards. I kind of wonder how much power I'm drawing from the wall.  I would assume it's in the mid to high 400 range, but I'm overclocked and over volted

As for the slots, the x1 slot is shorter than the other slots so you'd need a workaround for that with a riser or an extender or something
No way he is getting 50% less power usage with OC and under-voltage. My system without the this card is using 1324W and with it 1513W.

Yes you can use x1 or x4 or x8. No performance penalty. All you need is a riser cable or you need to take back of a pci slot away.
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 07:17:07 PM
 #8736

a question on the MB though. it has 3 PCI-e slots, one is x16, one is x4 and one is x1. Can all 3 be used for video cards? will performance be affected? i'm not sure what the numbers mean.

what the numbers mean - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express. Basically this is is the length of the slot and and for video cards you need x16.

Can all 3 be used? - Possibly, but it really depends on the video card, AND you have to either use extender/adapter cables or cut the video card. And some cards are picky and work only in X16 and won't work on an X8 or X4 or X1 slot.

Bottom line - you can count on one card for sure, and the other two - in the x4 and x1 slots - probably not (or at least not easily).

figures... thanks, I'll have to look into risers i guess. i really hoped to eventually having 3 video cards in this rig. there were cheaper mini/microATX options for a one card machine.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 07:26:09 PM
 #8737

figures... thanks, I'll have to look into risers i guess. i really hoped to eventually having 3 video cards in this rig. there were cheaper mini/microATX options for a one card machine.
Don't worry it works I have 8 cards connected to motherboard that way.

Look at this: http://www.amazon.com/HOTER-PCI-E-Extension-Cable-Adapter/dp/B0057M1ZLE
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 07:30:45 PM
 #8738


No way he is getting 50% less power usage with OC and under-voltage. My system without the this card is using 1324W and with it 1513W.

Yes you can use x1 or x4 or x8. No performance penalty. All you need is a riser cable or you need to take back of a pci slot away.

Its possible 25% UV and 25% UC is 56%

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 07:37:20 PM
 #8739

Estimated reward just reset hopefully block doesn't end soon

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
May 23, 2013, 07:42:26 PM
 #8740


No way he is getting 50% less power usage with OC and under-voltage. My system without the this card is using 1324W and with it 1513W.

Yes you can use x1 or x4 or x8. No performance penalty. All you need is a riser cable or you need to take back of a pci slot away.

Its possible 25% UV and 25% UC is 56%
Core is over-clocked from 725 to 775. So no... And I just tested settings that he posted. Best case 100W but I think is more 130W. Need more time to get average since I have 8 cards in. If this would work it would be grate and I wouldn't change it back but it doesn't. Even when you have mem at 75 not 300 as he told us. So I resetting to what I had.
Pages: « 1 ... 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 [437] 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 ... 1104 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!