Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2018, 09:30:47 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 [444] 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 ... 1147 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [4+ EH] Slush Pool (slushpool.com); Overt AsicBoost; World First Mining Pool  (Read 4343577 times)
mrm0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 07:47:17 PM
 #8861


Am familiar with UNIX/Linux and variants but using Windows7 to mine.
Edited c:/windows/system32/drivers/etc/hosts file, added list.  Can use ip1-9.slush.com now to specify IP.

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#   127.0.0.1       localhost

54.225.116.174      ip1.slush.com
54.225.117.74      ip2.slush.com
54.225.116.40      ip3.slush.com
54.215.3.101      ip4.slush.com
54.215.3.102      ip5.slush.com
54.225.116.221      ip6.slush.com
54.225.68.97      ip7.slush.com
54.215.3.103      ip8.slush.com
54.215.3.100      ip9.slush.com


Good job Wink

May be good, may be not quite qood.
Local IP mapping where a DNS round-robin load balancing is involved is fine in a static setup.
IIRC Amazon instances can be dynamic, so a suggested mapping is basically a snapshot of 'now' and will not react to changes.


It depends on the users knowledge levels of how things work. for someone that watches their miners and sees one having connection issues u can quickly resolve it by FORCE moving to a different ip. where before your only option was changing to a different name which just takes a random IP possibly the same one.

True, *provided* that at least some of the hard-coded IPs remain valid, which may not be true in a dynamic environment. That was the point I was trying to make.

I guess users trying this workaround will know enough to check for this eventuality in case of connection problems.

1BUcKJVz5n34VwuiyiLtPud1PGn3BLkcPb  :-)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544952647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544952647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544952647
Reply with quote  #2

1544952647
Report to moderator
MickeyT2008
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250

This account was recently hacked


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:15:53 PM
 #8862

Same here, I've got one machine already mining but the other which was stopped (so my daughter can play the Sims) can't start mining now but works with other pools.

CGMiner can't find work, GUIMiner says no JSON object could be decoded yet the other machine which has been running all day continues to mine.

I'm having similar problems one machine, Laptop, which gets stopped and restarted often can't connect to slush today, but can other pools.
Other two miners on different machines are humming along no problem.  

Even tried to create a new worker  and it won't json authorize or somesuch language...

I got my machine using GUIMiner to log in by changing the settings.  Instead of using the preset url settings for Slush's Pool(which is http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332) I changed it 'other' and gave it the host name 'stratum.bitcoin.cz'  and port 3333, then it found work and started as soon as I ran it.

This account has recently been hacked and taken over, I haven't posted anything for about two years.  Whoever has been using it and pretending to be me is a scammer.
aurel57
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:24:14 PM
 #8863

Same here, I've got one machine already mining but the other which was stopped (so my daughter can play the Sims) can't start mining now but works with other pools.

CGMiner can't find work, GUIMiner says no JSON object could be decoded yet the other machine which has been running all day continues to mine.

I'm having similar problems one machine, Laptop, which gets stopped and restarted often can't connect to slush today, but can other pools.
Other two miners on different machines are humming along no problem.  

Even tried to create a new worker  and it won't json authorize or somesuch language...

I got my machine using GUIMiner to log in by changing the settings.  Instead of using the preset url settings for Slush's Pool(which is http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332) I changed it 'other' and gave it the host name 'stratum.bitcoin.cz'  and port 3333, then it found work and started as soon as I ran it.

Thank you ...was having same problem and this worked for me!
MickeyT2008
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250

This account was recently hacked


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:31:01 PM
 #8864

Same here, I've got one machine already mining but the other which was stopped (so my daughter can play the Sims) can't start mining now but works with other pools.

CGMiner can't find work, GUIMiner says no JSON object could be decoded yet the other machine which has been running all day continues to mine.

I'm having similar problems one machine, Laptop, which gets stopped and restarted often can't connect to slush today, but can other pools.
Other two miners on different machines are humming along no problem.  

Even tried to create a new worker  and it won't json authorize or somesuch language...

I got my machine using GUIMiner to log in by changing the settings.  Instead of using the preset url settings for Slush's Pool(which is http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332) I changed it 'other' and gave it the host name 'stratum.bitcoin.cz'  and port 3333, then it found work and started as soon as I ran it.

Thank you ...was having same problem and this worked for me!
No problem, I wish I'd thought about trying that earlier, I've been having to mine for the enemy at BTC Guild with one of my computers instead, lol

This account has recently been hacked and taken over, I haven't posted anything for about two years.  Whoever has been using it and pretending to be me is a scammer.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1002



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:34:59 PM
 #8865

No problem, I wish I'd thought about trying that earlier, I've been having to mine for the enemy at BTC Guild with one of my computers instead, lol

I'm the enemy now?  Guess I'll just keep all these cookies for myself then Sad

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
favelle75
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 501



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:41:28 PM
 #8866

Started a new miner and it says io errors -1, tolerance 2

Is often happen with GUIminer.   Check if another already running.  They hide - not showing in taskbar but in notification icons.

Cool, thanks rsbriggs!

_Crypto made easier than cash_

▄███▄              ▄███▄
███████            ███████
███████   ▄████▄   ███████
███████  ████████  ███████
▄██████████  ████████  ██████████▄
████████████  ████████  ████████████
████████████  ████████  ████████████
▀██████████  ████████  ██████████▀
███████  ████████  ███████
███████  ████████  ███████
███████  ████████  ███████
▀███▀   ████████   ▀███▀
████████
▀████▀
MenaPay.
ANN THREAD
__
MickeyT2008
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250

This account was recently hacked


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:41:36 PM
 #8867

No problem, I wish I'd thought about trying that earlier, I've been having to mine for the enemy at BTC Guild with one of my computers instead, lol

I'm the enemy now?  Guess I'll just keep all these cookies for myself then Sad
Wink  I wouldn't be missing much anyway, not with these lame Nvidia cards!  Embarrassed  Where's my ASIC then Butterfly Labs?  Huh

This account has recently been hacked and taken over, I haven't posted anything for about two years.  Whoever has been using it and pretending to be me is a scammer.
nybbler905
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 09:05:11 PM
 #8868

No problem, I wish I'd thought about trying that earlier, I've been having to mine for the enemy at BTC Guild with one of my computers instead, lol

I'm the enemy now?  Guess I'll just keep all these cookies for myself then Sad
Wink  I wouldn't be missing much anyway, not with these lame Nvidia cards!  Embarrassed  Where's my ASIC then Butterfly Labs?  Huh

If ya got the BTC in your wallet, there are quite a few left in the group buy from the thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195647.100

I've found it more ' stable ' mining in windows using mining_proxy and manually setting it to stratum2 or stratum3
no lost connections ( unless it's my side ) or other errors and setting either program ( mostly use GUIMiner ) to do local host and do it through the proxy my side to specific stratum instead of hopping.  STILL AN ISSUE ON STRATUM.bitcoin.cz as it shows ' shares ' not blocks in GUIMiner and nada for my account, when it starts showing " blocks " a rounded up 1/3 will show on the account page after 5 min ( unless the block completes, then they still go Poof! )

going to set back up to STRATUM.bitcoin.cz tomorrow to see if Slush has fixed this as it was an issue since the move and seems to not be resolved.  I highly recomend removing the IP/address for STRATUM.bitcoin.cz ( aka stratum 1 ) from your connect list for now an see if this resolves your issues people.

As always, any comments that are just side lines, cheap hacks on me perosonaly, not trying to help the pool, feel free to click my name and send me a message directly instead of just posting more and more 3 or so lines in the forums.  Thank you.

[EDIT]
PS got roughly .003 BTC in my wallet and would love to get in on that group buy..... looks like i'm going to miss it due to not even getting my first payout from Slush's yet.... feel free to donate  Wink

Always looking for donations even as low as 1uBTC
14XfpYPdtYiGoEiDcKrSzuvBM3ukhwANUh - BTC
LS7FEfu9ajp3NQcDjui9TSKscwQesj9i8k - LTC
LHe9g5ixMyfdtqAEHU5vErG1eQrDshBFRW -Luckycoin
MickeyT2008
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250

This account was recently hacked


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 09:18:50 PM
 #8869

I wasn't being serious by the way, no offence is intended to anyone  Smiley

This account has recently been hacked and taken over, I haven't posted anything for about two years.  Whoever has been using it and pretending to be me is a scammer.
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 09:20:26 PM
 #8870

I've found it more ' stable ' mining in windows using mining_proxy and manually setting it to stratum2 or stratum3
no lost connections ( unless it's my side ) or other errors and setting either program ( mostly use GUIMiner ) to do local host and do it through the proxy my side to specific stratum instead of hopping.  STILL AN ISSUE ON STRATUM.bitcoin.cz as it shows ' shares ' not blocks in GUIMiner and nada for my account, when it starts showing " blocks " a rounded up 1/3 will show on the account page after 5 min ( unless the block completes, then they still go Poof! )

going to set back up to STRATUM.bitcoin.cz tomorrow to see if Slush has fixed this as it was an issue since the move and seems to not be resolved.  I highly recomend removing the IP/address for STRATUM.bitcoin.cz ( aka stratum 1 ) from your connect list for now an see if this resolves your issues people.

As always, any comments that are just side lines, cheap hacks on me perosonaly, not trying to help the pool, feel free to click my name and send me a message directly instead of just posting more and more 3 or so lines in the forums.  Thank you.

[EDIT]
PS got roughly .003 BTC in my wallet and would love to get in on that group buy..... looks like i'm going to miss it due to not even getting my first payout from Slush's yet.... feel free to donate  Wink
stratum, stratum2, stratum3 are pointing to the same IPs so it is just luck. They are randomly or ping time(Slush say that he will setup this) chosen for you.

Today I was testing if it is safe to go back to Slush and had problems losing connection to stratum and also that 16 minutes shares were not recorded but them appear in account. But strange enough only but once with stratum and once with stratum2. So it might be that stratum has diffident connection strategy as others.
valladex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 09:35:06 PM
 #8871

18214    2013-05-25 20:26:41    0:01:08    161409    none    none    237904

gutted... a few more seconds and i might have gotten something, still, its been a slightly better than average day.
animan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 09:58:07 PM
 #8872

Hello,

New to bitcoin mining. Have been mining slush's pool for the last 3-4 days.

I am not getting the payout on one transaction, block # 237634. I had 1027 shares, but the BTC payout is 0.0.
Can someone please explain why this would happen, or if it could possibly be an error in the system.
Thanks.

18183 2013-05-24 06:47:53 1:48:51 15038629 236 0.00083160 237647  25.28940000 confirmed  
18182 2013-05-24 04:59:02 5:59:04 49271773 1027 0.00000000 237634  25.43307428 confirmed  
18181 2013-05-23 22:59:58 2:17:42 18432045 528 0.00079536 237593  25.27100000 confirmed  

sagamore9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 10:33:34 PM
 #8873

Hello,

New to bitcoin mining. Have been mining slush's pool for the last 3-4 days.

I am not getting the payout on one transaction, block # 237634. I had 1027 shares, but the BTC payout is 0.0.
Can someone please explain why this would happen, or if it could possibly be an error in the system.
Thanks.

18183 2013-05-24 06:47:53 1:48:51 15038629 236 0.00083160 237647  25.28940000 confirmed  
18182 2013-05-24 04:59:02 5:59:04 49271773 1027 0.00000000 237634  25.43307428 confirmed  
18181 2013-05-23 22:59:58 2:17:42 18432045 528 0.00079536 237593  25.27100000 confirmed  



you have read how the scoring works right if not, search the forum, just know your score decays over time and also be ware of the fact maybe your miner disconnected towards the end of that long round, thus decaying your shares worth and not submitting shares in the end.  This is the most common explanation.
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2013, 10:36:36 PM
 #8874

Hello,

New to bitcoin mining. Have been mining slush's pool for the last 3-4 days.

I am not getting the payout on one transaction, block # 237634. I had 1027 shares, but the BTC payout is 0.0.
Can someone please explain why this would happen, or if it could possibly be an error in the system.
Thanks.

18183 2013-05-24 06:47:53 1:48:51 15038629 236 0.00083160 237647  25.28940000 confirmed 
18182 2013-05-24 04:59:02 5:59:04 49271773 1027 0.00000000 237634  25.43307428 confirmed 
18181 2013-05-23 22:59:58 2:17:42 18432045 528 0.00079536 237593  25.27100000 confirmed 



Animan - there seems to be something wrong with your miner or your internet connection. Looking at the speed of your mining - shares per minute:
18181: 3.854spm, but then going a bit lower in 18182: 3.435spm and then even lower in 18183: 2.185spm

Presuming your normal speed is 3.854spm you should've had 1152 shares for round 18182. Or you're short 125 shares, or at that speed - you haven't been mining for 33 minutes. Now, given that your next round is even lower, I'd say you probably stopped mining during the last 33min of round 1152 and that's why you didn't get anything for that block.

Presuming the same speed, you started mining at some point and you kept mining for the last 61minutes of round 18183, and that's why you got a good reward for that block.

With minor edits - here is something I posted earlier that hopefully sheds some more light:
You need to understand a bit more about how Slush's pool works and you (and many other) get confused with the PPS (pay-per-share) concept. Slush's pool is not a PPS one.

For a start you can look at the detailed description of how it works is on the pool's home page - look for a text in big yellow letters that says "How does bitcoin pool work?".

In essence each share gets a "score". The score is highest at the round end, and earlier shares get lower scores. The older the share the lower the score. And that progression is not linear but exponential, so score goes down to almost zero very quickly. From observations I think the cut-off is about an hour - for shares older than an hour you get absolutely no score.

ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 25, 2013, 10:44:15 PM
 #8875

18214    2013-05-25 20:26:41    0:01:08    161409    none    none    237904

gutted... a few more seconds and i might have gotten something, still, its been a slightly better than average day.

Good one for some (a tiny bit) Smiley

18214   5/25/2013 20:26   0:01:08   161409   56   0.00845666   none   237904   25.15966024   82 confirmations left

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
valladex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 10:52:33 PM
 #8876

18214    2013-05-25 20:26:41    0:01:08    161409    none    none    237904

gutted... a few more seconds and i might have gotten something, still, its been a slightly better than average day.

Good one for some (a tiny bit) Smiley

18214   5/25/2013 20:26   0:01:08   161409   56   0.00845666   none   237904   25.15966024   82 confirmations left


some nice hashing power you have... Cool im getting more slowly.
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2013, 11:09:35 PM
 #8877

18214    2013-05-25 20:26:41    0:01:08    161409    none    none    237904

gutted... a few more seconds and i might have gotten something, still, its been a slightly better than average day.

Good one for some (a tiny bit) Smiley

18214   5/25/2013 20:26   0:01:08   161409   56   0.00845666   none   237904   25.15966024   82 confirmations left


some nice hashing power you have... Cool im getting more slowly.

Out of curiosity - is your hashing speed around 3.5-3.6GH/s?

valladex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 11:15:46 PM
 #8878

18214    2013-05-25 20:26:41    0:01:08    161409    none    none    237904

gutted... a few more seconds and i might have gotten something, still, its been a slightly better than average day.

Good one for some (a tiny bit) Smiley

18214   5/25/2013 20:26   0:01:08   161409   56   0.00845666   none   237904   25.15966024   82 confirmations left


some nice hashing power you have... Cool im getting more slowly.

Out of curiosity - is your hashing speed around 3.5-3.6GH/s?

my guess is 4.2... whats the prize?
aurel57
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 11:17:47 PM
 #8879

18214    2013-05-25 20:26:41    0:01:08    161409    none    none    237904

gutted... a few more seconds and i might have gotten something, still, its been a slightly better than average day.

Good one for some (a tiny bit) Smiley

18214   5/25/2013 20:26   0:01:08   161409   56   0.00845666   none   237904   25.15966024   82 confirmations left


some nice hashing power you have... Cool im getting more slowly.

Out of curiosity - is your hashing speed around 3.5-3.6GH/s?


my guess is 4.2... whats the prize?

I think 4.5 GH/S
nottm28
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 11:20:18 PM
 #8880

I think 4.5 GH/S

More like 3.2 ish

donations not accepted
Pages: « 1 ... 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 [444] 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 ... 1147 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!