Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2019, 06:30:25 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 [146] 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] dstm's ZCash / Equihash Nvidia Miner v0.6.2 (Linux / Windows)  (Read 222141 times)
Phlier
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 09, 2018, 11:00:45 PM
 #2901

Gents, please forgive the newbie question... go easy on the new guy?

I'm showing 2.85 Sol/W. Is this a decent power efficiency number for this miner and a GTX 1080? I'm still trying to tune for best efficiency, so wondering if I'm getting close to where I should be. Card is staying between 68-71C. Decent temp for long term use?

Yes.. yes i am *that* new. : /

Well, I think most can approach or exceed 4 sol /w on 1080s with dstm--I have some, and found around 4 sol/w at something like +125 core, +500 or 600 mem, with linux (SMOS) and about 70% total power draw. Are you using windows or linux?

Windows on this machine (the one I'm tuning on), and will be running SMOS on the box I'm building right now. Well, actually *re* building, as it's an old MSI AMD board from around '04 that I'm bringing back from the dead to mine on. Smiley

Wow... 4 sol/w. I have a ways to go yet. I'm only able to get +87 on the core with any stability. I haven't hit the stability limit on memory yet, but I'm only up to +425 on it so far.

I'll try lowering the power limit a bit more. My card seems to be pretty grouchy when I play with the power limit too much.
GET 25 FREE SPINS AT REGISTRATION
GET 100% BONUS ON FIRST DEPOSIT
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:15:31 AM
 #2902

How to apply overclock and fans speed thru dstm? Can't find commands anywhere in docs or in thread.

ZM doesn't change your performance settings of your GPUs. You have to use external tools for this.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:16:06 AM
 #2903

@dstm

how to make --telemetry to work from another computer, even if I give a different ip, it always listens to 127.0.0.1:2222, thanks in advance

You can achieve this by passing e.g. 'telemtry=0.0.0.0:2222' (don't forget the '=' sign).
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:16:32 AM
 #2904

I am on 0.58 version.

I have a question about shares. I don't understand  why different results with same nvidia card.
I know that different pools produce different shares rate,  but consistently my Dell Precision T 7500 with one Gtx1070 ( now ZCL-donate pool)  have much better shares than Biostar TB-250 with four Gtx1070 (MPH).
Dell T7500 : Gpu0  55C Sol/s 475-485   I/s 256   Sh 3.80-4.00
BIOSTAR Rig :======= Sol/s 470-480   I/s 255   Sh 0.65-0.75

So Sh are about 6 times better with Dell than Biostar Rig

Another difference is Dell working with Win7 and Biostar With Win 10.

I know hardware is very different but anyone can explain to me what can be happening?

The share rate depends on the difficulty and the solution rate. The difficulty is set by the server, some server adjust it dynamically. Both the solution rate and the share rate are probabilistic so it might take some time till the values converge. ZM informs you about difficulty changes by the server.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:17:15 AM
 #2905

You can probably do a MITM on your rig to figure out whether info in the miner's console represent reality (but something tells me that's beyond your abilities)
So you are going to judge my intelligence based on 1 post asking a simple question about how a dev is calculating his fees? Shows your true intelligence level. Roll Eyes And to reply to your statement, Yes I do know how to do a MITM. Thanks.

Once again, amount of shares means nothing as they are of different difficulty.
Educate yourself before arguing.

Once again, Since the dev didn't put anything in the log showing when he is or isn't mining for himself how am I supposed to know if he is actually only taking 2%? Am I supposed to just take his word for it since he is smart enough to create a miner so he must be honest enough to trust his word? I am not looking to start an argument over this because it's not worth my time. I had already PMed the dev asking about this to see if he could explain a bit on how he is calculating devfee and he said to post it publicly. I PMed him first because A. I knew I would get answers like I received from yourself. B. I wasn't trying to start a big deal over the 2% and call him out on it I was more just wondering how he was doing it since it's mixed in.

He is actually charging us more than 2% (my personal test -> 4-5%).
Right now I can't explain cause it would take more time. Anyway, put a sniffer and do it and take ur own conclusions. Would be great to keep a good conversation about it.

The dev fee is exactly 2% so there is something wrong with you approach.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:17:57 AM
 #2906

//ZM-0.6 Win vs. EWBF-0.3.4b-BTG-edition Win//

Why the accepted shares are fewer then EWBF's, even though the hashrate is bigger?

My OC settings are not so high, just core +100, power 85, temp 83, mem 0, on 6 GTX 1060 3GB hynix. Core stays under 2000MHz.
My hashrate is around 1800 with DSTM and around 1700 with EWBF. The ping time 63ms, on ZEC-flypool and ZCL-suprnova.
In EWBF I don't get rejected shares aven after 24h, no crashes, and constant acceped shares, around 5 per minute.
In DSTM I see from time to time a rejected, but the main problem is that there are very few accepted shares, like 1-2 per minute.
Why is that? I can't compare the profits because they varry from day to day. I should have 2 rigs with the same setup, but I only have 1 with cards from 3 brands.

DSTM's zm crashes more often than EWBF's with higher OC settings. With EWBF I can go with +100/+500 for a stable mining, but DSTM crashes after a few hours.
My temps are great, 50-52C, the room temp is around 10-12C, the fans are at 50%, so the temp is not the issue. I think ZM can't mannage the higher oc and becomes unstable.
This is strange for a miner that is well payed (in EWBF you can set --fee 0, but not in DSTM) and is 1 year newer than the other, with active developement, so it can benefits from new drivers and new mining techniques.

I realy want to support a miner in active developement, but with smaller performance than other options, I can't. It's all about profits afterall.


There is some misunderstanding in sentences like 'the software can't manage higher overclocking'.

The miner can't do anything to convince your hardware to be stable. All the miner does is requesting your GPUs to do some particular calculations.

So if you ask why some software crashes on unstable systems while the other one does not.
Here is some analogy. Let's say you tune your car engine (overclock) such that it goes faster than it was designed for. Now you let drive it your grandmother (program A) and a professional racer (program B). Your engine is most likely to work properly while your grandmother is driving but it will explode most likely if the racer starts driving it after some time. This is only an analogy ofc, but it makes the point clear.

Also don't forget, driving your GPUs with higher clock rate shortens it's life. The higher the clock rate the shorter it's lifespan.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:18:34 AM
 #2907

@dstm

Hi, i moved to 0.6 and miners telemetry are going offline, miner works but telemetry does not work so monitoring software alerts me..

On 0.5.8 it was rock solid for months, moved to 0.6, not using config, only thing changed is i added --color to bat. And problems started. OS - Win 10

BR

It looks like your monitoring software isn't parsing the json-response properly. 0.6 added some GPU information to the response.

@dstm it is not software problem, same with simple http request, after about ~24-48 hrs telemetry service stops working, then i simply close and restart cmd (not miner OS) and it works instantly. It is repeating poblem and came with 0.6, was rock solid for month on previous version.

BR.

It runs fine for me while doing 10 requests per second for a couple of days. Are you sure it's not a network issue?
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:19:11 AM
 #2908

Does running 6.0 change something if I go back to 5.8?  I can't get either to run now.. out of memory cuda errors,.and it just crashes.
win10

..edit.. uninstalling Afterburner and unplugging all cards,.. one by one.. it is slowing getting back up and running...  (not sure if should even try version 6 again)

ZM doesn't change anything on your system, apart from writing a logfile if you request it.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:19:42 AM
 #2909

@DTSM

Bug found: Linux
When zm.cfg is present command line option to switch configs is ignored.
You cannot use 2 configs without isolating the entire directory.

I'm not sure if I'm understanding this correctly but having multiple configuration files in the same directory works fine for me.
For me it is using the one with default name even if I give an option to use a different one.

How does your --cfg-file parameter (for the different one) look like?
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:20:21 AM
 #2910

what new in  0.6.0.1 version?

It supports new configuration options like failover pools via command line parameters.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:21:40 AM
 #2911


Version 0.6
- failover pool support

- introduce intensity option
Failover pool support and intensity option does not work from the command line

i.e...

zm.exe --dev 0 1 2 3 4   --server equihash.hk.nicehash.com --user name.worker --pass x --port 3357 --server equihash.in.nicehash.com --user name.worker --pass x --port 3357 --server equihash.jp.nicehash.com --user name.worker --pass x --port 3357 --server equihash.usa.nicehash.com --user name.worker --pass x --port 3357 --server equihash.br.nicehash.com --user name.worker --pass x --port 3357 --server equihash.eu.nicehash.com --user name.worker --pass x --port 3357 --telemetry=127.0.0.1:4004 --color --time --intensity 1

zm.exe: unknown option -- intensity
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  zm 0.6
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  GPU0 + GeForce GTX 1060 3GB     MB: 3072  PCI: 1:0
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  GPU1 + GeForce GTX 1060 3GB     MB: 3072  PCI: 2:0
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  GPU2 + GeForce GTX 1060 3GB     MB: 3072  PCI: 3:0
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  GPU3 + GeForce GTX 1060 3GB     MB: 3072  PCI: 5:0
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  GPU4 + GeForce GTX 1060 3GB     MB: 3072  PCI: 7:0
2018-03-03 15:21:33|
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  pool1 equihash.eu.nicehash.com:3357
2018-03-03 15:21:33|
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  color mode not supported
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  telemetry server listening on 127.0.0.1:4004
2018-03-03 15:21:33|#  connected to: equihash.eu.nicehash.com:3357 [1/1]


It will be supported in next release.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:22:05 AM
 #2912

I had lot of stability issues with DSTM, kept crashing my rigs every few hours.

Reduce your overclocking, your hardware isn't stable.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:22:43 AM
 #2913

Hello DSTM.

Could you please change GPU sorting method ? We need what GPUs are sorted by physical bus index (it matches AfterBurner list of GPUs)

ZM uses CUDA_DEVICE_ORDER. Nvidia specifies it's default behaviour like this:
FASTEST_FIRST causes CUDA to guess which device is fastest using a simple heuristic, and make that device 0, leaving the order of the rest of the devices unspecified.

The default behaviour can be changed by setting the environment variable 'CUDA_DEVICE_ORDER' to 'PCI_BUS_ID' which causes CUDA to order the devices by '... PCI bus ID in ascending order'.

The documentation for this is located at: http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-c-programming-guide/index.html#env-vars
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:23:34 AM
 #2914

On one of my Linux rigs dstm's messes up GPU ordering, like this:

#  zm 0.6
#  GPU0 + GeForce GTX 980          MB: 4038  PCI: 7:0
#  GPU1 + GeForce GTX 970          MB: 4036  PCI: 1:0
#  GPU2 + GeForce GTX 970          MB: 4037  PCI: 2:0
#  GPU3 + GeForce GTX 970          MB: 4037  PCI: 4:0

Whereas nvidia-smi, my bash scripts etc number GPUs according to PCIE numbering (1:0, 2:0, 4:0, 7:0).
This causes a lot of confusion while overclocking and checking temperatures.

Is there a way to fix it? Strangely, this happens only on one of my rigs out of ~ 10.
Drivers are the latest release 390.30.

thanks!

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2021765.msg31957286#msg31957286
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:24:14 AM
 #2915

I've fixed it already in the current development branch - so it will be included in 0.6.1.

Thank you very much for your answer! When will the version 0.6.1 be released?

In 1-2 weeks most likely.
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:25:43 AM
 #2916

my rig of 6 GTX 1070 falls at least 1 time a day
dstm's ver 6
gpu_id 3 54 3 an illegal memory access was encountered
What could be causing this?

Try to reduce your overclocking - also check your temperature and power supply
dstm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 126


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 01:26:06 AM
 #2917

Hello dstm,

So I'm a total newbie, as you can tell by my forum join date.. In fact, this is my first post here on the bitcointalk.org forums. I'm so new that I just switched from NiceHash yesterday. I switched to your miner, and have had zero issues with it. It works, it's easy to setup (even for a new guy like me). Zero complaints. Thank you very much for such a great piece of software.

I do, however, have one question...It was my understanding that this miner includes a 1% dev fee, enumerated by an asterisk in the output line.

I have been keeping a very close eye on the output, and I have never seen one share go to you yet. That's in a non-stop 24 hour period.

I have absolutely no problem with paying the dev fee at all; I would like to make sure that my little mining rig helps support you and your efforts. So the question is... how come I'm not paying you your 1%?

Edit: OK, so no sooner had I hit the post button than a line shows up with an asterisk in it. So it turns out you are getting the dev fee.

Thank you again for your great miner. It's also really nice to see you responding to your users.


The fee is 2%.
Supercoiner111
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 07:36:03 AM
 #2918

Nice work with the development of DSTM so far, keep it up!

crazydane
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 493
Merit: 157



View Profile
March 10, 2018, 07:59:59 AM
 #2919

I was curious if anyone is using HIVE OS with DSTM?  Ever since HIVE OS was upgraded to DSTM v0.6 I started getting the following errors every time I start the miner on each rig (like after a HIVE OS upgrade, or applying any OC setting changes):



My wallet settings for DSTM are the same as they have always been:



Most of the time dstm starts up fine and begins mining: (although I do get the warning message as you can see)



But sometimes I get this:



And it just keeps looping through that until I do a "miner stop" and "miner start" from an ssh session into the rig having the issue.

Here's the miner config that HIVE OS generates:



Any ideas what I need to change to correct the issue?

Thanks!
SpecterHome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 10, 2018, 04:40:59 PM
 #2920

Hi! I've got a problem.
2018-03-10 21:14:34|gpu_id 2 94 1 unknown error
2018-03-10 21:14:34|gpu 2 unresponsive - check overclocking
2018-03-10 21:14:34|cudaMemcpy 1 failed
2018-03-10 21:14:34|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed


2018-03-10 10:41:32|gpu_id 2 72 1 unknown error
2018-03-10 10:41:32|gpu 2 unresponsive - check overclocking
2018-03-10 10:41:33|cudaMemcpy 1 failed
2018-03-10 10:41:33|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed


2018-03-10 1:31:29|gpu_id 2 78 2 unknown error
2018-03-10 1:31:29|gpu 2 unresponsive - check overclocking
2018-03-10 1:31:29|cudaMemcpy 1 failed
2018-03-10 1:31:29|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed


2018-03-09 8:57:02|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed
2018-03-09 8:57:03|gpu_id 2 75 2 unknown error
2018-03-09 8:57:03|gpu 2 unresponsive - check overclocking
2018-03-09 8:57:03|cudaMemcpy 1 failed
2018-03-09 8:57:03|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed
2018-03-09 8:57:03|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed


2018-03-08 16:27:03|gpu_id 2 67 2 unknown error
2018-03-08 16:27:03|gpu 2 unresponsive - check overclocking
2018-03-08 16:27:03|cudaMemcpy 1 failed
2018-03-08 16:27:03|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed



2018-03-08 3:02:00|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed
2018-03-08 3:02:00|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed
2018-03-08 3:02:00|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed
2018-03-08 3:02:00|gpu_id 2 52 0 unknown error
2018-03-08 3:02:00|gpu 2 unresponsive - check overclocking
2018-03-08 3:02:00|cudaMemcpy 1 failed
2018-03-08 3:02:00|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed
2018-03-08 3:02:00|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed
2018-03-08 3:02:00|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed
2018-03-08 3:02:00|nvmlDeviceGetTemperature failed


As i understand, that is the same videocard? Can you paste what mean the number of error? I've got 52, 67, 75, 78, 72, 94.
Pages: « 1 ... 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 [146] 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!