Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:22:48 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 208865 times)
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2012, 08:44:50 PM
 #281

... or try aoclbf for a very flexible GUI

1481221368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221368
Reply with quote  #2

1481221368
Report to moderator
1481221368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221368
Reply with quote  #2

1481221368
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481221368
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221368

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221368
Reply with quote  #2

1481221368
Report to moderator
slash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 10:52:13 PM
 #282

I can't register an account as it seems. I don't have OpenID and I don't want it. :/
scrubadub
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 11:16:45 PM
 #283

I can't register an account as it seems. I don't have OpenID and I don't want it. :/

I was a little shocked they were using open ID at first too, but think of it this way; they dont have any important passwords of yours that people often use on other sites. So if their user DB is hacked, nothing of value is gained. (just dont use any common passwords on your workers)
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 08, 2012, 07:36:15 AM
 #284

I can't register an account as it seems. I don't have OpenID and I don't want it. :/

Why not? On every pool you have to sign up and create an account anyway. Why would you trust a pool with that data more than an OpenID provider? If you are truly paranoid, you can even make your own openid provider.

nathanghart
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
February 08, 2012, 10:03:23 PM
 #285

As long as everything goes according to plan, I will be bringing on about ~4Gh online to bitminter in the next few days.  Cheesy
I hope to be a big part of the family for a long while.

Running BAMT. I have two rigs 3x5970s on ASRock 970 Extreme 4, Sempron 140 and Seasonic 1250 80+ Gold.

Not worried yet, but first boot the system did not see my 2&3rd cards. I might need some help if I cannot resolve this myself.

For now, I need some general advice....

1.How long to burn-in the gpus at stock?
2.How far to push OC settings after burn-in?
3.Should I underclock the CPU?

Any other tips for a newbie?

Thanks fellow bitminters!!! Happy minting.

Not mining since 6-26-2012
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 08, 2012, 10:12:29 PM
 #286

As long as everything goes according to plan, I will be bringing on about ~5Gh online to bitminter in the next few days.  Cheesy
I hope to be a big part of the family for a long while.

Running BAMT. I have two rigs 3x5970s on ASRock 970 Extreme 4, Sempron 140 and Seasonic 1250 80+ Gold.

Not worried yet, but first boot the system did not see my 2&3rd cards. I might need some help if I cannot resolve this myself.

I have yet to try BAMT, but you probably just need to run

Code:
aticonfig --adapter=all --initial

(add sudo if its debian based without root account)

For now, I need some general advice....
Quote
1.How long to burn-in the gpus at stock?

Im not convinced burning in does anything really; at most it could help settle thermal pads if its a new card, but that wouldnt take very long. A day or so?

Quote
2.How far to push OC settings after burn-in?

No one can answer that for you. Whatever clocks are stable and dont push temps too high. The latter is also quite subjective. I personally dont like temps over 70C, but keeping 5970s below that may not be easy.

Quote
3.Should I underclock the CPU?

edit: I misread. You asked about underclocking the CPU, not GPU. Yeah, by all means, underclock it.
Below answer was for underclocking the GPU:

If you have to pay for electricity, perhaps. Although its not underclocking you should be concerned about, but undervolting. Lowering voltage will significantly reduce temperatures and power consumption (the relation is quadratic), while usually only marginally lowering max safe overclocks. You will have to experiment.

Underclocking at the same voltage makes little sense, unless you have a thermal problem. You will be less powerefficient at lower clocks, since power consumption of the videocards scales linear with clockspeed, and the overhead (CPU, motherboard, etc) doesnt scale at all. So it may sound strange, but given a certain voltage, higher clockspeeds will be more power efficient.

Quote
Any other tips for a newbie?

Yeah. Stick around Smiley And listen to Death and Taxes. He knows all there is to know about 5970s and I just saw he is playing with BAMT, so Im sure he will correct any mistakes I just typed Smiley.


DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 08, 2012, 10:23:35 PM
 #287

As long as everything goes according to plan, I will be bringing on about ~4Gh online to bitminter in the next few days.  Cheesy
I hope to be a big part of the family for a long while.

Running BAMT. I have two rigs 3x5970s on ASRock 970 Extreme 4, Sempron 140 and Seasonic 1250 80+ Gold.

Not worried yet, but first boot the system did not see my 2&3rd cards. I might need some help if I cannot resolve this myself.

Couple of things:

1) Do everything from SSH console (login as root)
2) Never use sudo you are logged in as root.  It can be unpredictable.  Just don't do it and yes it can be a bad habit to break. Smiley
3) P4 Man is right on the aticonfig command but I would add a -f (which will force a rebuild if sections of the file have invalid data)

Code:
aticonfig --adapter=all --initial -f

4) Do a reboot after any xorg change (like #3 above).  Changing BAMT configs or cgminer configs only requires restarting the mining daemon from gpumon by pressing "R".  BAMT has a special command "coldreboot" for rebooting.

If the "system" still doesn't see it you need to find out where it doesn't see it.
a) gpumon (how many GPU displayed)
b) cgminer -n
c) aticonfig -lsa  (aka --list-adapters)
nathanghart
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
February 08, 2012, 10:38:12 PM
 #288

Very cool. Thanks so much. I had no idea about the coldreboot. I've been doing the standard shutdown -r 0

When my eyes uncross from programming all day, I will give it another shot with your advice.

Not mining since 6-26-2012
nathanghart
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
February 09, 2012, 04:08:56 AM
 #289

Turns out the device must be defective. There was one 5970 causing the problem. Now I have everything ready to go....must RMA and build a case. So, a few days delay, but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Thanks.

Not mining since 6-26-2012
sinewave3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 06:56:28 AM
 #290

I like your interface, but with cpu only mining (i know...) my hash rate is 1/4 of what it is using the ufasoft miner with guiminer.

System specs are Win 7 x86, 4gb ram, core2duo e8400
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 09, 2012, 07:06:56 AM
 #291

I like your interface, but with cpu only mining (i know...) my hash rate is 1/4 of what it is using the ufasoft miner with guiminer.

System specs are Win 7 x86, 4gb ram, core2duo e8400

Bitminter client is indeed a lot slower than others for CPU mining, but no one cares, because CPU mining is so absurdly slow anyway, one has to wonder why you are even bothering. More over, it puts a lot of stress on the servers so there are even calls to ban cpu mining from pools, so dont expect your issue to be solved;  at least not by anything other than adding an opencl capable AMD videocard Smiley.

If you can not add a videocard, you would be wise to look into mining on alternative CPU friendly chains like Litecoin. Its not going to make you rich either, but you will make considerably more. You can trade your litecoins for bitcoins.

chriswr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 09:21:05 AM
 #292

Hello all,

Need a bit of help here team,

Got one machine working no problem - 2 * 5870 - watercooled - windows7  at about 750 - 800GHP

but trying to get 2nd machine working - with BAMT  Shocked  have got 2 * 4870 (but only one fitted at the moment)


set another worker up with BitMinter called "box2" ok

I'am new to linux so forgive me from now on! Tongue

Got the USB key done OK,
boots up OK,
Got connection to net OK,
Got updates done OK

Think my problem is with 'bamt.conf' and/or 'pool'

what should I put in the 'pool' file - tried things like - 'http://chriswr_box2@mint.bitminter.com:8332'
think I'am getting the format wrong ?

cheers,
chriswr

what do I need to change in bamt.conf - set gpu speed 750 so far - do I need to put worker name or password in this file ?

When I start the miner nothing happen (not connecting ?) just get a red screen after about 30 sec with gpu0 failed (low load ?)
if I stop the miner ,it goes back to a black screen.

nOOb eh ! WTF am I doing doing wrong ? (apart from not using windows  Shocked)




DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2012, 10:49:23 AM
 #293

what should I put in the 'pool' file - tried things like - 'http://chriswr_box2@mint.bitminter.com:8332'

I never tried BAMT, but perhaps the password should be in the URL?

Code:
http://chriswr_box2:PASS@mint.bitminter.com:8332

where PASS is the password for the box2 worker.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
chriswr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 10, 2012, 11:08:19 AM
 #294

Hmm - Good idea, but no - still the same ,not connecting + red screen of death. Cry
any more thoughts ?
cheers chriswr
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
February 10, 2012, 07:16:49 PM
 #295

Very clean GUI. But GUI might not be what will make more btcs.

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2012, 01:24:45 PM
 #296

Very clean GUI. But GUI might not be what will make more btcs.

No, the GUI doesn't really help make more bitcoins. Still, a good user experience and less hassle is worth something to many people. Smiley

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
scrubadub
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 08:32:12 PM
 #297

Woo I found my first block 518, though it was just a namecoin block and I already have over 50 name coins so statistically I think I should have already had one by now. I did find it at 16.2% CDF though, less than an hour.

Is there a way to see all blocks you've found, since the blocks page rolls off?
ZodiacDragon84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


The king and the pawn go in the same box @ endgame


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 09:15:41 PM
 #298

looong block. keep your  Cool guys!

Looking for a quick easy mining solution? Check out
www.bitminter.com

See my trader rep at Bitcoinfeedback.com
!
drewtaz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 11:41:08 PM
 #299

Bump for a great pool with awesome support!
And the proprietary miner is great!

-Becks

Low Entry BTC March Madness Pool!  0.5 BTC per entry!
http://www.bitmadness.com/pool.php?g=KXLQN2YM

Help me a build a mining rig!  Gladly accepting donations!  =)
1HtzqZBcP1yKt6KjFz1xvm1ppCLBcDz3vB
scrubadub
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
February 14, 2012, 04:33:59 AM
 #300

As the hashrate increases the shifts keep getting shorter, is there a better formula that can be used to either keep shifts the same length of time or dynamically adjust the number of shifts that count toward a found block?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!