Bitcoin Forum
July 12, 2020, 04:15:00 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 220327 times)
Menelik_I
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 07:03:05 PM
 #601

Looks like I am late to the Bitcoin Party, I am building my eGPU mostly to play Arma3 and was hoping to put it to good use when it is idle, but with those ASCI devices it is worthless to mine  Undecided

Also the ASCI devices seems to have no other use besides mining bitcoins, so I think that as soon as they arrive on the Market I will just quit my plan of mining.
1594527300
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594527300

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594527300
Reply with quote  #2

1594527300
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 08:29:23 AM
 #602

Looks like I am late to the Bitcoin Party, I am building my eGPU mostly to play Arma3 and was hoping to put it to good use when it is idle, but with those ASCI devices it is worthless to mine  Undecided

Also the ASCI devices seems to have no other use besides mining bitcoins, so I think that as soon as they arrive on the Market I will just quit my plan of mining.

I wouldnt say its  a waste. with a 5870 u get around 300hash(stock speeds), thats equals to about 0,039btc/24hours
thats 2,26dollars pr day given the todays marked of 58$ pr btc.

It comes down to what you pay for your power.
Also i wouldnt worry about them asics just jet. When Carpo was online with his 300kHash/s power i got really good payout since the pool had around that time 1.8THash, hit BTC more often and there was a bigger chance that i got a payout=)

The problem with those asics is that the mining speed will go trough the roof and so the bitcoins will be found faster/ergo the difficulty would also go really fast up.
As of now i see no problem mining with GPU.

I have bought 2x7970 2x7850 4x5870 2x5830 within the last month, and im not worried=) also if the bitcoin marked would be "killed" by those asics, you can allways mine litecoins (which doesnt support asics jet, but recently started supporting GPU, previously only CPU).

I do also think that the bitcoin value will go up as the ability to mine them will be more difficult.
Just look at the last month, was around 20$ now it is 58$
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 08:32:15 AM
 #603

Since i for some reason cant post anywhere else on bitcointalk except in this bitminter thread ill ask the question here=)

Remember a couple of years ago there was an service where you donated computation power for cancer research.
Is there any such thing alive today? I dont mind the computers running 24/7 and costing me a little if its for a good cause=)

You need 5 posts and 4 hrs logged in time to post outside the newbie area Smiley

I think you are talking about BOINC (or something similar) - i used to use for the Seti@Home project (and a couple of other ones - but mostly seti).

Ah thanks for clearing that up
Menelik_I
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 03:28:50 PM
Last edit: March 20, 2013, 04:29:40 PM by Menelik_I
 #604

Looks like I am late to the Bitcoin Party, I am building my eGPU mostly to play Arma3 and was hoping to put it to good use when it is idle, but with those ASCI devices it is worthless to mine  Undecided

Also the ASCI devices seems to have no other use besides mining bitcoins, so I think that as soon as they arrive on the Market I will just quit my plan of mining.

I wouldnt say its  a waste. with a 5870 u get around 300hash(stock speeds), thats equals to about 0,039btc/24hours
thats 2,26dollars pr day given the todays marked of 58$ pr btc.

It comes down to what you pay for your power.
Also i wouldnt worry about them asics just jet. When Carpo was online with his 300kHash/s power i got really good payout since the pool had around that time 1.8THash, hit BTC more often and there was a bigger chance that i got a payout=)

The problem with those asics is that the mining speed will go trough the roof and so the bitcoins will be found faster/ergo the difficulty would also go really fast up.
As of now i see no problem mining with GPU.

I have bought 2x7970 2x7850 4x5870 2x5830 within the last month, and im not worried=) also if the bitcoin marked would be "killed" by those asics, you can allways mine litecoins (which doesnt support asics jet, but recently started supporting GPU, previously only CPU).

I do also think that the bitcoin value will go up as the ability to mine them will be more difficult.
Just look at the last month, was around 20$ now it is 58$


Thanks for the clarifications, I looked up my electricity bill and I pay around 1.5$ to 2$ per day for electricity under current consumption, so if the price increase it will be slightly better for me.

I was going to buy the eGPU anyway because my laptop GPU is obsolete for my library of steam games, so it is good news that I still put it to good use. I will give a look at Litecoins, seems promising. Smiley
What about the ASCI devices themselves, are they really that good ? I really don't plan on getting any, because there lack of dual use is a downside for me, at least my eGPU can be used as a core for custom PC and I guess that more stantard BTC rigs can always be sold for graphic cards.
shnull
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 12:17:44 AM
 #605

keywords for search (or does it search topics only) : linux , mint , nadia , 64bit, ATI , 6970, opencl support , miscalculations

finally found a reply button,

i just wanted to share my experience with installing it on linux mint 64bit (nadia)

core2duo cpu (which slows the gpu calculations down when turned on) and an ATI 6970

at first i had the catalyst 13.2 beta drivers installed and it wouldnt detect an opencl compatible cpu so i did some lookups and it turns out you have to separately download and install (superuser) the sdk from http://developer.amd.com/tools/heterogeneous-computing/amd-accelerated-parallel-processing-app-sdk/downloads/

as well, did that and rebooted and the gpu got detected and started working but i got nothing but mis-calculations, but the tweaking wrench did not appear, didnt find anything on the topic here so i decided to remove the beta drivers (open terminal and : sudo aticonfig --uninstall)

and now it runs without any catalyst installed, the wrench is there and i can turn bfi off (no clue what that is but it costs me about 80Mhps, which is still like way better than running on the cpu)

maybe someone finds some use for this and needs to pull out less hair before getting it to work with this, nice stuff anyway
Menelik_I
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 02:16:48 PM
 #606

It seems I made a mistake while buying my PSU  Sad

I bought a cheap, 15£, PSU but it seems I needed 2 6-Pin PCI connectors. The PSU doesn't have PCI connectors,there is only have possibility to use one adapter to convert 2 4-pin connectors into a PCI. Maybe I should return the PSU Instead of bying a 8£ additional adapter.
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 02:45:49 PM
Last edit: March 23, 2013, 09:50:27 PM by svennand
 #607

It seems I made a mistake while buying my PSU  Sad

I bought a cheap, 15£, PSU but it seems I needed 2 6-Pin PCI connectors. The PSU doesn't have PCI connectors,there is only have possibility to use one adapter to convert 2 4-pin connectors into a PCI. Maybe I should return the PSU Instead of bying a 8£ additional adapter.

no 6pins or 6+2 pins at all?, didnt think you could get such a psu today=P
Most people doing mining will recommending using a good psu, preferable a 80+ (Bronze/Silver/gold/platinum) sertified psu

You can use a adapter, but chech that the psu can deliver enough power on the 12v.

Most PSU of higher quality use a single 12v rail for the PCI-e connectors which has available allmost all the power from psu.
Example my Seasonic X1250 psu has 8x 6+2pins and has capability of 1248w on the rail=)
With driving 4x5870 the psu is room temperature and takes it with extreme ease..

Btw the 5870 has a peak wattage usage of 188w, so be shure that the 12v has this capability
Menelik_I
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 06:31:17 PM
 #608

It seems I made a mistake while buying my PSU  Sad

I bought a cheap, 15£, PSU but it seems I needed 2 6-Pin PCI connectors. The PSU doesn't have PCI connectors,there is only have possibility to use one adapter to convert 2 4-pin connectors into a PCI. Maybe I should return the PSU Instead of bying a 8£ additional adapter.

no 6pins or 6+2 pins at all?, didnt think you could get such a psu today=P
Most people doing mining will recommending using a good psu, preferable a 80+ (Bronze/Silver/gold/platinum) sertified psu

You can use a adapter, but chech that the psu can deliver enough power on the 12v.

Most PSU of higher quality use a single 12v rail for the PCI-e connectors which has available allmost all the power from psu.
Example my Seasonic X1250 psu has 8x 6+2pins and has capability of 1248w on the rail=)
With driving 4x5870 the psu is room temperature and takes it with extreme ease..

Btw the 5870 has a peak wattage usage of 188w, so be shure that the 12v has this capability

It was a cheapo PSU I bough on Ebay, already sent the email to return it, instead bough a 500W with 2 PCI-e connectors, I am not looking into expending yet so it will work out right Smiley

Now my adapter is late will be redivelered only on Wednesday ... can't wait  Grin
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1064


Bitcoin is antisemitic


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 02:30:14 PM
 #609

Bitminter seems down
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2013, 02:53:43 PM
 #610

Bitminter seems down

A 5 minute ddos. Just like the 10 minute ddos last night. Weird stuff.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
SKART123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 09:14:12 PM
 #611

Hi! Bit Miner is awesome! On Linux it is even more great!!

But I have a serious problem - BitMiner client does not want to see my second video card!!
I have HD 6770 and HD 6970 without crossfire under Xubuntu(Ubuntu).
Everything is plugged correct. AMD Control Center (amdcccle) saw all two videocards. I can even select between them. I have 2 displays connected to each - and can tune them in amdccle and I also recieve image on both. So the cards are both working. 
But BitMinter  writes :"Found 1 OpenCL-compatible GPU".

P.S. I have installed drivers by executing only "sudo apt-get install fglrx fglrx-amdcccle". May be I should do smthing more?

Please help me - I have been searching for solution for the second day!

SKART123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 10:02:51 PM
 #612

I have answered myself in the last sentence! I just need to install OpenCL library from AMD - and the bit miner found all GPU!!

But I steel have a questions - previously I have tried to launch HD6770 and HD 5850 in pair - but catalyst center haven`t seem them bouth. And I have read that it is impossible to launch to versions of the same driver - does anybody knows about this anything? Please help!!
olivaw
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 29, 2013, 12:49:34 AM
 #613

Just jumped in the game for a bit of fun, Mac OS X 10.8.3 with Radeon 4850.
Menissalt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 29, 2013, 02:30:23 AM
 #614

So we get a huge jump in speed and we are hit with 3 stales in one day... Something seems off with this. Anybody have any idea?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2013, 11:31:53 AM
 #615

So we get a huge jump in speed and we are hit with 3 stales in one day... Something seems off with this. Anybody have any idea?

I posted about it in the main thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg1698949#msg1698949

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Pentel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 29, 2013, 02:51:25 PM
 #616

Like everyone here says, BitMinter is by far the easiest pool to use!  Great for noobies and hobbyist miners and of course the serious miner.
Anyway is it worth investing in ModMiner Quad FPGA?
I have pre-ordered a single BFL ASIC. (Fingers crossed for that one)

Second Question about ModMiner QUAD, the site says:
Quote
Draws from the 12V supply with 5A fuse at the Molex connector


Do I have to hook it up to my PC PSU or can I buy an adapter like the one on ZTEC

Thanks.


cross/\'kros/ n: a thing they nail people to. Vircurex - Exchnage
PGP Key
BM-NC5DsQck3UyTHFv3fKCMBprw7BNVHUwH
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 29, 2013, 08:30:38 PM
 #617

Like everyone here says, BitMinter is by far the easiest pool to use!  Great for noobies and hobbyist miners and of course the serious miner.
Anyway is it worth investing in ModMiner Quad FPGA?
I have pre-ordered a single BFL ASIC. (Fingers crossed for that one)

Second Question about ModMiner QUAD, the site says:
Quote
Draws from the 12V supply with 5A fuse at the Molex connector


Do I have to hook it up to my PC PSU or can I buy an adapter like the one on ZTEC

Thanks.



In my opinion its a gamble. over 1000$ for 800mhash.(modminer)
Sure it uses little power (40w) but how long will you  have to run it to pay for it...

800hash gets u about 0,08btc pr day. thats about 7,2dollars pr day in profit (disregarding power bill). it would take you over 3months to pay it down.
And thats not counting in the difficulty changes. If BFL suddenly desides that they will start shipping the difficulty would go trough the roof. And you would most likely never break even.

Also as of other "e-currency" those fpga and asics will not work mining anything else (so far at least).

With a graphics card at least you can flee over to litecoin mining if the bitcoin marked becomes flooded with cheap XXX GH/Hash asics... since litecoin doesnt support asics (supposedly never will but they said that about gpu too...).
Just hoping that bitminter will integrate support for mining litecoins. I really like bitminter and with the java app ur able to mine within minutes from setting up the computer.
Ive had a lot more trouble with my litecoin riggs...(install cgminer, config script, download amd drivers, including app dev kit and so on...).

Just put an order in for an extra two 7970 cards (will cost 900 dollars, those give me 1100Mhash bitcoin or 1000Khash litecoin and using about 500W(measured at plug), either way ill be making money, and if it e-marked goes bust i will just sell them, or have a wiched gaming rig=P. Since theyr not som dum brick design to do ONE single task.
Pentel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 29, 2013, 10:45:49 PM
 #618


If BFL suddenly desides that they will start shipping the difficulty would go trough the roof. And you would most likely never break even.

This is was I thought, I know it's a risk this late in the game.
But it would cost over a $1000 to buy a new computer in which I could upgrade to high end GPU cards (And buy them).  Cheap dell's are NOT easy to or meant to be upgraded :-(

The smart option, buy a new computer with great ATI cards, like you said I would have a great game rig or I could always sell the cards on.
Risk, Risk, Risk, there is always risk.

Thanks for your advise mate!

cross/\'kros/ n: a thing they nail people to. Vircurex - Exchnage
PGP Key
BM-NC5DsQck3UyTHFv3fKCMBprw7BNVHUwH
MrThePlague
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 29, 2013, 10:49:47 PM
 #619

Very nice! Thanks for sharing man!

My Rep: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=209239.msg2191317#msg2191317
BTC: 1A412oChzSsVYXgXThTWFEh8uCg25EBxov
Pentel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 30, 2013, 12:03:09 AM
 #620

I've just used the old flexible friend and bought myself a new PC  Cry
The sticker on my Dell Inspiron 530 says it was built in 2008, so I needed to upgrade anyway (I keep telling myself this over and over)

So a new Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-3770K (3.5GHz) 8MB Cache
8GB RAM
2x 3GB AMD RADEON™ HD7970
And so on...

Hopefully I'll get at least 1GH/s.....

NOTE:
Don't have a flexible friend with credit beside you, when you've been drinking



cross/\'kros/ n: a thing they nail people to. Vircurex - Exchnage
PGP Key
BM-NC5DsQck3UyTHFv3fKCMBprw7BNVHUwH
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!