Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:16:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 208854 times)
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 09:50:09 AM
 #601

Since i for some reason cant post anywhere else on bitcointalk except in this bitminter thread ill ask the question here=)

Recently started up bitmining trough bitminter (tnx for making bitmining be EASY!).
As of today i have 2x7970 in crossfire mode and 4x5870 in another build.
Considering purchasing another 4x5870 rig also

My question is, when those alleged asic stuff comes to play (if they ever do), will it be pointless for us "hobby" miners to even participate in mining?
Im not expection to break even with my investment 0.16usd pr kW electrisity... (its all just for fun really)

But maybe it can be used for something else?

Remember a couple of years ago there was an service where you donated computation power for cancer research.
Is there any such thing alive today? I dont mind the computers running 24/7 and costing me a little if its for a good cause=)
1481199366
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199366

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199366
Reply with quote  #2

1481199366
Report to moderator
1481199366
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199366

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199366
Reply with quote  #2

1481199366
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481199366
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199366

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199366
Reply with quote  #2

1481199366
Report to moderator
mattenthehat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 12:58:31 AM
 #602


ckolivas posted in the client thread that Catalyst 13.1 is unstable. I haven't tested 13.1 or 13.2 yet, personally.

If you post the hs_err_pid on pastebin or similar, I'll have a look. Or email it to me, operator@bitminter.com


The strange thing is that 13.1 was working before, although I was getting some strange artifacts (which is why I upgraded to 13.2 in the first place). Here is the hs_err_pid file: http://pastebin.com/tyrmpren
I would honestly be OK with simply downgrading to an older version of Catalyst. The only reason I upgraded to 13.1 in the first place was to see if that made a difference to the stability of my PC (it didn't). I think those stability issues were caused by some problem with my windows installation because if I boot from my secondary HDD, that issue seems to go away (although I have not tested it enough to be 100% certain). Unfortunately, though, AMD will not let you download older drivers from their site. If anyone knows of somewhere that I can get a nice, clean virus-free copy of 12.x, that would be awesome. Thanks!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2013, 07:31:55 AM
 #603

My question is, when those alleged asic stuff comes to play (if they ever do), will it be pointless for us "hobby" miners to even participate in mining?
Im not expection to break even with my investment 0.16usd pr kW electrisity... (its all just for fun really)

I hope hobby miners will still be mining. It's important that the hash rate is spread out on as many hands as possible. Luckily butterflylabs has ASIC products as cheap as $150.


The strange thing is that 13.1 was working before, although I was getting some strange artifacts (which is why I upgraded to 13.2 in the first place). Here is the hs_err_pid file: http://pastebin.com/tyrmpren

Yeah, that looks like the AMD driver crash people have been having with the latest Catalyst mess. Now if I go to amd.com I find 13.1 and 13.3 beta. Wonder what happened with 13.2. Tongue

I would honestly be OK with simply downgrading to an older version of Catalyst. The only reason I upgraded to 13.1 in the first place was to see if that made a difference to the stability of my PC (it didn't). I think those stability issues were caused by some problem with my windows installation because if I boot from my secondary HDD, that issue seems to go away (although I have not tested it enough to be 100% certain). Unfortunately, though, AMD will not let you download older drivers from their site. If anyone knows of somewhere that I can get a nice, clean virus-free copy of 12.x, that would be awesome. Thanks!

AMD uninstall doesn't work properly and never has. You may need to clean up some things manually. This may help: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=359883

AMD does have older Catalyst versions available for download. If you google "previous catalyst drivers" you should find them. For instance, for 64-bit Windows: http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
kea808
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
March 17, 2013, 05:13:45 PM
 #604

I ordered some BTL equipment, but since it was last week I have no idea when I will get it, and if I ordered enough to actually make anything with it.  I got a 30gh and a jalapeño, but I will probably not get them till what may or June?  It just seems that for the next several months all I can do is GPU mine. Kind of depressing actually, but that is what happens when you show up late.  Smiley

You should feel luck for the short wait. I placed my order in June of last year..    Cry
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 17, 2013, 07:35:54 PM
 #605


ckolivas posted in the client thread that Catalyst 13.1 is unstable. I haven't tested 13.1 or 13.2 yet, personally.

If you post the hs_err_pid on pastebin or similar, I'll have a look. Or email it to me, operator@bitminter.com


The strange thing is that 13.1 was working before, although I was getting some strange artifacts (which is why I upgraded to 13.2 in the first place). Here is the hs_err_pid file: http://pastebin.com/tyrmpren
I would honestly be OK with simply downgrading to an older version of Catalyst. The only reason I upgraded to 13.1 in the first place was to see if that made a difference to the stability of my PC (it didn't). I think those stability issues were caused by some problem with my windows installation because if I boot from my secondary HDD, that issue seems to go away (although I have not tested it enough to be 100% certain). Unfortunately, though, AMD will not let you download older drivers from their site. If anyone knows of somewhere that I can get a nice, clean virus-free copy of 12.x, that would be awesome. Thanks!


I had a bad experience with the Catalyst 13.1 driver. no matter what card i put in the computer, tried three different 7970 and one 7850,also swapped out the psu.
 i kept getting weird screen artifact after just a couple of minutes of bitminter usage. Tried to remove all drivers and reinstall but didnt fix the issue.

At last i downloaded the Catalyst 13.3 beta driver. innstalled and problem solved. artifact free and mining again=) Also the temperature on the 7970 card in that machine went from 86degrees to 66 degress during load!
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 19, 2013, 10:50:17 AM
 #606

Lol, just experinced the same problem with my other computer running with 2x 7970 in crossfire.
Updated to catalyst 13.3 beta and all is well again.

That 13.1 driver is buggy...
viperaus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 12:48:16 PM
 #607

Since i for some reason cant post anywhere else on bitcointalk except in this bitminter thread ill ask the question here=)

Remember a couple of years ago there was an service where you donated computation power for cancer research.
Is there any such thing alive today? I dont mind the computers running 24/7 and costing me a little if its for a good cause=)

You need 5 posts and 4 hrs logged in time to post outside the newbie area Smiley

I think you are talking about BOINC (or something similar) - i used to use for the Seti@Home project (and a couple of other ones - but mostly seti).
Menelik_I
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 06:04:50 PM
 #608

Hi I am bit of newbie who cameback to Bitcoins, downloaded one of the first exe but run it only a few time before forgetting about it.

Now I am buying a ATI Radeon HD 5870 to build an external GPU unit for my laptop, so I signed up for Biminter, I think it will give me some 300 MHs, is it even profitable to run app with that kind of power ?
Menelik_I
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 07:03:05 PM
 #609

Looks like I am late to the Bitcoin Party, I am building my eGPU mostly to play Arma3 and was hoping to put it to good use when it is idle, but with those ASCI devices it is worthless to mine  Undecided

Also the ASCI devices seems to have no other use besides mining bitcoins, so I think that as soon as they arrive on the Market I will just quit my plan of mining.
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 08:29:23 AM
 #610

Looks like I am late to the Bitcoin Party, I am building my eGPU mostly to play Arma3 and was hoping to put it to good use when it is idle, but with those ASCI devices it is worthless to mine  Undecided

Also the ASCI devices seems to have no other use besides mining bitcoins, so I think that as soon as they arrive on the Market I will just quit my plan of mining.

I wouldnt say its  a waste. with a 5870 u get around 300hash(stock speeds), thats equals to about 0,039btc/24hours
thats 2,26dollars pr day given the todays marked of 58$ pr btc.

It comes down to what you pay for your power.
Also i wouldnt worry about them asics just jet. When Carpo was online with his 300kHash/s power i got really good payout since the pool had around that time 1.8THash, hit BTC more often and there was a bigger chance that i got a payout=)

The problem with those asics is that the mining speed will go trough the roof and so the bitcoins will be found faster/ergo the difficulty would also go really fast up.
As of now i see no problem mining with GPU.

I have bought 2x7970 2x7850 4x5870 2x5830 within the last month, and im not worried=) also if the bitcoin marked would be "killed" by those asics, you can allways mine litecoins (which doesnt support asics jet, but recently started supporting GPU, previously only CPU).

I do also think that the bitcoin value will go up as the ability to mine them will be more difficult.
Just look at the last month, was around 20$ now it is 58$
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 08:32:15 AM
 #611

Since i for some reason cant post anywhere else on bitcointalk except in this bitminter thread ill ask the question here=)

Remember a couple of years ago there was an service where you donated computation power for cancer research.
Is there any such thing alive today? I dont mind the computers running 24/7 and costing me a little if its for a good cause=)

You need 5 posts and 4 hrs logged in time to post outside the newbie area Smiley

I think you are talking about BOINC (or something similar) - i used to use for the Seti@Home project (and a couple of other ones - but mostly seti).

Ah thanks for clearing that up
Menelik_I
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 03:28:50 PM
 #612

Looks like I am late to the Bitcoin Party, I am building my eGPU mostly to play Arma3 and was hoping to put it to good use when it is idle, but with those ASCI devices it is worthless to mine  Undecided

Also the ASCI devices seems to have no other use besides mining bitcoins, so I think that as soon as they arrive on the Market I will just quit my plan of mining.

I wouldnt say its  a waste. with a 5870 u get around 300hash(stock speeds), thats equals to about 0,039btc/24hours
thats 2,26dollars pr day given the todays marked of 58$ pr btc.

It comes down to what you pay for your power.
Also i wouldnt worry about them asics just jet. When Carpo was online with his 300kHash/s power i got really good payout since the pool had around that time 1.8THash, hit BTC more often and there was a bigger chance that i got a payout=)

The problem with those asics is that the mining speed will go trough the roof and so the bitcoins will be found faster/ergo the difficulty would also go really fast up.
As of now i see no problem mining with GPU.

I have bought 2x7970 2x7850 4x5870 2x5830 within the last month, and im not worried=) also if the bitcoin marked would be "killed" by those asics, you can allways mine litecoins (which doesnt support asics jet, but recently started supporting GPU, previously only CPU).

I do also think that the bitcoin value will go up as the ability to mine them will be more difficult.
Just look at the last month, was around 20$ now it is 58$


Thanks for the clarifications, I looked up my electricity bill and I pay around 1.5$ to 2$ per day for electricity under current consumption, so if the price increase it will be slightly better for me.

I was going to buy the eGPU anyway because my laptop GPU is obsolete for my library of steam games, so it is good news that I still put it to good use. I will give a look at Litecoins, seems promising. Smiley
What about the ASCI devices themselves, are they really that good ? I really don't plan on getting any, because there lack of dual use is a downside for me, at least my eGPU can be used as a core for custom PC and I guess that more stantard BTC rigs can always be sold for graphic cards.
shnull
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 12:17:44 AM
 #613

keywords for search (or does it search topics only) : linux , mint , nadia , 64bit, ATI , 6970, opencl support , miscalculations

finally found a reply button,

i just wanted to share my experience with installing it on linux mint 64bit (nadia)

core2duo cpu (which slows the gpu calculations down when turned on) and an ATI 6970

at first i had the catalyst 13.2 beta drivers installed and it wouldnt detect an opencl compatible cpu so i did some lookups and it turns out you have to separately download and install (superuser) the sdk from http://developer.amd.com/tools/heterogeneous-computing/amd-accelerated-parallel-processing-app-sdk/downloads/

as well, did that and rebooted and the gpu got detected and started working but i got nothing but mis-calculations, but the tweaking wrench did not appear, didnt find anything on the topic here so i decided to remove the beta drivers (open terminal and : sudo aticonfig --uninstall)

and now it runs without any catalyst installed, the wrench is there and i can turn bfi off (no clue what that is but it costs me about 80Mhps, which is still like way better than running on the cpu)

maybe someone finds some use for this and needs to pull out less hair before getting it to work with this, nice stuff anyway
Menelik_I
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 02:16:48 PM
 #614

It seems I made a mistake while buying my PSU  Sad

I bought a cheap, 15£, PSU but it seems I needed 2 6-Pin PCI connectors. The PSU doesn't have PCI connectors,there is only have possibility to use one adapter to convert 2 4-pin connectors into a PCI. Maybe I should return the PSU Instead of bying a 8£ additional adapter.
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 02:45:49 PM
 #615

It seems I made a mistake while buying my PSU  Sad

I bought a cheap, 15£, PSU but it seems I needed 2 6-Pin PCI connectors. The PSU doesn't have PCI connectors,there is only have possibility to use one adapter to convert 2 4-pin connectors into a PCI. Maybe I should return the PSU Instead of bying a 8£ additional adapter.

no 6pins or 6+2 pins at all?, didnt think you could get such a psu today=P
Most people doing mining will recommending using a good psu, preferable a 80+ (Bronze/Silver/gold/platinum) sertified psu

You can use a adapter, but chech that the psu can deliver enough power on the 12v.

Most PSU of higher quality use a single 12v rail for the PCI-e connectors which has available allmost all the power from psu.
Example my Seasonic X1250 psu has 8x 6+2pins and has capability of 1248w on the rail=)
With driving 4x5870 the psu is room temperature and takes it with extreme ease..

Btw the 5870 has a peak wattage usage of 188w, so be shure that the 12v has this capability
Menelik_I
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 25, 2013, 06:31:17 PM
 #616

It seems I made a mistake while buying my PSU  Sad

I bought a cheap, 15£, PSU but it seems I needed 2 6-Pin PCI connectors. The PSU doesn't have PCI connectors,there is only have possibility to use one adapter to convert 2 4-pin connectors into a PCI. Maybe I should return the PSU Instead of bying a 8£ additional adapter.

no 6pins or 6+2 pins at all?, didnt think you could get such a psu today=P
Most people doing mining will recommending using a good psu, preferable a 80+ (Bronze/Silver/gold/platinum) sertified psu

You can use a adapter, but chech that the psu can deliver enough power on the 12v.

Most PSU of higher quality use a single 12v rail for the PCI-e connectors which has available allmost all the power from psu.
Example my Seasonic X1250 psu has 8x 6+2pins and has capability of 1248w on the rail=)
With driving 4x5870 the psu is room temperature and takes it with extreme ease..

Btw the 5870 has a peak wattage usage of 188w, so be shure that the 12v has this capability

It was a cheapo PSU I bough on Ebay, already sent the email to return it, instead bough a 500W with 2 PCI-e connectors, I am not looking into expending yet so it will work out right Smiley

Now my adapter is late will be redivelered only on Wednesday ... can't wait  Grin
conspirosphere.tk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Revolution will be decentralized


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2013, 02:30:14 PM
 #617

Bitminter seems down

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2013, 02:53:43 PM
 #618

Bitminter seems down

A 5 minute ddos. Just like the 10 minute ddos last night. Weird stuff.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
SKART123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 09:14:12 PM
 #619

Hi! Bit Miner is awesome! On Linux it is even more great!!

But I have a serious problem - BitMiner client does not want to see my second video card!!
I have HD 6770 and HD 6970 without crossfire under Xubuntu(Ubuntu).
Everything is plugged correct. AMD Control Center (amdcccle) saw all two videocards. I can even select between them. I have 2 displays connected to each - and can tune them in amdccle and I also recieve image on both. So the cards are both working. 
But BitMinter  writes :"Found 1 OpenCL-compatible GPU".

P.S. I have installed drivers by executing only "sudo apt-get install fglrx fglrx-amdcccle". May be I should do smthing more?

Please help me - I have been searching for solution for the second day!

SKART123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
March 27, 2013, 10:02:51 PM
 #620

I have answered myself in the last sentence! I just need to install OpenCL library from AMD - and the bit miner found all GPU!!

But I steel have a questions - previously I have tried to launch HD6770 and HD 5850 in pair - but catalyst center haven`t seem them bouth. And I have read that it is impossible to launch to versions of the same driver - does anybody knows about this anything? Please help!!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!