Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2018, 05:46:38 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 219505 times)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 05, 2013, 04:37:36 PM
 #641

I just installe the new driver yesterday.

Catalyst 13.1?

Here is how to properly clean up the mess created by that version: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=359883

Try installing 13.3 beta instead. And don't install AMD APP SDK, there's no need for it.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
1527399998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527399998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527399998
Reply with quote  #2

1527399998
Report to moderator
1527399998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527399998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527399998
Reply with quote  #2

1527399998
Report to moderator
1527399998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527399998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527399998
Reply with quote  #2

1527399998
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527399998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527399998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527399998
Reply with quote  #2

1527399998
Report to moderator
1527399998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527399998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527399998
Reply with quote  #2

1527399998
Report to moderator
docjunior
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 04:42:55 PM
 #642

I have used bitminter and it is a very nice pool for BTC. I wish it supported LTC as well, perhaps even PPC, as both the currencies are more profitable at the moment.

Here are a few feature requests for bitminter.com:
1) Litecoin support
2) automatic NMC to BTC conversion at some automatic sell volume threshold (I would take the highest bid on BTC-E with no worries), eg sell every time the account reaches 5 or 10 NMC
3) better ddos protection

I also noticed a strange MH/s fluctuation during the time I was connected, it seemed like bitminter was not able to give me enough shares to saturate my gpus, so the rigs ran at lower than max speeds for several hours (10-20% variation from hour to hour). Would like to know what this is due to, if drHaribo has any idea? :-)

Thanks,
Dj
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 05, 2013, 05:02:15 PM
 #643

I get around 15MH/s on my ATI RV730 CPU normally, but with your java miner, I get a solid 20MH/s! Whatever you're doing with that miner, good job! Any chance you'll be adding any of the better CPU mining cores to the client in the future?

20MH/s?
Doesnt the cpu use more electrisity than you will earn in bitcoin?

with my intel 3770 i get like 13MH/s... one single 5830 GPU gets me 200...
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 05, 2013, 08:23:20 PM
 #644

I have used bitminter and it is a very nice pool for BTC. I wish it supported LTC as well, perhaps even PPC, as both the currencies are more profitable at the moment.

Here are a few feature requests for bitminter.com:
1) Litecoin support
2) automatic NMC to BTC conversion at some automatic sell volume threshold (I would take the highest bid on BTC-E with no worries), eg sell every time the account reaches 5 or 10 NMC
3) better ddos protection

I also noticed a strange MH/s fluctuation during the time I was connected, it seemed like bitminter was not able to give me enough shares to saturate my gpus, so the rigs ran at lower than max speeds for several hours (10-20% variation from hour to hour). Would like to know what this is due to, if drHaribo has any idea? :-)

Thanks for the suggestions. Smiley

The drop in hashrate sounds very odd. Which miner are you using? Do you get messages about running out of work and idling?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
docjunior
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 09:35:51 PM
 #645

DrHaribo, I will try and have a look at the console messages/logs, I will get back to you on this (perhaps on the main thread when/if I get promoted :-) )
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 10:46:24 PM
 #646

Just wanted to say hi to the Bitminter Community.  I tinkered with BitCoins shortly after their release a few years back.  It was very new and frustrating.  I mined some coins over a few months, but the confusion never really cleared up so I abandoned it.  Now a few years later I'm back and after seeing the price for coins really bummed I let the ones I mined back then just "go".  But, remember back then there was little value to them, and hind-sight is 20/20.  Anyway.  Crunching away again using the super easy bitminter client and just having fun with it I guess.  While the wallet function makes a lot more sense now on the Bitcoin side.  I'm having issues figuring out what to do with the namecoins I'm earning...  I've set my donation to 50% to the bitminter host since I can't figure out anything about them. Is there a simple noob guide somewhere that explains Namecoins?
Running now on a 5870, a 680MX, two 5770's (occasionally) and a few other machines that I randomly turn on and off depending on if other people need them.  When all is fired up I'm just around 1 Ghps.
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 10:53:20 PM
 #647

Oh, just want to add I'm damn impressed seeing the total comp power of the bitminter pool grow by over 1Thps in the 2 1/2 weeks I've been a member.  That's impressive growth.
clicksmoney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 02:00:07 AM
 #648

That's impressive growth.

Welcome, yes I like it here and many more have come. =)

Make the most of today with what you've got.

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 06, 2013, 06:15:29 AM
 #649

Hi and welcome to the pool Smiley

You can read about namecoins at http://dot-bit.org

You can sell namecoins at exchanges:

https://btc-e.com/
https://exchange.bitparking.com/main
https://vircurex.com/

And thanks for the donations, they are greatly appreciated. Smiley

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
whiskers75
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Doesn't use these forums that often.


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 06:49:43 AM
 #650

Please, PLEASE improve CPU mining!  Smiley
I have a quad-core CPU with Intel integrated graphics (no GPU) and want to make a few bitcents Smiley

Elastic.pw Elastic - The Decentralized Supercomputer
ELASTIC ANNOUNCEMENT THREAD | ELASTIC SLACK | ELASTIC FORUM
harounkola
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
April 06, 2013, 11:05:33 AM
 #651

I've just joined this pool. Hey everyone  Smiley

1Q4P23s3zqCer1k8uBBnxx5CiQSqTDCef4
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 06, 2013, 12:51:23 PM
 #652

I've just joined this pool. Hey everyone  Smiley

Hi and welcome Smiley

Please, PLEASE improve CPU mining!  Smiley
I have a quad-core CPU with Intel integrated graphics (no GPU) and want to make a few bitcents Smiley

It doesn't really make sense to spend time on that now. Most people stopped CPU mining a long time ago. Some miners have started selling their GPUs to switch to ASIC mining.

I think there's a miner called cpuminer that you could try.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 06, 2013, 06:58:00 PM
 #653

Please, PLEASE improve CPU mining!  Smiley
I have a quad-core CPU with Intel integrated graphics (no GPU) and want to make a few bitcents Smiley

Using CPU today is pointless. the difficulty is way to high for some tiny hashrate (but high powerusage) equipment.
joyteq
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
April 06, 2013, 10:20:25 PM
 #654

Hey, Guys!  Just started mining with BitMinter the last few weeks.  Have it running on a Windows 7 machine with an ATI 5850 and just today installed it on a Linux CentOS 6.4 machine with an ATI 5830 (though it took some trial-and-error to find the right combination of software needed on the box to get to the point of mining).

Question about the Linux install: Is there a way to kickoff a lightweight version of the BitMinter client from the command prompt WITHOUT needing to start up X/Gnome/etc.?  I'd rather just kick it off from a console-only environment.

⚡Semux  ●  Free Airdrop  ●  High Performance BFT Consensus Blockchain (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2159012.0)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 06, 2013, 11:23:55 PM
 #655

Hey, Guys!  Just started mining with BitMinter the last few weeks.  Have it running on a Windows 7 machine with an ATI 5850 and just today installed it on a Linux CentOS 6.4 machine with an ATI 5830 (though it took some trial-and-error to find the right combination of software needed on the box to get to the point of mining).

Welcome to BitMinter Smiley

Question about the Linux install: Is there a way to kickoff a lightweight version of the BitMinter client from the command prompt WITHOUT needing to start up X/Gnome/etc.?  I'd rather just kick it off from a console-only environment.

Making a command line version is far down on my TODO list. I don't think we'll see it soon.

You can run the GUI on a remote desktop though. Assuming you have DISPLAY set to open on a VNC desktop or similar, you could start the miner from command line like so:
Code:
COMPUTE=:0 javaws http://bitminter.com/client/bitminter.jnlp

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
docjunior
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 10:36:37 AM
 #656

DrHaribo,
I was connected to Bitminter for a few hours last night, and again had the same fluctuation in rates that I commented on earlier in this thread. If I look at the live stats page, my mhs jumps up and down with every refresh, and in the worker stats, it looks like this:



All the while, my cards both report steady hash rates of 500-520 each (two card rig used for the test). Didn't see anything in console, strangely (GUIminer, Win7, latest ATI beta drivers). No network traffic speed problems.

The drops in hash rate (for my worker) seem to occur during the night the times i've seen it.

Any ideas?
- DJ

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 1018


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2013, 11:09:27 AM
 #657

All the while, my cards both report steady hash rates of 500-520 each (two card rig used for the test). Didn't see anything in console, strangely (GUIminer, Win7, latest ATI beta drivers). No network traffic speed problems.

Sounds like everything is fine. There will always be some variation in how many proofs of work you find in an hour due to the lottery like nature of mining.

Earlier it sounded like you had a hashrate drop on the client side due to not getting enough work from the server. That would be a concern.

But steady hash rate on the client, low reject ratio, accepted work keeps ticking up, that means it's running fine.

The real hashrate is the one shown on your client. The website is just trying to guess your hashrate based on how many proofs of work you send in. That is going to vary as your luck varies.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
archangel95
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 01:13:38 AM
 #658

I just wanted to say how impressed I am with your miner and your web page.   You are a diamond in the rough among the pools out there.    I think you are doing a service to bitcoin by making it so easy to mine, although your motivation is probably less altruistic the more people that are mining and selling and buying the stronger the coin will get imo.   From what I've seen of the different pools websites I rate yours the highest for interesting information and ease of use. 
dodegkr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 12:29:02 PM
 #659

I have a 2008 Mac sitting here but bitminter doesn't find the gpu

Graphics  ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro

Os X 10.8.3

Is there any way it can be made to see it ?

Thanks

dod
kriwest
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 08, 2013, 01:04:13 PM
 #660

Great pool. Using it as we speak. But I wish it was this easy to mine LTC and other alts as well (struggling with cgminer for LTC right now)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!