Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:42:13 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51] 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 208942 times)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 01:47:30 PM
 #1001

please let us remove this "energy wasting slow cpu implementation in use" as it is not needed. and slows down the hashrate.

Or does "performance" mode remove this silly feature?

CPU mining will be removed in a future release. Just don't click on the start button for the CPU and it won't start. If you click the button to start all devices it will start all devices except the CPU (unless you had the CPU running earlier).

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
1481431333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481431333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481431333
Reply with quote  #2

1481431333
Report to moderator
1481431333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481431333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481431333
Reply with quote  #2

1481431333
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481431333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481431333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481431333
Reply with quote  #2

1481431333
Report to moderator
1481431333
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481431333

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481431333
Reply with quote  #2

1481431333
Report to moderator
mnyonpa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 02:03:13 PM
 #1002

I am not sure if this (bug?) have been already treated but some time ago if you had “Start all devices” setting at startup, that would also start the CPU…

But the client is great, thanks everyone involved for such a good work!

BTC address for donations: 1EEjkAqLXTxscD24D1S6aXWtxPUWxSkHcd
Nupsie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 09:37:50 PM
 #1003

I have a problem with Bitminter. When I mine with two Asic block erupters after about 30 second it says:
ICARUS (COM3) ERROR: ICARUS (COM3) ran out of work. Idling...

Can some one help ?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2013, 12:18:43 PM
 #1004

I am not sure if this (bug?) have been already treated but some time ago if you had “Start all devices” setting at startup, that would also start the CPU…

But the client is great, thanks everyone involved for such a good work!

Ah. That's probably an oversight. Anyway, it won't be an issue once cpu mining is disabled.

I have a problem with Bitminter. When I mine with two Asic block erupters after about 30 second it says:
ICARUS (COM3) ERROR: ICARUS (COM3) ran out of work. Idling...

Can some one help ?

Does it recover and continue mining after that or get stuck? Are there any other errors shown in the log, like network errors?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
HenriH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 21, 2013, 10:27:43 PM
 #1005

- Can I use BitMinter without registering an account (only using bitcoin address as a username)? If not, will this feature be implemented in the future?
- Can I make a webpage with a link/button "Start mining bitcoins for (bitcoin address)" and after clicking that link/button the BitMinter will start without asking further questions or needing to change any settings?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2013, 11:34:40 AM
 #1006

- Can I use BitMinter without registering an account (only using bitcoin address as a username)? If not, will this feature be implemented in the future?

No, and it probably won't be implemented either. Just use some random words/characters as user name if you want to be anonymous.

Quote
- Can I make a webpage with a link/button "Start mining bitcoins for (bitcoin address)" and after clicking that link/button the BitMinter will start without asking further questions or needing to change any settings?

This is planned, but not ready yet.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
HenriH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 22, 2013, 12:51:36 PM
 #1007

- Can I use BitMinter without registering an account (only using bitcoin address as a username)? If not, will this feature be implemented in the future?

No, and it probably won't be implemented either. Just use some random words/characters as user name if you want to be anonymous.

I have several bitcoin addresses and I would like to have different workers for them:
- worker_1: bitcoin_address_1
- worker_2: bitcoin_address_2
- worker_3: bitcoin_address_3
and so on.

Is this possible to implement without creating several user accounts?

Quote
- Can I make a webpage with a link/button "Start mining bitcoins for (bitcoin address)" and after clicking that link/button the BitMinter will start without asking further questions or needing to change any settings?

This is planned, but not ready yet.


Good to know. Thanks! Cool
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2013, 01:01:08 PM
 #1008

I have several bitcoin addresses and I would like to have different workers for them:
- worker_1: bitcoin_address_1
- worker_2: bitcoin_address_2
- worker_3: bitcoin_address_3
and so on.

Is this possible to implement without creating several user accounts?

This is not possible currently. I am thinking about some ideas along those lines though, for the future.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
HenriH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 22, 2013, 06:42:23 PM
 #1009

I have several bitcoin addresses and I would like to have different workers for them:
- worker_1: bitcoin_address_1
- worker_2: bitcoin_address_2
- worker_3: bitcoin_address_3
and so on.

Is this possible to implement without creating several user accounts?

This is not possible currently. I am thinking about some ideas along those lines though, for the future.


Thanks for the info.

Is it possible to attach several computers to one worker at once or should I use a different worker for different computers?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2013, 09:47:48 PM
 #1010

Is it possible to attach several computers to one worker at once or should I use a different worker for different computers?

That's up to you. You can use multiple workers if you want separate statistics for them. If you don't need that, just use the same worker.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
July 25, 2013, 05:03:25 AM
 #1011

Does anyone know of a good iPhone app for tracking mining stats at BitMinter?
mruiter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274



View Profile
July 25, 2013, 07:24:33 AM
 #1012

Does anyone know of a good iPhone app for tracking mining stats at BitMinter?

Have searched for it but dit not find anything. Would be nice to have so ++1
If i could develp i would write one myself, but thats to long ago with assembly, pascal and real C before the ++ came.
Guess the leap to ios dev wil be to big to learn in a few hours ;(

❘|❘ ICONOMI  Fund Management Platform
  LINK TO ICO | LINK TO DISCUSSION
Lomus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61



View Profile
July 25, 2013, 12:46:49 PM
 #1013

~Hi Guys,

If I want to hop onto bitminter, and also mine namecoins;

I have some questions I have been trying to find the answer for:

can I use stratum address and mine NC at the same time?  Or should I use the get work address for NC?
How do I choose PPLNS or PPS when using CG miner?   I can only see the one address for both Sad


Thanks for your help!


tips 18MckbJ6ToBxNLpogG1rfhzQsA5AkD6Wxe
rovacoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 25, 2013, 08:46:10 PM
 #1014

Hello Smiley

And thanks for having me on your site I am a bit impatient when it comes to this subject so I am posting this long shot here in the hope someone will validate my musings....

I have a big question about using already available FPGA devices for bitcoin miners.

I have found a few pci and pcie boards with similar/suitable FPGA chips on them.


Two for example are

TC Electronics Powercore

http://www.tcelectronic.com/powercore-pci/

http://www.tcelectronic.com/powercore-pci/


&

SSL Duende

http://www.solid-state-logic.com/music/duende/PCIe/
http://www.solid-state-logic.com/music/duende/PCIe/


Both have Altera FPGA's and other high maths DSP's on them for running special processor intensive algorithms and I want to know if it's possible to get a miner client working on any operating system to use these boards without having to flash them with custom firmware and/or learn complicated assy languages or hdl's?


aminkorea
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
July 26, 2013, 04:35:24 AM
 #1015

Anyone else having trouble connecting to BitMinter.  I got my block erupter yesterday and had it working all day and all last night. But today I can't get connected. And the website has a 0.00 Thps as the computational power. Is it just me?  

Never mind. I got connected
rdmcnabb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4



View Profile
July 26, 2013, 03:30:33 PM
 #1016

I'm new at bitcoin mining.  I've been up and running and this is my 3rd week. Does anyone really hit the Aprrox mint speed that shows on the App?  I find I get know where near that. If it says you are going to make .15 a day, shouldn't you get close in a 3 week period?  Maybe that figure should be adjusted to more realistic value?  Is that based on the last 500 blocks?  I would like to see a more current value based on the last 20.  What do you think?

RDMCNABB
STT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204



View Profile WWW
July 27, 2013, 12:46:38 PM
 #1017

Rova it wont be worth the effort doing.  Powerful for a sound card but not for dealing with 256 bit encryption.   Maybe a penny or two a day, what makes you think otherwise

rovacoins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 03:11:06 AM
 #1018

Although they do help make sounds they can't record or produce any sounds on their own they are just dsp cards for running complex algorithms I thought it might be plausible to use them as they have FPGA devices and I know the powercore is old now but the fact you can have almost unlimited number (viafirewire) connected to your computer could surly mean something you know some recording studios will have racks of these things and i picked one up very cheap!!! Not mention avid/protools HD cards yet either I just hate that system and don't use it but its full of maths crunching chips!!!!!!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2013, 06:36:33 AM
 #1019

Does anyone know of a good iPhone app for tracking mining stats at BitMinter?

The apps that support BitMinter are listed under "tools" -> "third party apps" in the website menu.

I'm new at bitcoin mining.  I've been up and running and this is my 3rd week. Does anyone really hit the Aprrox mint speed that shows on the App?  I find I get know where near that. If it says you are going to make .15 a day, shouldn't you get close in a 3 week period?  Maybe that figure should be adjusted to more realistic value?  Is that based on the last 500 blocks?  I would like to see a more current value based on the last 20.  What do you think?

The approximate mint speed is the average you will earn. It is calculated the same way that dozens of bitcoin mining calculators you will find around different websites.

Some payment info:

The approximate mint speed shown in BitMinter client is just that, an approximation. Bitcoin mining is like a lottery. How often we find a block, and earn bitcoins from that block, is random. Each hash you process is like a lottery ticket. Each hash has a (very low) chance of producing a block. You get paid with coins from a block whenever a block is found by someone mining in the pool. Your share of the income from a block is determined by the amount of work that you did in the most recent 10 shifts at the time the block is found.

Because of this, your daily income will vary with luck. That's often referred to as variance. There may also be some hours between two payouts if we are having bad luck and no blocks are found for a while.

In addition to that there is a delay from the time you do some work until that work is fully paid. The work you do is registered in a shift, and then that work is credited with income from new blocks we find until its shift is no longer among the 10 latest shifts. This takes a few hours. If you turn off the prepay perk then there is an additional delay having to wait for blocks to confirm, which takes about 20 hours.

So, assuming you have prepay on, if you do 24 hours of work and then look at the results, then only some of that work has been fully paid. The remaining work is still receiving pay, even if you stop mining. Needless to say that is not going to look very profitable, when you are looking at all the work you did but only part of the pay you are going to receive.

Comparing pools by how much you get paid for 24 hours of mining is pointless. The comparison becomes "which pool has the best luck today?" You can't use that data for anything. The luck a pool has today has no influence on its luck tomorrow. Believing that it does is called "gambler's fallacy" which you can ready about on wikipedia:

  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gambler%27s_fallacy

If you want to know how BitMinter's payouts have been over time you can read Organofcorti's very detailed analysis here:

  http://organofcorti.blogspot.com/2013/05/131-bitminter-and-luck.html

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
HenriH
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 10:16:51 AM
 #1020

My BitMinter Wishlist
  • Passing parameters to Bitminter: <a href="/client/bitminter.jnlp?username=MyName&workername=MyWorkerName&workerpassword=MyWorkerPassword&enginestart=true"><img class="right" src="/images/start.png" /></a>
  • Possibility to give different bitcoin/namecoin addresses for different workers.

Thanks! Cool
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51] 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!