Bitcoin Forum
July 02, 2020, 12:43:13 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 220282 times)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2013, 06:04:33 PM
 #561

Hey guys, Since I upgraded to the new v1.3.1 I seem to be getting some errors, even tried to downgrade it again and still getting the errors then.

Hmm, BFI patch failing. Which AMD Catalyst release is this with?

Perhaps try reinstalling the latest Catalyst drivers, and you could also try clearing the java cache so BitMinter client gets downloaded fresh the next time you start it.

http://www.java.com/en/download/help/plugin_cache.xml

Mine is taking 4ever to mint mine... Is there anyway to speed it up?

Faster hardware will speed it up. People are moving to ASIC-based mining equipment now. No point buying a faster graphics card for mining anymore. See the ASIC section on the hardware comparison wiki page. They will make GPU-mining unprofitable as they push up the difficulty.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin Core, which will follow the rules of the network no matter what miners do. Even if every miner decided to create 1000 bitcoins per block, full nodes would stick to the rules and reject those blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
TheDutchman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 19, 2013, 06:10:43 AM
 #562

Good day

I have tried reinstalling the latest drivers 13.1 and also tried the latest beta 13.2 drivers, I did what you said about clearing the cache and then it downloaded the bitminter client again and still no luck Sad

Removed all drivers and did a clean install of them too, also tried with earlier versions of bitminter.
stefsom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 11:19:32 AM
 #563

hi,
I was using GUIminer for some time without any problems on Slush's pool .
After upgrading to latest ati drivers (13.2 beta 7) I get ' Verification failed, check hardware! (0:0:Juniper, dc83aea6)'
Tried poclbm = crash
Tried cgminer= crash
The only working miner is bitminter but I get a error 'BFI patch failed'
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2013, 11:41:54 AM
 #564

I was using GUIminer for some time without any problems on Slush's pool .
After upgrading to latest ati drivers (13.2 beta 7) I get ' Verification failed, check hardware! (0:0:Juniper, dc83aea6)'
Tried poclbm = crash
Tried cgminer= crash
The only working miner is bitminter but I get a error 'BFI patch failed'

If you turn off BFI (click the little green arrows to expand the display then click the wrench for settings), then it will perhaps work, but it will run rather slowly without BFI.

Have you tried Catalyst 13.1, which is the latest stable release? 13.2 is still just a beta.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
stefsom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 11:51:42 AM
 #565

yes,I turned off BFI np
reinstalling 13.1 doesn't help, I tried it.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2013, 12:05:32 PM
 #566

AMD uninstall never uninstalls properly.

You may want to try driver sweeper: http://www.guru3d.com/content_page/guru3d_driver_sweeper.html
I haven't had to do this in a long time, if there's a better tool for this now, someone speak up.

So you uninstall, run driver sweeper, then re-install Catalyst 13.1.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
reb73
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 01, 2013, 12:24:58 PM
 #567

Newbie here, hope to get started using this..
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2013, 12:36:01 PM
 #568

Newbie here, hope to get started using this..

Welcome Smiley Let us know if you have any problems.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
stefsom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 01:15:45 PM
 #569

Quote
AMD uninstall never uninstalls properly.

You may want to try driver sweeper: http://www.guru3d.com/content_page/guru3d_driver_sweeper.html
I haven't had to do this in a long time, if there's a better tool for this now, someone speak up.

So you uninstall, run driver sweeper, then re-install Catalyst 13.1.

I did all that but even bitminter crashes now. Huh
installed 13.2 ,working now but still same probs as before.
mrpijey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 09:07:46 PM
 #570

I've had the exact same issues. After waking up i had over 20000 bombs! At first I uninstalled Catalyst (as I were using beta drivers) and installed the official ones, but now I can't even get bitminter started AT ALL. I see the logo, then it disappears and I get a java exception error in a logfile, that's all. I've reinstalled drivers, java, tried manual launch, tried various Java versions, everything. Nothing works. All over java applications works just fine, so does gaming etc. But bitminter fails.

I've cleared java caches, had bitminter redownloaded, tried both beta and official bitminter... everything.

Here's an exempt of the error log I get:

Code:
#
# A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:
#
#  EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x00000000, pid=7356, tid=6532
#
# JRE version: 7.0_15-b03
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (23.7-b01 mixed mode windows-x86 )
# Problematic frame:
# C  0x00000000
#
# Failed to write core dump. Minidumps are not enabled by default on client versions of Windows
#
# If you would like to submit a bug report, please visit:
#   http://bugreport.sun.com/bugreport/crash.jsp
# The crash happened outside the Java Virtual Machine in native code.
# See problematic frame for where to report the bug.
#

---------------  T H R E A D  ---------------
.....
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2013, 10:13:15 PM
 #571

Here's an exempt of the error log I get:
[...]

That's the Java virtual machine crashing, most likely inside the AMD drivers. If you look a little further down it probably says it crashed in amdocl.dll (AMDs OpenCL drivers on Windows).

If you uninstall the AMD drivers, run driver sweeper to clean up, and then reinstall an older version, you should be ok.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
stefsom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 10:14:53 PM
 #572

I solved my problem  Grin
Quote
Aser
   
Re: GUIminer problem
Today at 10:38:39 PM
  #6
I had the same problem today getting the "verification failed" message on 13.2 drivers and then having guiminer and every other miner crash on start up after switching to older drivers.

What I did was uninstall all AMD software/drivers, reboot and install catalyst 13.1 drivers.

Then I followed the steps listed here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=359883 and now it's working fine.
mrpijey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 01, 2013, 10:50:17 PM
Last edit: March 03, 2013, 01:57:01 PM by mrpijey
 #573

Awesome, that actually worked! For some reason I also get better results now than before (before I used to get around 550-560Mhps, now i get 790-800Mhps. Must have been some dodgy drivers or some old junk messing around...

Thanks for the help!

Edit: Something is still amiss tho. I've been running the miner for over 24 hours now and the status on bitminter.com has not updated at all. According to that I have not mined any more bitcoins... but both clients on my machines say they are online and mining.
dwaynep
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2013, 07:08:29 PM
 #574

I just started mining about 3 days ago and had a couple of questions.  I know all about ASICS, but if I were wanting to build a GPU rig now what would you all recommend for cards and a motherboard? I am at 1.2 Ghash now with 3 different computers chipping in, and I would like to be able to build a semi affordable mining only rig with 2-4 cards. I can't find anyone giving recommendations for things like that because of of the impending ASIC flood, but any suggestions with current vid cards and motherboards would be much apreciated.

Thanks,
Dwayne
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2013, 07:54:33 PM
 #575

Edit: Something is still amiss tho. I've been running the miner for over 24 hours now and the status on bitminter.com has not updated at all. According to that I have not mined any more bitcoins... but both clients on my machines say they are online and mining.

Your work is not registering at http://bitminter.com/shifts ?

Maybe we were just having a long round, see the blocks at http://bitminter.com/blocks

You may want to watch what's going on live at http://bitminter.com/livestats/big - you can see how much work you got registered in the current (incomplete) shift, among other things.

I just started mining about 3 days ago and had a couple of questions.  I know all about ASICS, but if I were wanting to build a GPU rig now what would you all recommend for cards and a motherboard? I am at 1.2 Ghash now with 3 different computers chipping in, and I would like to be able to build a semi affordable mining only rig with 2-4 cards. I can't find anyone giving recommendations for things like that because of of the impending ASIC flood, but any suggestions with current vid cards and motherboards would be much apreciated.

I would recommend you buy an ASIC and not GPU rigs. Tomorrow GPU mining will be like CPU mining is today.

If you want to GPU mine profitably then you have to be prepared to sell off the GPUs in a couple weeks when profitability takes a nosedive from the difficulty increase caused by everyone mining on ASICs.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
dwaynep
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2013, 08:21:03 PM
 #576

I ordered some BTL equipment, but since it was last week I have no idea when I will get it, and if I ordered enough to actually make anything with it.  I got a 30gh and a jalapeño, but I will probably not get them till what may or June?  It just seems that for the next several months all I can do is GPU mine. Kind of depressing actually, but that is what happens when you show up late.  Smiley
mrpijey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2013, 09:22:40 PM
 #577

Any info about these ASICs? Would like to read more about them...

And my work is registering, but at an extremely low rate. It's odd since it worked just fine last week...
rofni
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2013, 11:02:37 PM
 #578

I'm using bitminter with cgminer.
It's 1 of the best Pools i tested.

Thanks
wflo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 10:32:01 AM
 #579

where is the ASICs man?just speculation now!never will not 30,60 or 1500Ghs.maybe it will be called!
mattenthehat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 08, 2013, 05:36:32 AM
 #580

Hey guys, new to the forum, so please let me know if I am doing anything stupid.

I had a question about the bitminter client: I am currently running the standard bitminter mining client (the latest version, but not the beta version) with 2 different GPUs. One (the main one, which I use for my display) is a Sapphire Radeon HD 7870, and the other is a ATI Radeon HD 5850. Previously, these two cards would run together perfectly fine, and i would get exactly 666.6 Mhps.

I was, however, having some system instability, so last night I updated my GPU drivers (for both cards). (It didn't help, but it was a bit of a long-shot anyways). Now every time I start bitminter, i get a bfi update failed error for the 5850 and that card gets nothing but miscalculations. Of course, I can get around this by simply unchecking "use BFI_INT if available" for that card, but that reduces my hashrate by about 30 Mhps. Naturally, this does not seem idea.

Searching around, I saw that this seems to be a common problem using more than GPU, but according to what I've seen, plugging a monitor into the second GPU should solve it. In my case, this did not work. Even with my monitor plugged into that card, I still get the BFI update problem.

So my questions are 1: what exactly does this BFI_INT do? and
2: Does anyone have any ideas for what to do to solve it?
and I guess while I'm writing all this out, I may as well ask if anyone has any ideas what would cause a computer to just completely freeze up with no warning, no changes in fan speed, etc. The only things that I can tell for sure are happening are that the screen completely freezes and any sound or music playing will also stop (just stop, no catastrophic failure like you would normally get on a bluescreen or something).

Thanks in advance for any help!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!