Bitcoin Forum
June 07, 2020, 06:55:37 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 220279 times)
whitefeather
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 07, 2013, 02:03:41 AM
 #801

Karlson, Kuma and Kuroneko appeared at around the same time as realasicminer. Any idea if they are just here for a test drive before moving on, or are the 3 "K" asics here to stay?
AWARD-WINNING
CRYPTO CASINO
ASKGAMBLERS
PLAYERS CHOICE 2019
PROUD
PARTNER OF
1500+
GAMES
2 MIN
CASH-OUTS
24/7
SUPPORT
100s OF
FREE SPINS
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1591512937
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591512937

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591512937
Reply with quote  #2

1591512937
Report to moderator
Martisor-Sobru
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 541
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 08, 2013, 05:39:04 AM
 #802

Bitminter first love ... now abandoned.
I'll be back when it's on LTC ... for all the heroes GPU, not greedy ASIC.

 Sad

DrHaribo you won for us Stalingrad and Iwo Jima crypto currencies, why abandon us?
Why?
OwnageTool
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 08, 2013, 05:42:09 AM
 #803

I like bitminter, made 1BTC on it. Also, what does the app support in terms of miners?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 08, 2013, 05:48:14 AM
 #804

I like bitminter, made 1BTC on it. Also, what does the app support in terms of miners?

Which app do you mean?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Stack
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 08, 2013, 05:53:54 AM
 #805

I love bitminter, it's easy and sexy and reliable

whitefeather
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 08, 2013, 11:39:19 AM
 #806

I am planning to move my Bitminter operation to a Mac Mini and a powered USB hub. Does anyone know if there are any drawbacks to this approach?

I realize the client is a java app, so I am assuming that there is no practical difference in terms of the bitminter client and its functionality. Am I assuming correctly?

I am using 6 BFL FPGA Singles, currently plugged directly into my PC's USB ports. When I move to a Mac Mini, I intend to use a powered USB hub. Can anyone suggest a product which is known to work with the Mac Mini, the Bitminter app, and the FPGA units?

I apologize ahead of time if the above questions are elementary in nature. I am new at this. Thank you for your consideration.
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 08, 2013, 03:18:47 PM
 #807

I am planning to move my Bitminter operation to a Mac Mini and a powered USB hub. Does anyone know if there are any drawbacks to this approach?

I realize the client is a java app, so I am assuming that there is no practical difference in terms of the bitminter client and its functionality. Am I assuming correctly?

I am using 6 BFL FPGA Singles, currently plugged directly into my PC's USB ports. When I move to a Mac Mini, I intend to use a powered USB hub. Can anyone suggest a product which is known to work with the Mac Mini, the Bitminter app, and the FPGA units?

I apologize ahead of time if the above questions are elementary in nature. I am new at this. Thank you for your consideration.


Any decent brand powered USB hub will work fine.  Are the BFL's powered by USB or do they have their own power supplies?  If they are all powered by USB you should look for a hub that provides full 500 to each USB port.  Some cheaper "powered" models (I have one) are powered, but only provide a total of 500 to 5 of my 7 ports.  (Only has enough juice for 5 full powered devices, but can power all 7 if the draw isn't quite full power)... 


Anyway, just don't go cheap.
Hmoobyaj87
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 08, 2013, 03:39:30 PM
 #808

This helped me out alot when I first started mining btc (FOB). Thanks
whitefeather
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 08, 2013, 04:03:22 PM
 #809


Any decent brand powered USB hub will work fine.  Are the BFL's powered by USB or do they have their own power supplies?  If they are all powered by USB you should look for a hub that provides full 500 to each USB port.  Some cheaper "powered" models (I have one) are powered, but only provide a total of 500 to 5 of my 7 ports.  (Only has enough juice for 5 full powered devices, but can power all 7 if the draw isn't quite full power)... 

Anyway, just don't go cheap.

Thanks for the advice. The BFLs have their own dedicated power supply, though I'm looking into swapping all of them out in favor of a 1200W PSU that delivers power through custom barrel connector cables, but one step at a time. For now, I will go shopping on NewEgg for a decent powered USB hub.
Filp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 12:57:39 AM
 #810

Goodnight fellow bitminter the next is to tell you that I withdraw from the situation mining machines that asic, (0.756 ... bitcoin achieved only a little over a month with a 7770 24/7 and 5670 for all no day at night). gains are not letting people we undermine with graphics and do not have the purchasing power to get a machine asic or just because of the location, in order the following is for those who want to help me with a donation especially those artos located blocks by computing power you have left and will pay them if they keep this system and will (especially realasicminer surprised me with 4tb of calculation), I did not get into the world of bitcoin not for lucrarme or anything the style if not a boost to a project of hiring a server via this coin I thought it was going to provide for he already had tools to work with but the cost of light and other factors not let me continue but very inside wanting to promote bitcoin as a currency used, and in my project is to receive as payment for providing my services to motivate more use, as well as local currency and others etc.. I am very grateful to those who took the time to read this short story, I send warm greetings from Colombia, I leave my address: 1Pq1fJw5ReiaPpBWDndYra4mct6dpGaz8K


Smiley
ppeetteerr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 01:09:34 PM
 #811

Tnx DrHaribo for bitminter.

I think its the best/easy there is...

for the realasicminer in pool atm :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_oUp_JjPJok

replace windows, machintosh, vram chip,...etc with bfl, avalon, etc...

may the force be with u.
DickMS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:43:30 PM
 #812

Hiya, Doc!

My working miner (using your beta client) got trashed when the power went out in my building last night. I rolled back Windows (this is a single-purpose installation, so that was essentially a new install equivalent) and re-installed that latest AMD Catalyst package, including the OpenCL support. Yep, I'm GPU mining for now, at least until I get my Butterfly package! Unfortunately, when I re-downloaded the bitminter miner and ran it, it said that it couldn't detect OpenCL support on my two HD 7950's... It was running successfully yesterday, right up to the big power loss crash...

Any ideas about what to do to get re-started, other than a complete fresh Windows installation?

Thanks, and MANY thanks for the effort put into your pool server and client!

-DickMS
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 07:38:14 PM
 #813

Thanks for the kind words, that's a good motivation to keep improving BitMinter. Smiley

My working miner (using your beta client) got trashed when the power went out in my building last night. I rolled back Windows (this is a single-purpose installation, so that was essentially a new install equivalent) and re-installed that latest AMD Catalyst package, including the OpenCL support. Yep, I'm GPU mining for now, at least until I get my Butterfly package! Unfortunately, when I re-downloaded the bitminter miner and ran it, it said that it couldn't detect OpenCL support on my two HD 7950's... It was running successfully yesterday, right up to the big power loss crash...

Sounds like the OpenCL drivers are broken. Did you try uninstalling Catalyst and reinstalling again?

I've heard many reports of driver crashes on Catalyst 13.1 and 13.4, so you may want to be wary of those releases.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 08:29:55 PM
 #814

organofcorti has done a very thorough audit of BitMinter's payouts:

http://organofcorti.blogspot.com/2013/05/131-bitminter-and-luck.html

I'd summarize it this way: when we have bad luck we still pay better than most mining pools. When we have good luck we pay a lot more.

Can you really ask for more?

Thanks to organofcorti for the excellent work. If you need to make sense of numbers he's well worth the price.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
m14yen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 09:15:55 PM
 #815

really really impressed with the bitminter client/app, I have it running on 4 pcs and 2 laptops.

but what do i do with the 7 namecoins i've mined? is there a use/point to them
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 09:20:47 PM
 #816

really really impressed with the bitminter client/app, I have it running on 4 pcs and 2 laptops.

but what do i do with the 7 namecoins i've mined? is there a use/point to them

Thanks, glad you like BitMinter Smiley

Namecoins:

Read more and get a namecoin wallet from http://dot-bit.org Get a namecoin GUI from http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=341

You can sell namecoins at exchanges:
[1] https://btc-e.com/
[2] https://vircurex.com/

(If you just want to sell then just send your namecoins there, no need to set up a wallet program)

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
m14yen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 10:18:14 PM
 #817

really really impressed with the bitminter client/app, I have it running on 4 pcs and 2 laptops.

but what do i do with the 7 namecoins i've mined? is there a use/point to them

Thanks, glad you like BitMinter Smiley

Namecoins:

Read more and get a namecoin wallet from http://dot-bit.org Get a namecoin GUI from http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=341

You can sell namecoins at exchanges:
[1] https://btc-e.com/
[2] https://vircurex.com/

(If you just want to sell then just send your namecoins there, no need to set up a wallet program)


Thanks DrHaribo, so its 0.008 btc to 1 nmc, think i'll just keep them for now Smiley
nuggium
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 10:31:26 PM
 #818

Although I haven't received my ASIC yet, will BitMinter support it?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 11:15:45 PM
 #819

Although I haven't received my ASIC yet, will BitMinter support it?

All ASICs can be used with the BitMinter pool. But BitMinter client only supports the BFL ASICs so far. It may also work with the new tiny USB dongle ASICs from ASICminer, as they function like an Icarus FPGA. But that has not been tested with BitMinter client yet.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DickMS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 11:16:11 PM
 #820

Thanks for the kind words, that's a good motivation to keep improving BitMinter. Smiley

My working miner (using your beta client) got trashed when the power went out in my building last night. I rolled back Windows (this is a single-purpose installation, so that was essentially a new install equivalent) and re-installed that latest AMD Catalyst package, including the OpenCL support. Yep, I'm GPU mining for now, at least until I get my Butterfly package! Unfortunately, when I re-downloaded the bitminter miner and ran it, it said that it couldn't detect OpenCL support on my two HD 7950's... It was running successfully yesterday, right up to the big power loss crash...

Sounds like the OpenCL drivers are broken. Did you try uninstalling Catalyst and reinstalling again?

I've heard many reports of driver crashes on Catalyst 13.1 and 13.4, so you may want to be wary of those releases.


Yep - re-installed Catalyst, 13.4, then 13.5 beta, etc... OpenCL sample code compiles and executes just fine.... so the support is there... I MIGHT have been using 12.10 or something originally, I suppose, but the correct operation of at least 30 of the 72 OpenCL sample programs seems to indicate that the driver is working as expected.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!