Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:01:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 [60] 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 208923 times)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 21, 2013, 11:26:12 PM
 #1181

So i recentley set up my account on bitminter.com and started using the Bitminter miner and I can see that its getting proof of work accepted by server and all of that stuff but my balance on the website is not changing, only the unconfirmed for NMC and the future for both BTC and NMC are changing. I have my account info set up on the miner as well. Thoughts?

There's a delay from doing work until the work is fully paid, 10 shifts, currently about 10 hours.

If you turn off the prepay perk the pay will first appear as unconfirmed. If the blocks are confirmed then the pay is confirmed. This takes about 20 hours.

More info on payouts:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg2769824#msg2769824

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
1481382105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382105
Reply with quote  #2

1481382105
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481382105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382105
Reply with quote  #2

1481382105
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 21, 2013, 11:28:10 PM
 #1182

Thanks Doc!  I already have installed those USB to Serial drivers when I setup EasyMiner (the BFL software/eclipse pool), so this should be a snap.  I want to switch to Bitminter so I could rack up some NMC while mining BTC.  I keep my miner off-site (in an unused room at a relative's house), when I get around to doing the switch over, I'll let you know how it went.  Prolly next week sometime.

You can use EasyMiner on Bitminter. You need to choose custom or manual mining or whatever they call it. There will be a command line field with an example bfgminer command. Put in something like this in that field:

bfgminer -o stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 -u user_worker -p X

Except replace user_worker with your user and worker name at Bitminter.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
qigrisu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4

THE END OF DEBT IS THE BEGINNING OF WEALTH


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 07:47:34 PM
 #1183

Thank you for the good on/off advice. I also tend to push too fast, and not give the puter a chance to respond before confusing it with a new command or keystroke.

Right now I am getting aprox 1 GHs with three 330MHs sticks in an ANKER USB v3.0 HUB. Using the very comfortable (for me) and assuring bitminter GUI with the dynamic meter and verbose commenting screen.  I tried to put in a fourth stick (nine slots are available) but the fourth stick is "found" then goes inactive and will not boot. I thought the problem might be a mismatch on speed of transmission between my old DELL XP which uses USB v2.0 connectors. So I ordered a PCI adapter card from Hong Kong ($9.95) to upgrade the PC to USB v3.0 connectors that will make it in synch with the ANKER HUB.  Here is the link I used for that order:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-Port-5Gbps-Superspeed-USB-3-0-PCI-E-PCI-Express-Card-Adapter-for-XP-Vista-Win7-/290877977758?ssPageName=ADME:L:OC:US:3160

Hopefully when I match the speed of the HUB with a corresponding high speed card it will allow me to load the nine slots eventually and increase my contribution to the pool rate.


Rick
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 08:31:13 PM
 #1184

I think the USB sticks are USB 2. So no need for USB 3.

Your problem is probably that they don't get enough power.

See this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg2998466#msg2998466

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
qigrisu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4

THE END OF DEBT IS THE BEGINNING OF WEALTH


View Profile WWW
November 24, 2013, 10:38:28 PM
 #1185

I think the USB sticks are USB 2. So no need for USB 3.

Your problem is probably that they don't get enough power.

See this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg2998466#msg2998466


Dear Doctor,

Thank you for pointing me toward power as a probable issue!

I read the link you give above and checked the brick that came with my ANKER HUB. It is a "MyPowerSwitching Adapter PS601BCAY 5000S", rated Output is 12 volts at 5000ma.

This should have been be able to power three (or more) sticks. I am drawing 100 ma per stick, for a total of 300 ma.  That is less that one half amp. And the Brick is "nominally" capable of 5 amps. But as was pointed out by the comment you linked me to, some bricks work better than others.

I decided that the "switching" part of that brick might be the offending element, and just ordered at a cost of less than $10, the brick indicated in the comment I read as a good reliable source of power for these HUBS.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VE7GQQ/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

When I get the new power brick I will hook it up and report the results back here.

Meanwhile, I just want to report to all that I discovered a valuable set of free tools available at www.nirsoft.net One of them "USB DEVIEW" shows me in a clear table format all the USB connections active in the machine and those that are running COM ports which it identifies by COM Port Number.

The other program is extremely informative, and it is called "SmartSniff". It shows in real time who is connecting, their protocol, and with what message or instructions (ie the packets content). I have had great difficulty, especially with Microsoft and with other outfits like Google, Amazon, and others which are obscure, with getting "disconnected" by ICMP, UDP, and other "remote" signals.  The Bit mining will be going fine for a while, and then everything stops and all LED lights are solid green.  Microsoft in particular and Amazon Technologies are pests constantly in the background partition messing about. (Also something called "Softlayer").

The immediate solution I am using for now is to use "Outpost Security" to block various IPs, and a VPN called "Hide My Ass" to encrypt and redirect all my communications through Poland. It slows down my work rate a bit, but keeps the machine "up" all day.

I think the longer term fix is to get out of Windows altogether (too many back doors) and into a Linux distribution like "Mint" for example.

Rick  Smiley



 
wenjiahe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 12:18:34 AM
 #1186

what's wrong with my bitminter client? It output nothing but Miscalculations for a long time.
2013.11.26 [03:41] Found 1 OpenCL-compatible GPU
2013.11.26 [03:41]  BFI patch failed!
2013.11.26 [03:41] Starting long polling
2013.11.26 [03:41] Difficulty is now 609482680
2013.11.26 [06:37]  Fetching more work failed: mint.bitminter.com
2013.11.26 [06:37]  Fetching more work failed: mint.bitminter.com
2013.11.26 [06:37]  Fetching more work failed: mint.bitminter.com
2013.11.26 [06:37]  Fetching more work failed: mint.bitminter.com

The connetion is ok, Proofs 0, Miscalculations 129, Spare work on hand 2.
Anybody can help? Thanks.
nubbins7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 319


OnlineEarns777.com


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 03:01:19 AM
 #1187

I am learning a lot from this topic thanks for putting
out all of this good info Smiley

_///// [XVG] WE ARE ON  THE VERGE [MULTI-ALGO] /////_
_///// TOR // I2P // LINUX . WINDOWS . MAC . ANDROID . ELECTRUM . WEBWALLET . GITHUB // WEBSITE // RADIO // IRC /////_
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2013, 07:24:16 AM
 #1188

what's wrong with my bitminter client? It output nothing but Miscalculations for a long time.
2013.11.26 [03:41] Found 1 OpenCL-compatible GPU
2013.11.26 [03:41]  BFI patch failed!

Which Catalyst drivers are you running on?

Could you try updating to the latest stable or latest beta version from amd.com ?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
pendaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 01:51:57 PM
 #1189

Hi all

Just testing the water with bitcoin mining, i've been using my laptop and an icarus USB asic miner.

My problem is, when i'm mining at work, i see the following:

Code:
2013.11.26 [13:16]  2013.11.26 [13:00]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale or alien proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:00]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale or alien proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:00]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale or alien proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:00]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale or alien proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:15]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:15]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:15]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:15]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:16]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2013.11.26 [13:16]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work


yet when i mine at home, or at the hotel i stay at frequently i don't get these messages


Any ideas / suggestions? i guess this is a network issue?


Thanks
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2013, 03:59:05 PM
 #1190

yet when i mine at home, or at the hotel i stay at frequently i don't get these messages

Getting some stale work is normal. This happens when the server sends you new data but you send in work results based on old data at the same time. The work is then rejected. Up to 0.5% of your work being rejected is normal.

So the question is, are you seeing an abnormal ratio of rejected work?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
pendaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 04:15:54 PM
 #1191

yet when i mine at home, or at the hotel i stay at frequently i don't get these messages

Getting some stale work is normal. This happens when the server sends you new data but you send in work results based on old data at the same time. The work is then rejected. Up to 0.5% of your work being rejected is normal.

So the question is, are you seeing an abnormal ratio of rejected work?


Thanks for your reply

Bitminter client is reading:

Proofs of work accepted by the server: 2113
Proofs of work rejected by the server: 72

at time of writing

so yeah its a little high, but the fact that i see way more rejected when im on my work network than i do on any other network
toobigtofail
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 04:17:22 PM
 #1192

I've enjoyed using bitminter so far with a couple of block eruptors, but now I've got a noob question.  I just got a blue fury asic and installed the appropriate drivers, but it isnt being recognized by the bitminter client.  Is there a way to get it to recognize the new device or do I need to switch to bfgminer/cgminer and give them the appropriate pool info?
railzand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462

Lux e tenebris


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 04:19:05 PM
 #1193

try the beta version of bitminter first
or the bfgminer version mentioned in the bluefury report thread

edit: support* thread

toobigtofail
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 04:25:07 PM
 #1194

The beta client was a no go also.  I get a time-out error when it probes the port with the blue fury.  Guess I'll switch to BFGminer, too bad because I really like the integrated pool/mining client.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2013, 04:30:18 PM
 #1195

The beta client was a no go also.  I get a time-out error when it probes the port with the blue fury.  Guess I'll switch to BFGminer, too bad because I really like the integrated pool/mining client.

Did you try unplugging the blue fury, plugging it back in, and then probe all ports?

I haven't been able to figure out why many users have problems with it. It works perfectly on both my Windows 7 and OS X Mavericks computers.

so yeah its a little high, but the fact that i see way more rejected when im on my work network than i do on any other network

Yeah, 3.3% stale is very high. Maybe something on your work network is slowing down network access?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
toobigtofail
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 04:52:20 PM
 #1196

I've tried unplugging it and resetting it, but always the same timeout error.  I tried flashing the firmware per the blue fury support thread and then reinstalling the drivers but nothing there either.  Guess I'm doing something wrong
RuneBloodstone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 04:54:48 PM
 #1197

I'm very happy with BitMinter, just not happy with my hardware Wink

I love the icons you use (though haven't heard the sounds yet) and checked out the "Help" and "About BitMinter" but the links don't work. Can you post a list of your graphic resources?

Thanks for all the hard work Doc, and thanks for making it easy for people to get into the Bitcoin game.

Any thoughts on adding support for other 'coins, (in addition to NMC)?

Cheers! BTC
toobigtofail
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 05:52:06 PM
 #1198

Got my BEs and my BF running on the same USB hub.  Tried running the beta of the client from an earlier post in this thread.  It seems to be very particular about which ASIC is plugged into which port in the hub, I think that may be the result of the way I installed the drivers.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
November 26, 2013, 08:27:00 PM
 #1199

I've tried unplugging it and resetting it, but always the same timeout error.  I tried flashing the firmware per the blue fury support thread and then reinstalling the drivers but nothing there either.  Guess I'm doing something wrong

Not sure what the issue is. Did you try bfgminer?

I love the icons you use (though haven't heard the sounds yet) and checked out the "Help" and "About BitMinter" but the links don't work. Can you post a list of your graphic resources?

Google the stuff in the about window.

Got my BEs and my BF running on the same USB hub.  Tried running the beta of the client from an earlier post in this thread.  It seems to be very particular about which ASIC is plugged into which port in the hub, I think that may be the result of the way I installed the drivers.

Really puzzling how it works for some people but not for others.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
tonimerkki
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 08:38:03 AM
 #1200

Hi everybody!

So, I have just started bitmining but I am encountering this problem with BitMiner client.

http://i.imgur.com/QISKQFb.png


I've made sure the user name is correct and tried to change the worker but the client reports this after a short mining. So I can't log in, but the client mines happily and the server has accepted three proofs of work from me.

Why won't the client accept my user name Huh
Pages: « 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 [60] 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!