Bitcoin Forum
June 03, 2020, 04:15:14 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 220279 times)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 22, 2013, 11:34:13 AM
 #1061

1 - After 1 day of reading up on Bitcoins and now obviously being an expert  Wink Litecoins seem to be gaining momentum and profitability for the smalltime miner as the big ASIC racks hoover up everything in their path and ramp up the difficulty.  Any chance Bitminter will support Litecoins?

It is being considered. However I am quite busy with important things with the existing pool. Adding any big features like that will have to wait a bit.

2 - Is there any way to add a flag on the worker page that says if the worker is alive?  Would it just be obvious from the changing numbers?  With such low powered hardware are my workers in less contact or are they in constant contact the same way a phone contacts a mobile or phone mail app contacts the mail server?

On the worker page if it shows a hashrate then it is alive. With slow workers like you have currently though, the website isn't able to estimate a hashrate. It bases the estimates on how often you send in a proof of work, which is too seldom with slow workers, so it thinks you stopped mining. But yeah, if the numbers are changing, like after waiting 30 sec you refresh and the accepted proofs of work went up, then it is working. With a slow CPU miner you may have to wait a couple hours for any change to show though.

Idle/failed worker notifications by email is being tested now. It basically just needs an interface on the website so you can configure it. However it won't work with slow workers for which the hashrate estimate is too unreliable.

3 - Any chance of an iOS app to monitor workers and the account?

There are already apps to monitor workers and balances. You find them under "tools" -> "third party apps" in the website menu.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
1591157714
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591157714

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591157714
Reply with quote  #2

1591157714
Report to moderator
UNIQUE HILO GAME $500 DAILY CONTEST BEST AUTOBET MODE 30% RAKEBACK FOR VIPS PROVABLY FAIR Play Now Play Now
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Latrina
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 22, 2013, 12:26:40 PM
 #1062

Hello Folks,

I am new to the BTC mining scene and I am planning to put a small BTC mining rig with a raspberry pi and 5/6  ASICminer USB Block Erupter to begin with.

I know this question might have been asked and addressed already, however I could not find a reliable source and here I am.

Anyone knows a reliable ASICminer USB Block Erupter reseller selling in UK / Europe for a fair price?

I am based in UK and it'd be great if I could find a reseller UK based for quick and painless shipping.

Thanks
ThatFatGuy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 02:25:58 AM
 #1063

honestly, check eBay.com for miners under $50 us, often with free shipping.  Or check the marketplace here at the forum. Cool
MonocleMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 25, 2013, 09:50:19 AM
 #1064

So I've been trying different pools and I decided to try this one. I wanted to check and make sure I wasn't missing anything. I've been mining with bitminter now for 6 hours. I have yet to be paid anything and it looks like no blocks have been discovered since I joined, is this true? Do I have a setting broken?

MM

#bitcoin-otc profile -- Bitcointalk Reputation Thread -- Tip Jar 18F8fAPLKdxk94RFkmhkaVGcdfHYNNzJfk
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 25, 2013, 09:56:53 AM
 #1065

So I've been trying different pools and I decided to try this one. I wanted to check and make sure I wasn't missing anything. I've been mining with bitminter now for 6 hours. I have yet to be paid anything and it looks like no blocks have been discovered since I joined, is this true? Do I have a setting broken?

Welcome to BitMinter Smiley

It can take a few hours sometimes before we find a new block.

You can see all our blocks here: https://bitminter.com/blocks
You can see live what's going on here: https://bitminter.com/livestats/big

I posted some info about payouts here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22432.msg2818113#msg2818113

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
MonocleMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 25, 2013, 10:14:10 AM
 #1066

So the current block is 9+ hours old. And this is not the first 7+ hour block you guys have had in the last 48 hours. I thought Slush was having bad luck.

#bitcoin-otc profile -- Bitcointalk Reputation Thread -- Tip Jar 18F8fAPLKdxk94RFkmhkaVGcdfHYNNzJfk
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 25, 2013, 10:24:18 AM
 #1067

So the current block is 9+ hours old. And this is not the first 7+ hour block you guys have had in the last 48 hours. I thought Slush was having bad luck.

The time to find a block depends on the hashrate too. Since Slush's pool has higher hashrate they will find blocks more often on average.

In the beginning, when this pool had just started out, it could take two weeks to find a block.

Many don't understand how a pool's hashrate affects them. This can be useful reading: http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/10731/mining-pool-hashrate-effect-on-a-miners-income

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Marsupial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 05:16:51 PM
 #1068

So basically, luck will alter "the number of blocks one of your shift effort will be paid for" instead of the usual immediate payback..? Is there a big variance there in case of very bad lucks?

I am trying to figure out if this is a good thing or a bad thing for newbie miners, as opposed to Slush's or Eligius' methods.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 06:18:20 PM
 #1069

So basically, luck will alter "the number of blocks one of your shift effort will be paid for" instead of the usual immediate payback..? Is there a big variance there in case of very bad lucks?

The effect from good or bad luck can be considerable over a short time span. Over more time it evens out.

I am trying to figure out if this is a good thing or a bad thing for newbie miners, as opposed to Slush's or Eligius' methods.

Slush's pool has variance too.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Marsupial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 06:36:41 PM
 #1070

I don't think I like Slush's.

The way score are assigned, it can mean you mine for nothing for hours, being that the only interesting part of the work is at the end. I know it is meant to prevent from hopping and ending with zero hashrate to complete a block, but it virtually mean that the initial work is useless, and someone hopping in at the end would score higher than someone cutting off just before completion no matter how long it had been working.

Eligius' method somehow guarantee work will get rewarded even in case of bad luck, but every share is worth less than it could elsewhere. Helps when there's lots of bad luck, but if the pool would be having pure good luck for a while, it wouldn't turn out as extraneous BTC for miners.

Now, paying with shifts is somewhat more obscure to figure out. Whoever came up with this idea had a lot to think about. I guess the best is to try it out, which is what I am doing today & observing the end results.




Is the number of blocks each shifts will be rewarded for somewhat the the same in the long run, or is there lots of variance there? For instance, is the math made so a very unlucky shift could get zero blocks while a very lucky one could see 10+ blocks?


BTW I am still new to mining, and am just very interested in the whole mechanics behind everything bitcoin.
pwhtguru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 06:57:32 PM
 #1071

 Huh Setup asic blade single help. OK I got everything hook up 12volts to all lanes. During configuration I get chip 0000xxxx00000000000and so on.
Entered address for bitminter x2. also entered user_worker:pass user_worker:pass. Why is it not starting up?Please help. Huh What am i missing?





DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2013, 01:06:09 AM
 #1072

Huh Setup asic blade single help. OK I got everything hook up 12volts to all lanes. During configuration I get chip 0000xxxx00000000000and so on.
Entered address for bitminter x2. also entered user_worker:pass user_worker:pass. Why is it not starting up?Please help. Huh What am i missing?

Which address did you enter? Are you mining through stratum proxy or directly to BitMinter?

The blades use the getwork protocol. If you connect directly to the pool make sure you use port 8332. Not 3333, which is Stratum.

A better solution is to set up stratum proxy, and connect it to BitMinter using Stratum. Then let your blades connect to the proxy with getwork. But maybe this is what you are doing?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
caelaiden
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 01, 2013, 05:19:15 AM
 #1073

Hey guys so I feel like I am having a problem with my mining, I just recently got back into mining bitcoins again and I have a Geforce GT 650m and it is only Mhps is only 21.70 and my friend who runs a inferior graphics card is running almost double my Mhps at around 41Mhps. So I feel like I might be doing something wrong can anyone help me out?

http://i.imgur.com/kpwaeVJ.png
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 01, 2013, 11:44:55 AM
 #1074

Hey guys so I feel like I am having a problem with my mining, I just recently got back into mining bitcoins again and I have a Geforce GT 650m and it is only Mhps is only 21.70 and my friend who runs a inferior graphics card is running almost double my Mhps at around 41Mhps. So I feel like I might be doing something wrong can anyone help me out?

Nvidia cards are very slow for mining, much much slower than AMD cards. Also, mobile versions of the chips run much slower than desktop versions. Anyway, even AMD cards are very slow for mining these days as ASIC-based mining devices are taking over. I don't think any graphics card can make a profit mining right now unless you have free electricity.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#ASIC

Compare those ASIC products to the graphics cards on the same page.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 01, 2013, 12:56:45 PM
 #1075

I have got a hundred of vps with xeon cpu that can mine with a speed of 1mh/s,.is it profitable?

If you pay for electricity, no. If you don't, then yes. But the profit will be so tiny that it won't be worth your time setting up and managing 100 extremely slow miners.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
keeron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 09, 2013, 08:48:11 PM
 #1076

I am a little confused at the dual mining (BTC + NMC). I tried looking up the main thread as well as the site, but no luck. Is there a way to turn off the NMC mining? Would the experts here recommended it (maybe it helps improve the BTC mining). For reference, I am using ASICMINER USB devices.

SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 09, 2013, 09:02:21 PM
 #1077

I have got a hundred of vps with xeon cpu that can mine with a speed of 1mh/s,.is it profitable?
You'll make a whopping 0.02 BTC/month for your trouble.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1027


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 09:09:14 PM
 #1078

I am a little confused at the dual mining (BTC + NMC). I tried looking up the main thread as well as the site, but no luck. Is there a way to turn off the NMC mining? Would the experts here recommended it (maybe it helps improve the BTC mining). For reference, I am using ASICMINER USB devices.

We use our BTC hashes to also create NMC. NMC allows creating NMC blocks with BTC work - this is called "merged mining". If you don't want these free coins that don't slow down your BTC mining, then you can set NMC donation to 100% to get rid of them.

Some namecoin info:

We get namecoins with our bitcoin mining with no additional effort. Only got namecoins so far? You will get bitcoins when we create the next bitcoin block. Read more and get a namecoin wallet from http://dot-bit.org Get a namecoin GUI from http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=341 You can sell namecoins at exchanges: [1] https://btc-e.com/ [2] https://vircurex.com/

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
keeron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 01:07:28 AM
 #1079

Thanks for clearing that up! For some reason, I totally missed on the merged mining part to mean what it actually was. This makes sense and quite possibly (once I get used to your pool/miner - just switched from another one), I'll most likely donate the namecoins back.

I am a little confused at the dual mining (BTC + NMC). I tried looking up the main thread as well as the site, but no luck. Is there a way to turn off the NMC mining? Would the experts here recommended it (maybe it helps improve the BTC mining). For reference, I am using ASICMINER USB devices.

We use our BTC hashes to also create NMC. NMC allows creating NMC blocks with BTC work - this is called "merged mining". If you don't want these free coins that don't slow down your BTC mining, then you can set NMC donation to 100% to get rid of them.

Some namecoin info:

We get namecoins with our bitcoin mining with no additional effort. Only got namecoins so far? You will get bitcoins when we create the next bitcoin block. Read more and get a namecoin wallet from http://dot-bit.org Get a namecoin GUI from http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=341 You can sell namecoins at exchanges: [1] https://btc-e.com/ [2] https://vircurex.com/

sysops666
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 04:31:36 AM
 #1080

Hi guys I'm brand new. and I finally got my jalapeno and i was doing 0.06 per day. It stayed that way for 9 days straight. after that it dropped to 0.05. now its getting 0.03 and the speed is still that same. what went wrong?
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!