Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:00:33 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 208312 times)
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 07:38:14 PM
 #821

Thanks for the kind words, that's a good motivation to keep improving BitMinter. Smiley

My working miner (using your beta client) got trashed when the power went out in my building last night. I rolled back Windows (this is a single-purpose installation, so that was essentially a new install equivalent) and re-installed that latest AMD Catalyst package, including the OpenCL support. Yep, I'm GPU mining for now, at least until I get my Butterfly package! Unfortunately, when I re-downloaded the bitminter miner and ran it, it said that it couldn't detect OpenCL support on my two HD 7950's... It was running successfully yesterday, right up to the big power loss crash...

Sounds like the OpenCL drivers are broken. Did you try uninstalling Catalyst and reinstalling again?

I've heard many reports of driver crashes on Catalyst 13.1 and 13.4, so you may want to be wary of those releases.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
1480824033
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824033

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824033
Reply with quote  #2

1480824033
Report to moderator
"I'm sure that in 20 years there will either be very large transaction volume or no volume." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480824033
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480824033

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480824033
Reply with quote  #2

1480824033
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 08:29:55 PM
 #822

organofcorti has done a very thorough audit of BitMinter's payouts:

http://organofcorti.blogspot.com/2013/05/131-bitminter-and-luck.html

I'd summarize it this way: when we have bad luck we still pay better than most mining pools. When we have good luck we pay a lot more.

Can you really ask for more?

Thanks to organofcorti for the excellent work. If you need to make sense of numbers he's well worth the price.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
m14yen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 09:15:55 PM
 #823

really really impressed with the bitminter client/app, I have it running on 4 pcs and 2 laptops.

but what do i do with the 7 namecoins i've mined? is there a use/point to them

http://www.magzter.com/GB/Digital-Publishing-UK/Optimum-Nutrition/Health/19273
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 09:20:47 PM
 #824

really really impressed with the bitminter client/app, I have it running on 4 pcs and 2 laptops.

but what do i do with the 7 namecoins i've mined? is there a use/point to them

Thanks, glad you like BitMinter Smiley

Namecoins:

Read more and get a namecoin wallet from http://dot-bit.org Get a namecoin GUI from http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=341

You can sell namecoins at exchanges:
[1] https://btc-e.com/
[2] https://vircurex.com/

(If you just want to sell then just send your namecoins there, no need to set up a wallet program)

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
m14yen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 10:18:14 PM
 #825

really really impressed with the bitminter client/app, I have it running on 4 pcs and 2 laptops.

but what do i do with the 7 namecoins i've mined? is there a use/point to them

Thanks, glad you like BitMinter Smiley

Namecoins:

Read more and get a namecoin wallet from http://dot-bit.org Get a namecoin GUI from http://dot-bit.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=341

You can sell namecoins at exchanges:
[1] https://btc-e.com/
[2] https://vircurex.com/

(If you just want to sell then just send your namecoins there, no need to set up a wallet program)


Thanks DrHaribo, so its 0.008 btc to 1 nmc, think i'll just keep them for now Smiley

http://www.magzter.com/GB/Digital-Publishing-UK/Optimum-Nutrition/Health/19273
nuggium
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 10:31:26 PM
 #826

Although I haven't received my ASIC yet, will BitMinter support it?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 11:15:45 PM
 #827

Although I haven't received my ASIC yet, will BitMinter support it?

All ASICs can be used with the BitMinter pool. But BitMinter client only supports the BFL ASICs so far. It may also work with the new tiny USB dongle ASICs from ASICminer, as they function like an Icarus FPGA. But that has not been tested with BitMinter client yet.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DickMS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 11:16:11 PM
 #828

Thanks for the kind words, that's a good motivation to keep improving BitMinter. Smiley

My working miner (using your beta client) got trashed when the power went out in my building last night. I rolled back Windows (this is a single-purpose installation, so that was essentially a new install equivalent) and re-installed that latest AMD Catalyst package, including the OpenCL support. Yep, I'm GPU mining for now, at least until I get my Butterfly package! Unfortunately, when I re-downloaded the bitminter miner and ran it, it said that it couldn't detect OpenCL support on my two HD 7950's... It was running successfully yesterday, right up to the big power loss crash...

Sounds like the OpenCL drivers are broken. Did you try uninstalling Catalyst and reinstalling again?

I've heard many reports of driver crashes on Catalyst 13.1 and 13.4, so you may want to be wary of those releases.


Yep - re-installed Catalyst, 13.4, then 13.5 beta, etc... OpenCL sample code compiles and executes just fine.... so the support is there... I MIGHT have been using 12.10 or something originally, I suppose, but the correct operation of at least 30 of the 72 OpenCL sample programs seems to indicate that the driver is working as expected.
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 01:42:12 AM
 #829


Any decent brand powered USB hub will work fine.  Are the BFL's powered by USB or do they have their own power supplies?  If they are all powered by USB you should look for a hub that provides full 500 to each USB port.  Some cheaper "powered" models (I have one) are powered, but only provide a total of 500 to 5 of my 7 ports.  (Only has enough juice for 5 full powered devices, but can power all 7 if the draw isn't quite full power)... 

Anyway, just don't go cheap.

Thanks for the advice. The BFLs have their own dedicated power supply, though I'm looking into swapping all of them out in favor of a 1200W PSU that delivers power through custom barrel connector cables, but one step at a time. For now, I will go shopping on NewEgg for a decent powered USB hub.

Yea if they have their own power source then you can get any decent brand USB hub, even unpowered ones.  Perhaps some of those cheap 10 port unpowered strip style hubs.   I don't think they (the BFLs) are bandwidth intensive so using several on one USB bus shouldn't hurt anything.
drewbit74
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


Just a Bit, an Expensive one


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 01:46:22 AM
 #830

As with everyone else... Thank you for the work you've done on the client.  It's allowed me to get work done (on mining and "actual" work).  I'm not afraid of a line of code but not having to do lots of typing on each new client is excellent.  The best part is that it just works! 

Dropping the bytes for Bits
BTC - 17ojcLvj9Jc48QYAytmnrZuMSWUfSJSQZ
flame
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 05:47:27 PM
 #831

Yeah!  I got my bitminter installed and WORKING!  That is amazing.  I am LOVING it.  The only thing is my computer is sooooo slow!  Still, I am a very happy camper.  Thank you BITMITER.  This is wonderful.  I love it.
h2002al
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 07:42:26 PM
 #832

I have installed an AMD Radeon HD 6570. Have Catalyst 13.1 installed. I have an Intel i7 3770 and 8 GB RAM. But I can't go over 83-90 Mh/sec in mining. I used Bitminter (83-84 Mh/sec) and cgminer (90 Mh/sec). But I know that the potential of this card is higher. I see that at bitminter the green zone is about 200Mh/sec for this gpu. Can anybody help me to reach this speed to mine? Or at least to increase mine... I changed the various settings that are at Bitminter but nothing.... The speed doesn't move...

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2013, 07:57:57 PM
 #833

I have installed an AMD Radeon HD 6570. Have Catalyst 13.1 installed. I have an Intel i7 3770 and 8 GB RAM. But I can't go over 83-90 Mh/sec in mining. I used Bitminter (83-84 Mh/sec) and cgminer (90 Mh/sec). But I know that the potential of this card is higher. I see that at bitminter the green zone is about 200Mh/sec for this gpu. Can anybody help me to reach this speed to mine? Or at least to increase mine... I changed the various settings that are at Bitminter but nothing.... The speed doesn't move...

Is that showing up with the name Turks?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
mindsignals
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:04:52 PM
 #834

organofcorti has done a very thorough audit of BitMinter's payouts:

http://organofcorti.blogspot.com/2013/05/131-bitminter-and-luck.html

I'd summarize it this way: when we have bad luck we still pay better than most mining pools. When we have good luck we pay a lot more.

Can you really ask for more?

Thanks to organofcorti for the excellent work. If you need to make sense of numbers he's well worth the price.


Well put, Dr. Haribo.  I've only toyed around with BitMinter and my 5670 mobile GPU, but I've been pleased with what little it can do in that pool (at the 5670's paltry 180 MH/s rate).

YAC - Y6fAot4PQQpEGMbDLLvkhThuTekvMEJM1T
h2002al
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:05:46 PM
 #835

I have installed an AMD Radeon HD 6570. Have Catalyst 13.1 installed. I have an Intel i7 3770 and 8 GB RAM. But I can't go over 83-90 Mh/sec in mining. I used Bitminter (83-84 Mh/sec) and cgminer (90 Mh/sec). But I know that the potential of this card is higher. I see that at bitminter the green zone is about 200Mh/sec for this gpu. Can anybody help me to reach this speed to mine? Or at least to increase mine... I changed the various settings that are at Bitminter but nothing.... The speed doesn't move...

Is that showing up with the name Turks?


Yes. Turks (#1) is showed at Bitminter

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2013, 10:02:41 PM
 #836

Thanks for all the praise Smiley And welcome to the pool, all who recently joined Smiley

Yes. Turks (#1) is showed at Bitminter

I think the green zone should be about 105 Mhps on Turks. There are some different Turks models though. I think you are getting the speed you can expect out of your GPU.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
dritek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 04:32:55 AM
 #837

amazing work with the pool. I've been on your pool for about a month now, but recently my expected per block has gone from 0.0025-0.003 to about 0.00015 (3 0s, not a typo)...I get around 0.002 on other pools but i get a better kickback on here so i'd prefer to stay but I'm not sure what's going on...any ideas? I have 2 workers and both are working fine (tested on other pools). I've tried the bitminter client and guiminer and both had the same result. Thanks again for your help and really hoping I can continue to mine on here.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2013, 05:18:46 PM
 #838

amazing work with the pool. I've been on your pool for about a month now, but recently my expected per block has gone from 0.0025-0.003 to about 0.00015 (3 0s, not a typo)...I get around 0.002 on other pools but i get a better kickback on here so i'd prefer to stay but I'm not sure what's going on...any ideas? I have 2 workers and both are working fine (tested on other pools). I've tried the bitminter client and guiminer and both had the same result. Thanks again for your help and really hoping I can continue to mine on here.

Yes, the hashrate in the pool went up, which does not affect your daily payouts except reduce variance. You get more blocks with less pay per block.

Also the global hashrate keeps going up and that drives the difficulty up. That does reduce payouts for everyone, in all pools.

I'm thinking of removing the "expected pay per block" because it confuses people. Maybe I'll replace it with an expected 24 hour earnings.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
dritek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 06:28:13 PM
 #839

amazing work with the pool. I've been on your pool for about a month now, but recently my expected per block has gone from 0.0025-0.003 to about 0.00015 (3 0s, not a typo)...I get around 0.002 on other pools but i get a better kickback on here so i'd prefer to stay but I'm not sure what's going on...any ideas? I have 2 workers and both are working fine (tested on other pools). I've tried the bitminter client and guiminer and both had the same result. Thanks again for your help and really hoping I can continue to mine on here.

Yes, the hashrate in the pool went up, which does not affect your daily payouts except reduce variance. You get more blocks with less pay per block.

Also the global hashrate keeps going up and that drives the difficulty up. That does reduce payouts for everyone, in all pools.

I'm thinking of removing the "expected pay per block" because it confuses people. Maybe I'll replace it with an expected 24 hour earnings.


ok i had a feeling the recent spike in hashrate had something to do with it. Thanks for clarifying. I think the 24hr earnings is a good idea.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 08:54:05 PM
 #840

have to agree that the 24 hour rate is a better idea.

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

 
 ██
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!