Bitcoin Forum
May 30, 2020, 12:27:40 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 220279 times)
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 01:42:12 AM
 #821


Any decent brand powered USB hub will work fine.  Are the BFL's powered by USB or do they have their own power supplies?  If they are all powered by USB you should look for a hub that provides full 500 to each USB port.  Some cheaper "powered" models (I have one) are powered, but only provide a total of 500 to 5 of my 7 ports.  (Only has enough juice for 5 full powered devices, but can power all 7 if the draw isn't quite full power)... 

Anyway, just don't go cheap.

Thanks for the advice. The BFLs have their own dedicated power supply, though I'm looking into swapping all of them out in favor of a 1200W PSU that delivers power through custom barrel connector cables, but one step at a time. For now, I will go shopping on NewEgg for a decent powered USB hub.

Yea if they have their own power source then you can get any decent brand USB hub, even unpowered ones.  Perhaps some of those cheap 10 port unpowered strip style hubs.   I don't think they (the BFLs) are bandwidth intensive so using several on one USB bus shouldn't hurt anything.
1590798460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590798460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590798460
Reply with quote  #2

1590798460
Report to moderator
1590798460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590798460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590798460
Reply with quote  #2

1590798460
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1590798460
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590798460

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590798460
Reply with quote  #2

1590798460
Report to moderator
drewbit74
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 11, 2013, 01:46:22 AM
 #822

As with everyone else... Thank you for the work you've done on the client.  It's allowed me to get work done (on mining and "actual" work).  I'm not afraid of a line of code but not having to do lots of typing on each new client is excellent.  The best part is that it just works! 
flame
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 05:47:27 PM
 #823

Yeah!  I got my bitminter installed and WORKING!  That is amazing.  I am LOVING it.  The only thing is my computer is sooooo slow!  Still, I am a very happy camper.  Thank you BITMITER.  This is wonderful.  I love it.
h2002al
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 07:42:26 PM
 #824

I have installed an AMD Radeon HD 6570. Have Catalyst 13.1 installed. I have an Intel i7 3770 and 8 GB RAM. But I can't go over 83-90 Mh/sec in mining. I used Bitminter (83-84 Mh/sec) and cgminer (90 Mh/sec). But I know that the potential of this card is higher. I see that at bitminter the green zone is about 200Mh/sec for this gpu. Can anybody help me to reach this speed to mine? Or at least to increase mine... I changed the various settings that are at Bitminter but nothing.... The speed doesn't move...

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1021


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2013, 07:57:57 PM
 #825

I have installed an AMD Radeon HD 6570. Have Catalyst 13.1 installed. I have an Intel i7 3770 and 8 GB RAM. But I can't go over 83-90 Mh/sec in mining. I used Bitminter (83-84 Mh/sec) and cgminer (90 Mh/sec). But I know that the potential of this card is higher. I see that at bitminter the green zone is about 200Mh/sec for this gpu. Can anybody help me to reach this speed to mine? Or at least to increase mine... I changed the various settings that are at Bitminter but nothing.... The speed doesn't move...

Is that showing up with the name Turks?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
mindsignals
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 1


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:04:52 PM
 #826

organofcorti has done a very thorough audit of BitMinter's payouts:

http://organofcorti.blogspot.com/2013/05/131-bitminter-and-luck.html

I'd summarize it this way: when we have bad luck we still pay better than most mining pools. When we have good luck we pay a lot more.

Can you really ask for more?

Thanks to organofcorti for the excellent work. If you need to make sense of numbers he's well worth the price.


Well put, Dr. Haribo.  I've only toyed around with BitMinter and my 5670 mobile GPU, but I've been pleased with what little it can do in that pool (at the 5670's paltry 180 MH/s rate).

Qbase (QBS) Ann (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5081790.0)
Discord (https://discord.gg/5eKRugA)
h2002al
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:05:46 PM
 #827

I have installed an AMD Radeon HD 6570. Have Catalyst 13.1 installed. I have an Intel i7 3770 and 8 GB RAM. But I can't go over 83-90 Mh/sec in mining. I used Bitminter (83-84 Mh/sec) and cgminer (90 Mh/sec). But I know that the potential of this card is higher. I see that at bitminter the green zone is about 200Mh/sec for this gpu. Can anybody help me to reach this speed to mine? Or at least to increase mine... I changed the various settings that are at Bitminter but nothing.... The speed doesn't move...

Is that showing up with the name Turks?


Yes. Turks (#1) is showed at Bitminter

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1021


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2013, 10:02:41 PM
 #828

Thanks for all the praise Smiley And welcome to the pool, all who recently joined Smiley

Yes. Turks (#1) is showed at Bitminter

I think the green zone should be about 105 Mhps on Turks. There are some different Turks models though. I think you are getting the speed you can expect out of your GPU.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
dritek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 04:32:55 AM
 #829

amazing work with the pool. I've been on your pool for about a month now, but recently my expected per block has gone from 0.0025-0.003 to about 0.00015 (3 0s, not a typo)...I get around 0.002 on other pools but i get a better kickback on here so i'd prefer to stay but I'm not sure what's going on...any ideas? I have 2 workers and both are working fine (tested on other pools). I've tried the bitminter client and guiminer and both had the same result. Thanks again for your help and really hoping I can continue to mine on here.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1021


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2013, 05:18:46 PM
 #830

amazing work with the pool. I've been on your pool for about a month now, but recently my expected per block has gone from 0.0025-0.003 to about 0.00015 (3 0s, not a typo)...I get around 0.002 on other pools but i get a better kickback on here so i'd prefer to stay but I'm not sure what's going on...any ideas? I have 2 workers and both are working fine (tested on other pools). I've tried the bitminter client and guiminer and both had the same result. Thanks again for your help and really hoping I can continue to mine on here.

Yes, the hashrate in the pool went up, which does not affect your daily payouts except reduce variance. You get more blocks with less pay per block.

Also the global hashrate keeps going up and that drives the difficulty up. That does reduce payouts for everyone, in all pools.

I'm thinking of removing the "expected pay per block" because it confuses people. Maybe I'll replace it with an expected 24 hour earnings.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
dritek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2013, 06:28:13 PM
 #831

amazing work with the pool. I've been on your pool for about a month now, but recently my expected per block has gone from 0.0025-0.003 to about 0.00015 (3 0s, not a typo)...I get around 0.002 on other pools but i get a better kickback on here so i'd prefer to stay but I'm not sure what's going on...any ideas? I have 2 workers and both are working fine (tested on other pools). I've tried the bitminter client and guiminer and both had the same result. Thanks again for your help and really hoping I can continue to mine on here.

Yes, the hashrate in the pool went up, which does not affect your daily payouts except reduce variance. You get more blocks with less pay per block.

Also the global hashrate keeps going up and that drives the difficulty up. That does reduce payouts for everyone, in all pools.

I'm thinking of removing the "expected pay per block" because it confuses people. Maybe I'll replace it with an expected 24 hour earnings.


ok i had a feeling the recent spike in hashrate had something to do with it. Thanks for clarifying. I think the 24hr earnings is a good idea.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2346



View Profile
May 12, 2013, 08:54:05 PM
 #832

have to agree that the 24 hour rate is a better idea.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
xdc the doc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 08:22:37 PM
 #833

OK - after a burst of activity for a few hours... now it is saying "ran out of work".... idling. 

I could understand this happening for brief periods - but it is sitting like that now for past hour.

Is that normal?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1021


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2013, 04:41:44 PM
 #834

OK - after a burst of activity for a few hours... now it is saying "ran out of work".... idling. 

I could understand this happening for brief periods - but it is sitting like that now for past hour.

Is that normal?

No, that's not normal. Do you get network errors in the log as well? Is internet connectivity working fine on that computer?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
xdc the doc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 05:44:11 PM
 #835

No - it said it was still connected. No other errors.

Hmmm - I got it working again by just closing the prog and restarting.  Strangely... if i just hit the engine start / stop button this didnt fix it - had to close the whole thing.

Ill just have to see if this is a recurring thing or just occasional.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1021


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2013, 05:58:23 PM
 #836

No - it said it was still connected. No other errors.

Hmmm - I got it working again by just closing the prog and restarting.  Strangely... if i just hit the engine start / stop button this didnt fix it - had to close the whole thing.

Ill just have to see if this is a recurring thing or just occasional.

Probably a GPU crash. Are you overclocking or the GPU running hot?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Trekkie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:45:31 PM
 #837

I have been using bitminter for some time now, but recently something odd is happening on a Windows 8 machine I've been running it on while I work.

If I try to start the client, it'll just disappear.

Is there an error log somewhere I can look at to see why it's closing?  I've rebooted, refreshed my Java installation, anything I could think of.   It fires up, and when I hit the start button, it disappears.
whitefeather
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:55:02 PM
 #838

DrHaribo, does the bitminter client support the lancelot product being sold by this group:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=187549.0

I love the simplicity of your client and would rather not have to spawn an instance of cgminer just to get the lancelot to mine. Thanks in advance for your response.
whitefeather
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 02:17:02 PM
 #839

I am planning to move my Bitminter operation to a Mac Mini and a powered USB hub. Does anyone know if there are any drawbacks to this approach?

I realize the client is a java app, so I am assuming that there is no practical difference in terms of the bitminter client and its functionality. Am I assuming correctly?

I am using 6 BFL FPGA Singles, currently plugged directly into my PC's USB ports. When I move to a Mac Mini, I intend to use a powered USB hub. Can anyone suggest a product which is known to work with the Mac Mini, the Bitminter app, and the FPGA units?

I apologize ahead of time if the above questions are elementary in nature. I am new at this. Thank you for your consideration.


Any decent brand powered USB hub will work fine.  Are the BFL's powered by USB or do they have their own power supplies?  If they are all powered by USB you should look for a hub that provides full 500 to each USB port.  Some cheaper "powered" models (I have one) are powered, but only provide a total of 500 to 5 of my 7 ports.  (Only has enough juice for 5 full powered devices, but can power all 7 if the draw isn't quite full power)... 


Anyway, just don't go cheap.

Thanks PCMiner. I picked up a powered USB from Amazon, and the whole setup is working like a charm now.
georgethegent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 03:36:54 PM
 #840

I'm getting pleased. Now the desktop is working along with the laptop but at around 10 times faster. May well make a bob or two yet  Wink
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!