Bitcoin Forum
May 28, 2020, 01:31:41 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 220279 times)
Gurthang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 15, 2013, 12:35:49 PM
 #701

I looked through most of this thread but did not see what I need to know.  Can someone tell this stupid Windows 7 user how to harvest namecoins into a wallet OR how to convert them into bitcoin?

I am a real idiot, so please provide step by step instructions.  Thanks in advance.
1590672701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590672701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590672701
Reply with quote  #2

1590672701
Report to moderator
1590672701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590672701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590672701
Reply with quote  #2

1590672701
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1590672701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1590672701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1590672701
Reply with quote  #2

1590672701
Report to moderator
keo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 01:30:41 PM
 #702

BitMinter is awesome. Thank you for putting it together.
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 05:27:14 PM
 #703

Newbie - Need Help - sorry.  Running on a mac mini 2013 (i5 version)... the app is unable to use the GPU due to not finding OpenCl... do I need to install a driver?

Cheers,
Larye

Sadly the MacMini does not have a OpenCL compatible graphics card.  If it has the integrated Intel Graphics (your's does) then it's a no go.

On a unrelated note.  What just happened in the blocks?  99.9% for 10 hours then one solved in minutes using 44Thps?  Glitch in the matrix?

laryye
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 16, 2013, 12:19:42 AM
 #704

PCMiner - thank you - I was dreading that answer, but it agrees with what I was wondering.  Here's to the hope they will Apple will add a driver someday...
premo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 16, 2013, 02:37:54 PM
 #705

hi i jus done a lil dummy test where i connected to ur bitminter it seems to log on an connect it is mining atm on my cpu as i got a a lame graphics card ( please over look my ignorance i only got into bitcoins a week ago or more)  when it says no open cl compatible does it mean the graphics card in my laptop needs to be different or that i need to upgrade sum software regarding? i'm only doing this to get a feel for it (usin cpu or gpu if possible atm) i knw asic is the future of minning bt we all know thers so very limited availability of asics. however in the future will your bitminter pool work with asics from butterfly( if they ever come) or even other asics. thanks to all in advance for ur help.
premo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 16, 2013, 03:58:12 PM
 #706

i know wat a driver is now  Grin
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2345



View Profile
April 16, 2013, 05:23:32 PM
 #707

Newbie - Need Help - sorry.  Running on a mac mini 2013 (i5 version)... the app is unable to use the GPU due to not finding OpenCl... do I need to install a driver?

Cheers,
Larye



 you can run a 2011 mac mini with the amd 6630m gpu.  use firefox it will push 50Mh for hash.

I have a 2011 mini with the gpu.

 no newer mac mini the 2012 there is no 2013 will run  as the gpus are hd4000 integrated.

this mini will run  bitminter if you use firefox at 50Mh

http://store.apple.com/us/product/FC816LL/A/refurbished-mac-mini-25ghz-dual-core-intel-core-i5

this is your mini

http://store.apple.com/us/configure/MD387LL/A? 

if you run in firefox you may get it to hash at 2Mh waste of power

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2814
Merit: 2345



View Profile
April 16, 2013, 05:39:58 PM
 #708

I looked through most of this thread but did not see what I need to know.  Can someone tell this stupid Windows 7 user how to harvest namecoins into a wallet OR how to convert them into bitcoin?

I am a real idiot, so please provide step by step instructions.  Thanks in advance.


step one;
 sign into a site that takes namecoins and will trade them for bit coins
I use this site

https://vircurex.com/

you need to take screen shots of the pages and copy down the name you sign in with the password etc.
once you are signed in you setup 2 wallets
one for bit  coin  one for name coin
 
   then go to bitminter
1)  okay step one go to the bit minter page and sign in
 2) go to  my account  then go to account details
3) then put the namecoin wallet address you made on the vircurex site into the bitminter namecoin pay to address
4)set a low transfer limit at first so if you made a mistake you will not lose a lot of coins
5) lets say you earn .001 name coins each time you make a block to start set the transfer limit at .004
 6) after you get to .004 the coins will transfer to  vircurex
7) once you see the transfer happen set the limit higher like .2 this way the transfers are one every couple of days
8)send me a pm If you want to give me an email I will try to give you more info with screen shots and the like.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Gurthang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 16, 2013, 06:39:59 PM
 #709

Thank you, philipma1957.  I will try that tonight when I get home and report back to you.  I really appreciate the step by step.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1021


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2013, 07:52:13 PM
 #710

Hello all new users who joined and welcome to the pool. Thanks for the kind words, guys.

i realy like this miner but with my ATI 4870 it is to slow. It only get´s around 85 till 88 Mhs. With GUIminer poclbm and this flags -d 0 -v -w 128 -f 1 i get 104 Mhs.
What should i select in the tunning tap to get this miner faster.

I'm not sure what has caused this. It's normal for different miners to vary a bit, but that difference looks very large.

I am only making namecoins. How can I make bitcoins too?

You get paid bitcoins when we get a bitcoin block. It's just that we get namecoin blocks more often since their difficulty is lower.

I've been trying it out the bitminter java app on my osx laptop.  It appears to be mostly happily getting and completing work units(except occasionally it appears to complete all the ones I have) but I don't see any accepted or rejected proffs of work on the server.  It maybe isn't uploading them?  I'm not sure how to tell if this is a network issue with my connection?

Apple OpenCL breaks sometimes. It shows a crazy high hash rates and never finds any proofs of work. Reboot your Mac and it will work properly again.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1021


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2013, 07:58:35 PM
 #711

On a unrelated note.  What just happened in the blocks?  99.9% for 10 hours then one solved in minutes using 44Thps?  Glitch in the matrix?

A 10 hour block can happen, that's just bad luck. The other block took just 1 second to complete. In such extreme cases the hashrate estimation gets way off from reality.

hi i jus done a lil dummy test where i connected to ur bitminter it seems to log on an connect it is mining atm on my cpu as i got a a lame graphics card ( please over look my ignorance i only got into bitcoins a week ago or more)  when it says no open cl compatible does it mean the graphics card in my laptop needs to be different or that i need to upgrade sum software regarding? i'm only doing this to get a feel for it (usin cpu or gpu if possible atm) i knw asic is the future of minning bt we all know thers so very limited availability of asics. however in the future will your bitminter pool work with asics from butterfly( if they ever come) or even other asics. thanks to all in advance for ur help.

Which graphics card do you have?

The pool server already works great with ASICs. There are users in the pool mining on ASICs already. I am working on adding support for BFL SCs in BitMinter client. I aim to have this finished and stable before BFL customers receive their ASICs.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
mike51r
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 16, 2013, 11:12:58 PM
 #712

I am running an ATI 6670 and an ATI 4850.  Both are running with a monitor attached to each.  However, unless one of the cards is disabled in device manager in the control panel, none of the bitcoin miners will open.  They just crash.  Again, it instantly works when one card is disabled.

"xxxx.exe has stopped working".

It's the same for ALL of the miners (CGminer, GUIMiner, BitMinter, poclbm).  Bitminter doesn't start and produces an error log. 

Highlights:
# Problematic frame:
# C  [amdocl.dll+0x57bee]
#
# Failed to write core dump. Minidumps are not enabled by default on client versions of Windows
PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 17, 2013, 02:04:24 AM
Last edit: April 17, 2013, 02:15:43 AM by PCMiner
 #713

On a unrelated note.  What just happened in the blocks?  99.9% for 10 hours then one solved in minutes using 44Thps?  Glitch in the matrix?

A 10 hour block can happen, that's just bad luck. The other block took just 1 second to complete. In such extreme cases the hashrate estimation gets way off from reality.

I get the variance, that happens.  What puzzled me was the steady 5.5GHps for every block but the one that only took a few seconds.  It was right before the 10 hour one, and it's (the shortly solved one) rate was 44Terahashes vs the normal 5.5gigahashes..  That's the glitch I was talking about.   It's just a strange thing to see.  Basically it was just a glitch in the matrix in the end.  I wonder what the odds are of solving a block in 1 second at this difficulty.



meegul
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2013, 04:16:19 AM
 #714

Hi, I have a Radeon HD 6850 and I tend to get around 190 Mhps, which is O.K. for me.  My problem is that even with my GPU fan at 100%, leaving the BitMinter client on for more than 1 minute will skyrocket my GPU's temp to exceeding 80C.

Is there any way that I can slow down/limit the mining to make it work less, and reduce the heat produced?

(Apologies for possible newbie-questions, still new to bitcoin mining)

Cheers Tongue
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1021


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2013, 04:19:33 AM
 #715

I am running an ATI 6670 and an ATI 4850.  Both are running with a monitor attached to each.  However, unless one of the cards is disabled in device manager in the control panel, none of the bitcoin miners will open.  They just crash.  Again, it instantly works when one card is disabled.

Sounds like a driver issue. Try cleaning out the drivers and reinstalling them.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Sindouse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2013, 04:36:06 AM
 #716

http://i.imgur.com/Q52omZl.png
Is this really true? I just started and am wondering if I am actually getting around 200Ghps.
I'm using a GeForce GT 650M with BitMinter 1.3.2

Also, is there a way to optimize the work group size and work interval?
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1021


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2013, 04:49:15 AM
 #717

I get the variance, that happens.  What puzzled me was the steady 5.5GHps for every block but the one that only took a few seconds.  It was right before the 10 hour one, and it's (the shortly solved one) rate was 44Terahashes vs the normal 5.5gigahashes..  That's the glitch I was talking about.   It's just a strange thing to see.  Basically it was just a glitch in the matrix in the end.  I wonder what the odds are of solving a block in 1 second at this difficulty.

All hashrates displayed on the web server are estimates. When doing an estimate for hashrate over a period of 1 second then the estimate will be off. Therefore the 1 second block's hashrate is wrong.

Is this really true? I just started and am wondering if I am actually getting around 200Ghps.
I'm using a GeForce GT 650M with BitMinter 1.3.2

This is a bug with Apple OpenCL. Sometimes it breaks. It shows crazy high hashrate and never finds any results. Reboot your Mac and things will be back to normal.

Also, is there a way to optimize the work group size and work interval?

You just have to try them and see. 20 ms work interval gives good performance. Set it lower if you want smoother desktop, it may drop performance a little.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DFRELAT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2013, 08:22:00 PM
 #718

Great job, BitMinter is awesome, so easy to use!  Can we have one to mine for LTC?
joe9439
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2013, 10:29:00 PM
 #719

I need help understanding the payout transaction fees. Are they a fixed percentage of earnings paid out regardless of how often or is it a fixed amount per transaction? Is there any fee at all charged to the recipients or is the fee paid by the pool? I know there are several recipients of each payout but how does that work transaction fee wise?

Basically I prefer to be paid more often but I can set it to pay out less frequently if it's going to cost me more in fees.
Zealot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2013, 10:43:35 PM
 #720

Quote from: DrHaribo
BitMinter to take 1% fee - still most profitable of top 10 pools

BitMinter has been zero fee for a long time. Unfortunately this is not a sustainable way to run a pool because most miners set their donation to 0%.

We will be moving to a 1% fee on saturday 20th of april.

We are still the most profitable of the big pools, due to low fee, paying out namecoins (6% extra income), paying out income from transaction fees (1% to 2% extra income) and being safe from pool hopping.

What happens on the 20th of april:
- 1% mining fee takes effect (BTC and NMC)
- Prepay perk cost reduced to 1.5% (from 2%)
- Users with prepay on will have their donation reduced by 0.5%. Set it back up afterwards if you like.
- New users will have a 1.5% default donation (rather than 2%)

There will also be more perks coming, but I can't promise any timeframe on that.

Hi DrHaribo.
Could you elaborate a bit more on the last point "New users will have a 1.5% default donation (rather than 2%)". Does this mean that it's cheaper for me to wait until the 20th before joining BitMinter? Smiley

Source
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!