Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:43:58 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 208762 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 09:24:55 PM
 #501

To the good DrH

  Thanks for an answer to my question about crossfire.  My next question involves my internet link.  I use a cable connection my speeds are about  10-12 down and 1.5 - 3 mbs up.  I have 2 pc's doing mining 24/7  about 1600 mhs hash rate.    If I build 2 more machines each with 800 mhs hash rate.  total 4x 800 mhs = 3200 mhs will my cable handle that much traffic.  I guess what I am asking is how much does 1 800mhs machine upload  and download via cat6 wire?  Anyone that could answer is welcome. Thanks

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

 
 ██
1480949038
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949038

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949038
Reply with quote  #2

1480949038
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480949038
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949038

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949038
Reply with quote  #2

1480949038
Report to moderator
1480949038
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949038

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949038
Reply with quote  #2

1480949038
Report to moderator
1480949038
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949038

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949038
Reply with quote  #2

1480949038
Report to moderator
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
August 26, 2012, 10:09:51 PM
 #502

To the good DrH

  Thanks for an answer to my question about crossfire.  My next question involves my internet link.  I use a cable connection my speeds are about  10-12 down and 1.5 - 3 mbs up.  I have 2 pc's doing mining 24/7  about 1600 mhs hash rate.    If I build 2 more machines each with 800 mhs hash rate.  total 4x 800 mhs = 3200 mhs will my cable handle that much traffic.  I guess what I am asking is how much does 1 800mhs machine upload  and download via cat6 wire?  Anyone that could answer is welcome. Thanks

You could possibly run it over a 14.4k baud modem. Mining uses almost no bandwidth.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 10:24:33 PM
 #503

thank you/  I will do some building the next few days.

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

 
 ██
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2012, 10:32:45 PM
 #504

A new mint race starts friday: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=104189.0
We have prizes from Bitcurex - check it out!

thank you/  I will do some building the next few days.

Hope you get it ready in time. Smiley

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
August 30, 2012, 10:09:25 PM
 #505

Just change the hd7950 + hd7750 to a hd 7970 and a hd 7950.  I jumped from 500 to 900.


  I have 3 rigs ;

  1 is 2 x 7950                    800 hash

  1 is 2x 7970                     1000 hash

1 is 1x 7950 + 1x  7970         900 hash       ,  


   So  I need to a mint a block and have the lowest hash rate to win?

  In my case  you would count the 1000 hash from the pair of 7970's ?  

   Or have I failed to understand the rules?    Seems like  a good way to give big players and small players a chance.

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

 
 ██
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2012, 10:59:28 PM
 #506

Just change the hd7950 + hd7750 to a hd 7970 and a hd 7950.  I jumped from 500 to 900.

Nice Smiley

  So  I need to a mint a block and have the lowest hash rate to win?

Not the lowest hash rate but the lowest hash value. The hash is used as an identifier for the block, so you can see it in all the links in the height column of the block list at http://bitminter.com/blocks

The hash is also used on blockchain.info, example: http://blockchain.info/block/000000000000057c1134e054dc94fbff521b54921b4ab9fcab6daa2033508d40
Both in the link and on the page (upper right, "hash")

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
August 31, 2012, 02:29:29 PM
 #507

OKAY I THINK I understand the rules.  


So today Fri 31st 2000 UTC  Which is   Fri  31st 1600 EST. (my time)

 Runs 48 Hours until  Sun 2nd 2000 UTC or   Sun 2nd 1600 EST.  


  I understand  the block concept and lowest hash number.

 I wonder if the  total hash  rate will pick up a lot in the contest hours.  you are over 1tb hash as of 14:30 UTC fri 31st.


  I have a stable  2800 hash with the 3x computers running.  So maybe I will get lucky. I figure I have around a 1 in 368 chance of  winning 1st prize.


  my 2.9k/1072k pool total is about 1/368

██     Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to :

1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

 
 ██
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 31, 2012, 02:45:51 PM
 #508

Yeah, you got it.

We have to wait and see if something will happen with the hash rate. During the first mint race some miners used GPUmax to boost their hash rate. But that's a bit unpredictable as you can't control exactly when it starts running. Some might also overclock their machines. But be careful, we don't want any burned out rigs like last time.

Just a few hours left now till it starts. Smiley

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 31, 2012, 05:34:34 PM
 #509

2.5 hours left before the race. Final equipment check, guys.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 31, 2012, 05:42:54 PM
 #510

2.5 hours left before the race. Final equipment check, guys.

Would be great if we could have nrolltime by then.  Cheesy
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 31, 2012, 07:44:53 PM
 #511

Would be great if we could have nrolltime by then.  Cheesy

16 minutes to go. I don't think I can make it!  Shocked

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2012, 07:30:30 PM
 #512

New version of mining server is up and running, with rollntime support for all miners:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg1195554#msg1195554

BitMinter client v1.3.0 is out:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=31163.msg1196221#msg1196221

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Menissalt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21



View Profile
October 01, 2012, 08:25:03 PM
 #513

Woot... I'm finally above 2Ghps spread between two rigs. One of them is just a bit warm though. May eventually add some airflow.

If I've helped you, consider a small donation. Everything helps.

1Hi3c5EqDUs7Mraqji7bGEmWb4yGfWr7oG
gochk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137


View Profile
October 06, 2012, 11:19:24 AM
 #514

I'm new to BitMinter. Just have a couple of questions.

1) GPU load on both my 6950 is only 95-96% vs GPU load of 99% on phoenix miner. Is there a way to increase the GPU load? And will increasing it allows for higher shares of mining?
2) Is there a limit before I can withdraw? How many decimals places can I withdraw to? I have lost some btc because of the withdrawal decimals; so, I tend to stay away from those pools as much as I can.

Thanks!
pyra-proxy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
October 06, 2012, 11:31:05 AM
 #515

nice looking app

Thank you, sir Smiley

   My question is does hooking them up in crossfire improve your hash rate

No, it won't help hashrate. Miners are quite happy without crossfire.

I'd like to ask if Bitminter is planning on doing some more merge mining? like DVC, LTC, or whatever , like i could trade on ViCuRex?

LTC doesn't support merged mining.

I have no immediate plans for adding LTC mining or more merged blockchains. It seems to me that namecoin is doing badly and the other alt chains are doing, well, awful. But maybe there is still a little bit extra income to be had from adding them?

LTC could be a special case after ASICs hit, if GPUs become worthless for mining bitcoins. On the other hand LTC looks like it was created for miners (to make GPU mining difficult). I don't see a point with having LTC. Why would anyone buy it? It doesn't solve any real problem. GPUs working well for bitcoin mining wasn't a problem.

But, by all means, if it makes sense for miner income I will consider it. I just don't expect the alt chains to live long (and many died already, mostly because they had no purpose other than to make rich the guy who copied the bitcoin source code and renamed it).

I would encourage at least devcoin, the concept is noble and the 1000x mint rate is attractive given the growing price on VirCurEx at a healthy steady pace.

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
October 06, 2012, 11:45:23 AM
 #516

1) GPU load on both my 6950 is only 95-96% vs GPU load of 99% on phoenix miner. Is there a way to increase the GPU load? And will increasing it allows for higher shares of mining?

How does the hashrate compare?

Not sure why it would not push to 99%. You can try setting the work intervals longer, which makes it more aggressive (desktop will get more laggy though). You find that setting for each GPU by clicking the wrench in the GUI.

Also, other things using the GPU can slow down mining, even a youtube video that isn't even playing but loaded in the browser (it helps to switch off GPU acceleration in Flash though).

2) Is there a limit before I can withdraw? How many decimals places can I withdraw to? I have lost some btc because of the withdrawal decimals; so, I tend to stay away from those pools as much as I can.

Cashout is always the entire balance, all 8 decimals. The minimum amount for cashing out is 0.001 - that's the lowest threshold you can set.

I would encourage at least devcoin, the concept is noble and the 1000x mint rate is attractive given the growing price on VirCurEx at a healthy steady pace.

Most important right now is to get ready for ASIC mining. After that I'll have a look at other coins if they are starting to take off and have a purpose other than the "inventor" premining coins.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
October 06, 2012, 01:24:54 PM
 #517

Please read, two changes in BitMinter reward system: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg1250147#msg1250147

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Menissalt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21



View Profile
October 08, 2012, 04:35:41 AM
 #518

1) GPU load on both my 6950 is only 95-96% vs GPU load of 99% on phoenix miner. Is there a way to increase the GPU load? And will increasing it allows for higher shares of mining?

I had the same issue once, I just set the bitminter client to performance mode and it cleared it up for me.

If I've helped you, consider a small donation. Everything helps.

1Hi3c5EqDUs7Mraqji7bGEmWb4yGfWr7oG
MegaBraydn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 06:56:15 AM
 #519

Hi i was reading a forum and the following question was asked

How will a massive increase in hashpower affect orphan rates?

I believe they were anticipating the upcoming ASIC release, anyways the following answer was given:

If the average time to find a block is T, and the typical time for a found block to propagate in the network is t, then the proportion of orphans among all blocks will be roughly 1/(1+T/t). As long as T>t there's not much risk for the network; however it could be a challenge for orphan-paying pools, for example If T=9t then 10% of the block rewards will need to be paid out of pocket.

If a PPS pool pays B/D per share, it is in fact using an artificially low difficulty - the difficulty metric measures how hard it is to find a block (orphan or not), when in fact what is relevant for calculating the due reward is how difficult it is to find a valid block.

If the network hashrate increases by a factor of X, then until difficulty catches up the average time for finding a block is (10 min)/X. I doubt the transition to ASIC will cause a discrepancy by a factor of over 10; this would give T = 1 min. With a conservative value of t=5 sec you will get about 7.7% loss for paying orphans. The actual numbers for both X and t will likely be much less (especially since concentrated hashrate lowers t), so I don't think the loss during the transition period will be prohibitive.

i was wondering if the operator or anyone else has given this outcome any thought and whether the current policy on payout for orphaned blocks will changed

link: http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/4953/how-will-a-massive-increase-in-hashpower-affect-orphan-rates

tl;dr
ASICs may make the orphaned block rate go up... temporarily
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
October 11, 2012, 12:20:24 PM
 #520

i was wondering if the operator or anyone else has given this outcome any thought and whether the current policy on payout for orphaned blocks will changed

link: http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/4953/how-will-a-massive-increase-in-hashpower-affect-orphan-rates

Actually it's me asking that question on the bitcoin stackexchange. So yes I am thinking about it.  Wink

I'm guessing orphan rate will go over 2% and the pool will lose some coins. But it shouldn't be that bad, and I will be doing what I can to keep the orphans at bay.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!