Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 04:50:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BitMinter.com * Optional Custom Miner, PPLNS, Merged mining, Newbie-Friendly! *  (Read 208832 times)
xdc the doc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 08:22:37 PM
 #841

OK - after a burst of activity for a few hours... now it is saying "ran out of work".... idling. 

I could understand this happening for brief periods - but it is sitting like that now for past hour.

Is that normal?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481129421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481129421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481129421
Reply with quote  #2

1481129421
Report to moderator
1481129421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481129421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481129421
Reply with quote  #2

1481129421
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2013, 04:41:44 PM
 #842

OK - after a burst of activity for a few hours... now it is saying "ran out of work".... idling. 

I could understand this happening for brief periods - but it is sitting like that now for past hour.

Is that normal?

No, that's not normal. Do you get network errors in the log as well? Is internet connectivity working fine on that computer?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
xdc the doc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 14, 2013, 05:44:11 PM
 #843

No - it said it was still connected. No other errors.

Hmmm - I got it working again by just closing the prog and restarting.  Strangely... if i just hit the engine start / stop button this didnt fix it - had to close the whole thing.

Ill just have to see if this is a recurring thing or just occasional.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2013, 05:58:23 PM
 #844

No - it said it was still connected. No other errors.

Hmmm - I got it working again by just closing the prog and restarting.  Strangely... if i just hit the engine start / stop button this didnt fix it - had to close the whole thing.

Ill just have to see if this is a recurring thing or just occasional.

Probably a GPU crash. Are you overclocking or the GPU running hot?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Trekkie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:45:31 PM
 #845

I have been using bitminter for some time now, but recently something odd is happening on a Windows 8 machine I've been running it on while I work.

If I try to start the client, it'll just disappear.

Is there an error log somewhere I can look at to see why it's closing?  I've rebooted, refreshed my Java installation, anything I could think of.   It fires up, and when I hit the start button, it disappears.
whitefeather
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 01:55:02 PM
 #846

DrHaribo, does the bitminter client support the lancelot product being sold by this group:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=187549.0

I love the simplicity of your client and would rather not have to spawn an instance of cgminer just to get the lancelot to mine. Thanks in advance for your response.
whitefeather
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 02:17:02 PM
 #847

I am planning to move my Bitminter operation to a Mac Mini and a powered USB hub. Does anyone know if there are any drawbacks to this approach?

I realize the client is a java app, so I am assuming that there is no practical difference in terms of the bitminter client and its functionality. Am I assuming correctly?

I am using 6 BFL FPGA Singles, currently plugged directly into my PC's USB ports. When I move to a Mac Mini, I intend to use a powered USB hub. Can anyone suggest a product which is known to work with the Mac Mini, the Bitminter app, and the FPGA units?

I apologize ahead of time if the above questions are elementary in nature. I am new at this. Thank you for your consideration.


Any decent brand powered USB hub will work fine.  Are the BFL's powered by USB or do they have their own power supplies?  If they are all powered by USB you should look for a hub that provides full 500 to each USB port.  Some cheaper "powered" models (I have one) are powered, but only provide a total of 500 to 5 of my 7 ports.  (Only has enough juice for 5 full powered devices, but can power all 7 if the draw isn't quite full power)... 


Anyway, just don't go cheap.

Thanks PCMiner. I picked up a powered USB from Amazon, and the whole setup is working like a charm now.
georgethegent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 03:36:54 PM
 #848

I'm getting pleased. Now the desktop is working along with the laptop but at around 10 times faster. May well make a bob or two yet  Wink

18XbKtrpdHoTc2oRnJL5kw1qR34tqeSxtR
scab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 15, 2013, 04:24:49 PM
 #849

Yes, I will at least add OpenCL mining on CPUs in the near future, which should increase speed by a lot. But I'm not sure if it can compete with the fastest CPU miners available - I haven't tried OpenCL on CPU yet. We'll find out soon. Smiley

Also coming soon is faster mining on VLIW5 GPUs, more statistics/information and probably a switch to another payment method. More and more people pool hopping these days, and delayed statistics doesn't prevent it - it only makes it more difficult. Plus, having live or near-live statistics is nice.

.  What he said
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2013, 08:24:12 PM
 #850

If I try to start the client, it'll just disappear.

Is there a hs_err_pid file on desktop? That's usually caused by the graphics drivers crashing. People had a lot of problems with Catalyst 13.1 and some also with 13.4.

DrHaribo, does the bitminter client support the lancelot product being sold by this group:

No, the only supported FPGAs are BFL and Icarus. I guess many will be upgrading their Lancelot to Avalon, so it doesn't make much sense to spend time adding support for Lancelot anymore.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
qiuness
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 01:19:13 PM
 #851

Since LTC became way less profitable then BTC, i figured i switch for a while.
Looking at different threads i setup my script like this:

cgminer -o stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 -u User_Worker -p xxx --thread-concurrency 8192,8000 --gpu-fan 85,50 -I 18,18 -w 256 -g 1

This yields some weird result:


Not accepting any shares. Any hints on what i could be doing wrong? (using cgminer 2.11.4)

Thanks

BTC: 14dGrvoqs3SZEMSVSHKoqe1xrcDucUc1yD | LTC: LcRyBF83GVegnKpAqdbU538Br229cLCyuH
SnitraM
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 03:14:33 PM
 #852

...
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 -u User_Worker -p xxx --thread-concurrency 8192,8000 --gpu-fan 85,50 -I 18,18 -w 256 -g 1
...
Not accepting any shares. Any hints on what i could be doing wrong? (using cgminer 2.11.4)

Try running with "cgminer -o stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333 -u User_Worker -p xxx" and see if that
works.
reich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 16, 2013, 03:23:29 PM
 #853

This is awesome!

Obama's alt account Smiley
subvolatill
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20



View Profile
May 16, 2013, 04:02:16 PM
 #854

Thank you, sir!
Phant727
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 16, 2013, 04:05:26 PM
 #855

Same here.
rpg
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 350


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 09:18:13 PM
 #856

first of all, i love your software and the way it performs. But I've been noticing lately that BTC blocks  found are about 30% the expected rate. Is BTCGuild becoming way too big and taking all the blocks or is there any problem on your server side?

Beware abitback.com is a scam, claims to pay but doesn't
TheUnk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 09:43:07 PM
 #857

first of all, i love your software and the way it performs. But I've been noticing lately that BTC blocks  found are about 30% the expected rate. Is BTCGuild becoming way too big and taking all the blocks or is there any problem on your server side?

Yeah it's pretty bad luck for everyone except BTCGuild lol
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2013, 10:43:51 PM
 #858

Welcome new guys, thanks for the praise Smiley

first of all, i love your software and the way it performs. But I've been noticing lately that BTC blocks  found are about 30% the expected rate. Is BTCGuild becoming way too big and taking all the blocks or is there any problem on your server side?

What do you mean? We are doing pretty average right now, finding the expected number of blocks. Where did you get the 30% from?

And no, BTCguild isn't taking anyone's blocks. That's not how mining works.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
rpg
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 350


View Profile
May 19, 2013, 05:04:48 AM
 #859

i'm running with +/- 1400 megs, the expected rate is a bit over .06/day. Since the 15th I received .186 when the expected rate should have been .24. I have my auto deposit set for .02 and I receive 2 payments/day. I understand how mining works and the variance involved, but the 4 pennies a day appear to be consistent

Beware abitback.com is a scam, claims to pay but doesn't
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2013, 08:54:56 AM
 #860

i'm running with +/- 1400 megs, the expected rate is a bit over .06/day. Since the 15th I received .186 when the expected rate should have been .24. I have my auto deposit set for .02 and I receive 2 payments/day. I understand how mining works and the variance involved, but the 4 pennies a day appear to be consistent

We just now had a dip in our luck, but before that it was average for a good while, going a little above and a little below at times.

Could it be related to the (currently) 4 hours 40 minutes delay for work to get paid through 10 shifts? Or the 20 hour delay for confirmations if not using the prepay perk?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!