Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:49:52 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818322 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 09:49:16 AM
 #1741

I'm a first time user of this program.Thought I would give it a try today.
It works lovely for all my gpu's except one.I have 2 5770 @960/300 -I 7,9.
2 5870 @ 950-955/215 -I 9,9.I used the same clocks with phoenix 1.6.2,never had a problem.
The miner with the 2 5870's uses an intel e-5300 cpu, which I underclocked  to 1.2 Ghz to save power.
The problem I have is that the 5870 that is clocked at 950/215,always gets pronounced dead by cgminer after about 30-50 min.
I switched this particular card back to Phoenix and it's been doing it's thing for hours now.
I prefer all my cards to be on one efficient miner.Any help would be welcome!



Thanks  Smiley


1480963792
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963792

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963792
Reply with quote  #2

1480963792
Report to moderator
1480963792
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963792

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963792
Reply with quote  #2

1480963792
Report to moderator
1480963792
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963792

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963792
Reply with quote  #2

1480963792
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 10:05:30 AM
 #1742

I'm a first time user of this program.Thought I would give it a try today.
It works lovely for all my gpu's except one.I have 2 5770 @960/300 -I 7,9.
2 5870 @ 950-955/215 -I 9,9.I used the same clocks with phoenix 1.6.2,never had a problem.
The miner with the 2 5870's uses an intel e-5300 cpu, which I underclocked  to 1.2 Ghz to save power.
The problem I have is that the 5870 that is clocked at 950/215,always gets pronounced dead by cgminer after about 30-50 min.
I switched this particular card back to Phoenix and it's been doing it's thing for hours now.
I prefer all my cards to be on one efficient miner.Any help would be welcome!



Thanks  Smiley


cgminer is so efficient you will need to turn down your OC.  Try it, then notice that you STILL get better MHash/s.  I actually had to turn mine down on a 1.x.x version because of this, and had to turn it down again in 2.0.6, but I'm still getting higher MHash/s now than I was with the 1.x.x version before I had to turn it down.  Note that it may take a few trials to find your new sweet spot.
Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
October 11, 2011, 11:26:56 AM
 #1743

cgminer is so efficient you will need to turn down your OC.  Try it, then notice that you STILL get better MHash/s.  I actually had to turn mine down on a 1.x.x version because of this, and had to turn it down again in 2.0.6, but I'm still getting higher MHash/s now than I was with the 1.x.x version before I had to turn it down.  Note that it may take a few trials to find your new sweet spot.
Lowered the oc to 945/215.Seems to be ok now.
Thanks man. Smiley

BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2011, 09:21:47 AM
 #1744

Just trying out cgminer.

One thing I noticed is that when it starts my fans kick in full speed.
Is there some way to set it so it keeps the fans low and adjusts them as needed.

I have settings:

gpu-fan : 50-85
auto-fan : true
temp-target : 70

I've tried just setting gpu-fan : 50 but then the auto fan doesn't kick in.

It works fine after 5 minutes of high noise and the fans slowly come down but I'd much prefer if it would start slower and speed up according to heat.

I'm getting a bit less than Phoenix speed wise. Was 630 MH/s steady and now 627 MH/s with cgminer. I have Intensity set to 8 and gpu settings same as with Phoenix. Not sure why it would be slower.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2011, 09:26:49 AM
 #1745

Auto fan assumes the worst case scenario: that is that your GPU might actually be fucking hot when you start it, so it automatically starts at a safe 85% speed. It will eventually die down. If you happen to stop and start a miner instantly and start at a low fan it's dangerous, so I intentionally made it do that. If you don't like it you'll have to change the code. Try intensity 9, as the kernels are pretty much identical between phoenix and cgminer these days. It could just be reporting error as cgminer does not lie.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2011, 09:40:21 AM
 #1746

Auto fan assumes the worst case scenario: that is that your GPU might actually be fucking hot when you start it, so it automatically starts at a safe 85% speed. It will eventually die down. If you happen to stop and start a miner instantly and start at a low fan it's dangerous, so I intentionally made it do that. If you don't like it you'll have to change the code. Try intensity 9, as the kernels are pretty much identical between phoenix and cgminer these days. It could just be reporting error as cgminer does not lie.
Ah, I see. Would be nice if it adjusted down quicker when the temp is so low. I get about 45-50C at start but fans take quite a while to slow down. I guess it's not a big deal as this happens usually only when the power drops out.

Tried Intensity 9. Seems really variable now. Sometimes 642 MH/s then 587 MH/s. Bounces around a lot more. If that's sounds ok then I suppose it's better. In the end what matters is what the pool says I gave them.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 12:42:19 PM
 #1747

Look at (avg) at the top that's what matters to see if you are getting the most Mhash out of your cards.
Or for each GPU line the 2nd number - that is the over time average.

Of course U: (utility) determines your 'pay' but that result will be a statistical average (just like the time to find a block is a statistical average) but not anything that you can be sure will be a certain value.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2011, 01:39:54 PM
 #1748

Look at (avg) at the top that's what matters to see if you are getting the most Mhash out of your cards.
Or for each GPU line the 2nd number - that is the over time average.

Of course U: (utility) determines your 'pay' but that result will be a statistical average (just like the time to find a block is a statistical average) but not anything that you can be sure will be a certain value.
Yes, saw those values. They are now about 620 instead of 630, with each card about 5 MH/s less than Phoenix after a few hours mining. I'd heard that cgminer was getting better rates than Phoenix but I'm not seeing that so I may switch back. I do like the CGminer screen and integration of monitoring/failover though. I'll probably decide after a full day of shares and see what the revenue difference ends up being.

BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2011, 05:48:11 PM
 #1749

I've created a small patch for CGMiner 2.0.6 that adds support to glob config files.
eg. how I use it now,

cgminer -c '/etc/cgminer/*'  2>/var/log/cgminer.log

and it will pick up all files there. I use this for multiple pool confs and it makes it easy to add/remove pools without altering my init scripts.

I don't know quite where to put the patch so I've just stuck it in a pastebin for others if they want it.
It's pretty quick'n'dirty (and probably doesn't work on Windows). I noticed I had to put quotes around the path otherwise the '*' causes a parse problem. Maybe there's a way to fix that, not sure, but this is working ok for me as is.

http://pastebin.com/R2rjFm4L


The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
October 13, 2011, 10:07:24 PM
 #1750

I've created a small patch for CGMiner 2.0.6 that adds support to glob config files.
eg. how I use it now,

cgminer -c '/etc/cgminer/*'  2>/var/log/cgminer.log

and it will pick up all files there. I use this for multiple pool confs and it makes it easy to add/remove pools without altering my init scripts.

I don't know quite where to put the patch so I've just stuck it in a pastebin for others if they want it.
It's pretty quick'n'dirty (and probably doesn't work on Windows). I noticed I had to put quotes around the path otherwise the '*' causes a parse problem. Maybe there's a way to fix that, not sure, but this is working ok for me as is.

http://pastebin.com/R2rjFm4L
Since you mention that you don't use Windows, I would GUESS that the fix for your parse error without single quotes would be this:

cgminer -c /etc/cgminer/\*  2>/var/log/cgminer.log
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 01:44:15 AM
 #1751

Doh! Your post reminded me that the shell was trying to expand the glob and cgminer couldn't take it. So a much simpler patch is to make the ccan opt code allow multiple args and then the shell expands as normal. Same result, barring any bugs.

So this small patch is simpler than the first and gives the same feature.
This works for me with no quotes. And I expect it would work on Windows now but untested.

cgminer -c /etc/cgminer/* 2>/var/log/cgminer.log

but it's not tested any further and there could be a bug in my patch. Also a better idea would be to add a OPT_MULTIARG feature to enable this ability but I didn't take it that far though it may make sense to suggest it to the author of ccan opt.

Again, for those who like this feature, a pastebin, apply in cgminer ccan/opt directory and it allows options to have multiple args.

http://pastebin.com/qnWW0vdv
(don't apply both patches only this one or other one, this one being better)
(the downside being the shell glob doesn't seem to be in alphabetic order)

Of course, another idea would be to have a default path built in to cgminer that will load configs without any -c needed. That would be fairly simple. Maybe I should write a patch for that?

Then a "Save Config" option in the settings menu to write out a series of pool conf files would mean no need to manually write these. Just an idea as making the conf files was the hardest part of getting cgminer going for me.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 02:07:08 AM
 #1752

Accepting multiple config files and making it easier to do so is not a long term solution. cgminer needs a unified single config file for multiple options but someone needs to write a parser for it to do so. Unfortunately that someone is not going to be me, and lots of people have promised but not delivered (alas as I expected would happen). So for the time being it will remain as is I'm afraid.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 02:08:29 AM
 #1753

Of course, another idea would be to have a default path built in to cgminer that will load configs without any -c needed. That would be fairly simple. Maybe I should write a patch for that?

Then a "Save Config" option in the settings menu to write out a series of pool conf files would mean no need to manually write these. Just an idea as making the conf files was the hardest part of getting cgminer going for me.

Yes great idea in the interim it would be nice to see a working example of a config file with those options in it for the life of me Google is no help on finding and the 16 or so page I am into this thread produces no such beast either.

+1.  Can someone post some example config files using pastebin or even the forum code tag.  I tried making config file but cgminer didn't like something I was doing and just gave up going back to commandline with 30+ parameters.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 02:20:29 AM
 #1754

Of course, another idea would be to have a default path built in to cgminer that will load configs without any -c needed. That would be fairly simple. Maybe I should write a patch for that?

Then a "Save Config" option in the settings menu to write out a series of pool conf files would mean no need to manually write these. Just an idea as making the conf files was the hardest part of getting cgminer going for me.

Yes great idea in the interim it would be nice to see a working example of a config file with those options in it for the life of me Google is no help on finding and the 16 or so page I am into this thread produces no such beast either.
There is an example one with cgminer but it doesn't have too much inside. The trick is that for multiple pools you need multiple configs, one for each pool. I've made a pastebin of my config as an example here...

http://pastebin.com/bKkD1NXv

Beware - the no arg options need true not "true" to work properly.
Also, leave no extra "," on last option. Both these tripped me up at first.

@ckolivas,
I agree. I'll have a look at the config code and see if I can do it... no promises. Smiley

The LT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 03:06:43 AM
 #1755

BTW thanks Con you have nice little program here but then I would not expect anything less as I have for many years used your patches for the linux kernel which always worked great as well thanks for them too.

I KNEW the name sounded very familiar all along but I couldn't for the life of me remember exactly what was... Con is the doctor guy who did work on i/o schedulers in the kernel! How could I forget!
Kudos!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 03:09:16 AM
 #1756

BTW thanks Con you have nice little program here but then I would not expect anything less as I have for many years used your patches for the linux kernel which always worked great as well thanks for them too.

I KNEW the name sounded very familiar all along but I couldn't for the life of me remember exactly what was... Con is the doctor guy who did work on i/o schedulers in the kernel! How could I forget!
Kudos!
CPU schedulers, but thanks  Grin

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 03:17:00 AM
 #1757

Accepting multiple config files and making it easier to do so is not a long term solution. cgminer needs a unified single config file for multiple options but someone needs to write a parser for it to do so. Unfortunately that someone is not going to be me, and lots of people have promised but not delivered (alas as I expected would happen). So for the time being it will remain as is I'm afraid.

I have done a small patch that adds the ability to handle an array of option values in the config. This allows using multiple pools in one config. This was the simplest way for now that still achieves the desired feature without re-writing much code.

Here is pastebin patch. I tested it here with 4 pools on Ubuntu.

http://pastebin.com/1FrGeLSZ

Example config file:
(you can mine for me in thanks if you please, user names are real here)
Code:
{
"url" : ["http://server2.arsbitcoin.com:8344",
         "http://arsbitcoin.com:8344",
         "http://btcguild.com:8332",
         "http://pool.rfcpool.com:8332"],
"user" : ["Dauphin.cg",
          "Dauphin.cg",
          "BkkCoiner_cg",
          "PlasmaToy_cg"],
"pass" : ["pass","pass","XXXX","XXXX"],

"intensity" : "8",
"gpu-fan" : "50-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "300",
"gpu-engine" : "1000,970",
"gpu-vddc" : "1.163,1.175",
"auto-fan" : true,
"temp-target" : "70"
}

Maybe I'll look at auto generating one from the settings menu. No promises.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2011, 03:21:36 AM
 #1758

Very good, thanks! Keep that up and I'll happily include the patches. Send them to me instead though, my email's in the readme. I'll let you tinker some more, as you're on a roll Smiley

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 03:30:04 AM
 #1759

Accepting multiple config files and making it easier to do so is not a long term solution. cgminer needs a unified single config file for multiple options but someone needs to write a parser for it to do so. Unfortunately that someone is not going to be me, and lots of people have promised but not delivered (alas as I expected would happen). So for the time being it will remain as is I'm afraid.

I have done a small patch that adds the ability to handle an array of option values in the config. This allows using multiple pools in one config. This was the simplest way for now that still achieves the desired feature without re-writing much code.

Here is pastebin patch. I tested it here with 4 pools on Ubuntu.

http://pastebin.com/1FrGeLSZ

Example config file:
(you can mine for me in thanks if you please, user names are real here)
Code:
{
"url" : ["http://server2.arsbitcoin.com:8344",
         "http://arsbitcoin.com:8344",
         "http://btcguild.com:8332",
         "http://pool.rfcpool.com:8332"],
"user" : ["Dauphin.cg",
          "Dauphin.cg",
          "BkkCoiner_cg",
          "PlasmaToy_cg"],
"pass" : ["pass","pass","XXXX","XXXX"],

"intensity" : "8",
"gpu-fan" : "50-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "300",
"gpu-engine" : "1000,970",
"gpu-vddc" : "1.163,1.175",
"auto-fan" : true,
"temp-target" : "70"
}

Maybe I'll look at auto generating one from the settings menu. No promises.
Hmm no idea what anyone else thinks, but I think it should be an array of pool details like:
Code:
"pools" : [
{ "http://server2.arsbitcoin.com:8344" : "user:pass" },
{ "http://arsbitcoin.com:8344" : "user:pass" }
],

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 03:45:21 AM
 #1760

I would take either but I agree that structure seems more manageable.
Pages: « 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!