Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:09:55 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825610 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
October 19, 2011, 04:06:40 PM
 #1801

Conman, i just want to ask, if pdcurses did not exist for mingw, what route would you have taken in regards to the UI?

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2011, 04:31:56 PM
 #1802

I want to bump this,  is it possible to use the json config file to set up failover pools in the 2.0.5 version?  any version.  if so, how exactly do you do it.

See the last couple of pages: 2.0.7 can do it, and it comes with a pretty useful example config, so you may want to try that first and base any further questions on that.

(Strictly speaking, you could use the config file before, you just had to use more than one...)

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
October 19, 2011, 05:17:26 PM
 #1803

I want to bump this,  is it possible to use the json config file to set up failover pools in the 2.0.5 version?  any version.  if so, how exactly do you do it.

See the last couple of pages: 2.0.7 can do it, and it comes with a pretty useful example config, so you may want to try that first and base any further questions on that.

(Strictly speaking, you could use the config file before, you just had to use more than one...)

more then one, this is what I want to know..  Is this how to do it?

Code:
./cgminer -c config1.json -c config2.json 



1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2011, 05:43:43 PM
 #1804

I want to bump this,  is it possible to use the json config file to set up failover pools in the 2.0.5 version?  any version.  if so, how exactly do you do it.

See the last couple of pages: 2.0.7 can do it, and it comes with a pretty useful example config, so you may want to try that first and base any further questions on that.

(Strictly speaking, you could use the config file before, you just had to use more than one...)

more then one, this is what I want to know..  Is this how to do it?

Code:
./cgminer -c config1.json -c config2.json 

Yes, although now you can simply put the pools in an array. Before that, I had three config files (pool 1, pool 2 and one for other options), now there is only one. Having multiple config files still works with the latest version, though.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
JL421
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 12:25:27 AM
 #1805

I don't know if it's been discussed before, but I have an odd issue where the miner performs better when I leave the intensity to auto.

If I manually set an intensity, the GPU usage goes all over the place, and usually only utilizes 60-90% of the GPU, whereas auto constantly utilizes 99% of the GPU, even though the intensity goes all over the place...and the hash rate remains mostly constant/increases over time.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 01:42:07 AM
 #1806

I don't know if it's been discussed before, but I have an odd issue where the miner performs better when I leave the intensity to auto.

If I manually set an intensity, the GPU usage goes all over the place, and usually only utilizes 60-90% of the GPU, whereas auto constantly utilizes 99% of the GPU, even though the intensity goes all over the place...and the hash rate remains mostly constant/increases over time.

hmmm.  sounds like you should set it to auto, especially if the hash increases over time.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 09:58:45 AM
 #1807

@ckolivas: When you have a spare minute could you please adjust the display layout?

Right now the "panel" which displays the CPU stats is sized too big when you start "cgimer" with less threads then you could ( cpu-threads (arg) < cpu-threads (default)). With just a few devices, it doesn't realy matter but on a 48 core box this is quite ugly:



simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 04:28:46 AM
 #1808

Soooo, now that more pools are offering merged mining, are there any plans to incorporate a fix for this in future cgminer versions?
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 06:08:59 AM
 #1809

What needs fixing?

The only possible problem is if the pool passes back LP/block info on 2 different block-chains.

If that is the case, then your so called "fix" is to cripple cgminer - so no I can't see that happening.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2011, 09:57:50 PM
 #1810

Conman, i just want to ask, if pdcurses did not exist for mingw, what route would you have taken in regards to the UI?
I never really cared about the windows version. Consider it luck that there was an equivalent that Ycros originally helped greatly with and then I had the painful task of actually keeping the windows version building.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
anatolikostis
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736



View Profile
October 22, 2011, 10:41:05 AM
 #1811

Hi? I`m Win7 x64-user, where can I get all files to install this software...I can find out only GPU miner binary on github, but also I need to download
Quote
Install mingw32 /// Install libcurl, copy libcurl.m4 into /mingw/share/aclocal   /// Install pkg-config, copy pkg.m4 into /mingw/share/aclocal
from where can I get this?
The LT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile WWW
October 23, 2011, 10:43:42 AM
 #1812

Hi? I`m Win7 x64-user, where can I get all files to install this software...I can find out only GPU miner binary on github, but also I need to download
Quote
Install mingw32 /// Install libcurl, copy libcurl.m4 into /mingw/share/aclocal   /// Install pkg-config, copy pkg.m4 into /mingw/share/aclocal
from where can I get this?

Ever tried reading the first post? Smiley
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
October 23, 2011, 03:17:39 PM
 #1813

Apologies, as Im sure this has been asked before, but I couldnt find it and I dont really feel like wading through 90+ pages..
so could someone kindly explain all the numbers shown in cgminer or point me to a post where I could find it?



From the top, the 5s and average, that I understand Smiley. but what is
Q?
A(ccepted?)
R(rejected?)
HW (HW error?)
E(fficiency, but what does that mean?),
U?
TQ?
ST?
SS?
DW?
NB?
LW?
GF?
RF?

ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2011, 03:23:49 PM
 #1814

Apologies, as Im sure this has been asked before, but I couldnt find it and I dont really feel like wading through 90+ pages..
so could someone kindly explain all the numbers shown in cgminer or point me to a post where I could find it?
See the first post and the README file.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
October 23, 2011, 03:37:26 PM
 #1815

First post doesnt mention it AFAICT, but indeed, I missed it in the readme. For those as blind as me:

TQ is Total Queued work items.
ST is STaged work items (ready to use).
SS is Stale Shares discarded (detected and not submitted so don't count as rejects)
DW is Discarded Work items (work from block no longer valid to work on)
NB is New Blocks detected on the network
LW is Locally generated Work items
GF is Getwork Fail Occasions (server slow to provide work)
RF is Remote Fail occasions (server slow to accept work)

Thats most of them at least.

ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2011, 03:41:35 PM
 #1816

First post doesnt mention it AFAICT, but indeed, I missed it in the readme. For those as blind as me:

It does, however, mention this:
READ THE README INCLUDED IN THE ARCHIVE BEFORE ASKING QUESTIONS .

which is why I assumed you hadn't read that properly, either... Wink

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
October 23, 2011, 03:59:06 PM
 #1817

In README.TXT inside archive of windows binary , it says as below.

Code:

WHILE RUNNING:

The following options are available while running with a single keypress:

[P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit

P gives you:

Current pool management strategy: Failover
[A]dd pool [R]emove pool [D]isable pool [E]nable pool
[C]hange management strategy [S]witch pool [I]nformation


S gives you:

[L]ongpoll: On
[Q]ueue: 1
[S]cantime: 60
[E]xpiry: 120
[R]etries: -1
[P]ause: 5
[W]rite config file


D gives you:

Toggle: [D]ebug [N]ormal [S]ilent [V]erbose [R]PC debug
[L]og interval [C]lear


Q quits the application.


G gives you something like:

GPU 0: [124.2 / 191.3 Mh/s] [Q:212  A:77  R:33  HW:0  E:36%  U:1.73/m]
Temp: 67.0 C
Fan Speed: 35% (2500 RPM)
Engine Clock: 960 MHz
Memory Clock: 480 Mhz
Vddc: 1.200 V
Activity: 93%
Powertune: 0%
Last initialised: [2011-09-06 12:03:56]
Thread 0: 62.4 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE
Thread 1: 60.2 Mh/s Enabled ALIVE

[E]nable [D]isable [R]estart GPU [C]hange settings
Or press any other key to continue


---
Also many issues and FAQs are covered in the forum thread
dedicated to this program,
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28402.0

The output line shows the following:
 GPU 1: 73.5C 2551RPM | 427.3/443.0Mh/s | A:8 R:0 HW:0 U:4.39/m

Each column is as follows:
Temperature (if supported)
Fanspeed (if supported)
A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
An all time average hash rate
The number of accepted shares
The number of rejected shares
The number of hardware erorrs
The utility defines as the number of shares / minute

The cgminer status line shows:
 TQ: 1  ST: 1  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 8  GF: 1  RF: 1

TQ is Total Queued work items.
ST is STaged work items (ready to use).
SS is Stale Shares discarded (detected and not submitted so don't count as rejects)
DW is Discarded Work items (work from block no longer valid to work on)
NB is New Blocks detected on the network
LW is Locally generated Work items
GF is Getwork Fail Occasions (server slow to provide work)
RF is Remote Fail occasions (server slow to accept work)

NOTE: Running intensities above 9 with current hardware is likely to only
diminish return performance even if the hash rate might appear better. A good
starting baseline intensity to try on dedicated miners is 9. Higher values are
there to cope with future improvements in hardware.

---

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 03:40:03 AM
 #1818

In 2.0.7 I don't get any feedback as to if solo mining is working or not.  In version 2.0.5 I would get rejected for a status on the solo pool so I knew it was working.  Is there any way of verifying that it is actually working in the later versions?

Also it doesn't seem like the donation is working either in 2.0.7.  I haven't wiresharked it yet to see if it is actually sending to Ozco, but that would be my next step.

Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 03:57:40 AM
 #1819

In 2.0.7 I don't get any feedback as to if solo mining is working or not.  In version 2.0.5 I would get rejected for a status on the solo pool so I knew it was working.  Is there any way of verifying that it is actually working in the later versions?

Also it doesn't seem like the donation is working either in 2.0.7.  I haven't wiresharked it yet to see if it is actually sending to Ozco, but that would be my next step.

Thanks,
Sam
2.0.7 only shows messages at the level the source of the getwork requires.

Solo to bitcoind means you are trying to get blocks, so you get a message whenever you get a block.
(shares are not related to solo but: it used to show messages at share level, not block level, bit that has been 'fixed')

Pool means you are trying to get shares, so you get a message whenever you get a share.

I believe the donation is pointing somewhere else now.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 04:05:41 AM
 #1820

In 2.0.7 I don't get any feedback as to if solo mining is working or not.  In version 2.0.5 I would get rejected for a status on the solo pool so I knew it was working.  Is there any way of verifying that it is actually working in the later versions?

Also it doesn't seem like the donation is working either in 2.0.7.  I haven't wiresharked it yet to see if it is actually sending to Ozco, but that would be my next step.

Thanks,
Sam
2.0.7 only shows messages at the level the source of the getwork requires.

Solo to bitcoind means you are trying to get blocks, so you get a message whenever you get a block.
(shares are not related to solo but: it used to show messages at share level, not block level, bit that has been 'fixed')

Pool means you are trying to get shares, so you get a message whenever you get a share.

I believe the donation is pointing somewhere else now.

So, is there any way to verify that solo mining is actually working now?

Is the donation not using port 8332 now?  I guess I can check that myself, but if not I'll need to set a new firewall rule.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!