Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 07:20:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 [311] 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 ... 426 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] BTC Guild - Pays TxFees+NMC, Stratum, VarDiff, Private Servers  (Read 829546 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 04:54:00 PM
 #6201


I gain nothing by inventing a story like this. The fact is a BTCG member hacked my miner and I can't see how given the cgminer conf is intact. So I was hoping for a bit of help, like it's probably been done using X, Y, Z method and here's how to help avoid that. I posted in this forum as I think BTCG has some responsibility to stop it's members behaving in this way.

SSH to the miner, screen to the cgminer instance, change pool details, don't save config.  That's how.

BTC Guild has zero responsibility.  It's your responsibility to secure your equipment, not BTC Guilds.  Roll Eyes
1481354446
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481354446

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481354446
Reply with quote  #2

1481354446
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481354446
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481354446

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481354446
Reply with quote  #2

1481354446
Report to moderator
dazzling2865
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 05:01:14 PM
 #6202


I gain nothing by inventing a story like this. The fact is a BTCG member hacked my miner and I can't see how given the cgminer conf is intact. So I was hoping for a bit of help, like it's probably been done using X, Y, Z method and here's how to help avoid that. I posted in this forum as I think BTCG has some responsibility to stop it's members behaving in this way.

SSH to the miner, screen to the cgminer instance, change pool details, don't save config.  That's how.

BTC Guild has zero responsibility.  It's your responsibility to secure your equipment, not BTC Guilds.  Roll Eyes

Thank you. That is helpful. All passwords changed and api-allow in cgminer now locked down to our PHP based web monitors server IP address. I named and shamed the BTCG user/worker and surprised that BTCG would not look at their account to see if this is widescale fraud.

Is there any way to allow 2 different IP address to access CG Miner? I want to run CGremote locally on LAN and PHP web based script remotely so that's 2 completely different IP addresses.
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 05:19:37 PM
 #6203


I gain nothing by inventing a story like this. The fact is a BTCG member hacked my miner and I can't see how given the cgminer conf is intact. So I was hoping for a bit of help, like it's probably been done using X, Y, Z method and here's how to help avoid that. I posted in this forum as I think BTCG has some responsibility to stop it's members behaving in this way.

SSH to the miner, screen to the cgminer instance, change pool details, don't save config.  That's how.

BTC Guild has zero responsibility.  It's your responsibility to secure your equipment, not BTC Guilds.  Roll Eyes

Thank you. That is helpful. All passwords changed and api-allow in cgminer now locked down to our PHP based web monitors server IP address. I named and shamed the BTCG user/worker and surprised that BTCG would not look at their account to see if this is widescale fraud.

Is there any way to allow 2 different IP address to access CG Miner? I want to run CGremote locally on LAN and PHP web based script remotely so that's 2 completely different IP addresses.
API-allow takes a comma separated list. If php and cgremote both need write access:

--API-allow W:xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx,yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 05:22:47 PM
 #6204


I gain nothing by inventing a story like this. The fact is a BTCG member hacked my miner and I can't see how given the cgminer conf is intact. So I was hoping for a bit of help, like it's probably been done using X, Y, Z method and here's how to help avoid that. I posted in this forum as I think BTCG has some responsibility to stop it's members behaving in this way.

SSH to the miner, screen to the cgminer instance, change pool details, don't save config.  That's how.

BTC Guild has zero responsibility.  It's your responsibility to secure your equipment, not BTC Guilds.  Roll Eyes

Thank you. That is helpful. All passwords changed and api-allow in cgminer now locked down to our PHP based web monitors server IP address. I named and shamed the BTCG user/worker and surprised that BTCG would not look at their account to see if this is widescale fraud.

Op hasn't spoke up yet.  If he can see that there are worker activities coming in from multiple widely varying IP addresses then he may act upon it.  That's his call.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
dazzling2865
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 05:32:49 PM
 #6205


I gain nothing by inventing a story like this. The fact is a BTCG member hacked my miner and I can't see how given the cgminer conf is intact. So I was hoping for a bit of help, like it's probably been done using X, Y, Z method and here's how to help avoid that. I posted in this forum as I think BTCG has some responsibility to stop it's members behaving in this way.

SSH to the miner, screen to the cgminer instance, change pool details, don't save config.  That's how.

BTC Guild has zero responsibility.  It's your responsibility to secure your equipment, not BTC Guilds.  Roll Eyes

Thank you. That is helpful. All passwords changed and api-allow in cgminer now locked down to our PHP based web monitors server IP address. I named and shamed the BTCG user/worker and surprised that BTCG would not look at their account to see if this is widescale fraud.

Is there any way to allow 2 different IP address to access CG Miner? I want to run CGremote locally on LAN and PHP web based script remotely so that's 2 completely different IP addresses.
API-allow takes a comma separated list. If php and cgremote both need write access:

--API-allow W:xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx,yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy

Great. I do have 127.0.0.1 which I think if for the miners GUI to work i.e. to see itself followed by the remote IP but seems CGminer objects to 3 IPs? i.e. --API-allow W:127.0.0.1,yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy, zzz.zzz.zzz.zzz. Is there a limit of 2 IPs?

Cheers for the help.
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 01:33:49 AM
 #6206

I know his has been asked and answered before but can someone please humor me.

I know PPS is pay per share and PPLNS is pay per last n shares. I also know that PPS can benefit a user when a pools having bad luck since they're paid per share. I'm not just too sure why one might choose one ovre the other other than PPS during bad luck.

Also, and this is for eleuthria... I'm not showin any shares for shift 15,360 and my miners are running fine. I did switch to PPS about an hr or two ago if that matters.

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 01:43:33 AM
 #6207

I know his has been asked and answered before but can someone please humor me.

I know PPS is pay per share and PPLNS is pay per last n shares. I also know that PPS can benefit a user when a pools having bad luck since they're paid per share. I'm not just too sure why one might choose one ovre the other other than PPS during bad luck.

Also, and this is for eleuthria... I'm not showin any shares for shift 15,360 and my miners are running fine. I did switch to PPS about an hr or two ago if that matters.

PPLNS pays better.  Period.  In any reasonable time frame, PPLNS wins.  Jumping to PPS based on luck is gambler's fallacy.  The ONLY reason you would use PPS over PPLNS is if you have some kind of *daily* bills that you can only pay via BTC, meaning you need 100% reliable earnings on a daily basis with no variance.


As for your second question:  If you're on PPS you do not have shares in shifts.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 01:48:38 AM
 #6208

Since we are on worker settings.
What is the formula for choosing worker minimum difficulty?
I have no idea what to do with it and info is sketchy at best on the web.


I know his has been asked and answered before but can someone please humor me.

I know PPS is pay per share and PPLNS is pay per last n shares. I also know that PPS can benefit a user when a pools having bad luck since they're paid per share. I'm not just too sure why one might choose one ovre the other other than PPS during bad luck.

Also, and this is for eleuthria... I'm not showin any shares for shift 15,360 and my miners are running fine. I did switch to PPS about an hr or two ago if that matters.

PPLNS pays better.  Period.  In any reasonable time frame, PPLNS wins.  Jumping to PPS based on luck is gambler's fallacy.  The ONLY reason you would use PPS over PPLNS is if you have some kind of *daily* bills that you can only pay via BTC, meaning you need 100% reliable earnings on a daily basis with no variance.


As for your second question:  If you're on PPS you do not have shares in shifts.

MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 01:50:48 AM
 #6209

I know his has been asked and answered before but can someone please humor me.

I know PPS is pay per share and PPLNS is pay per last n shares. I also know that PPS can benefit a user when a pools having bad luck since they're paid per share. I'm not just too sure why one might choose one ovre the other other than PPS during bad luck.

Also, and this is for eleuthria... I'm not showin any shares for shift 15,360 and my miners are running fine. I did switch to PPS about an hr or two ago if that matters.

PPLNS pays better.  Period.  In any reasonable time frame, PPLNS wins.  Jumping to PPS based on luck is gambler's fallacy.  The ONLY reason you would use PPS over PPLNS is if you have some kind of *daily* bills that you can only pay via BTC, meaning you need 100% reliable earnings on a daily basis with no variance.


As for your second question:  If you're on PPS you do not have shares in shifts.
Ahh, well I wanted to play with PPS for a few to try somethin new.

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 01:59:19 AM
 #6210

Since we are on worker settings.
What is the formula for choosing worker minimum difficulty?
I have no idea what to do with it and info is sketchy at best on the web.

The workers page shows you the recommended speed for each difficulty.  Basically:  Round your GH/s down to the nearest power of 2 (2, 4, 8, 16, 32, etc.).

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
dburdett84
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 02:24:08 AM
 #6211

I have been trying to read through the last 2 or 3 pages but am lost at the moment, and will spend more time reading.  But just have a quick question, I have a small set up at the moment, and will still be small once the new gear gets here.  Would PPS or PPLNS be more rewarding for me?  I have been switching back and forth and really have no idea(giving about 24hrs between swaps).  Thanks in advance.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 02:30:36 AM
 #6212

I have been trying to read through the last 2 or 3 pages but am lost at the moment, and will spend more time reading.  But just have a quick question, I have a small set up at the moment, and will still be small once the new gear gets here.  Would PPS or PPLNS be more rewarding for me?  I have been switching back and forth and really have no idea(giving about 24hrs between swaps).  Thanks in advance.

PPLNS is *always* a higher expected value.  It has good days and bad, but in the long run it averages out to > 5% better payouts than PPS.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 03:36:48 AM
 #6213

I see, so the worker for my Avalon 70 gh/s should be around 32.
Now what should that enhance or help with? 
Does it also help you on the pool side of it with say lower latency and less dupes?
How does it affect my rewards?
Sorry to pester you with this but that was the first answer I got that helped and I really want to understand it better.

Since we are on worker settings.
What is the formula for choosing worker minimum difficulty?
I have no idea what to do with it and info is sketchy at best on the web.

The workers page shows you the recommended speed for each difficulty.  Basically:  Round your GH/s down to the nearest power of 2 (2, 4, 8, 16, 32, etc.).

eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 06:21:48 AM
 #6214

I see, so the worker for my Avalon 70 gh/s should be around 32.
Now what should that enhance or help with? 
Does it also help you on the pool side of it with say lower latency and less dupes?
How does it affect my rewards?
Sorry to pester you with this but that was the first answer I got that helped and I really want to understand it better.


Difficulty is mostly for bandwidth reduction, and it also helps reduce load on the pool.  It doesn't make you earn more (or less), it simply optimizes the amount of communication required between you and the pool.  Each step you increase difficulty reduces the chatter between you and the pool by half of the previous value.  It increases variance on your end slightly, but the recommendations I gave above are recommended because they end up having a less than 1% effect on your 24 hour variance (personal variance refers to share submission rates, not to be confused with pool variance).

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
Icon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 581



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 05:20:40 PM
 #6215

lol eleuthria, you should just remove the PPS option all together, less hassle and no more answering the same questions over and over, oh and var diff and don't let users manual adjust the diff. Then you could have more time for something else Smiley

Icon
BRADLEYPLOOF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 05:36:18 PM
 #6216

lol eleuthria, you should just remove the PPS option all together, less hassle and no more answering the same questions over and over, oh and var diff and don't let users manual adjust the diff. Then you could have more time for something else Smiley

Icon



+100

 Grin Cheesy
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2014, 08:32:50 PM
 #6217

An automatic payout failed earlier due to the hot wallet not having enough funds.  Moving funds from one of the cold wallets now and the automatic payout will be resent once those funds confirmed.  Just an explanation of why the system ran dry:


1) The MtGox hysteria caused a spike in withdrawals.
2) Bad luck meant the wallet wasn't refilling as fast as normal.
3) The extremely good luck after that bad luck meant we had a significant amount of funds in the hot wallet that couldn't be spent.  Mined blocks can't be spent til 120 confirmations, but BTC Guild credits accounts immediately since it pays for orphans.


The new auto payout should get pushed out within the hour.  This only affected one automatic payout.  All other payouts have continued to work normally.


UPDATE:  Hot wallet refill complete.  The failed automatic payout has been resent to all who were affected.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 11:19:21 PM
 #6218

That makes sense.
Thanks for explaining it.


I see, so the worker for my Avalon 70 gh/s should be around 32.
Now what should that enhance or help with? 
Does it also help you on the pool side of it with say lower latency and less dupes?
How does it affect my rewards?
Sorry to pester you with this but that was the first answer I got that helped and I really want to understand it better.


Difficulty is mostly for bandwidth reduction, and it also helps reduce load on the pool.  It doesn't make you earn more (or less), it simply optimizes the amount of communication required between you and the pool.  Each step you increase difficulty reduces the chatter between you and the pool by half of the previous value.  It increases variance on your end slightly, but the recommendations I gave above are recommended because they end up having a less than 1% effect on your 24 hour variance (personal variance refers to share submission rates, not to be confused with pool variance).

eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
March 05, 2014, 05:59:34 PM
 #6219

I deleted the most recent posts about ScryptGuild.  Please keep ScryptGuild questions in the ScryptGuild thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=457016.0

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 05, 2014, 10:16:12 PM
 #6220


I gain nothing by inventing a story like this. The fact is a BTCG member hacked my miner and I can't see how given the cgminer conf is intact. So I was hoping for a bit of help, like it's probably been done using X, Y, Z method and here's how to help avoid that. I posted in this forum as I think BTCG has some responsibility to stop it's members behaving in this way.

SSH to the miner, screen to the cgminer instance, change pool details, don't save config.  That's how.

BTC Guild has zero responsibility.  It's your responsibility to secure your equipment, not BTC Guilds.  Roll Eyes

Thank you. That is helpful. All passwords changed and api-allow in cgminer now locked down to our PHP based web monitors server IP address. I named and shamed the BTCG user/worker and surprised that BTCG would not look at their account to see if this is widescale fraud.

Is there any way to allow 2 different IP address to access CG Miner? I want to run CGremote locally on LAN and PHP web based script remotely so that's 2 completely different IP addresses.
API-allow takes a comma separated list. If php and cgremote both need write access:

--API-allow W:xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx,yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy

Great. I do have 127.0.0.1 which I think if for the miners GUI to work i.e. to see itself followed by the remote IP but seems CGminer objects to 3 IPs? i.e. --API-allow W:127.0.0.1,yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy, zzz.zzz.zzz.zzz. Is there a limit of 2 IPs?

Cheers for the help.
No, there is no hard limit
(FYI, I wrote the API in cgminer Tongue)

That space after the "," is the cause of why the 3rd one is ignored

... and on a related note:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg5534048#msg5534048

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 [311] 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 ... 426 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!