Bitcoin Forum
January 20, 2021, 11:14:02 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 [227] 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 521358 times)
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
July 09, 2015, 10:49:23 AM
 #4521

Okay I am a newbie when it comes to armory.

 I have a pc with an intel 4570t cpu

2 sticks of 8gb ram

a 250 gb samsung ssd


it is a new build from old parts.

it has windows 7 ultimate 64 not 32

So what armory is best to load to this.

92 ?

and where is the link? on the site below


https://bitcoinarmory.com/


so I have been looking at the site a bit.  and I want the windows 7 pc mentioned above to be the offline pc.

I can use a second windows 7 pc as a partner online pc….  it has windows 7 home  as the os.  I also have a mac mini with 10.10.3 os  could this works as the online pc with the windows 7 offline pc?

There is never a reason to install an outdated Armory or Bitcoin-core version.
With a 32 bit operating system, the most recent Armory won't work. In that case, better upgrade to 64 bit instead! :-)

Ente
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1611141242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611141242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611141242
Reply with quote  #2

1611141242
Report to moderator
illodin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1003


View Profile
July 12, 2015, 08:33:19 PM
 #4522

Anyone tried yet is Armory compatible with the 0.11 core with pruned blockchain?
TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1006


View Profile
July 12, 2015, 11:15:07 PM
 #4523

Anyone tried yet is Armory compatible with the 0.11 core with pruned blockchain?

Do they claim it works?  In theory, it might work.

You would have to sync first with pruning disabled and then run Armory until it is up to date.

After that pruning should be OK, unless Armory falls far enough behind.

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1008


/dev/null


View Profile
July 13, 2015, 07:37:52 AM
 #4524

Anyone tried yet is Armory compatible with the 0.11 core with pruned blockchain?

Do they claim it works?  In theory, it might work.

You would have to sync first with pruning disabled and then run Armory until it is up to date.

After that pruning should be OK, unless Armory falls far enough behind.
nope. if you'd like to sweep coins from a privkey, your fsck'd.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1006


View Profile
July 13, 2015, 12:59:43 PM
 #4525

nope. if you'd like to sweep coins from a privkey, your fsck'd.

Well yeah, that's an inherent problem with pruning.

Having said that, Armory builds up its own database, so if that is enabled, it could still be ok.  Though, that defeats a lot of the benefit of pruning.

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
TimS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 250
Merit: 253


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2015, 01:43:49 PM
 #4526

nope. if you'd like to sweep coins from a privkey, your fsck'd.
As I understand it, a pruned node still has the UTXO set (this is the database of unspent transactions, keyed by txid, that is necessary for knowing if tx's that come across the client are valid and should be relayed or not). Assuming Armory is written to support it (not yet, I'm sure, but it could be), you can still sweep/import a private key, and receive and spend bitcoins. The biggest difference is that you won't be able to know the history of old, already-spent transactions. Also, this might be an issue as Armory may have a harder time figuring out how many addresses to generate from your wallet, if it doesn't know that the first e.g. 150 addresses are already used and spent from.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
July 13, 2015, 01:59:12 PM
 #4527

There are ways to make pruned Core nodes work with Armory but that's not an item on the list at the moment, so no point speculating.

visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1074
Merit: 1001


View Profile
July 19, 2015, 07:01:20 AM
 #4528

Okay I am a newbie when it comes to armory.

 I have a pc with an intel 4570t cpu

2 sticks of 8gb ram

a 250 gb samsung ssd


it is a new build from old parts.

it has windows 7 ultimate 64 not 32

So what armory is best to load to this.

92 ?

and where is the link? on the site below


https://bitcoinarmory.com/


so I have been looking at the site a bit.  and I want the windows 7 pc mentioned above to be the offline pc.

I can use a second windows 7 pc as a partner online pc….  it has windows 7 home  as the os.  I also have a mac mini with 10.10.3 os  could this works as the online pc with the windows 7 offline pc?

It's overkill, Phil Grin.  A netbook is perfect for an offline Armory; small, very portable and easy to hide.
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1074
Merit: 1001


View Profile
July 19, 2015, 07:08:41 AM
 #4529


I tried to update my offline Armory 0.92.3 with "armory_0.93.2_winAll.exe" (32- and 64-bit) but Bitcoin Armory Setup is telling me "You cannot install this version on a 32-bit sytem". Why?
Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 2425



View Profile
July 19, 2015, 08:34:04 AM
 #4530


I tried to update my offline Armory 0.92.3 with "armory_0.93.2_winAll.exe" (32- and 64-bit) but Bitcoin Armory Setup is telling me "You cannot install this version on a 32-bit sytem". Why?


Software function libraries. 93.x relies on different software libraries to versions <= 92.3, and those new libraries cannot operate with 32-bit CPU's for technical reasons. Goatpig has previously mentioned that version 0.94 could have 32-bit compatibility restored, and there's a bigger difference between the benefits of 0.94 and the benefits of 0.93 IMO (faster sync, smaller databases on disk etc).

Vires in numeris
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1074
Merit: 1001


View Profile
July 19, 2015, 11:24:49 AM
 #4531


I tried to update my offline Armory 0.92.3 with "armory_0.93.2_winAll.exe" (32- and 64-bit) but Bitcoin Armory Setup is telling me "You cannot install this version on a 32-bit sytem". Why?


Software function libraries. 93.x relies on different software libraries to versions <= 92.3, and those new libraries cannot operate with 32-bit CPU's for technical reasons. Goatpig has previously mentioned that version 0.94 could have 32-bit compatibility restored, and there's a bigger difference between the benefits of 0.94 and the benefits of 0.93 IMO (faster sync, smaller databases on disk etc).

Thank you.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
July 28, 2015, 06:46:04 PM
 #4532

is 0.93.2 working with Core 0.11.0?
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1500
Merit: 1000


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
July 28, 2015, 07:55:03 PM
 #4533

is 0.93.2 working with Core 0.11.0?

Yes no problem at all.

i'm on win 7 64bit. all is working well including the offline wallet.

@philipma, if you need any help or questions with offline storage & armory stuff, you can pm me.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
July 28, 2015, 08:19:50 PM
 #4534

is 0.93.2 working with Core 0.11.0?

Yes no problem at all.

i'm on win 7 64bit. all is working well including the offline wallet.

@philipma, if you need any help or questions with offline storage & armory stuff, you can pm me.

does it work in Ubuntu?
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2015, 03:07:46 AM
 #4535

Yes, although online Armory must be on a 64-bit system when using Ubuntu.

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 1002



View Profile
July 30, 2015, 04:22:39 AM
 #4536

what can i do to get connections unstuck from zero?

Code:
"version" : 110000,
    "protocolversion" : 70002,
    "walletversion" : 60000,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 366904,
    "timeoffset" : 0,
    "connections" : 0,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 51076366303.48192596,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1407033834,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "relayfee" : 0.00001000,
    "errors" : "
"
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3430
Merit: 1575



View Profile
July 30, 2015, 07:45:13 AM
 #4537

what can i do to get connections unstuck from zero?

Code:
"version" : 110000,
    "protocolversion" : 70002,
    "walletversion" : 60000,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 366904,
    "timeoffset" : 0,
    "connections" : 0,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 51076366303.48192596,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1407033834,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "relayfee" : 0.00001000,
    "errors" : "
"


Hire a wretchedly expensive consultant who knows what they are doing. Maybe someone who is knowledgeable about bitcoin and gets paid insane amounts of money for endorsing bleeding-edge cryptographic hashing equipment and algorithms.

Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
July 30, 2015, 03:27:08 PM
 #4538

Yes.

It goes something like this:
- anything fishy in your bitcoin.conf?
- is the port forwarded so external nodes can reach your bitcoind?
- any packetfilter/firewall/antivirus in between?

Check that with https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/, there's a test in the lower area.

Ente
koeppelmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2015, 05:49:08 AM
 #4539

My armory breaks down every time I start it. Or better: as soon as it is connected to BitcoinQT (while organziing blockchain). I have the latest version of BitcoinQT and Armory. It was everything ok for weeks. But today it happend EVERY time (I tired at least 10 times, reboot, ...) I have a mac.

Any hint what I should do? Rebuilt blockchain? Reinstall Armory?

Those are the first lines of the error report:

rocess:               Python [822]
Path:                  /Applications/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS/Python
Identifier:            com.armory.armory
Version:               Huh
Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:        Huh [1]
Responsible:           Python [822]
User ID:               501

Date/Time:             2015-08-01 22:47:16.836 -0700
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.10.4 (14E46)
Report Version:        11
Anonymous UUID:        0342B016-FFD5-109B-1719-DF5FD2B7FFA6

Sleep/Wake UUID:       A3F7E20C-0AA7-44AD-8CD9-7D44B0AF6A3F

Time Awake Since Boot: 2400 seconds
Time Since Wake:       1300 seconds

Crashed Thread:        8

Exception Type:        EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
Exception Codes:       0x000000000000000a, 0x0000000ae461e001

VM Regions Near 0xae461e001:
    MALLOC_LARGE           0000000adde02000-0000000ade103000 [ 3076K] rw-/rwx SM=PRV 
--> mapped file            0000000ade103000-0000000ae64c9000 [131.8M] r--/rwx SM=PRV  /Users/USER/Library/Application Support/Armory/*
    MALLOC_LARGE           0000000ae64c9000-0000000ae67ca000 [ 3076K] rw-/rwx SM=PRV 

Thread 0:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0   libdispatch.dylib                0x00007fff8b59f7f8 _dispatch_queue_wakeup_with_qos_slow + 1075
1   com.apple.coreui                 0x00007fff8d155bed PerformBlockWithThemeRegistry + 102
2   com.apple.coreui                 0x00007fff8d155e7e _LookupThemeProvider + 232
3   com.apple.coreui                 0x00007fff8d1391e1 -[CUIThemeFacet _approximateRenditionForRenditionKey:] + 109
4   com.apple.coreui                 0x00007fff8d13e706 -[CUIThemeFacet imageSize] + 83
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
August 03, 2015, 02:14:28 AM
 #4540

My armory breaks down every time I start it. Or better: as soon as it is connected to BitcoinQT (while organziing blockchain). I have the latest version of BitcoinQT and Armory. It was everything ok for weeks. But today it happend EVERY time (I tired at least 10 times, reboot, ...) I have a mac.

Any hint what I should do? Rebuilt blockchain? Reinstall Armory?

I use Armory on my Mac often and very rarely see crashes. I've heard some people are still having performance issues. My theory is that Qt (an underlying library) just doesn't play nice with some Macs due to threading issues. I've been trying to make some noise and get this investigated. If anybody would like to help me out, please upvote this bug. The patch I posted there doesn't fix everything but it does fix a lot of issues. Maybe drawing more attention to it will lead to more long-term fixes.

*jumps off soapbox* Anyway, regarding this crash, if it happens again, look for the following bits of info.

Quote
Crashed Thread:        8

(...)

Thread 0:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0   libdispatch.dylib                0x00007fff8b59f7f8 _dispatch_queue_wakeup_with_qos_slow + 1075
1   com.apple.coreui                 0x00007fff8d155bed PerformBlockWithThemeRegistry + 102
2   com.apple.coreui                 0x00007fff8d155e7e _LookupThemeProvider + 232
3   com.apple.coreui                 0x00007fff8d1391e1 -[CUIThemeFacet _approximateRenditionForRenditionKey:] + 109
4   com.apple.coreui                 0x00007fff8d13e706 -[CUIThemeFacet imageSize] + 83

The crashed thread will test you which trace to post, which is the gobbledygook at the bottom of my quote. I'm guessing it'll be a Qt issue but I could be wrong.

Also, just curious, do you put your Mac to sleep often? I do get the odd crash on Yosemite after I've put my Mac to sleep something like 12-15 times, along with other odd behavior. Some of it might be Armory - I'm investigating right now - and some of it is almost certainly Qt (or Yosemite causing Qt to freak out).

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
Pages: « 1 ... 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 [227] 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!