Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2017, 04:01:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 [221] 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 512401 times)
grux
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
February 22, 2015, 10:42:26 AM
 #4401

I was looking through the webshop example, is polling the best way to get new transactions to your wallet with armoryd.py?
1506268867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506268867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506268867
Reply with quote  #2

1506268867
Report to moderator
1506268867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506268867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506268867
Reply with quote  #2

1506268867
Report to moderator
Transactions must be included in a block to be properly completed. When you send a transaction, it is broadcast to miners. Miners can then optionally include it in their next blocks. Miners will be more inclined to include your transaction if it has a transaction fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506268867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506268867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506268867
Reply with quote  #2

1506268867
Report to moderator
1506268867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506268867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506268867
Reply with quote  #2

1506268867
Report to moderator
1506268867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506268867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506268867
Reply with quote  #2

1506268867
Report to moderator
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314


View Profile
February 22, 2015, 03:06:24 PM
 #4402

Hi,

I have a problem:

1- I hibernate the laptop with Armory opened.
2- I back from hibernate.
3- Armory doesnt syncronize. (To syncronize again I need to restart Armory).

OS: Ubuntu 64



Nothing can be done about this. Some of Armory's stack is forced in the RAM through mlock. Hibernation copies the entire RAM into the swap partition. Since that would defeat mlock's purpose, mlock'ed memory is not copied imaged in on hibernation. Armory won't be able to recover from that.

Hi,

I was testing the last version of Armory and I think this was fixed, right?
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1610

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 22, 2015, 04:13:20 PM
 #4403

Hi,

I was testing the last version of Armory and I think this was fixed, right?

No this is still here and we don't plan on getting rid of it.

teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314


View Profile
February 22, 2015, 04:16:43 PM
 #4404

Hi,

I was testing the last version of Armory and I think this was fixed, right?

No this is still here and we don't plan on getting rid of it.

Strange. I can't reproduce the problem anymore.
solitude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 677


View Profile
February 22, 2015, 10:51:15 PM
 #4405

Hi, thank you for the latest release and for making the most secure bitcoin software.

However, I still don't understand why under settings there is a path for Bitcoin install dir and Bitcoin home dir?  Maybe it's just me, but don't these locations sound exactly the same?

Install directory.  Home directory.  Same thing.  It's not like there's a directory called "home" anywhere.  Maybe a little description is in order?

There needs to be an option for the increasing number of SSD drive owners to install to a different drive.  --dbdir= in the shortcut link is not something most users will know how to do.

Finally, most importantly, Armory needs to stop relying on the Bitcoin Core client to function.  I think I read that a future release will remove this dependency.  I look forward to that!

Hardly anyone speaks English on this forum.
btchris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672

a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2015, 07:24:39 PM
 #4406

getting dependency error not satifiable:  libstdc++6(>=4.7) in Ubuntu 12.04 32 bit on attempted install of 0.93

Note that 0.93 can't go online in x86. Also, it requires C++11 so you'll need a libstd that is recent enough. You can probably get that package from the LTS backports repo.

Quote
do we have to install 0.93 on both online and offline pc's?

Only the online machine

Ugh, I just realized I bet we broke the 12.04 offline bundle with this release.  I bet no one tested that... we really need to widen the testing net better.  In the future, we might offer quadruple bounties for the first bug found in each of a bunch of categories.  That would include testing the offline bundles, and lots of corner case features...

I might need to update the offline bundles and re-release 0.93...

You may want to consider some updates to the online dllinks.txt file at some point to reflect all of this...

E.g., removing the 32 (bit) flag from all of the Armory 0.93 versions (keeping it for ArmoryOffline though), and removing 12.04 from the Armory & ArmoryOffline Ubuntu lines until/unless you intend to distribute your own libstdc++6 (FYI a newer version isn't in the backports repo unfortunately).

It's a judgement call though....
picobit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547


Decor in numeris


View Profile
February 23, 2015, 07:31:43 PM
 #4407

Will Bitcoin 0.10.0 become available through the secure downloader, now that Armory officially supports it?
btchris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672

a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2015, 07:37:41 PM
 #4408

You may want to consider some updates to the online dllinks.txt file at some point...

Will Bitcoin 0.10.0 become available through the secure downloader, now that Armory officially supports it?

Speaking of updates to the dllinks.txt file Wink (that's the file that would need updating and re-signing for 0.10.0 to become available).
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2015, 07:42:10 PM
 #4409

You may want to consider some updates to the online dllinks.txt file at some point...

Will Bitcoin 0.10.0 become available through the secure downloader, now that Armory officially supports it?

Speaking of updates to the dllinks.txt file Wink (that's the file that would need updating and re-signing for 0.10.0 to become available).

Yes it will, the problem is that it's not split up by Armory version, so updating 0.10 in the secure downloader would push it to the all the 0.92.3 users as well, who haven't upgraded.  I figured I would remove all the torrent code and push 0.10 all at once, but I'll give it some time for people to upgrade Armory first.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
picobit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547


Decor in numeris


View Profile
February 24, 2015, 09:33:33 AM
 #4410

Yes it will, the problem is that it's not split up by Armory version, so updating 0.10 in the secure downloader would push it to the all the 0.92.3 users as well, who haven't upgraded.  I figured I would remove all the torrent code and push 0.10 all at once, but I'll give it some time for people to upgrade Armory first.

Good point.  You should wait!  I will download it manually as I used to do, it is not *that* hard to check the signatures manually Smiley
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
February 24, 2015, 04:35:36 PM
 #4411

You may want to consider some updates to the online dllinks.txt file at some point...

Will Bitcoin 0.10.0 become available through the secure downloader, now that Armory officially supports it?

Speaking of updates to the dllinks.txt file Wink (that's the file that would need updating and re-signing for 0.10.0 to become available).

Yes it will, the problem is that it's not split up by Armory version, so updating 0.10 in the secure downloader would push it to the all the 0.92.3 users as well, who haven't upgraded.  I figured I would remove all the torrent code and push 0.10 all at once, but I'll give it some time for people to upgrade Armory first.

how's the Ubuntu 12.04 version coming along?
Wotan777
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
February 25, 2015, 05:15:01 PM
 #4412

...

Ugh, I just realized I bet we broke the 12.04 offline bundle with this release.  I bet no one tested that... we really need to widen the testing net better.  In the future, we might offer quadruple bounties for the first bug found in each of a bunch of categories.  That would include testing the offline bundles, and lots of corner case features...

I might need to update the offline bundles and re-release 0.93...

Armory-0.93 Win7 64 bit version (Version 0.93-beta-84a5897ec2) also has a problem:
Today it crashed and rebuilt Armory database 3 times.

bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
February 25, 2015, 10:31:26 PM
 #4413

The latest version has memory leaks, badly. It consume 15.8 GB of my 16 GB Windows memory, every time.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1610

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 25, 2015, 10:50:07 PM
 #4414

The latest version has memory leaks, badly. It consume 15.8 GB of my 16 GB Windows memory, every time.


What's Armory's RAM usage? I think you are confusing RAM used by the process and in use memory pages. The OS won't shy away from filling that up when a lot of access is performed on mmap'ed files, which will happen a lot during a DB scan. That doesn't mean the RAM is in use, it means the OS is chugging unused RAM to shuffle file data in and out of it. If a process was to ask for more RAM it would get priority over this memory.

The OS has no reason to empty this memory once Armory is done scanning. For all it knows, Armory just asked for intensive access to this data, so the OS expects it will again. Unless other processes start asking for more RAM or Armory is closed, the OS will keep these unused pages filled with the DB's mmap'ed files.

bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
February 25, 2015, 11:54:24 PM
 #4415

The latest version has memory leaks, badly. It consume 15.8 GB of my 16 GB Windows memory, every time.


What's Armory's RAM usage? I think you are confusing RAM used by the process and in use memory pages. The OS won't shy away from filling that up when a lot of access is performed on mmap'ed files, which will happen a lot during a DB scan. That doesn't mean the RAM is in use, it means the OS is chugging unused RAM to shuffle file data in and out of it. If a process was to ask for more RAM it would get priority over this memory.

The OS has no reason to empty this memory once Armory is done scanning. For all it knows, Armory just asked for intensive access to this data, so the OS expects it will again. Unless other processes start asking for more RAM or Armory is closed, the OS will keep these unused pages filled with the DB's mmap'ed files.

I think you are correct. It's probably not a memory leak, ArmoryQt itself only uses 300M, on top of bitcoind's 500M.  However it's still scary to see so much memory being mmap'd, rarely have I seen this before.

Thanks for pointing that out.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1610

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 26, 2015, 12:13:07 AM
 #4416

The latest version has memory leaks, badly. It consume 15.8 GB of my 16 GB Windows memory, every time.


What's Armory's RAM usage? I think you are confusing RAM used by the process and in use memory pages. The OS won't shy away from filling that up when a lot of access is performed on mmap'ed files, which will happen a lot during a DB scan. That doesn't mean the RAM is in use, it means the OS is chugging unused RAM to shuffle file data in and out of it. If a process was to ask for more RAM it would get priority over this memory.

The OS has no reason to empty this memory once Armory is done scanning. For all it knows, Armory just asked for intensive access to this data, so the OS expects it will again. Unless other processes start asking for more RAM or Armory is closed, the OS will keep these unused pages filled with the DB's mmap'ed files.

I think you are correct. It's probably not a memory leak, ArmoryQt itself only uses 300M, on top of bitcoind's 500M.  However it's still scary to see so much memory being mmap'd, rarely have I seen this before.

Thanks for pointing that out.

If you restart Armory it shouldn't be mmap'ing as much memory. Next version will be a lot tamer on that front, and I also may just close and reopen the DB just to flush out the mmap data after the scan is over. For now you'll have to deal with the scary numbers =P

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1610

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 26, 2015, 07:30:47 PM
 #4417

why is my blockchain stuck?

still with Armory 0.92.3 and Bitcoin Core 0.9.3 in Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 32 bit.

Care to elaborate?

cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
February 26, 2015, 10:14:17 PM
 #4418

why is my blockchain stuck?

still with Armory 0.92.3 and Bitcoin Core 0.9.3 in Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 32 bit.

Care to elaborate?

nvm, fixed.

when is the 0.93 update going to work with my OS?
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1610

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 26, 2015, 10:24:00 PM
 #4419

nvm, fixed.

when is the 0.93 update going to work with my OS?

You mean the 32bit part or the 12.04 part?

We got some fixes incoming soon that will get Armory going again on 12.04 among other things. For x86 support you'll have to wait for the next subversion.

zveda2000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 05:04:52 AM
 #4420

Hi,

I keep getting the error "Armory scanning interrupted unexpectedly". Armory then asks me to check the box to re-scan and rebuild the database on next time Armory starts. If I do not check the box I get prompted with the same error on restart. This happened two times already in the last few days.

I'm running the latest armory on 64-bit linux with 16gb ram. My internet connection is fairly slow though, especially upload speed.
Pages: « 1 ... 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 [221] 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!