Bitcoin Forum
January 26, 2021, 03:18:55 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 [202] 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 521359 times)
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 02:53:31 PM
 #4021

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
1611631135
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611631135

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611631135
Reply with quote  #2

1611631135
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 04:10:32 PM
 #4022

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 04:19:17 PM
 #4023

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...

Import private key into core

japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 04:35:57 PM
 #4024

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...


Import private key into core

when i make a backup of wallet, i can't get it to spit out the actual private key, just publicX and publicY associated with each address… any help?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 04:46:32 PM
 #4025

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...


Import private key into core

when i make a backup of wallet, i can't get it to spit out the actual private key, just publicX and publicY associated with each address… any help?

First of all, we recently saw a similar issue and it was due to copy and paste in the address field.  It catches and warns about invalid addresses, but there was some invisible Unicode whitespace character getting copied in at the end of the address.  Armory doesn't handle the strange chars and errors out before being able to pop up an invalid address warning. Can you confirm that's not happening to you? 

Second, if you have a situation where you click a button and nothing happens, it's usually a simple error, and an error message is getting logged.  Please use Help,  Submit Bug Report, which will bundle your log file into the bug report automatically.  It will usually be obvious pretty quickly (to us) what the problem is.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 05:11:26 PM
 #4026

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...


Import private key into core

when i make a backup of wallet, i can't get it to spit out the actual private key, just publicX and publicY associated with each address… any help?

First of all, we recently saw a similar issue and it was due to copy and paste in the address field.  It catches and warns about invalid addresses, but there was some invisible Unicode whitespace character getting copied in at the end of the address.  Armory doesn't handle the strange chars and errors out before being able to pop up an invalid address warning. Can you confirm that's not happening to you?  

Second, if you have a situation where you click a button and nothing happens, it's usually a simple error, and an error message is getting logged.  Please use Help,  Submit Bug Report, which will bundle your log file into the bug report automatically.  It will usually be obvious pretty quickly (to us) what the problem is.

I successfully submitted a bug report.  Now when i try to make a paper backup to import to Blockchain.info, it says a paper backup cannot be made due to errors…. This is really frustrating, just trying to get my btc out of my wallet but the software is so damn buggy nothing is happening!

Also can confirm it's not the blank character stuck in there from a copy and paste
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 05:23:46 PM
 #4027

This may be a slightly stupid question but given the ever expanding nature of the blockchain from its monthly growth when it started to it's monthly growth now. How long would one guess that a 500Gb drive would last for an online armory system that has nothing else on it but mbam & norton with Vista 32bit as an OS ?

To be decided...
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 05:38:24 PM
 #4028

This may be a slightly stupid question but given the ever expanding nature of the blockchain from its monthly growth when it started to it's monthly growth now. How long would one guess that a 500Gb drive would last for an online armory system that has nothing else on it but mbam & norton with Vista 32bit as an OS ?

The block size limit maxes out at about 300 GB per year.  So that's the worst that could happen, and we are at about 1/4 of that right now.

Also, please try the latest 0.92.1 which has a ton of OSX stability updates. OSX has never been friends with Armory, though we have a fulltime dev on OSX now so it is getting some constant attention.  0.92 is much better than 0.91 and he's found even more improvements for the next version.  I don't know if it solved your problems here, but it's generally a good upgrade for OSX users.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 05:47:57 PM
Last edit: August 17, 2014, 06:14:22 PM by japandrew73
 #4029

So i can get a backup to save that gives the PublicX and PublicY private keys, but when i import either one for a specific address into block chain.info, the public key it imports isn't the same one the publicX and publicY keys correspond to on my Armory backup… any help?


When i make a backup of the private keys, it allows me to save in Address String, Hash160, Public Key(BE) formats….. but the one i want to save in is Base58.  The option to select Base58 isn't illuminated and won't let me click it… why? 

doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 07:07:19 PM
 #4030

0.92 is much better than 0.91 and he's found even more improvements for the next version.  I don't know if it solved your problems here, but it's generally a good upgrade for OSX users.

The next version with the new patches should be much better for everybody, especially those on Mavericks or Yosemite. Amongst other things, I discovered that App Nap (10.9+) was screwing with Armory. Once I disabled it, a lot of strange behavior went away. I'll re-enable it later if I can. For now, it just makes certain Armory functionality slow as molasses and doesn't seem to be worth any benefits it might've delivered.

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 07:33:30 PM
 #4031

so now I'm finding my main problem is when i try to export the private keys the Base58 button isn't illuminated. why?  how can i select it?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 07:37:57 PM
 #4032

so now I'm finding my main problem is when i try to export the private keys the Base58 button isn't illuminated. why?  how can i select it?

Are you using a watching-only wallet?  A WO wallet doesn't have private keys and will have that checkbox deactivated since it doesn't exist there.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
microcloudmining
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 08:17:38 PM
 #4033

How do I work coin control? is there an faq or documentation about that? I have Expert enabled but don't see it anywhere.

I am on mac - thx
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 08:35:59 PM
 #4034

How do I work coin control? is there an faq or documentation about that? I have Expert enabled but don't see it anywhere.

Once you go online, you should see it when you click the "Send Bitcoins" button.

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 09:06:31 PM
 #4035

so now I'm finding my main problem is when i try to export the private keys the Base58 button isn't illuminated. why?  how can i select it?

Are you using a watching-only wallet?  A WO wallet doesn't have private keys and will have that checkbox deactivated since it doesn't exist there.

Silly me, i was a WO wallet but i hadn't labeled it as such.  All good now, no errors
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 18, 2014, 08:30:15 AM
 #4036

About the new wallet format and Trezor:

Quote
What stick said is true, you can make multiple accounts inside one wallet (a different bip32 derivation path is used, for example account one is 44'0'0', account 2 is 44'0'1').

In addition a trezor can be made to hold any number of wallets by using different passphrases. The passphrase is simply added to the seed, that way you get a completely separate wallet for every distinct passphrase.
Quote
In more advanced setup, you can have multiple passphrases each giving you completely separate account address space with plausible deniability.
http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/2dqksb/electrum_trezor_one_happy_me/cjs5dd8

That's a really neat way.
As I understand it, I have one seed (BIP0039 mnemonic seed), and have several branches as an individual wallet each. And/or one seed with different passwords, which lead to different wallets.

Well, anyway, I need to secure one seed and some passwords :-)

Is it planned to have such a setup in the new wallet format?
Any news on Trezor integration?

As all of this looks now, I think I will scrap my raspberry-offline-armory-secureconnection project. All of what I planned would be possible with one online Armory, WO-wallets and a Trezor.

What do you guys think about the future of "real" offline Armorys? Any use any more, except for multisig/lockboxes?

Ente
MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 12:46:48 AM
Last edit: August 19, 2014, 07:06:49 AM by MoreBloodWine
 #4037

Ok, so I finally got the other laptop working that I wanted to turn in to an online system but am having something weird happen.

So I installed Core 0.9.1 with Armory 0.91.99.8

After both were done installing / not running I then click the Amory thing on the desktop (this is Vista 32bit BTW), and got this "error".

Quote
C:\Program Files\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe

The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more detail.

I thought this was because neither was launched after installing so I launched core which came up find, startted downloading the chain. So I then clicked the Armory thing on the desktop and go the same popup.

So... what did I do wrong here because I was told after installing both I can just start Armory and it will do its own files and torrent the core stuff at the same time or something.

Edit: I would add the only other thing on this system of a clean Vista install is MBAM. AFAIK, nothing about MBAM or the funky Vista security stuff if blocking it. As of this edit, the blockchain via core is still downloading. However, like I previously said, I was told I could install both core and armory then run armory which would initialize core but as I said, that didn't happen ;-/

Edit 2: Even updated Armory to 0.92.1 but same thing ;-/

To be decided...
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 03:10:45 PM
 #4038

in Armory's datadir, delete the databases folder

MoreBloodWine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 05:21:28 PM
 #4039

in Armory's datadir, delete the databases folder
Cores now only ~40 weeks behind, will the chain from core being more than half done affect anything if I do that and then start Armory or at this point should I just let core finish and then do that folder delete / run Armory ?

To be decided...
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 06:25:16 PM
 #4040

in Armory's datadir, delete the databases folder
Cores now only ~40 weeks behind, will the chain from core being more than half done affect anything if I do that and then start Armory or at this point should I just let core finish and then do that folder delete / run Armory ?

Let Core finish first.

Pages: « 1 ... 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 [202] 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!