Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2021, 03:11:20 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 [194] 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 521356 times)
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2014, 05:35:21 PM
 #3861

If I have signed a transaction on an offline computer - can I take the signed file and broadcast it from any Armory installation that's online, or must it be from the one that initiated the transaction?

AFAIK, any online Armory can broadcast it, although it may tell you it doesn't control the accompanying public key and then ask if you want to proceed. Somebody else will have to confirm.

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
1610982680
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610982680

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610982680
Reply with quote  #2

1610982680
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1610982680
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610982680

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610982680
Reply with quote  #2

1610982680
Report to moderator
1610982680
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610982680

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610982680
Reply with quote  #2

1610982680
Report to moderator
1610982680
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1610982680

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1610982680
Reply with quote  #2

1610982680
Report to moderator
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 10:37:10 PM
 #3862

If I have signed a transaction on an offline computer - can I take the signed file and broadcast it from any Armory installation that's online, or must it be from the one that initiated the transaction?

AFAIK, any online Armory can broadcast it, although it may tell you it doesn't control the accompanying public key and then ask if you want to proceed. Somebody else will have to confirm.

My understanding is that to broadcast the signed tx, you need to load Armory with at least a WO copy of the corresponding wallet

idoB
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 2


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 12:12:41 PM
 #3863



My understanding is that to broadcast the signed tx, you need to load Armory with at least a WO copy of the corresponding wallet

Why is a WO copy of the corresponding wallet needed? Isn't it identical to a situation where I have a signed check and I can cash it in any branch? Is it security related?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
July 20, 2014, 12:19:48 PM
 #3864



My understanding is that to broadcast the signed tx, you need to load Armory with at least a WO copy of the corresponding wallet

Why is a WO copy of the corresponding wallet needed? Isn't it identical to a situation where I have a signed check and I can cash it in any branch? Is it security related?


I'm guessing because the inputs must be pre scanned to make sure they're still valid

Why don't you just export as raw and broadcast on blockchain

Safe even on the most infected computer

TimS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 250
Merit: 253


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2014, 12:27:05 PM
 #3865

I'm guessing because the inputs must be pre scanned to make sure they're still valid
That shouldn't be a good reason. Validating the inputs is done by every node as it's transmitted across the network. This is why Bitcoin Core has a UTXO database and the gettxout command: so you can check if it's possible to spend a txout for any address - including those you aren't particularly following.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2014, 01:25:25 PM
 #3866

I'm guessing because the inputs must be pre scanned to make sure they're still valid
That shouldn't be a good reason. Validating the inputs is done by every node as it's transmitted across the network. This is why Bitcoin Core has a UTXO database and the gettxout command: so you can check if it's possible to spend a txout for any address - including those you aren't particularly following.

FYI, I think .11 has a fix that allows you to load, review, and broadcast any Armory transaction regardless of its relationship to your wallets.  Use the offline transactions if it's an Armory sigcollect block, or Tools->Broadcast Raw Tx if it's a regular hex transaction.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 08:50:48 PM
 #3867

Hi,

noob question:

I would like to create a 2of3 multisign address. But I would like two addresses be created using https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bitpay.copay and one address from Armory.
Is this possible?
Can I import the public key from Armory on Copay?
Can I import the public keys created on Copay on Armory?


CircusPeanut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 10:36:14 PM
 #3868

Hi,

noob question:

I would like to create a 2of3 multisign address. But I would like two addresses be created using https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bitpay.copay and one address from Armory.
Is this possible?
Can I import the public key from Armory on Copay?
Can I import the public keys created on Copay on Armory?

Some day there will be a standardized way to do Multi-Sig. Until then, you can not mix and match. You can import the addresses into Armory, and i assume into Bitpay as well, but you have to do Multi-Sig on one or the other.

IMHOP, the way to use both is to split up your Bitcoins and just use each separately.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2014, 11:48:12 PM
 #3869

Hi,

noob question:

I would like to create a 2of3 multisign address. But I would like two addresses be created using https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bitpay.copay and one address from Armory.
Is this possible?
Can I import the public key from Armory on Copay?
Can I import the public keys created on Copay on Armory?

Some day there will be a standardized way to do Multi-Sig. Until then, you can not mix and match. You can import the addresses into Armory, and i assume into Bitpay as well, but you have to do Multi-Sig on one or the other.

IMHOP, the way to use both is to split up your Bitcoins and just use each separately.

More specifically, I'm sure you can create the multi-sig with mixed keys, since public keys have a standard encoding, but you won't be able to easily spend the money because Armory doesn't know how to communicate with BitPay/Copay, etc.  As CircusPeanut said, standardization will need to be developed but everyones' multi-sig implementations are too young to have gotten to that point yet.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 12:37:04 AM
 #3870

Thanks.

Last question about this subject.

I created an account on https://www.bitgo.com and they say that I have access of 2 from 3 addresses generated.
I have a BitGo PDF backup with qrcode data.
I would like to know if is possible to import this two addresses on Armory.

Anyone know how to import the Bitgo data on Armory? I ask because I really did not understand the information generated on Bitgo PDF backup.

Thanks

knahrvorn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 01:29:05 PM
 #3871

When I finally finish the new wallet format, then we can can have a fully internationalized app, with no restrictions anywhere.  Then we can also start prepping the app for localization & translations.

It's coming...

Any progress on internationalization (i.e. support for localization)? Smiley
Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 505


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2014, 07:42:56 PM
Last edit: July 21, 2014, 08:01:44 PM by Muhammed Zakir
 #3872

Thanks.

Last question about this subject.

I created an account on https://www.bitgo.com and they say that I have access of 2 from 3 addresses generated.
I have a BitGo PDF backup with qrcode data.
I would like to know if is possible to import this two addresses on Armory.

Anyone know how to import the Bitgo data on Armory? I ask because I really did not understand the information generated on Bitgo PDF backup.

Thanks


Didn't you see any private key? I will try to make an account now and will give a feedback. Smiley
Edit : Sorry phone verifiying taking a long time. I will give the feedback tomorrow.
Kindly,
      MZ

teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 10:55:06 PM
 #3873

Hi Muhammed Zakir,

I will wait your feedback. Thanks. I asked BitGo and I received this answer:

(Hi,

Yes, it is possible to import addresses or keys from Armory. You can do this by using the "Link Outside Account" feature to paste in either the addresses (for tracking only) or the private keys (if you are trying to sweep the value into a BitGo wallet).

With regards to your KeyCard question, the keys there are not intended for import into any other software (and you should never try to do so). The KeyCard is your secure backup of the multiple HD master keys used to create your BitGo wallet. It only needs to be used in the case you forget your passcode or if you wanted to recover your funds without any assistance from BitGo. It can be used with our offline recovery tool published at https://github.com/BitGo/BitGo-MultiSignature-Offline-Recovery-Tool)


Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 505


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2014, 01:08:07 AM
 #3874

Hi Muhammed Zakir,

I will wait your feedback. Thanks. I asked BitGo and I received this answer:

(Hi,

Yes, it is possible to import addresses or keys from Armory. You can do this by using the "Link Outside Account" feature to paste in either the addresses (for tracking only) or the private keys (if you are trying to sweep the value into a BitGo wallet).

With regards to your KeyCard question, the keys there are not intended for import into any other software (and you should never try to do so). The KeyCard is your secure backup of the multiple HD master keys used to create your BitGo wallet. It only needs to be used in the case you forget your passcode or if you wanted to recover your funds without any assistance from BitGo. It can be used with our offline recovery tool published at https://github.com/BitGo/BitGo-MultiSignature-Offline-Recovery-Tool)



Oh! You asked "from Armory" not "on Armory". I made 3 addresses as watch only addresses but I am not ready to give my private keys yet. I linked instantly after I made. Grin Maybe it was my mistake, anyway it is better if you re-check your post after you write. So that you can get correct details on your doubt. Smiley
Kindly,
      MZ

teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 22, 2014, 01:16:45 AM
 #3875

I asked on Armory but he replied about the two cases.
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2014, 03:32:38 PM
 #3876

Hello. I heard today that the public should be able to get their hands on an OS X 10.10 public beta build starting tomorrow. Assuming it's anything like Developer Preview 4 (the latest preview build), I just wanted to provide a little guidance in case any Mac users are thinking about running Armory on it.

-When it comes out, the final 0.92 build should run on 10.10. I've loaded up personal Armory builds made on 10.8 and 10.9. I've used both without issue for ~15-20 min. each. That being said, I really wouldn't recommend running Armory on 10.10 if you're concerned about stability. There will be bugs one way or another. (For example, I'm seeing some very minor graphics issues that are probably beyond our control.)
-If you do run Armory on 10.10 and come across a bug, please state this when submitting bug reports. I need to get a feel for what's a bug in Armory, what's a bug in any of the packages we use, and what's a bug in OS X itself.
-If you attempt to build Armory on 10.10, I think the latest Xcode 6 beta will build Armory correctly, unlike the ones available for DP1-3. I briefly ran a version of Armory compiled on 10.10 DP4. It seemed stable enough. The build log looked good too. I haven't done a close comparison with the contents of the 10.9 build, though, so don't be surprised if there's a gremlin somewhere in there.

Thanks!

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2014, 12:16:43 AM
 #3877

Just an update on version 0.92:  it's pretty much ready.  But we are trying to get some non-code-related stuff together so that we can ensure a smooth rollout and be prepared for the influx of media attention and new users.  Including the donation-matching activity I mentioned on this thread a week or two ago.

One of the things I've been working on is a new page devoted to explaining the new multi-signature lockboxes.  A lot of explanation.  With pretty pictures!  Feel free to check it out and provide feedback: 

https://bitcoinarmory.com/using-lockboxes

I think this kind of documentation was long overdue, and I'll probably work on doing some of the more-basic feature documentation of Armory next.   It's surprisingly pleasant to create using the combination of the program "shutter" in Linux and a Wordpress plugin that allows you paste images from the clipboard. 

Also, we are not planning for armoryd to be a stable feature in the 0.92 release but we plan to get it stable shortly afterwards.  Delaying the release will not slow that down, but instead means that we may get a bit more in by release day.  Perhaps that doesn't matter though, since most armoryd users will probably just checkout the repo instead of running from a given release.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 25, 2014, 01:30:05 AM
 #3878

Alan,

My native language is not english, but I need to tell you that you make complex things so easy to understand. You write very well.
All my doubs (I think you read my mind) about multi-signature lockboxes was described on: https://bitcoinarmory.com/using-lockboxes



THANKS A LOT FOR DEVELOPING ARMORY SOFTWARE.  Roll Eyes

Perlover
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 27, 2014, 01:43:05 PM
Last edit: July 27, 2014, 01:56:28 PM by Perlover
 #3879

Please HELP needed!

I created offline wallet in Ubuntu (Armory Offline, 0.91.99) and exported only watch-only wallet to Windows computer where run Armory 0.91.99.8-beta
Windows version synced fully completed, i sent some bitcoins to addresses, i see theirs in balance (1 confirmation), the wallet has "Belongs to" as "You own this wallet"
BUT!

I cannot make offline transaction!
I do: "Send bitcoins" (Windows) -> Enter my other recipient address, amount (here other bug  too - to see below) and i after i click button "Continue"
And nothing happens!
Finish...
I cannot how can i made transaction to USB flesh...

Other bug in this window where i try to send bitcoins: when i click "MAX" button sometime i got error message: "Cannot compute the maximum amount because there is an error in the amount for recipient 1". I close this error modal window, click "MAX" again and amount field to be filled and nothing error again. If i try to reproduce bugi can see this error again and again...

P.S. May be it's normal behaviour of Armory, i don't know. I have now funds which have only 1 confirmation. May be Armory waits 6 confirmations? If yes, it's very strange - MAX button fills to me sum of all balances (1 confirmations) but Continue doesn't work and nothing there warnings and etc... Many clients allow to send bitcoins after 1 confirmation.

P.P.S. "Wallet Properties" window shows to me "Spendable Funds" > 0 BTC. But "Continue" button doesn't work right now. If i keep empty field of address and press "Continue", i got error that address is not valid. If i fill valid address but amount is empty, "Continue" button tells to me that amount is not specified. If i specify "Amount" and i press "Continue" - nothing happens...
Perlover
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 27, 2014, 02:05:29 PM
Last edit: July 27, 2014, 02:24:36 PM by Perlover
 #3880

F*ck, after restart and started Armory again i see now sign transaction dialog.
I don't understand this beta version...
It's very buggy. Some dialogs work same: click -> nothing -> click -> ok -> click -> nothing -> click -> nothing -> click -> OK -> click -> OK
It remains me a mining Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 [194] 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!