Bitcoin Forum
January 26, 2021, 03:59:38 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 [218] 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 521359 times)
Moria843
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441
Merit: 250


Found Lost beach - quiet now


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 05:48:27 PM
 #4341

I thought turning off all autorun/start functions on my hot and cold computer protected me.

I agree this exploit probably isn't being wasted on us.

Does anyone produce a "secure" USB drive or a drive whose firmware is read only?

Hot time, summer in the city, back of my mine getting hot & gritty!!!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1611633578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611633578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611633578
Reply with quote  #2

1611633578
Report to moderator
1611633578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611633578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611633578
Reply with quote  #2

1611633578
Report to moderator
Adrian-x
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 17, 2015, 06:15:37 PM
 #4342

I thought turning off all autorun/start functions on my hot and cold computer protected me.

I agree this exploit probably isn't being wasted on us.

Does anyone produce a "secure" USB drive or a drive whose firmware is read only?

I'm glad my offline backup never has internet assess, the question is now can I repurpose the machine at some later date without compromising my passwords and seeds? 

Thank me in Bits 12MwnzxtprG2mHm3rKdgi7NmJKCypsMMQw
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 03:41:10 PM
 #4343

Oops, I just updated to Bitcoin Core 0.10.0 and fired up Armory 0.92.3, it looks stuck on "building databases"... Did I screw up?

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 03:54:53 PM
 #4344

Oops, I just updated to Bitcoin Core 0.10.0 and fired up Armory 0.92.3, it looks stuck on "building databases"... Did I screw up?

Use the secure downloader to grab 0.92.99.7-testing.  It's a release candidate and should be officially renamed to 0.93 tomorrow (or latest Monday).

You'll wipe the DBs, but the rebuild is super fast!  Thank goatpig for that Smiley

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 03:59:06 PM
 #4345

Oops, I just updated to Bitcoin Core 0.10.0 and fired up Armory 0.92.3, it looks stuck on "building databases"... Did I screw up?

Use the secure downloader to grab 0.92.99.7-testing.  It's a release candidate and should be officially renamed to 0.93 tomorrow (or latest Monday).

You'll wipe the DBs, but the rebuild is super fast!  Thank goatpig for that Smiley

OK, will do that... BTW, Armory 0.92.3 finally built the database and displayed the correct balance, so I guess is somewhat compatible with BC 0.10.0

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:00:29 PM
 #4346

Oops, I just updated to Bitcoin Core 0.10.0 and fired up Armory 0.92.3, it looks stuck on "building databases"... Did I screw up?

Use the secure downloader to grab 0.92.99.7-testing.  It's a release candidate and should be officially renamed to 0.93 tomorrow (or latest Monday).

You'll wipe the DBs, but the rebuild is super fast!  Thank goatpig for that Smiley

OK, will do that... BTW, Armory 0.92.3 finally built the database and displayed the correct balance, so I guess is somewhat compatible with BC 0.10.0

I will crash if you receive blocks out of order while it is running. It should resume properly after a restart though.

Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:00:52 PM
Last edit: February 19, 2015, 04:12:24 PM by Rampion
 #4347

Don't see 0.92.99.7-testing, it says last update retrieved 4 months ago, maybe because I have my system set up to run through Tor?

EDIT: I managed to reactivate secure download by tweaking the "privacy setting", but i see 0.92.99.7 only on Windows - I'm a mac user.

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 04:16:07 PM
 #4348

Don't see 0.92.99.7-testing, it says last update retrieved 4 months ago, maybe because I have my system set up to run through Tor?

EDIT: I managed to reactivate secure download by tweaking the "privacy setting", but i see 0.92.99.7 only on Windows - I'm a mac user.

Oh, the navigation system for that is a mess, and I've been meaning to rework it.  Select an earlier version of OSX than the latest.  You should then see it.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:20:05 PM
 #4349

Don't see 0.92.99.7-testing, it says last update retrieved 4 months ago, maybe because I have my system set up to run through Tor?

EDIT: I managed to reactivate secure download by tweaking the "privacy setting", but i see 0.92.99.7 only on Windows - I'm a mac user.

Oh, the navigation system for that is a mess, and I've been meaning to rework it.  Select an earlier version of OSX than the latest.  You should then see it.

Yep, I see it if I select as an OSX version 10.9.4 or lower... If I select 10.10 only 0.91.2 appears (?)

Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:24:14 PM
 #4350

That's not to say it couldn't be done on Linux or Mac ... but simply those weren't the target platforms.  And this is literally the most advanced malware on the planet, so we can hope that there's a high barrier to entry to replicate this on the other OS (as I write this, I realize there's no guarantee that they haven't already...)

The only "good" thing there is to say about this in connection with Armory is that these guys are professionals with huge budgets.  They are not going to expose themselves by stealing our meagre bitcoin stashes.  That gives us a short respite, at least until this malware leaks into the hands of the common criminals.  Who will probably mainly go after the home banking password. Smiley


Today's NSA malware is tomorrow's bitcoin thieves malware. That's a fact. We must be prepared for the worst (firmware level malware).

Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:39:29 PM
 #4351

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:53:16 PM
 #4352

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

Force the dbdir to something else

Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:58:59 PM
 #4353

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

Force the dbdir to something else

how do i do that?

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 05:31:30 PM
 #4354

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

Force the dbdir to something else

how do i do that?

--dbdir="*mynewpath*"

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 05:38:55 PM
 #4355

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

How did you delete the old DB?  Within Armory?  Or manually deleted the folder?  I just realized we probably haven't had much testing of the wipe-old-databases-and-rebuild process.  A log file through our support channel would be great.

@doug_armory:  can you test this in OSX?  Based on another report from earlier, this might be OSX-specific. 

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 05:42:47 PM
 #4356

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

How did you delete the old DB?  Within Armory?  Or manually deleted the folder?  I just realized we probably haven't had much testing of the wipe-old-databases-and-rebuild process.  A log file through our support channel would be great.

@doug_armory:  can you test this in OSX?  Based on another report from earlier, this might be OSX-specific. 

I deleted within armory - it asked me if i was not going to downgrade, i said no, so it deleted the db.

josephbisch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 20, 2015, 12:20:57 AM
 #4357

I see there is some work towards Python 3 support that has been started on some branches on GitHub. Is there an ETA or expected version number for Python 3 support?
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2015, 02:16:28 AM
 #4358

@doug_armory:  can you test this in OSX?  Based on another report from earlier, this might be OSX-specific.  

I've been working with goatpig on this one. Haven't figured it out just yet, although the crash is consistent. Trying to get more info.

I see there is some work towards Python 3 support that has been started on some branches on GitHub. Is there an ETA or expected version number for Python 3 support?

No ETA yet. Just experimenting for now, although the port was even faster than I anticipated. Smiley (BTW, it also upgrades to Qt 5.)

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2015, 04:16:45 PM
 #4359

Rampion, can you file a support ticket and include both your logs (armorylog.txt and armorycpplog.txt) and the stack trace that comes up when the code crashes?

In the meantime, can you try something for me? Can you create a directory called "ArmorySatoshiTest" and then run Armory from the command line? Use the following steps, with the assumption that the directory is on the desktop.

1)Open the terminal.
2)cd *Armory location*/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS
3)./Armory --satoshi-datadir="/Users/*your username*/Desktop/ArmorySatoshiTest"

This will cause the blockchain to be downloaded again. Sorry! We definitely need this step to troubleshoot what's going on, unfortunately.

Thanks!

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
MfJonesy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2015, 11:00:44 PM
 #4360


Have any of the developers looked at using qr codes to transfer the signed transactions? It seems this guy has done it already on Ubuntu...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlSC3mLjNSg
https://github.com/hank/armorycompanion-python

If only I was smart enough to do the same thing haha.
Pages: « 1 ... 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 [218] 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!