Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:57:57 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 [204] 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 482262 times)
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 05:23:46 PM
 #4061

This may be a slightly stupid question but given the ever expanding nature of the blockchain from its monthly growth when it started to it's monthly growth now. How long would one guess that a 500Gb drive would last for an online armory system that has nothing else on it but mbam & norton with Vista 32bit as an OS ?

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

1481299077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299077
Reply with quote  #2

1481299077
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481299077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299077
Reply with quote  #2

1481299077
Report to moderator
1481299077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481299077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481299077
Reply with quote  #2

1481299077
Report to moderator
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 05:38:24 PM
 #4062

This may be a slightly stupid question but given the ever expanding nature of the blockchain from its monthly growth when it started to it's monthly growth now. How long would one guess that a 500Gb drive would last for an online armory system that has nothing else on it but mbam & norton with Vista 32bit as an OS ?

The block size limit maxes out at about 300 GB per year.  So that's the worst that could happen, and we are at about 1/4 of that right now.

Also, please try the latest 0.92.1 which has a ton of OSX stability updates. OSX has never been friends with Armory, though we have a fulltime dev on OSX now so it is getting some constant attention.  0.92 is much better than 0.91 and he's found even more improvements for the next version.  I don't know if it solved your problems here, but it's generally a good upgrade for OSX users.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 05:47:57 PM
 #4063

So i can get a backup to save that gives the PublicX and PublicY private keys, but when i import either one for a specific address into block chain.info, the public key it imports isn't the same one the publicX and publicY keys correspond to on my Armory backup… any help?


When i make a backup of the private keys, it allows me to save in Address String, Hash160, Public Key(BE) formats….. but the one i want to save in is Base58.  The option to select Base58 isn't illuminated and won't let me click it… why? 

doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 07:07:19 PM
 #4064

0.92 is much better than 0.91 and he's found even more improvements for the next version.  I don't know if it solved your problems here, but it's generally a good upgrade for OSX users.

The next version with the new patches should be much better for everybody, especially those on Mavericks or Yosemite. Amongst other things, I discovered that App Nap (10.9+) was screwing with Armory. Once I disabled it, a lot of strange behavior went away. I'll re-enable it later if I can. For now, it just makes certain Armory functionality slow as molasses and doesn't seem to be worth any benefits it might've delivered.

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 07:33:30 PM
 #4065

so now I'm finding my main problem is when i try to export the private keys the Base58 button isn't illuminated. why?  how can i select it?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 07:37:57 PM
 #4066

so now I'm finding my main problem is when i try to export the private keys the Base58 button isn't illuminated. why?  how can i select it?

Are you using a watching-only wallet?  A WO wallet doesn't have private keys and will have that checkbox deactivated since it doesn't exist there.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
microcloudmining
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 08:17:38 PM
 #4067

How do I work coin control? is there an faq or documentation about that? I have Expert enabled but don't see it anywhere.

I am on mac - thx
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 08:35:59 PM
 #4068

How do I work coin control? is there an faq or documentation about that? I have Expert enabled but don't see it anywhere.

Once you go online, you should see it when you click the "Send Bitcoins" button.

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 09:06:31 PM
 #4069

so now I'm finding my main problem is when i try to export the private keys the Base58 button isn't illuminated. why?  how can i select it?

Are you using a watching-only wallet?  A WO wallet doesn't have private keys and will have that checkbox deactivated since it doesn't exist there.

Silly me, i was a WO wallet but i hadn't labeled it as such.  All good now, no errors
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
August 18, 2014, 08:30:15 AM
 #4070

About the new wallet format and Trezor:

Quote
What stick said is true, you can make multiple accounts inside one wallet (a different bip32 derivation path is used, for example account one is 44'0'0', account 2 is 44'0'1').

In addition a trezor can be made to hold any number of wallets by using different passphrases. The passphrase is simply added to the seed, that way you get a completely separate wallet for every distinct passphrase.
Quote
In more advanced setup, you can have multiple passphrases each giving you completely separate account address space with plausible deniability.
http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/2dqksb/electrum_trezor_one_happy_me/cjs5dd8

That's a really neat way.
As I understand it, I have one seed (BIP0039 mnemonic seed), and have several branches as an individual wallet each. And/or one seed with different passwords, which lead to different wallets.

Well, anyway, I need to secure one seed and some passwords :-)

Is it planned to have such a setup in the new wallet format?
Any news on Trezor integration?

As all of this looks now, I think I will scrap my raspberry-offline-armory-secureconnection project. All of what I planned would be possible with one online Armory, WO-wallets and a Trezor.

What do you guys think about the future of "real" offline Armorys? Any use any more, except for multisig/lockboxes?

Ente
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2014, 12:46:48 AM
 #4071

Ok, so I finally got the other laptop working that I wanted to turn in to an online system but am having something weird happen.

So I installed Core 0.9.1 with Armory 0.91.99.8

After both were done installing / not running I then click the Amory thing on the desktop (this is Vista 32bit BTW), and got this "error".

Quote
C:\Program Files\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe

The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more detail.

I thought this was because neither was launched after installing so I launched core which came up find, startted downloading the chain. So I then clicked the Armory thing on the desktop and go the same popup.

So... what did I do wrong here because I was told after installing both I can just start Armory and it will do its own files and torrent the core stuff at the same time or something.

Edit: I would add the only other thing on this system of a clean Vista install is MBAM. AFAIK, nothing about MBAM or the funky Vista security stuff if blocking it. As of this edit, the blockchain via core is still downloading. However, like I previously said, I was told I could install both core and armory then run armory which would initialize core but as I said, that didn't happen ;-/

Edit 2: Even updated Armory to 0.92.1 but same thing ;-/

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 03:10:45 PM
 #4072

in Armory's datadir, delete the databases folder

btcarmory.com
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2014, 05:21:28 PM
 #4073

in Armory's datadir, delete the databases folder
Cores now only ~40 weeks behind, will the chain from core being more than half done affect anything if I do that and then start Armory or at this point should I just let core finish and then do that folder delete / run Armory ?

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 06:25:16 PM
 #4074

in Armory's datadir, delete the databases folder
Cores now only ~40 weeks behind, will the chain from core being more than half done affect anything if I do that and then start Armory or at this point should I just let core finish and then do that folder delete / run Armory ?

Let Core finish first.

btcarmory.com
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2014, 06:30:19 PM
 #4075

in Armory's datadir, delete the databases folder
Cores now only ~40 weeks behind, will the chain from core being more than half done affect anything if I do that and then start Armory or at this point should I just let core finish and then do that folder delete / run Armory ?

Let Core finish first.
Thx for the help, now 37 weeks behind so sometime later tonight or tomorrow it should finish and then I can do the folder thing. Will post back here though after that.

I did notice in the Armor folder there's three shortcuts.

(Online) & (Offline) I suspect star the respective clients, but the main shortcut. I assume that's just another "online" shortcut ?

Also, what can I expect to happen when I delete hat folder and run Armory, assuming no more "errors" come up ?

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 08:08:09 PM
 #4076

You should have 3 shortcuts if I recall right: Armory Online, Offline and Testnet

As for the error: usually these types of crashes come from a corrupt DB. Deleting the databases folder let's Armory start fresh. For an easy way to determine the error is DB corruption, start Armory in offline mode. If it starts up successfully, then it's the DB, as offline Armory does not initialize the DB.

btcarmory.com
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2014, 08:21:46 PM
 #4077

You should have 3 shortcuts if I recall right: Armory Online, Offline and Testnet

As for the error: usually these types of crashes come from a corrupt DB. Deleting the databases folder let's Armory start fresh. For an easy way to determine the error is DB corruption, start Armory in offline mode. If it starts up successfully, then it's the DB, as offline Armory does not initialize the DB.
I ran both and am now getting the acceptance of terms screen so not sure where that error went but I clicked cancel since in your one reply you said to just let core finish which is now at 30 weeks behind.

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 08:34:48 PM
 #4078

You have to agree to the EULA before anything else runs. You can go past it in offline mode, but wait until Core is done syncing before trying in online mode.

btcarmory.com
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
August 19, 2014, 08:37:44 PM
 #4079

You have to agree to the EULA before anything else runs. You can go past it in offline mode, but wait until Core is done syncing before trying in online mode.
Will do, if I want to check out various settings in offline. Will those saved in offline be used in online ? Or are there different rule sets for the two "versions" ?

Ty.

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 10:42:50 PM
 #4080

You have to agree to the EULA before anything else runs. You can go past it in offline mode, but wait until Core is done syncing before trying in online mode.
Will do, if I want to check out various settings in offline. Will those saved in offline be used in online ? Or are there different rule sets for the two "versions" ?

Ty.

Settings only change going from mainnet to testnet.

btcarmory.com
Pages: « 1 ... 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 [204] 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!