Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 07:13:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 [220] 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 517742 times)
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:24:14 PM
 #4381

That's not to say it couldn't be done on Linux or Mac ... but simply those weren't the target platforms.  And this is literally the most advanced malware on the planet, so we can hope that there's a high barrier to entry to replicate this on the other OS (as I write this, I realize there's no guarantee that they haven't already...)

The only "good" thing there is to say about this in connection with Armory is that these guys are professionals with huge budgets.  They are not going to expose themselves by stealing our meagre bitcoin stashes.  That gives us a short respite, at least until this malware leaks into the hands of the common criminals.  Who will probably mainly go after the home banking password. Smiley


Today's NSA malware is tomorrow's bitcoin thieves malware. That's a fact. We must be prepared for the worst (firmware level malware).

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511550802
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511550802

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511550802
Reply with quote  #2

1511550802
Report to moderator
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:39:29 PM
 #4382

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:53:16 PM
 #4383

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

Force the dbdir to something else

Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:58:59 PM
 #4384

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

Force the dbdir to something else

how do i do that?

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 05:31:30 PM
 #4385

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

Force the dbdir to something else

how do i do that?

--dbdir="*mynewpath*"

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2015, 05:38:55 PM
 #4386

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

How did you delete the old DB?  Within Armory?  Or manually deleted the folder?  I just realized we probably haven't had much testing of the wipe-old-databases-and-rebuild process.  A log file through our support channel would be great.

@doug_armory:  can you test this in OSX?  Based on another report from earlier, this might be OSX-specific. 

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Rampion
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 05:42:47 PM
 #4387

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

How did you delete the old DB?  Within Armory?  Or manually deleted the folder?  I just realized we probably haven't had much testing of the wipe-old-databases-and-rebuild process.  A log file through our support channel would be great.

@doug_armory:  can you test this in OSX?  Based on another report from earlier, this might be OSX-specific. 

I deleted within armory - it asked me if i was not going to downgrade, i said no, so it deleted the db.

josephbisch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
February 20, 2015, 12:20:57 AM
 #4388

I see there is some work towards Python 3 support that has been started on some branches on GitHub. Is there an ETA or expected version number for Python 3 support?
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2015, 02:16:28 AM
 #4389

@doug_armory:  can you test this in OSX?  Based on another report from earlier, this might be OSX-specific.  

I've been working with goatpig on this one. Haven't figured it out just yet, although the crash is consistent. Trying to get more info.

I see there is some work towards Python 3 support that has been started on some branches on GitHub. Is there an ETA or expected version number for Python 3 support?

No ETA yet. Just experimenting for now, although the port was even faster than I anticipated. Smiley (BTW, it also upgrades to Qt 5.)

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2015, 04:16:45 PM
 #4390

Rampion, can you file a support ticket and include both your logs (armorylog.txt and armorycpplog.txt) and the stack trace that comes up when the code crashes?

In the meantime, can you try something for me? Can you create a directory called "ArmorySatoshiTest" and then run Armory from the command line? Use the following steps, with the assumption that the directory is on the desktop.

1)Open the terminal.
2)cd *Armory location*/Armory.app/Contents/MacOS
3)./Armory --satoshi-datadir="/Users/*your username*/Desktop/ArmorySatoshiTest"

This will cause the blockchain to be downloaded again. Sorry! We definitely need this step to troubleshoot what's going on, unfortunately.

Thanks!

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
MfJonesy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
February 20, 2015, 11:00:44 PM
 #4391


Have any of the developers looked at using qr codes to transfer the signed transactions? It seems this guy has done it already on Ubuntu...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlSC3mLjNSg
https://github.com/hank/armorycompanion-python

If only I was smart enough to do the same thing haha.
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2015, 05:37:05 AM
 #4392

Well, now I really screwed up. I updated to 0.92.99.7-testing, old database was deleted, and now armory keeps crashing as soon as it starts building databases, I tried like 6 times Sad

Can you try the final 0.93 release? A last-minute bug that primarily (but not exclusively) affected OSX was patched this afternoon. I'm reasonably certain it'll stop your crashes. If it doesn't, file a support ticket and send us traces and logs ASAP.

Thanks!

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
plethora
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85



View Profile
February 21, 2015, 08:18:19 PM
 #4393

Hey, the Changelog page is all empty :/
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2061



View Profile
February 21, 2015, 09:24:09 PM
 #4394


Have any of the developers looked at using qr codes to transfer the signed transactions? It seems this guy has done it already on Ubuntu...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlSC3mLjNSg
https://github.com/hank/armorycompanion-python

If only I was smart enough to do the same thing haha.

Technically, this is possible.
In some cases the data needed for signing is huge, up to megabytes. It would then be close to impossible to transfer via QR, and that user might be in serious trouble then. Like with many many inputs from mining, for example. Even with non-extreme but large transactions it would not be very practical.

There are several ideas how to do "airgapping" securely. How I understand it, we are waiting for addon-ability for Armory first, then these optional and sometimes controversial options would be possible.

Ente
Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2015, 09:32:32 PM
 #4395

Technically, this is possible.
In some cases the data needed for signing is huge, up to megabytes. It would then be close to impossible to transfer via QR, and that user might be in serious trouble then. Like with many many inputs from mining, for example. Even with non-extreme but large transactions it would not be very practical.

There are several ideas how to do "airgapping" securely. How I understand it, we are waiting for addon-ability for Armory first, then these optional and sometimes controversial options would be possible.

Ente

You are right but in most cases, this wouldn't be a problem. The Qr-code's size will increase, so you might need a an Android phone with a good camera.

I would like to see this.

   -MZ

cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
February 22, 2015, 03:58:13 AM
 #4396

getting dependency error not satifiable:  libstdc++6(>=4.7) in Ubuntu 12.04 32 bit on attempted install of 0.93

do we have to install 0.93 on both online and offline pc's?
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680

Armory Developer


View Profile
February 22, 2015, 04:03:18 AM
 #4397

getting dependency error not satifiable:  libstdc++6(>=4.7) in Ubuntu 12.04 32 bit on attempted install of 0.93

Note that 0.93 can't go online in x86. Also, it requires C++11 so you'll need a libstd that is recent enough. You can probably get that package from the LTS backports repo.

Quote
do we have to install 0.93 on both online and offline pc's?

Only the online machine

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2015, 04:23:50 AM
 #4398

getting dependency error not satifiable:  libstdc++6(>=4.7) in Ubuntu 12.04 32 bit on attempted install of 0.93

Note that 0.93 can't go online in x86. Also, it requires C++11 so you'll need a libstd that is recent enough. You can probably get that package from the LTS backports repo.

Quote
do we have to install 0.93 on both online and offline pc's?

Only the online machine

Ugh, I just realized I bet we broke the 12.04 offline bundle with this release.  I bet no one tested that... we really need to widen the testing net better.  In the future, we might offer quadruple bounties for the first bug found in each of a bunch of categories.  That would include testing the offline bundles, and lots of corner case features...

I might need to update the offline bundles and re-release 0.93...

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
February 22, 2015, 05:45:59 AM
 #4399

Technically, this is possible.
In some cases the data needed for signing is huge, up to megabytes. It would then be close to impossible to transfer via QR, and that user might be in serious trouble then. Like with many many inputs from mining, for example. Even with non-extreme but large transactions it would not be very practical.

There are several ideas how to do "airgapping" securely. How I understand it, we are waiting for addon-ability for Armory first, then these optional and sometimes controversial options would be possible.

Ente

You are right but in most cases, this wouldn't be a problem. The Qr-code's size will increase, so you might need a an Android phone with a good camera.

I would like to see this.

   -MZ

Biggest possible size (according to Denso spec) is 23,648 bits with version 40 (177x177). That's 4,296 alpha-numeric characters (according to Wikipedia)..

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2015, 06:39:24 AM
 #4400

Biggest possible size (according to Denso spec) is 23,648 bits with version 40 (177x177). That's 4,296 alpha-numeric characters (according to Wikipedia)..

Thanks for telling! I found a page with full possible sizes and bits. If anyone is interested, http://blog.qr4.nl/page/QR-Code-Data-Capacity.aspx.

   -MZ

Pages: « 1 ... 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 [220] 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!