Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2019, 01:47:36 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 [183] 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 520975 times)
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1000

CryptoTalk.Org - Get Paid for every Post!


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 12:29:38 AM
 #3641

Hi there,

I tried to perform a search for this, but didn't get any straight answers.  Can you launch/run Armory and also have it function as a full bitcoin node?  If this isn't possible...I think it should be.

Thanks,

Quantum

Armory, requires a full node, so technically you are running a full node, but armory itself is not a full node.

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.

       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
.CryptoTalk.org.|.MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!.🏆
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1576460856
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1576460856

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1576460856
Reply with quote  #2

1576460856
Report to moderator
1576460856
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1576460856

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1576460856
Reply with quote  #2

1576460856
Report to moderator
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394
Merit: 1133

Armory Developer


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 01:44:17 AM
 #3642

Hi,

1) Which is the recommend version for setting up a new (offline) wallet?
0.91.2 for creating & broadcasting and 0.90 for the offline one? I am afraid of the recent bugs.

2) I don't want to transfer the created & signed transactions by usb (ultra paranoid Wink). After I move the armory offline bundle to the offline machine and back upped the wallet I never want to have a cd/usb stick in the offline computer again.How large is the average transaction and how long do you think will it take to type it by hand? if it can be done in 10minutes I am totally okay with that.

3) Is the torrent blockchain downloader included in all new armory versions (linux, windows, mac os)? I am not sure if it works on Mac OS. I started Armory, than bitcoin-qt. As far I can tell it does download the blockchain only with bitcoin-qt.

Thanks!

1) For now old versions, even 0.8x can run as an offline signer. We highly recommend upgrading to 0.91.2, for the added security of the wallet sanity check on each run. Eventually, when we put out the multisig version, you'll have to upgrade, as the transaction distribution format has changed to accomodate for multisig. With 0.92, we'll ship the new wallet format, so then you'll have to upgrade to create the new wallets.

2) A single in with 2 outs (spend + change) is something like 65 bytes for the uncompressed the public key, 65 for the sig, about 25 bytes per outputs so give and take 180 bytes. At 2 characters per bytes (hex encoded) you should be able to do it under 10 minutes. There no signature on the way in of course, so that gives you an idea. Make sure to thouroughly verify the spend and change addresses. After 0.92, I should have enough time to finally complete the audio data channel.

3) Last time I checked, it doesnt work with OSX. Granted Im not sure how that part is evolving, ask Doug directly about that part.

Hi there,

I tried to perform a search for this, but didn't get any straight answers.  Can you launch/run Armory and also have it function as a full bitcoin node?  If this isn't possible...I think it should be.

Thanks,

Quantum

There currently isnt a version of online Armory that doesnt require a full bitcoin node in the background. We will come up with a lite node eventually, but also a supernode.

QuantumQrack
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 01:45:54 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2014, 04:17:24 AM by QuantumQrack
 #3643

Thanks for the replies.  Looks like Armory runs as a full node just fine.  Go to command prompt, navigate to your directory that contains bitcoind.exe:  bitcoind getinfo

Result is 10 connections so far.  I guess when I say full node, I am meaning a full validating node, which is what I want.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 02:30:49 PM
 #3644

Can Armory made to run portable? I know it needs bitcoind to load the blockchain. I have a portable version of bitcoind running. So i should get a connection somehow.

And can i run armory portable and without bitcoind once the blockchain is loaded? Or is bitcoind needed all the time? It sounds a bit risky to use armory then when bitcoind has to run all the time anyway. I mean if i have to use bitcoind anyway it would only add another layer of insecurity to add another software to it. I guess it would be easier then to use bitcoind when i have the disadvantages of bitcoind anyway.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 03:58:01 PM
 #3645

3) Is the torrent blockchain downloader included in all new armory versions (linux, windows, mac os)? I am not sure if it works on Mac OS. I started Armory, than bitcoin-qt. As far I can tell it does download the blockchain only with bitcoin-qt.

Yes, the torrent code doesn't work under OS X. I'll see if something can be worked out. The torrents really do speed things up.

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
Delivereath
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 08:33:59 PM
 #3646

My armory/bitcoin setup is really using a lot of disk space (more than 40GB at the moment). Does armory use a copy of the complete blockchain ?

I would like to store the blockchain on a network drive. I was able to do it for bitcoin core by adding the -datadir option. Can we do the same for armory but keep the wallets local ?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 09:10:29 PM
 #3647

My armory/bitcoin setup is really using a lot of disk space (more than 40GB at the moment). Does armory use a copy of the complete blockchain ?

I would like to store the blockchain on a network drive. I was able to do it for bitcoin core by adding the -datadir option. Can we do the same for armory but keep the wallets local ?

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe" --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --dbdir=F:\Armory

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
May 17, 2014, 04:50:35 AM
 #3648

My armory/bitcoin setup is really using a lot of disk space (more than 40GB at the moment). Does armory use a copy of the complete blockchain ?

I would like to store the blockchain on a network drive. I was able to do it for bitcoin core by adding the -datadir option. Can we do the same for armory but keep the wallets local ?

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe" --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --dbdir=F:\Armory

I'm using --datadir instead of --dbdir. Datadir has database+wallet while dbdir only has the database, but the wallets are in the default folder?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2014, 05:50:49 AM
 #3649

My armory/bitcoin setup is really using a lot of disk space (more than 40GB at the moment). Does armory use a copy of the complete blockchain ?

I would like to store the blockchain on a network drive. I was able to do it for bitcoin core by adding the -datadir option. Can we do the same for armory but keep the wallets local ?

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe" --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --dbdir=F:\Armory

I'm using --datadir instead of --dbdir. Datadir has database+wallet while dbdir only has the database, but the wallets are in the default folder?

I thought you wanted to keep the wallet files

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Corelianer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 17, 2014, 10:54:03 AM
 #3650

Exchange rates

It would be very good if we could have the Exchange rates in Armory.

So that I can see my walled displaying in my local currency.
I always have to convert my assets twice from BTC->USD->CHF. And then back CHF-->USD-> BTC.

That would really increase the user-friendlyness.
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 01:51:32 PM
 #3651

My armory/bitcoin setup is really using a lot of disk space (more than 40GB at the moment). Does armory use a copy of the complete blockchain ?

I would like to store the blockchain on a network drive. I was able to do it for bitcoin core by adding the -datadir option. Can we do the same for armory but keep the wallets local ?

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe" --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --dbdir=F:\Armory

I'm using --datadir instead of --dbdir. Datadir has database+wallet while dbdir only has the database, but the wallets are in the default folder?

I thought you wanted to keep the wallet files

I just wanted to be sure that I understand both command arguments and it seems that I was right. I want a custom location for the wallet files so that's why I'm using datadir.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
segeln
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 03:54:09 PM
 #3652

Exchange rates

It would be very good if we could have the Exchange rates in Armory.

So that I can see my walled displaying in my local currency.
I always have to convert my assets twice from BTC->USD->CHF. And then back CHF-->USD-> BTC.

That would really increase the user-friendlyness.
+1
same wish
milkshoe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2014, 03:44:20 PM
 #3653

3) Is the torrent blockchain downloader included in all new armory versions (linux, windows, mac os)? I am not sure if it works on Mac OS. I started Armory, than bitcoin-qt. As far I can tell it does download the blockchain only with bitcoin-qt.

Yes, the torrent code doesn't work under OS X. I'll see if something can be worked out. The torrents really do speed things up.

1) Thank you very much! I really need this under OS X :/ Do I have to wait for the next version or will there be a work around?

2) Is it equally safe to use qr codes instead of typing the transaction signing data with my keyboard into the offline computer? Are there any good linux qr code generators that can create codes from a file?
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2014, 06:28:56 PM
 #3654

3) Is the torrent blockchain downloader included in all new armory versions (linux, windows, mac os)? I am not sure if it works on Mac OS. I started Armory, than bitcoin-qt. As far I can tell it does download the blockchain only with bitcoin-qt.

Yes, the torrent code doesn't work under OS X. I'll see if something can be worked out. The torrents really do speed things up.

1) Thank you very much! I really need this under OS X :/ Do I have to wait for the next version or will there be a work around?

2) Is it equally safe to use qr codes instead of typing the transaction signing data with my keyboard into the offline computer? Are there any good linux qr code generators that can create codes from a file?

1)I'm not exactly sure of the plans for this at the moment. If nothing else, I believe the core devs have a plan to speed up downloads in a future version of BC Core, hopefully sometime this fall. In the meantime, I'll see what I can do to speed this up. You can also, if you wish, do a bit of manual work and download a bootstrap torrent. Directions can be found here. It's better than nothing, especially since the latest file is missing only about a month's worth of blocks.

2)I'm sure it's safe. I really don't use QR codes on my desktop, though, so I can't help. Sorry!

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 07:44:48 AM
Last edit: May 21, 2014, 08:35:48 AM by Ente
 #3655

Good morning!

Quote
I had Armory segfault problems, it works now after a 'git pull'.
Now it says one of my wallets are corrupt, but the "repair tool" is grayed out here. Suggestions?
It is still scanning the tx history for another 15 mins, so I can't say if the balance is as I expect.

Now, after a restart(?), the wallet fix tool opens.
Somewhere it says that you don't have to enter the passphrase for wallet fixing, but then it fails to run the fix tool.
When entering the passphrase, it works, until it hangs at "18 of 107 address entries". After that, I have to forcibly end Armory.

Is this of any interest? Or shall I just grab a backup and forget about this?

Ente
QuantumQrack
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 02:44:46 AM
 #3656

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2014, 01:41:58 PM
 #3657

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?

I dont know a way directly but you might use a truecrypt file container. It has plausible deniability too. Make sure to backup the file container, for example to external harddiscs. And you might have lie the file container in google drive dir on your pc. That way your wallet is backed up in he cloud too in case you lose pc and backups.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
May 22, 2014, 01:52:08 PM
 #3658

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?

I dont know a way directly but you might use a truecrypt file container. It has plausible deniability too. Make sure to backup the file container, for example to external harddiscs. And you might have lie the file container in google drive dir on your pc. That way your wallet is backed up in he cloud too in case you lose pc and backups.

I like your thinking, Sebastian!
Create a tiny 10mb container file, and have an almost empty wallet as a decoy in the "outer" part, and the real wallet in the "inner" part! This helps against a rubberhose-attack in most cases.
And yes, those will come eventually.

Ente
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450
Merit: 1043


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2014, 02:23:29 PM
Last edit: May 22, 2014, 03:10:40 PM by SebastianJu
 #3659

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?

I dont know a way directly but you might use a truecrypt file container. It has plausible deniability too. Make sure to backup the file container, for example to external harddiscs. And you might have lie the file container in google drive dir on your pc. That way your wallet is backed up in he cloud too in case you lose pc and backups.

I like your thinking, Sebastian!
Create a tiny 10mb container file, and have an almost empty wallet as a decoy in the "outer" part, and the real wallet in the "inner" part! This helps against a rubberhose-attack in most cases.
And yes, those will come eventually.

Ente

Though the decoy wallet should be used ocassionally and contain something to make it valid for viewers. And of course you dont forget the password you should give in the case of threats. Best thing would be to use the decoy wallet as your real wallet for everyday things but the hidden wallet for the bigger savings. That would look most natural i guess. Theoretically...

But its important to not lose the passwords... worst case would be you lose your memory and you dont know you have bitcoins and whats the passwords.

And yes... bitcoin in itself serves a threat to its owners. Having your money at the bank is somewhat safer than having it protected by a password only. Bank robbers get a couple thousands if lucky. But bitcoiners can lose everything with a single password stolen, threatened out or forgotten. Not to speak about having no backups. So its wise to think about every possibility...

Edit: Of course armory and bitcoinqt needs to be portable. Otherwise important data is on drive c somewhere... Im trying to find out to how to do it with the flags at startup. bitcoinqt is already portable... now armory is left.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 04:07:13 PM
 #3660

Is there a way to require a password on Armory start?  What if somebody gains access to my computer, opens Armory, and can see all my transactions and also the notes that I have entered to go along with those transactions?

You can require a password to login to your computer (and encrypt your home directory if you want)

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
Pages: « 1 ... 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 [183] 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!