Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2017, 08:48:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 [183] 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 504823 times)
plethora
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
May 05, 2014, 06:56:22 PM
 #3641

Caution: When copying and pasting the command line arguments from Troubleshooting Bitcoin Armory into your shortcut to launch Armory, the quotes are not actual characters recognized by Windows resulting in the path not being respected.
Quote
To move BOTH Bitcoin Core AND Armory home dir:

            Complete both steps above but instead, modify Armory Shortcut by adding: --satoshi-datadir=“F:\Bitcoin\new\home\dir” --datadir=“F:\Armory\new\home\dir”
Notice the “ and ” instead of ".
1500670084
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500670084

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500670084
Reply with quote  #2

1500670084
Report to moderator
1500670084
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500670084

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500670084
Reply with quote  #2

1500670084
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
May 06, 2014, 10:37:59 PM
 #3642

I have a feature request, that's kind of a thought-in-progress...

The other day I fired up Armory on my laptop while I was at work because I needed to transfer a small quantity of coins from my online Armory wallet to my Bitcoin Core wallet.  (I normally use Bitcoin Core for day to day purchases, but by balance was a little low.)  But I was conscious that anyone who happened to walk past and see my screen (and knew what they were looking at) would also know exactly how much I had in cold storage.

I'm not sure what UI change I'm really asking for here - maybe a preference that hides balances when the client is launched (and allows an individual wallet balance to still be viewed by means of a UI action)?

It's true that my bank's Internet banking has the same problem - launching it would reveal the balance of my current account (checking account), credit card account, and savings account.   The difference, of course, is that I can make payments from the first two just by typing my debit or credit card number into a merchant's web site, so the privacy issue never arises in normal use...

Thoughts, anyone?



CircusPeanut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
May 06, 2014, 10:42:23 PM
 #3643

I have a feature request, that's kind of a thought-in-progress...
...

I'm not sure what UI change I'm really asking for here - maybe a preference that hides balances when the client is launched (and allows an individual wallet balance to still be viewed by means of a UI action)?
...
Thoughts, anyone?

You could drag the right edge of the Armory window to the left until the balance column is obscured.
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
May 06, 2014, 10:53:27 PM
 #3644

I have a feature request, that's kind of a thought-in-progress...
...

I'm not sure what UI change I'm really asking for here - maybe a preference that hides balances when the client is launched (and allows an individual wallet balance to still be viewed by means of a UI action)?
...
Thoughts, anyone?

You could drag the right edge of the Armory window to the left until the balance column is obscured.

Ah, so the long delay before Armory displays the balances is actually a feature, to give me time to do this....   That works Smiley

EDIT: Actually, that doesn't help if I actually do want to check the balance of the wallet I'm paying with - without revealing the balance of any other wallet(s)
CircusPeanut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
May 06, 2014, 11:12:56 PM
 #3645

Ah, so the long delay before Armory displays the balances is actually a feature, to give me time to do this....   That works Smiley

There actually is a reason for the delay. Armory only shows balances after it has synced with the top block. Seeing that balance tells the user that it is now available for creating transactions. Armory really cannot allow users to create transactions unless it is fully synced. Not everything in Armory is as efficient as possible, but some things necessarily take time.

EDIT: Actually, that doesn't help if I actually do want to check the balance of the wallet I'm paying with - without revealing the balance of any other wallet(s)

So you would want to hide the balances per wallet. I think that's a great idea. Perhaps we can hide the balance of specified wallets and only show it in hover text.
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
May 06, 2014, 11:30:51 PM
 #3646

So you would want to hide the balances per wallet. I think that's a great idea. Perhaps we can hide the balance of specified wallets and only show it in hover text.

Yes, I think so - although then I don't know what you would do with the totals.  As I said, it's still a bit of a thought-in-progress.

roy
kittucrypt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236

Ok Check!


View Profile
May 07, 2014, 02:32:19 PM
 #3647

Is it possible to export a private key out of Armory, such that it can be used to sign transactions on some other platform or with outside code/script?

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554

Armory Developer


View Profile
May 07, 2014, 08:00:50 PM
 #3648

So you would want to hide the balances per wallet. I think that's a great idea. Perhaps we can hide the balance of specified wallets and only show it in hover text.

Yes, I think so - although then I don't know what you would do with the totals.  As I said, it's still a bit of a thought-in-progress.

roy

For now you could flag other loaded wallets as not yours then choose to only display the ones you marked as owned. Not very convenient but can get things done while we implement something better

Is it possible to export a private key out of Armory, such that it can be used to sign transactions on some other platform or with outside code/script?

Start Armory in Expert mode, go to your wallet's properties window, choose 'Backup This Wallet' from the right panel options then pick the 'Export Key List' option.

K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


/dev/null


View Profile
May 09, 2014, 02:06:12 PM
 #3649

@etotheipi / dev-team

In the wallet properties view, there is a button named "Remove Imported Address".
It wants me to select which address to remove, tough im unsure which i imported.
As the wallet is deterministic, its possible to find out which addresses are imported. Is there a way to display said addresses?

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2014, 02:11:51 PM
 #3650

@etotheipi / dev-team

In the wallet properties view, there is a button named "Remove Imported Address".
It wants me to select which address to remove, tough im unsure which i imported.
As the wallet is deterministic, its possible to find out which addresses are imported. Is there a way to display said addresses?

I don't know if you tried but it will fail if the address wasn't really imported

Also they're clearly labeled http://i.imgur.com/E2sMkoP.jpg

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


/dev/null


View Profile
May 09, 2014, 02:17:20 PM
 #3651

@etotheipi / dev-team

In the wallet properties view, there is a button named "Remove Imported Address".
It wants me to select which address to remove, tough im unsure which i imported.
As the wallet is deterministic, its possible to find out which addresses are imported. Is there a way to display said addresses?

I don't know if you tried but it will fail if the address wasn't really imported

Seems the wallet i was checking had no imported keys.
Another one has. Seems the feature i asked for already exists.

In the Wallet Properties, the first cell (#) will show Imported instead of the N'th seeded address

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2014, 02:18:00 PM
 #3652

@etotheipi / dev-team

In the wallet properties view, there is a button named "Remove Imported Address".
It wants me to select which address to remove, tough im unsure which i imported.
As the wallet is deterministic, its possible to find out which addresses are imported. Is there a way to display said addresses?

I don't know if you tried but it will fail if the address wasn't really imported

Seems the wallet i was checking had no imported keys.
Another one has. Seems the feature i asked for already exists.

In the Wallet Properties, the first cell (#) will show Imported instead of the N'th seeded address

Yup just tested it http://i.imgur.com/E2sMkoP.jpg

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2014, 04:45:27 PM
 #3653



Simulfunding Now Implemented!

Updated the top post in the multisig thread:  we have been able to remove most of the limitations of the lockboxes, and now even have a clunky-but-usable simulfunding interface:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=559776.0

The whole multisig section of the "devel" branch is extremely usable right now.  It now does P2SH for everything by default (but you can optionally use bare multisig), it handles signature merging, and now allows for multi-party simultaneous funding of lockboxes (and should be easy to expand for general-purpose, manual CoinJoin).

If you are already familiar with things like buyer-seller escrow, I'm hoping that the simulfunding stuff will be somewhat straighforward (despite there being lots of steps and moving things around) -- it's a complex process, but I think I've made it about as easy as possible for a totally decentralized app.  Besides cleaning up a bunch of things, I will work on documenting how to use the interface, and the things that can be done with it.

I think I will merge all the steps/options into a single "dashboard" which sorts everything by "organizer" and "participants".  It will show something like:

  • Create Lockbox:
    • Organizer: Collect Keys
    • Participants:  Provide Pub Key
  • Deposit (regular):  Send Funds
  • Deposit (simulfund):
    • Organizer:  Merge Notes
    • Participants:  Create Promissory Note
    • Participants: Review and Sign
  • Spend:   
    • Organizer: Create Proposed Spend
    • Participants: Review and Sign

    (Not sure what's up with the table formatting, but you should get the idea...)

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 11:24:21 AM
 #3654

Hi there!

After making some test with 100.000 addresses in Wallet, we have a problem signing the Tx's on offline server.
It takes several minutes to sign, I tried some tweaks on unlock method (just taking the addrObj which I need, and not all of the 100.000 addresses to unlock)
But later on self.wallet.signTxDistProposal(txdp) it stucks.

Before stuggling into modifying more code, wanted to ask if someone of armory see some
fast way to sign a TX in a hugh big wallet?

Best regards!
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2014, 03:22:33 PM
 #3655

Hi there!

After making some test with 100.000 addresses in Wallet, we have a problem signing the Tx's on offline server.
It takes several minutes to sign, I tried some tweaks on unlock method (just taking the addrObj which I need, and not all of the 100.000 addresses to unlock)
But later on self.wallet.signTxDistProposal(txdp) it stucks.

Before stuggling into modifying more code, wanted to ask if someone of armory see some
fast way to sign a TX in a hugh big wallet?

Best regards!

I'm fairly certain that this can be done without unlocking the entire wallet (which checks the validity of each key).  In fact, I was pretty sure we had done this already, but perhaps not.  Or maybe it wasn't sent to armoryd (isn't that what you're using?)

The problem might be that the wallet relocks itself after 10 sec and you are not getting to the signing before then.  So you have re-unlock it by the time you get to the signing procedure (and make sure you only unlock the specific keys you need, again.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 03:25:34 PM
 #3656

Yes -> armoryd

what do you mean with re-unlock it?
just setting: self.wallet.isLocked = False ?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2014, 03:29:04 PM
 #3657

Yes -> armoryd

what do you mean with re-unlock it?
just setting: self.wallet.isLocked = False ?

You call self.wallet.unlock() to unlock hte wallet to make the keys available for signing.  If you don't do this immediately before signing, it could relock itself before you attempt to sign (it's like 5 or 10 sec timeout).

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 03:31:10 PM
 #3658

yeah but the entire unlock just takes to long, it takes all the addresses from wallet -> not just the implicated tx addresses:
Code:
for addrObj in (sorted(self.addrMap.values(),
                             key=operator.attrgetter('chainIndex'))):
         Progress(naddress, addrCount)
         naddress = naddress +1
         
         needToSaveAddrAfterUnlock = addrObj.createPrivKeyNextUnlock
         if needToSaveAddrAfterUnlock and addrObjPrev is not None:
               ChainDepth = addrObj.chainIndex - addrObjPrev.chainIndex

               if ChainDepth > 0 and addrObjPrev.chainIndex > -1:
                  addrObj.createPrivKeyNextUnlock_IVandKey[0] = \
                                             addrObjPrev.binInitVect16.copy()
                  addrObj.createPrivKeyNextUnlock_IVandKey[1] = \
                                          addrObjPrev.binPrivKey32_Encr.copy()

                  addrObj.createPrivKeyNextUnlock_ChainDepth  = ChainDepth

         addrObj.unlock(self.kdfKey)
         if addrObj.chainIndex > -1: addrObjPrev = addrObj

         if needToSaveAddrAfterUnlock:
            updateLoc = addrObj.walletByteLoc
            self.walletFileSafeUpdate( [[WLT_UPDATE_MODIFY,
                                         addrObj.walletByteLoc,
                                         addrObj.serialize()]])

      self.isLocked = False
      LOGDEBUG('Unlock succeeded: %s', self.uniqueIDB58)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 03:33:08 PM
 #3659

in the signtx function there the unlock function are threaded seperatly as follows (just unlocking needed addresses):
Code:
numInputs = len(txdp.pytxObj.inputs)
      wltAddr = []
      for index,txin in enumerate(txdp.pytxObj.inputs):
         scrType = txdp.scriptTypes[index]
         if scrType in CPP_TXOUT_STDSINGLESIG:
            scrAddr = txdp.inScrAddrList[index]
            addr160 = scrAddr[1:]
            if self.hasAddr(addr160) and self.addrMap[addr160].hasPrivKey():
               wltAddr.append( (self.addrMap[addr160], index, 0))
milkshoe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 13, 2014, 08:39:56 AM
 #3660

Hi,

1) Which is the recommend version for setting up a new (offline) wallet?
0.91.2 for creating & broadcasting and 0.90 for the offline one? I am afraid of the recent bugs.

2) I don't want to transfer the created & signed transactions by usb (ultra paranoid Wink). After I move the armory offline bundle to the offline machine and back upped the wallet I never want to have a cd/usb stick in the offline computer again.How large is the average transaction and how long do you think will it take to type it by hand? if it can be done in 10minutes I am totally okay with that.

3) Is the torrent blockchain downloader included in all new armory versions (linux, windows, mac os)? I am not sure if it works on Mac OS. I started Armory, than bitcoin-qt. As far I can tell it does download the blockchain only with bitcoin-qt.

Thanks!
Pages: « 1 ... 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 [183] 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!