Bitcoin Forum
January 26, 2021, 03:48:18 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 [215] 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 521359 times)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 03:07:45 AM
 #4281

I recently updated my online machine to 0.92.3 and was wondering if there is any need, or there will ever be a need to update the software on my offline computer.  I believe I'm running 0.90 on that one.
In the same vein, is there any reason for me to worry that my hard copies wouldn't work in the future?  Say I put them in a safe deposit box and then died.  Would my kids be able to use the same codes to recover my bitcoins in Armory 16.8.0 in 15 years?

It should always be backwards compatible but you should keep the old installers saved. But it's open source, anyone can make a tool to parse.

Now your offline must be updated I think after .90.1

Thanks for the quick response.  So my paper backups should be good forever but keep old versions of the software just in case.  Cool.
I just checked and I'm running 0.90-beta on my offline computer.  You're saying I should be at version 0.90.1 or higher for compatibility?
Is this something that will need to be continually updated or it's due to a one time change?

Well the offline transfer protocol changed that's why it's needed. It was changed to add support for mutli sig. It shouldn't happen too often. You'll get a notification when you try to do an offline transaction. Try it without actually broadcasting.

1611632898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611632898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611632898
Reply with quote  #2

1611632898
Report to moderator
1611632898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611632898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611632898
Reply with quote  #2

1611632898
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1611632898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611632898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611632898
Reply with quote  #2

1611632898
Report to moderator
1611632898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611632898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611632898
Reply with quote  #2

1611632898
Report to moderator
1611632898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611632898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611632898
Reply with quote  #2

1611632898
Report to moderator
btc123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 03:20:39 AM
 #4282

I recently updated my online machine to 0.92.3 and was wondering if there is any need, or there will ever be a need to update the software on my offline computer.  I believe I'm running 0.90 on that one.
In the same vein, is there any reason for me to worry that my hard copies wouldn't work in the future?  Say I put them in a safe deposit box and then died.  Would my kids be able to use the same codes to recover my bitcoins in Armory 16.8.0 in 15 years?

It should always be backwards compatible but you should keep the old installers saved. But it's open source, anyone can make a tool to parse.

Now your offline must be updated I think after .90.1

Thanks for the quick response.  So my paper backups should be good forever but keep old versions of the software just in case.  Cool.
I just checked and I'm running 0.90-beta on my offline computer.  You're saying I should be at version 0.90.1 or higher for compatibility?
Is this something that will need to be continually updated or it's due to a one time change?

Well the offline transfer protocol changed that's why it's needed. It was changed to add support for mutli sig. It shouldn't happen too often. You'll get a notification when you try to do an offline transaction. Try it without actually broadcasting.

Cool thanks.  I'm now stuck in dependency hell as my offline computer doesn't have the necessary versions of the libraries necessary and isn't connected to the internet.  I seem to remember going through this last time.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 03:21:34 AM
 #4283

I recently updated my online machine to 0.92.3 and was wondering if there is any need, or there will ever be a need to update the software on my offline computer.  I believe I'm running 0.90 on that one.
In the same vein, is there any reason for me to worry that my hard copies wouldn't work in the future?  Say I put them in a safe deposit box and then died.  Would my kids be able to use the same codes to recover my bitcoins in Armory 16.8.0 in 15 years?

It should always be backwards compatible but you should keep the old installers saved. But it's open source, anyone can make a tool to parse.

Now your offline must be updated I think after .90.1

Thanks for the quick response.  So my paper backups should be good forever but keep old versions of the software just in case.  Cool.
I just checked and I'm running 0.90-beta on my offline computer.  You're saying I should be at version 0.90.1 or higher for compatibility?
Is this something that will need to be continually updated or it's due to a one time change?

Well the offline transfer protocol changed that's why it's needed. It was changed to add support for mutli sig. It shouldn't happen too often. You'll get a notification when you try to do an offline transaction. Try it without actually broadcasting.

OK thanks.  I'm now stuck in dependency hell as my offline computer doesn't have the necessary versions of the libraries necessary and isn't connected to the internet.  I seem to remember going through this last time.


Crap yeah you need to update to do transactions. But no rush unless you need to send.

btc123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 03:32:04 AM
 #4284

I recently updated my online machine to 0.92.3 and was wondering if there is any need, or there will ever be a need to update the software on my offline computer.  I believe I'm running 0.90 on that one.
In the same vein, is there any reason for me to worry that my hard copies wouldn't work in the future?  Say I put them in a safe deposit box and then died.  Would my kids be able to use the same codes to recover my bitcoins in Armory 16.8.0 in 15 years?

It should always be backwards compatible but you should keep the old installers saved. But it's open source, anyone can make a tool to parse.

Now your offline must be updated I think after .90.1

Thanks for the quick response.  So my paper backups should be good forever but keep old versions of the software just in case.  Cool.
I just checked and I'm running 0.90-beta on my offline computer.  You're saying I should be at version 0.90.1 or higher for compatibility?
Is this something that will need to be continually updated or it's due to a one time change?

Well the offline transfer protocol changed that's why it's needed. It was changed to add support for mutli sig. It shouldn't happen too often. You'll get a notification when you try to do an offline transaction. Try it without actually broadcasting.

OK thanks.  I'm now stuck in dependency hell as my offline computer doesn't have the necessary versions of the libraries necessary and isn't connected to the internet.  I seem to remember going through this last time.


Crap yeah you need to update to do transactions. But no rush unless you need to send.

Yeah no need to send anything from here.  I'll just go through the motions and not have to worry about it again for awhile.
btc123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 04:27:23 AM
Last edit: December 22, 2014, 05:54:39 AM by btc123
 #4285

I got it working finally.  Thanks for your help bitpop.

FYI 0.92 is the necessary version required.
Quote
Since Armory version 0.92 the formats for offline transaction operations has changed to accommodate multi-signature transactions.  This format is not compatible with versions of Armory before 0.92.

If anybody else running Ubuntu 12.04 is in the same boat, here's where I found all of my dependencies.
https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/qt4-x11/4:4.8.1-0ubuntu4.8/+build/5933354
aks174
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 07:41:04 AM
 #4286


Armory doubles the Bitcoin data use.

Dear bitpop,
I fulfilled your instructions.
Please tell me why Armory triple the volume of data for me?
http://ia116.mycdn.me/image?t=3&bid=666095064712&id=666095064712&plc=WEB&tkn=NRsOLgxWVIMNbInYbnT3AuHyHDM
Where I made a mistake?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 07:44:30 AM
 #4287

Disable torrent download in armory then delete bootstrap.dat

aks174
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 07:49:34 AM
 #4288

Disable torrent download in armory then delete bootstrap.dat

Excuse me please, but I do not understand why I need to remove bootstrap.dat
 Armory pumped bootstrap.dat all night?

Do You have a view of not bootstrap.dat but bootstrap.dat.part?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 07:51:01 AM
 #4289

Disable torrent download in armory then delete bootstrap.dat

Excuse me please, but I do not understand why I need to remove bootstrap.dat
 Armory pumped bootstrap.dat all night?

It shouldn't have downloaded it since you already have Bitcoin Blockchain correct?

aks174
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 07:54:04 AM
Last edit: December 22, 2014, 08:08:15 AM by aks174
 #4290

Disable torrent download in armory then delete bootstrap.dat

Excuse me please, but I do not understand why I need to remove bootstrap.dat
 Armory pumped bootstrap.dat all night?

It shouldn't have downloaded it since you already have Bitcoin Blockchain correct?

It's hard to answer your question, because I am a novice user and I do not understand well enough what and why Armory downloads.

I dragged a folder databases manually from drive C: to drive I: .
because I have understood these instructions so.  https://bitcoinarmory.com/troubleshooting/#q5

because I did not want to Armory downloaded chain blocks again. However Armory uploaded chain again (I think) and tripled the volume of data. Please tell me what do I remove the extra data?
Thanks in advance.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 08:06:57 AM
 #4291

Disable torrent download in armory then delete bootstrap.dat

aks174
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 08:10:05 AM
 #4292

Disable torrent download in armory then delete bootstrap.dat

Do You mean bootstrap.dat.partial 22.8Gb?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 08:15:47 AM
 #4293

Disable torrent download in armory then delete bootstrap.dat

Do You mean bootstrap.dat.partial 22.8Gb?

Yes please set like this https://i.imgur.com/UNWmmnx.jpg
Start Bitcoin manually, did you create  a shortcut for the new path? Then start armory.

Bitcoin shortcut C:\Users\Bitpop\Desktop\bitcoin-0.9.3-win\64\bitcoin-qt.exe -datadir=F:\Bitcoin

Armory shortcut "C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe" --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --datadir=F:\Armory --dbdir=F:\Armory

aks174
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 08:22:02 AM
 #4294

Disable torrent download in armory then delete bootstrap.dat

Do You mean bootstrap.dat.partial 22.8Gb?

Yes please set like this https://i.imgur.com/UNWmmnx.jpg
Start Bitcoin manually, did you create  a shortcut for the new path? Then start armory.

http://ia116.mycdn.me/image?t=3&bid=666095650696&id=666095650696&plc=WEB&tkn=vEI_Nq_E-wSZezY9OpVvM9bwPlE

http://ia116.mycdn.me/image?t=3&bid=666095749512&id=666095749512&plc=WEB&tkn=qoWV1W-ziX-83ovpq3WWssb3_ls
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 08:23:20 AM
 #4295

You need 3

 --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --datadir=F:\Armory --dbdir=F:\Armory

Get rid of roaming, just put into \Armory

Yes delete that file

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 08:29:07 AM
 #4296

No your settings are wrong. Use mine

Yes please set like this https://i.imgur.com/UNWmmnx.jpg
Start Bitcoin manually, did you create  a shortcut for the new path? Then start armory.

Bitcoin shortcut C:\Users\Bitpop\Desktop\bitcoin-0.9.3-win\64\bitcoin-qt.exe -datadir=F:\Bitcoin

Armory shortcut "C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe" --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --datadir=F:\Armory --dbdir=F:\Armory

aks174
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 08:52:59 AM
 #4297

No your settings are wrong. Use mine

Yes please set like this https://i.imgur.com/UNWmmnx.jpg
Start Bitcoin manually, did you create  a shortcut for the new path? Then start armory.

Bitcoin shortcut C:\Users\Bitpop\Desktop\bitcoin-0.9.3-win\64\bitcoin-qt.exe -datadir=F:\Bitcoin

Armory shortcut "C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe" --satoshi-datadir=F:\Bitcoin --datadir=F:\Armory --dbdir=F:\Armory

http://ia116.mycdn.me/image?t=3&bid=666096017800&id=666096017800&plc=WEB&tkn=df8kCZOUahYVwzi_aNz8QkXqsfw

I'm all done.
What does it mean this condition of Armory?
Where are my purse?

http://ia116.mycdn.me/image?t=3&bid=666096081032&id=666096081032&plc=WEB&tkn=tdZDbvnPmQP0Q1grLJN2SCurf0I



bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 08:58:40 AM
 #4298

Good but it seems Bitcoin offline

You must start Bitcoin manually now

Also it looks like your wallets didn't get moved so it doesn't see them

aks174
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 22, 2014, 09:05:52 AM
 #4299

Good but it seems Bitcoin offline

You must start Bitcoin manually now

Also it looks like your wallets didn't get moved so it doesn't see them

http://ia116.mycdn.me/image?t=3&bid=666096287368&id=666096287368&plc=WEB&tkn=V4H66qs_T6UD4gBYqTK-BZZzq7g


purses here

http://ia116.mycdn.me/image?t=0&bid=666096319112&id=666096319112&plc=WEB&tkn=8KK-Go05sVfHzcUDWe-khoUc_Dc


http://ia116.mycdn.me/image?t=3&bid=666096390536&id=666096390536&plc=WEB&tkn=hwvTuM_I7N7kjzFs-YXWydpET4M
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2014, 09:20:37 AM
 #4300

Move everything from armory/roaming to armory
Close armory first

First empty /armory except the roaming folder

Pages: « 1 ... 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 [215] 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!