Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:13:11 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 [203] 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 482163 times)
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 06:04:02 PM
 #4041

Is Armory online? What top block is it displaying?

Armory is Online. Not sure how to view the top block though.

Green figure in the bottom right corner

btcarmory.com
1481184791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184791
Reply with quote  #2

1481184791
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481184791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184791
Reply with quote  #2

1481184791
Report to moderator
1481184791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184791
Reply with quote  #2

1481184791
Report to moderator
0xvoidvoid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 07:08:20 PM
 #4042

Is Armory online? What top block is it displaying?

Armory is Online. Not sure how to view the top block though.

Green figure in the bottom right corner

Connected (203409 blocks) is what it says. Number is increasing
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 09:39:32 PM
 #4043

Is Armory online? What top block is it displaying?

Armory is Online. Not sure how to view the top block though.

Green figure in the bottom right corner

Connected (203409 blocks) is what it says. Number is increasing

At which rate? And what color is Armory's icon? Your block num seems closer to testnet than mainnet (~260k vs ~320k). At any rate, you are way behind. Let Armory sync fully then you'll be able to see your balance.

btcarmory.com
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2014, 09:42:20 PM
 #4044

Let Armory sync fully then you'll be able to see your balance.

Actually, are you running Bitcoin Core manually?  If so, I would close Armory until you see the green checkmark in the bottom-right corner.  Armory can sync find after Core is complete, but sometimes has trouble thinking it is done synchronizing and "drinking from the firehose" (i.e. processing hundreds of blocks per second).

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
0xvoidvoid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 10:19:26 PM
 #4045

Let Armory sync fully then you'll be able to see your balance.

Actually, are you running Bitcoin Core manually?  If so, I would close Armory until you see the green checkmark in the bottom-right corner.  Armory can sync find after Core is complete, but sometimes has trouble thinking it is done synchronizing and "drinking from the firehose" (i.e. processing hundreds of blocks per second).

Yeah I believe I am running the Core manually. The Core says it's (out of sync) so maybe that has something to do with it, but it doesn't seem to be moving very fast? How long does the core usually take to sync?


edit: Ok, so I think I simply did not read enough of the instructions before starting. I am about to torrent the bootstrap.dat file in the hopes of catching up to wherever the real-time chain is. Hopefully this will solve my issue. Do I need to create a bitcoin.conf as well? Thanks for your patience.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2014, 11:06:28 PM
 #4046

Let Armory sync fully then you'll be able to see your balance.

Actually, are you running Bitcoin Core manually?  If so, I would close Armory until you see the green checkmark in the bottom-right corner.  Armory can sync find after Core is complete, but sometimes has trouble thinking it is done synchronizing and "drinking from the firehose" (i.e. processing hundreds of blocks per second).

Yeah I believe I am running the Core manually. The Core says it's (out of sync) so maybe that has something to do with it, but it doesn't seem to be moving very fast? How long does the core usually take to sync?

A very, very long time.  This is why many people don't use Core (and thus Armory).  This is also why Armory implemented a torrent-based download feature when you use auto-bitcoind (which unfortunately isn't available on MacOSX).  People have reported 3-6 days to do the initial sync because of a very inefficient bootstrapping algorithm in Core.  Armory (the company) runs a bunch of seedboxes over torrent which allows you download at the maximum rate of your connection.  I can sync from nothing in about 6 hours -- about 2 hrs to download then 4 hours for Core to index it and Armory to build its own databases.


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
0xvoidvoid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 11:23:23 PM
 #4047

Let Armory sync fully then you'll be able to see your balance.

Actually, are you running Bitcoin Core manually?  If so, I would close Armory until you see the green checkmark in the bottom-right corner.  Armory can sync find after Core is complete, but sometimes has trouble thinking it is done synchronizing and "drinking from the firehose" (i.e. processing hundreds of blocks per second).

Yeah I believe I am running the Core manually. The Core says it's (out of sync) so maybe that has something to do with it, but it doesn't seem to be moving very fast? How long does the core usually take to sync?

A very, very long time.  This is why many people don't use Core (and thus Armory).  This is also why Armory implemented a torrent-based download feature when you use auto-bitcoind (which unfortunately isn't available on MacOSX).  People have reported 3-6 days to do the initial sync because of a very inefficient bootstrapping algorithm in Core.  Armory (the company) runs a bunch of seedboxes over torrent which allows you download at the maximum rate of your connection.  I can sync from nothing in about 6 hours -- about 2 hrs to download then 4 hours for Core to index it and Armory to build its own databases.



Thank you very much for this info. Seems like a lot of trouble. I assume I have to wait until Armory is synced before I am able to transfer those funds to yet another wallet?
jzcjca00
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 03:48:04 AM
 #4048

I like the features of Armory.  I'm not too happy with this latest release, 0.92.1-beta, running on Windows 7 64-bit.  I bring it up, and it immediately crashes and exits.  Very disappointing.

Tips much appreciated! 1PPJHDawPvjh6MEzsvXrMYLgpLmyAaNXUc
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 12:36:43 PM
 #4049

I like the features of Armory.  I'm not too happy with this latest release, 0.92.1-beta, running on Windows 7 64-bit.  I bring it up, and it immediately crashes and exits.  Very disappointing.

Corrupted DB, delete it and try again.

btcarmory.com
btcticker.com
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 03:20:33 PM
 #4050

A couple quick questions.

I have an older version of offline armory on an offline computer. I think it's version 0.88.x. Can I update this to the newest version without uninstalling and deleting my wallet data? Or should I just leave my current version alone?

Second, if I encrypt my wallet, does the paper backup seed still restore the wallet even if I lose the encryption password?
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
August 12, 2014, 04:30:41 PM
 #4051

I have an older version of offline armory on an offline computer. I think it's version 0.88.x. Can I update this to the newest version without uninstalling and deleting my wallet data? Or should I just leave my current version alone?

You can update safely

Second, if I encrypt my wallet, does the paper backup seed still restore the wallet even if I lose the encryption password?

Yes, that's part of the paper backup purpose.

btcarmory.com
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2014, 07:55:56 AM
 #4052

A couple quick questions.

I have an older version of offline armory on an offline computer. I think it's version 0.88.x. Can I update this to the newest version without uninstalling and deleting my wallet data? Or should I just leave my current version alone?

Second, if I encrypt my wallet, does the paper backup seed still restore the wallet even if I lose the encryption password?

You should answer the backup yourself by testing, if nothing more than for practice.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 07:09:28 AM
 #4053

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?
dracling
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 10:26:55 AM
 #4054



I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?


Are you sure you can't fill in an address, the amount you want to send, and then click send? (And just ignore the "highlighted" buttons you mention above?)

doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 02:53:31 PM
 #4055

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 04:10:32 PM
 #4056

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 04:19:17 PM
 #4057

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...

Import private key into core

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 04:35:57 PM
 #4058

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...


Import private key into core

when i make a backup of wallet, i can't get it to spit out the actual private key, just publicX and publicY associated with each address… any help?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 04:46:32 PM
 #4059

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...


Import private key into core

when i make a backup of wallet, i can't get it to spit out the actual private key, just publicX and publicY associated with each address… any help?

First of all, we recently saw a similar issue and it was due to copy and paste in the address field.  It catches and warns about invalid addresses, but there was some invisible Unicode whitespace character getting copied in at the end of the address.  Armory doesn't handle the strange chars and errors out before being able to pop up an invalid address warning. Can you confirm that's not happening to you? 

Second, if you have a situation where you click a button and nothing happens, it's usually a simple error, and an error message is getting logged.  Please use Help,  Submit Bug Report, which will bundle your log file into the bug report automatically.  It will usually be obvious pretty quickly (to us) what the problem is.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
japandrew73
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 05:11:26 PM
 #4060

I'm running 0.91.2 on Mac OSX and whenever I try to send coins it forces me to keep clicking coin control (in advanced mode) or donate to armory developers (in beginners mode).


My coins are basically stuck in my wallet cause every time i try to send, i can't get past the "wallet management" screen due to this bug.  Any help?

Strange. 0.91.2 never did that to me. In any event, you could try 0.92.1, which is a more stable build. Better yet, you could wait for 0.92.2 (it should be out very soon), which I believe will have even more OS X stability patches. (I've committed the fixes. I just don't know if 0.92.2 will focus solely on the privacy fix.)


Tried both versions of Armory, same issue occurs on both.  How do I get my btc out of this wallet without waiting for the next Armory release to come out?  This is irritating...


Import private key into core

when i make a backup of wallet, i can't get it to spit out the actual private key, just publicX and publicY associated with each address… any help?

First of all, we recently saw a similar issue and it was due to copy and paste in the address field.  It catches and warns about invalid addresses, but there was some invisible Unicode whitespace character getting copied in at the end of the address.  Armory doesn't handle the strange chars and errors out before being able to pop up an invalid address warning. Can you confirm that's not happening to you?  

Second, if you have a situation where you click a button and nothing happens, it's usually a simple error, and an error message is getting logged.  Please use Help,  Submit Bug Report, which will bundle your log file into the bug report automatically.  It will usually be obvious pretty quickly (to us) what the problem is.

I successfully submitted a bug report.  Now when i try to make a paper backup to import to Blockchain.info, it says a paper backup cannot be made due to errors…. This is really frustrating, just trying to get my btc out of my wallet but the software is so damn buggy nothing is happening!

Also can confirm it's not the blank character stuck in there from a copy and paste
Pages: « 1 ... 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 [203] 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!