Bitcoin Forum
January 23, 2021, 01:22:47 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 [182] 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 521359 times)
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 563
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 06, 2014, 10:53:27 PM
 #3621

I have a feature request, that's kind of a thought-in-progress...
...

I'm not sure what UI change I'm really asking for here - maybe a preference that hides balances when the client is launched (and allows an individual wallet balance to still be viewed by means of a UI action)?
...
Thoughts, anyone?

You could drag the right edge of the Armory window to the left until the balance column is obscured.

Ah, so the long delay before Armory displays the balances is actually a feature, to give me time to do this....   That works Smiley

EDIT: Actually, that doesn't help if I actually do want to check the balance of the wallet I'm paying with - without revealing the balance of any other wallet(s)
1611364967
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611364967

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611364967
Reply with quote  #2

1611364967
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
CircusPeanut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 06, 2014, 11:12:56 PM
 #3622

Ah, so the long delay before Armory displays the balances is actually a feature, to give me time to do this....   That works Smiley

There actually is a reason for the delay. Armory only shows balances after it has synced with the top block. Seeing that balance tells the user that it is now available for creating transactions. Armory really cannot allow users to create transactions unless it is fully synced. Not everything in Armory is as efficient as possible, but some things necessarily take time.

EDIT: Actually, that doesn't help if I actually do want to check the balance of the wallet I'm paying with - without revealing the balance of any other wallet(s)

So you would want to hide the balances per wallet. I think that's a great idea. Perhaps we can hide the balance of specified wallets and only show it in hover text.
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 563
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 06, 2014, 11:30:51 PM
 #3623

So you would want to hide the balances per wallet. I think that's a great idea. Perhaps we can hide the balance of specified wallets and only show it in hover text.

Yes, I think so - although then I don't know what you would do with the totals.  As I said, it's still a bit of a thought-in-progress.

roy
kittucrypt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 300
Merit: 253

Ok Check!


View Profile
May 07, 2014, 02:32:19 PM
 #3624

Is it possible to export a private key out of Armory, such that it can be used to sign transactions on some other platform or with outside code/script?

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
May 07, 2014, 08:00:50 PM
 #3625

So you would want to hide the balances per wallet. I think that's a great idea. Perhaps we can hide the balance of specified wallets and only show it in hover text.

Yes, I think so - although then I don't know what you would do with the totals.  As I said, it's still a bit of a thought-in-progress.

roy

For now you could flag other loaded wallets as not yours then choose to only display the ones you marked as owned. Not very convenient but can get things done while we implement something better

Is it possible to export a private key out of Armory, such that it can be used to sign transactions on some other platform or with outside code/script?

Start Armory in Expert mode, go to your wallet's properties window, choose 'Backup This Wallet' from the right panel options then pick the 'Export Key List' option.

K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1008


/dev/null


View Profile
May 09, 2014, 02:06:12 PM
 #3626

@etotheipi / dev-team

In the wallet properties view, there is a button named "Remove Imported Address".
It wants me to select which address to remove, tough im unsure which i imported.
As the wallet is deterministic, its possible to find out which addresses are imported. Is there a way to display said addresses?

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2014, 02:11:51 PM
 #3627

@etotheipi / dev-team

In the wallet properties view, there is a button named "Remove Imported Address".
It wants me to select which address to remove, tough im unsure which i imported.
As the wallet is deterministic, its possible to find out which addresses are imported. Is there a way to display said addresses?

I don't know if you tried but it will fail if the address wasn't really imported

Also they're clearly labeled https://i.imgur.com/E2sMkoP.jpg

K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1008


/dev/null


View Profile
May 09, 2014, 02:17:20 PM
 #3628

@etotheipi / dev-team

In the wallet properties view, there is a button named "Remove Imported Address".
It wants me to select which address to remove, tough im unsure which i imported.
As the wallet is deterministic, its possible to find out which addresses are imported. Is there a way to display said addresses?

I don't know if you tried but it will fail if the address wasn't really imported

Seems the wallet i was checking had no imported keys.
Another one has. Seems the feature i asked for already exists.

In the Wallet Properties, the first cell (#) will show Imported instead of the N'th seeded address

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1058



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2014, 02:18:00 PM
 #3629

@etotheipi / dev-team

In the wallet properties view, there is a button named "Remove Imported Address".
It wants me to select which address to remove, tough im unsure which i imported.
As the wallet is deterministic, its possible to find out which addresses are imported. Is there a way to display said addresses?

I don't know if you tried but it will fail if the address wasn't really imported

Seems the wallet i was checking had no imported keys.
Another one has. Seems the feature i asked for already exists.

In the Wallet Properties, the first cell (#) will show Imported instead of the N'th seeded address

Yup just tested it https://i.imgur.com/E2sMkoP.jpg

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2014, 04:45:27 PM
 #3630



Simulfunding Now Implemented!

Updated the top post in the multisig thread:  we have been able to remove most of the limitations of the lockboxes, and now even have a clunky-but-usable simulfunding interface:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=559776.0

The whole multisig section of the "devel" branch is extremely usable right now.  It now does P2SH for everything by default (but you can optionally use bare multisig), it handles signature merging, and now allows for multi-party simultaneous funding of lockboxes (and should be easy to expand for general-purpose, manual CoinJoin).

If you are already familiar with things like buyer-seller escrow, I'm hoping that the simulfunding stuff will be somewhat straighforward (despite there being lots of steps and moving things around) -- it's a complex process, but I think I've made it about as easy as possible for a totally decentralized app.  Besides cleaning up a bunch of things, I will work on documenting how to use the interface, and the things that can be done with it.

I think I will merge all the steps/options into a single "dashboard" which sorts everything by "organizer" and "participants".  It will show something like:

  • Create Lockbox:
    • Organizer: Collect Keys
    • Participants:  Provide Pub Key
  • Deposit (regular):  Send Funds
  • Deposit (simulfund):
    • Organizer:  Merge Notes
    • Participants:  Create Promissory Note
    • Participants: Review and Sign
  • Spend:   
    • Organizer: Create Proposed Spend
    • Participants: Review and Sign

    (Not sure what's up with the table formatting, but you should get the idea...)

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 11:24:21 AM
 #3631

Hi there!

After making some test with 100.000 addresses in Wallet, we have a problem signing the Tx's on offline server.
It takes several minutes to sign, I tried some tweaks on unlock method (just taking the addrObj which I need, and not all of the 100.000 addresses to unlock)
But later on self.wallet.signTxDistProposal(txdp) it stucks.

Before stuggling into modifying more code, wanted to ask if someone of armory see some
fast way to sign a TX in a hugh big wallet?

Best regards!
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2014, 03:22:33 PM
 #3632

Hi there!

After making some test with 100.000 addresses in Wallet, we have a problem signing the Tx's on offline server.
It takes several minutes to sign, I tried some tweaks on unlock method (just taking the addrObj which I need, and not all of the 100.000 addresses to unlock)
But later on self.wallet.signTxDistProposal(txdp) it stucks.

Before stuggling into modifying more code, wanted to ask if someone of armory see some
fast way to sign a TX in a hugh big wallet?

Best regards!

I'm fairly certain that this can be done without unlocking the entire wallet (which checks the validity of each key).  In fact, I was pretty sure we had done this already, but perhaps not.  Or maybe it wasn't sent to armoryd (isn't that what you're using?)

The problem might be that the wallet relocks itself after 10 sec and you are not getting to the signing before then.  So you have re-unlock it by the time you get to the signing procedure (and make sure you only unlock the specific keys you need, again.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 03:25:34 PM
 #3633

Yes -> armoryd

what do you mean with re-unlock it?
just setting: self.wallet.isLocked = False ?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1046


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2014, 03:29:04 PM
 #3634

Yes -> armoryd

what do you mean with re-unlock it?
just setting: self.wallet.isLocked = False ?

You call self.wallet.unlock() to unlock hte wallet to make the keys available for signing.  If you don't do this immediately before signing, it could relock itself before you attempt to sign (it's like 5 or 10 sec timeout).

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 03:31:10 PM
 #3635

yeah but the entire unlock just takes to long, it takes all the addresses from wallet -> not just the implicated tx addresses:
Code:
for addrObj in (sorted(self.addrMap.values(),
                             key=operator.attrgetter('chainIndex'))):
         Progress(naddress, addrCount)
         naddress = naddress +1
         
         needToSaveAddrAfterUnlock = addrObj.createPrivKeyNextUnlock
         if needToSaveAddrAfterUnlock and addrObjPrev is not None:
               ChainDepth = addrObj.chainIndex - addrObjPrev.chainIndex

               if ChainDepth > 0 and addrObjPrev.chainIndex > -1:
                  addrObj.createPrivKeyNextUnlock_IVandKey[0] = \
                                             addrObjPrev.binInitVect16.copy()
                  addrObj.createPrivKeyNextUnlock_IVandKey[1] = \
                                          addrObjPrev.binPrivKey32_Encr.copy()

                  addrObj.createPrivKeyNextUnlock_ChainDepth  = ChainDepth

         addrObj.unlock(self.kdfKey)
         if addrObj.chainIndex > -1: addrObjPrev = addrObj

         if needToSaveAddrAfterUnlock:
            updateLoc = addrObj.walletByteLoc
            self.walletFileSafeUpdate( [[WLT_UPDATE_MODIFY,
                                         addrObj.walletByteLoc,
                                         addrObj.serialize()]])

      self.isLocked = False
      LOGDEBUG('Unlock succeeded: %s', self.uniqueIDB58)
po0kie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 03:33:08 PM
 #3636

in the signtx function there the unlock function are threaded seperatly as follows (just unlocking needed addresses):
Code:
numInputs = len(txdp.pytxObj.inputs)
      wltAddr = []
      for index,txin in enumerate(txdp.pytxObj.inputs):
         scrType = txdp.scriptTypes[index]
         if scrType in CPP_TXOUT_STDSINGLESIG:
            scrAddr = txdp.inScrAddrList[index]
            addr160 = scrAddr[1:]
            if self.hasAddr(addr160) and self.addrMap[addr160].hasPrivKey():
               wltAddr.append( (self.addrMap[addr160], index, 0))
milkshoe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 13, 2014, 08:39:56 AM
Last edit: May 13, 2014, 09:26:22 AM by milkshoe
 #3637

Hi,

1) Which is the recommend version for setting up a new (offline) wallet?
0.91.2 for creating & broadcasting and 0.90 for the offline one? I am afraid of the recent bugs.

2) I don't want to transfer the created & signed transactions by usb (ultra paranoid Wink). After I move the armory offline bundle to the offline machine and back upped the wallet I never want to have a cd/usb stick in the offline computer again.How large is the average transaction and how long do you think will it take to type it by hand? if it can be done in 10minutes I am totally okay with that.

3) Is the torrent blockchain downloader included in all new armory versions (linux, windows, mac os)? I am not sure if it works on Mac OS. I started Armory, than bitcoin-qt. As far I can tell it does download the blockchain only with bitcoin-qt.

Thanks!
QuantumQrack
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:34:54 PM
 #3638

Hi there,

I tried to perform a search for this, but didn't get any straight answers.  Can you launch/run Armory and also have it function as a full bitcoin node?  If this isn't possible...I think it should be.

Thanks,

Quantum
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 12:29:38 AM
 #3639

Hi there,

I tried to perform a search for this, but didn't get any straight answers.  Can you launch/run Armory and also have it function as a full bitcoin node?  If this isn't possible...I think it should be.

Thanks,

Quantum

Armory, requires a full node, so technically you are running a full node, but armory itself is not a full node.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1180

Armory Developer


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 01:44:17 AM
 #3640

Hi,

1) Which is the recommend version for setting up a new (offline) wallet?
0.91.2 for creating & broadcasting and 0.90 for the offline one? I am afraid of the recent bugs.

2) I don't want to transfer the created & signed transactions by usb (ultra paranoid Wink). After I move the armory offline bundle to the offline machine and back upped the wallet I never want to have a cd/usb stick in the offline computer again.How large is the average transaction and how long do you think will it take to type it by hand? if it can be done in 10minutes I am totally okay with that.

3) Is the torrent blockchain downloader included in all new armory versions (linux, windows, mac os)? I am not sure if it works on Mac OS. I started Armory, than bitcoin-qt. As far I can tell it does download the blockchain only with bitcoin-qt.

Thanks!

1) For now old versions, even 0.8x can run as an offline signer. We highly recommend upgrading to 0.91.2, for the added security of the wallet sanity check on each run. Eventually, when we put out the multisig version, you'll have to upgrade, as the transaction distribution format has changed to accomodate for multisig. With 0.92, we'll ship the new wallet format, so then you'll have to upgrade to create the new wallets.

2) A single in with 2 outs (spend + change) is something like 65 bytes for the uncompressed the public key, 65 for the sig, about 25 bytes per outputs so give and take 180 bytes. At 2 characters per bytes (hex encoded) you should be able to do it under 10 minutes. There no signature on the way in of course, so that gives you an idea. Make sure to thouroughly verify the spend and change addresses. After 0.92, I should have enough time to finally complete the audio data channel.

3) Last time I checked, it doesnt work with OSX. Granted Im not sure how that part is evolving, ask Doug directly about that part.

Hi there,

I tried to perform a search for this, but didn't get any straight answers.  Can you launch/run Armory and also have it function as a full bitcoin node?  If this isn't possible...I think it should be.

Thanks,

Quantum

There currently isnt a version of online Armory that doesnt require a full bitcoin node in the background. We will come up with a lite node eventually, but also a supernode.

Pages: « 1 ... 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 [182] 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!