Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:40:13 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 [188] 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481842 times)
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316


View Profile
June 01, 2014, 10:20:49 PM
 #3741

After I import an address, will new printable backups work for the imported addresses too?
1480927213
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927213

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927213
Reply with quote  #2

1480927213
Report to moderator
1480927213
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927213

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927213
Reply with quote  #2

1480927213
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480927213
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927213

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927213
Reply with quote  #2

1480927213
Report to moderator
1480927213
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927213

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927213
Reply with quote  #2

1480927213
Report to moderator
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316


View Profile
June 01, 2014, 10:22:45 PM
 #3742

What about this: https://bitcoinarmory.com:8443/tickets.php?id=562

A bug?
aasl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434

https://www.hashyun.com/?f=u86


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2014, 11:51:52 PM
 #3743

After I import an address, will new printable backups work for the imported addresses too?

You need to print the paper wallet again. after printing, you will see that the newly imported private keys are aside with the original armory keys.

BTC: 1DREAMcn1ELY1cSnNwrjRazGqfW1NyvLJu    DigitalOcean Reg: https://www.digitalocean.com/?refcode=bd7f576a880a
Coinbase: http://bit.ly/1jc0dpQ
Cloud Hashing: https://www.hashyun.com/?f=u86
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316


View Profile
June 02, 2014, 12:12:47 AM
 #3744

Thanks. Now I see on print backup window an option to select (print imported keys)

justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2014, 08:05:34 PM
 #3745

In the words of Gavin, "Time to feed the trolls".
Gavin has a dangerous and irresponsible attitude toward properly responding to criticism, and it doesn't help my confidence in your software to see you adopting it.
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316


View Profile
June 03, 2014, 12:05:25 AM
 #3746

Just would like to say that Armory Wallet is amazing.

Thanks Alan.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 03, 2014, 06:08:50 AM
 #3747

After I import an address, will new printable backups work for the imported addresses too?

You need to print the paper wallet again. after printing, you will see that the newly imported private keys are aside with the original armory keys.

Well, you need to check the option to add your imported keys to the backup. I don't remember it being checked by default

No, I mean how bitcoind has a copy of its own databases and Armory then duplicates it.

With litenode you won't need to have a copy of the blockchain, nor a heavy DB for Armory itself. We do like the idea of supporting the network via full nodes though, so maybe we'll come up with a hybrid node, which runs off of a full node for networking but grabs its wallet data from a supernode server. But that's far in the future =P

In the words of Gavin, "Time to feed the trolls".
Gavin has a dangerous and irresponsible attitude toward properly responding to criticism, and it doesn't help my confidence in your software to see you adopting it.

That's a little harsh considering the context of etotheipi's comment.

btcarmory.com
justusranvier
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2014, 10:31:53 AM
 #3748

That's a little harsh considering the context of etotheipi's comment.
You might be right. I'm a bit on edge by the number of high profile developers who seem to be herding Bitcoin toward a dystopian surveillance nightmare, or at least not actively working to prevent it.

Maybe we can take this context as as example of exactly why financial privacy should be a higher priority.
TheGambler
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 08:22:50 AM
 #3749

Have you yet developed an option to remove the 6 confirmation limit?
if you are a frequent user of your wallet, waiting for 6 confirmations to spend coins can be a huge waiting process.
Corelianer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147



View Profile
June 05, 2014, 08:27:47 AM
 #3750

Have you yet developed an option to remove the 6 confirmation limit?
if you are a frequent user of your wallet, waiting for 6 confirmations to spend coins can be a huge waiting process.

That's a securty critical part and should not be customizable.
Ilan1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
June 05, 2014, 01:25:34 PM
 #3751

Hi

Today I tried to send a payment but am getting the error "SelectCoins returned a list of size zero. This is problematic and probably not your fault.".
I've tried restarting Armory but the error persists.

I was on Version 0.9 and I have just installed Version 0.91.2. I have not tried it with 0.91.2 yet.

LTCgear.com Review http://ltcgear.co.ukhttp://ltcgear.com/?apage=120 - 160mh/s for $850 use coupon code "anniversary1yr" - Active Multi Algorithm cloud mining in Scrypt, X11 and Scrypt-N - ROI in 5 Weeks
TimS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2014, 01:38:04 PM
 #3752

Have you yet developed an option to remove the 6 confirmation limit?
if you are a frequent user of your wallet, waiting for 6 confirmations to spend coins can be a huge waiting process.

That's a securty critical part and should not be customizable.
Eh, put a warning on it, make it an advanced/expert-only feature. You should wait until the whole chain has 6 confirmations before you trust it with anything too valuable (e.g. handing over a car), but if you know the (small) risks, there's no reason to keep you from sending coins before 6 confirmations.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2014, 01:46:38 PM
 #3753

Have you yet developed an option to remove the 6 confirmation limit?
if you are a frequent user of your wallet, waiting for 6 confirmations to spend coins can be a huge waiting process.

That's a securty critical part and should not be customizable.
Eh, put a warning on it, make it an advanced/expert-only feature. You should wait until the whole chain has 6 confirmations before you trust it with anything too valuable (e.g. handing over a car), but if you know the (small) risks, there's no reason to keep you from sending coins before 6 confirmations.

I don't think you have to wait, it just looks like that

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
June 06, 2014, 11:04:21 AM
 #3754

Have you yet developed an option to remove the 6 confirmation limit?
if you are a frequent user of your wallet, waiting for 6 confirmations to spend coins can be a huge waiting process.

That's a securty critical part and should not be customizable.
Eh, put a warning on it, make it an advanced/expert-only feature. You should wait until the whole chain has 6 confirmations before you trust it with anything too valuable (e.g. handing over a car), but if you know the (small) risks, there's no reason to keep you from sending coins before 6 confirmations.

I fully agree on that!

I don't think you have to wait, it just looks like that

Oh, interesting! I never tied, actually. Normally, I either have several inputs on one address, or spend the whole address anyway, or won't do another tx in the next hour.. And I *always* do coin control too. So I never even tried to spend the change or fresh inputs before six confirmations!

"Dorian - an unconfirmed transaction" :-)

Ente
Justin00
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
June 06, 2014, 12:49:29 PM
 #3755

I've been involved in bitcoins for 2 years. realy realy want to play around with armoury but i find I have no time, or no coins lol.
definetly a must for the next few weeks. Maybe when I have some time off work next.
offline mode seems killer!

SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2014, 02:27:53 PM
 #3756

Have you yet developed an option to remove the 6 confirmation limit?
if you are a frequent user of your wallet, waiting for 6 confirmations to spend coins can be a huge waiting process.

What does this mean? Cant one spend coins that dont have 6 confs already? That would be a huge downside of armory if true. Maybe you mean something different.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 06, 2014, 06:12:16 PM
 #3757

Only coinbase transactions are subject to an enforced confirmation delay (100 or 120, not so sure anymore). Armory depends on BitcoinQt so it bends by its rules. You can even spend 0 confirmation transactions with Armory, unless you force it to ignore ZC.

While transactions will require a depth of 6 blocks to be displayed as confirmed in the UI, Armory won't prevent you from creating a transactions with low confirmation UTXO. Generally, the coin selection algorithm prefers older UTXO, so unless you have very few available outputs in your wallet, you will most likely never spend off of a low conf transactions.

btcarmory.com
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316

Armory Developer


View Profile
June 06, 2014, 06:12:44 PM
 #3758

Hi

Today I tried to send a payment but am getting the error "SelectCoins returned a list of size zero. This is problematic and probably not your fault.".
I've tried restarting Armory but the error persists.

I was on Version 0.9 and I have just installed Version 0.91.2. I have not tried it with 0.91.2 yet.

Make a ticket, add in your log files.

btcarmory.com
milkshoe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 07, 2014, 07:48:23 AM
 #3759

I imported a watchonlywalllet and now Armory 0.9.12 on Mac OS 10.9.3 keeps crashing on startup. Cant use it, what can I do? Switch back to 0.9.11 ?!

-INFO  - 1402126750: (BlockUtils.cpp:4527) Starting scan from block height: 0
-ERROR - 1402126750: (leveldb_wrapper.cpp:1787) Invalid txIndex at height 0 index 269
-ERROR - 1402126750: (StoredBlockObj.cpp:1082) Cannot get tx copy, because don't have full StoredTx!

btchris
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616

a.k.a. gurnec on GitHub


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2014, 03:34:30 PM
 #3760

By "isolated" I mean that the new channels enabled by the "plugin" system would be isolated.  Any extensions would requiring signing, and virtually no code within Armory would be any different with or without the extension (there would simply be one extra loop that checks the directory for python files and signatures, and then adds a new tab for each one).  Everything to do with it could be disabled by simply deleting the extensions directory or giving it root permissions that prevent reading or writing (then that loop would skipped and Armory would run identically to a version that doesn't have this).

Apple does the same thing with code signing pretty sure that has been broken since day one.

Would such a plugin directory be located in an only-root-writable location by default, e.g. /usr/lib/armory/plugins or \Program Files (x86)\Armory\plugins? If so, I don't see how it could compromise security unless root was already compromised (in which case all bets are off anyways), correct?

You could still allow a per-user preference to enable/disable individual plugins, but require root/Admin to initially install them.
Pages: « 1 ... 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 [188] 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!