Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2017, 02:57:16 AM *
News: The warning which may be displayed by Bitcoin Core about unknown versions is related to BIP91, and can be safely ignored.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 [187] 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 504906 times)
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2014, 06:17:35 PM
 #3721

@gweedo

Ok maybe it's not much work to create two builds but an online system has hundrets of vaunerabilities.
You can't deny that only an offline system is secure.

If you have a virus on your computer, a keylogger, or screen-capture software Armory can't do nothing about it.
So there is no point making something extra secure that only a offline computer can provide.

You are completely missing the point, it would open up even more holes, on an already sensitive platform. Everyone to certain degree keeps some money in a hot wallet, but yes most of my funds are offline. Just cause I keep $100 in hot wallet doesn't mean I want it to be stolen, or don't care, it is just worth less to me than my entire holdings. Doesn't mean I don't want it protected. Sandboxed plugins are the not the answer, the answer is if you want that to be insecure then you fork it and add prices and anything else. Not the other way around, security should be first.

Investors always === bottom line, glad to see nothing has changed.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
1500692236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500692236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500692236
Reply with quote  #2

1500692236
Report to moderator
1500692236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500692236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500692236
Reply with quote  #2

1500692236
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500692236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500692236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500692236
Reply with quote  #2

1500692236
Report to moderator
1500692236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500692236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500692236
Reply with quote  #2

1500692236
Report to moderator
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2014, 07:17:21 PM
 #3722

Investors always === bottom line, glad to see nothing has changed.

This has nothing to do with investors.  This is about making Armory usable for a wider array of power users and businesses that would like to use it.  If there's no way to hook their local systems/resources into it, it has limited use to them.  If we felt that there was a compromise of security involved, we'd be looking at other options.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Corelianer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147



View Profile
May 27, 2014, 08:15:53 PM
 #3723

Investors always === bottom line, glad to see nothing has changed.

This has nothing to do with investors.  This is about making Armory usable for a wider array of power users and businesses that would like to use it.  If there's no way to hook their local systems/resources into it, it has limited use to them.  If we felt that there was a compromise of security involved, we'd be looking at other options.

I agree, it needs some openness to compete with the current systems and other wallet softwares.
Multibit has already an Exchange Rate system but misses the watch only feature. (as far as I know)

@gweedo Ok, lets agree that we have a different opinion about where the jurney goes
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2014, 08:51:16 PM
 #3724

I found this line
Code:
#parser.add_option("--bitcoind-path",   dest="bitcoindPath",default='DEFAULT', type="str",          help="Path to the location of bitcoind on your system")
at https://raw.githubusercontent.com/etotheipi/BitcoinArmory/rrld_planB/armoryengine.py is commented out. The same goes for the lines that use that flag
Code:
# Change the settings file to use
#BITCOIND_PATH = None
#if not CLI_OPTIONS.bitcoindPath.lower()=='default':
   #BITCOIND_PATH = CLI_OPTIONS.bitcoindPath
It looks like its meant to change the bitcoind/qt exe path. Im not sure though if it works for bitcoinqt and not only bitcoind but i guess yes.

Can this be made valid again since it looks like the only way to make armory automatically find and start a portable bitcoin-qt-version.

But when i think about it... it doesnt make sense if armory simply starts the bitcoin-qt.exe in the directory one could specify when bitcoinqt is portable. It would mean it would download the blockchain again and create a new directory in roaming-dir.

So either bitcoinqt can be started and is using the directory by some conf-file that specifies where the blockchain is stored or armory needs to use the shortcut to start bitcoinqt with the flag included that specifies the blockchain-dir for bitcoin-qt.

Someone knows a solution?
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2014, 10:15:03 PM
 #3725

Investors always === bottom line, glad to see nothing has changed.

This has nothing to do with investors.  This is about making Armory usable for a wider array of power users and businesses that would like to use it.  If there's no way to hook their local systems/resources into it, it has limited use to them.  If we felt that there was a compromise of security involved, we'd be looking at other options.

See that is where you are wrong, you say businesses want to tap into armory, but instead you should be saying business want to tap into bitcoin, if armory allows them to access that network the easiest and best way possible then so be it. That is where armoryd should be coming into play for them, not a function client and believe me you will be turning off power users like myself.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
jeffreylin_
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


★Bitin.io★ - Instant Exchange


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 10:12:46 PM
 #3726

As of this moment, Armory still needs a copy of its own database, right?

Not to be annoying about it -- just checking in.

Tips - No amount too small! 1AuMAQjrRFVhfiSZiGJ96jiTjBN6jEMbLC
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2014, 11:09:33 PM
 #3727

As of this moment, Armory still needs a copy of its own database, right?

Not to be annoying about it -- just checking in.

It does have it's own database. It uses the bitcoind as a router to the bitcoin network.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
doug_armory
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255

Senior Developer - Armory


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2014, 01:11:50 AM
 #3728

Is the mac version any more stabler?
Does any one have a link to the latest change logs for the mac version?
I couldn't bear with the hours and hours of rebuilding databases just to get my wallet to work so I moved back to the original Bitcoin client
Hopefully armory has improved since then so I can protect my coins again

When was the last time you used it? v0.91 introduced many stability fixes. There are still some Qt-related issues that need to be resolved but Armory is usable.

Senior Developer -  Armory Technologies, Inc.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2014, 01:36:19 AM
 #3729

A nice plugin would be to automatically rebuy from Coinbase

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
cbeast
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736

Let's talk governance, lipstick, and pigs.


View Profile
May 30, 2014, 11:20:11 PM
 #3730

A nice plugin would be to automatically rebuy from Coinbase
There are coinbase trading apps on the site.

Any significantly advanced cryptocurrency is indistinguishable from Ponzi Tulips.
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314


View Profile
June 01, 2014, 06:17:50 PM
 #3731

Hi etotheipi,

I think you should implement something like this to fund Armory development: https://multibit.org/blog/2014/04/11/multibit-hd-brit.html

gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2014, 07:51:28 PM
 #3732

Hi etotheipi,

I think you should implement something like this to fund Armory development: https://multibit.org/blog/2014/04/11/multibit-hd-brit.html



No, he has investment money over $600k. No reason and I have donated a lot as well as other people.

Also multibit isn't as high quality so they have force users to do this. Basically a GUI on top of Bitcoinj.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2014, 08:03:02 PM
 #3733

Hi etotheipi,

I think you should implement something like this to fund Armory development: https://multibit.org/blog/2014/04/11/multibit-hd-brit.html



No, he has investment money over $600k. No reason and I have donated a lot as well as other people.

Also multibit isn't as high quality so they have force users to do this. Basically a GUI on top of Bitcoinj.

Kind of.  We got $600k a while age, and we have since hired developers and pay salaries (myself included).  I have always hated asking for free money, though I think we could do well in a crowdfunding campaign.  But even if we raised $250k, it would not be enabling to us as a business (in the long-term).  We will have to focus on other monetization strategies, but not until the core features are finished (new wallets, multi-sig, supernode, etc).  But don't worry, we are planning to keep these core features part of the free, open-source project.  There are ways to monetize a popular open-source project Smiley

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
jeffreylin_
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


★Bitin.io★ - Instant Exchange


View Profile
June 01, 2014, 10:01:05 PM
 #3734

As of this moment, Armory still needs a copy of its own database, right?

Not to be annoying about it -- just checking in.

It does have it's own database. It uses the bitcoind as a router to the bitcoin network.

No, I mean how bitcoind has a copy of its own databases and Armory then duplicates it.

Tips - No amount too small! 1AuMAQjrRFVhfiSZiGJ96jiTjBN6jEMbLC
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314


View Profile
June 01, 2014, 10:11:41 PM
 #3735

Hi,

I imported 2 addresses (did not sweep private keys) on Armory, but I dont see any warning message asking me to create a new backup.

I think armory should advice me to create a new backup.
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2014, 10:15:10 PM
 #3736

Hi,

I imported 2 addresses (did not sweep private keys) on Armory, but I dont see any warning message asking me to create a new backup.

I think armory should advice me to create a new backup.

You've probably done this before and clicked "Do not show this warning again".  Because there is a warning:



In case the image doesn't show up for you, it says:

Quote
           Armory supports importing of external private keys into your
            wallet but imported addresses are not automatically
            protected by your backups.  If you do not plan to use the
            address again, it is recommended that you "Sweep" the private
            key instead of importing it.

            Individual private keys, including imported ones, can be
            backed up using the "Export Key Lists" option in the wallet
            backup window.

EDIT: As I reread this, I realize it's outdated -- we moved the "Export Key Lists" option into the "Backup Your Wallet" dialog sequence.  Will update that text appropriately.

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314


View Profile
June 01, 2014, 10:20:49 PM
 #3737

After I import an address, will new printable backups work for the imported addresses too?
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314


View Profile
June 01, 2014, 10:22:45 PM
 #3738

What about this: https://bitcoinarmory.com:8443/tickets.php?id=562

A bug?
aasl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448

https://www.hashyun.com/?f=u86


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2014, 11:51:52 PM
 #3739

After I import an address, will new printable backups work for the imported addresses too?

You need to print the paper wallet again. after printing, you will see that the newly imported private keys are aside with the original armory keys.

BTC: 1DREAMcn1ELY1cSnNwrjRazGqfW1NyvLJu    DigitalOcean Reg: https://www.digitalocean.com/?refcode=bd7f576a880a
Coinbase: http://bit.ly/1jc0dpQ
Cloud Hashing: https://www.hashyun.com/?f=u86
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314


View Profile
June 02, 2014, 12:12:47 AM
 #3740

Thanks. Now I see on print backup window an option to select (print imported keys)

Pages: « 1 ... 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 [187] 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!