Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 12:56:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 [94] 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux mining distro for the Raspberry PI - MinePeon  (Read 681498 times)
drtek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
November 11, 2013, 02:03:30 PM
 #1861

Thanks! Will try that later when at home.
Question: How do I change minepeon to cgminer? By choosing the "Default Cgminer" config in the "Settings" Tab?
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511484986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511484986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511484986
Reply with quote  #2

1511484986
Report to moderator
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
November 11, 2013, 02:18:44 PM
 #1862

Thanks! Will try that later when at home.
Question: How do I change minepeon to cgminer? By choosing the "Default Cgminer" config in the "Settings" Tab?
yes, and then, save, followed by reboot.

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
drtek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
November 11, 2013, 04:11:42 PM
 #1863

Still no luck with the cgminer default config in minepeon. Only the 10 Block Erupters show up as running devices. Sad
Should I specify the two furies in the cgminer config? Help Smiley

Edit: Even "git pull" 'ing to the latest version made no difference.

Back to having to use two raspberries instead of one...
mikejones
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59



View Profile WWW
November 11, 2013, 09:35:45 PM
 #1864

Thanks! Will try that later when at home.
Question: How do I change minepeon to cgminer? By choosing the "Default Cgminer" config in the "Settings" Tab?

Yup and reboot

mikejones
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59



View Profile WWW
November 11, 2013, 09:37:26 PM
 #1865

Should I do a wired or wireless connection??? Technically am I drawing more power if I use the wireless USB card versus wired connection? What are the benefits of wired vs wireless for a mining rasberry pi??

MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
November 11, 2013, 09:38:34 PM
 #1866

Should I do a wired or wireless connection??? Technically am I drawing more power if I use the wireless USB card versus wired connection? What are the benefits of wired vs wireless for a mining rasberry pi??

Wireless is the source of all evil and should never be used unless you absolutely have to.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
mikejones
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59



View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 08:31:24 AM
 #1867

Should I do a wired or wireless connection??? Technically am I drawing more power if I use the wireless USB card versus wired connection? What are the benefits of wired vs wireless for a mining rasberry pi??

Wireless is the source of all evil and should never be used unless you absolutely have to.

Neil

Uhhh can you be a bit for specific? Why not? Does it draw more power than wired?

BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 03:08:03 PM
 #1868

Should I do a wired or wireless connection??? Technically am I drawing more power if I use the wireless USB card versus wired connection? What are the benefits of wired vs wireless for a mining rasberry pi??

Wireless is the source of all evil and should never be used unless you absolutely have to.

Neil

Uhhh can you be a bit for specific? Why not? Does it draw more power than wired?
I can give you a somewhat non-technical reasons why. This distro IMHO was made to be a simple plug and play solution, configure your pool and a few settings and you're good to go. With wireless you have to go under the hood and tinker with it and then even after a reboot it still will not autoconnect on occasion. And then there is a timing issue with trying to get the clock set from a time server, your graphs can get all messed up with the wrong date, etc. It's a bolt-on solution that is there yes, but it's really hard to support and get running as smoothly as a wired connection (and headless). While it might not be convenient in every case, a wired connection with a DHCP lease has been the best working solution in my experience.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
November 12, 2013, 03:38:19 PM
 #1869

All that said... there are ways to get a seamless and easy Wireless solution without going under the hood with Minepeon and BAMT or other headless Mining OS/box setups.

For example, I have a mining setup in my detached garage in a dedicated room since its very cold out there and my garage has a separate commercial electricity bill (long story).

So, I setup a network switch that connects to my house's wifi via a relatively powerful wifi client bridge (you can use a game/media wifi to ethernet adapter, same thing really).  Now I just have to connect any and all miners through ethernet to the switch and it's as if I'm on the house network.  Pings and bandwidth are pretty good and stable, not that mining uses all that much bandwidth.  Latency is key with mining though, so as long as you have good line of sight or powerful Wifi antennae pointing at each other, you should be good to go.  Be sure to test your ping to your boxes from the main wired network to make sure latency is minimal.


HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
November 12, 2013, 03:41:46 PM
 #1870

Does the version of bfgminer on MinePeon have the getwork proxy? 

I'm looking to replace my OpenWRT system with a RPi/MinePeon system, and I need to use getwork proxy for my ASICMiner Blades.

| 
 
50
| 




                       ▄
           ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
▄▄▄▄█████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████

█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
▀▀▀▀█████  █████████████
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
                       ▀
| 
 
$1,5 M
|


        ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
      ▄█████▀▀███▀▀█████▄
    ▄███▀     ███     ▀███▄
   ████       ███       ████
  ███▀                   ▀███
 ███▀                     ▀███
▄██▀       █████████       ▀██▄
███                         ███
███        █████████        ███
███                         ███
▀██▄       █████████       ▄██▀
 ███▄                     ▄███
  ███▄                   ▄███
   ████       ███       ████
    ▀███▄     ███     ▄███▀
      ▀█████▄▄███▄▄█████▀
        ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀
 
|
 
<>
<>
<>
<>
 
GITHUB
TWITTER
YOUTUBE
FACEBOOK
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 04:10:44 PM
 #1871

All that said... there are ways to get a seamless and easy Wireless solution without going under the hood with Minepeon and BAMT or other headless Mining OS/box setups.

For example, I have a mining setup in my detached garage in a dedicated room since its very cold out there and my garage has a separate commercial electricity bill (long story).

So, I setup a network switch that connects to my house's wifi via a relatively powerful wifi client bridge (you can use a game/media wifi to ethernet adapter, same thing really).  Now I just have to connect any and all miners through ethernet to the switch and it's as if I'm on the house network.  Pings and bandwidth are pretty good and stable, not that mining uses all that much bandwidth.  Latency is key with mining though, so as long as you have good line of sight or powerful Wifi antennae pointing at each other, you should be good to go.  Be sure to test your ping to your boxes from the main wired network to make sure latency is minimal.


Yes, this is a great solution too. I used to do this with some old BAMT rigs back in the day. (Had to move them around the house to distribute the power load.)  Tongue
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
November 12, 2013, 04:37:06 PM
 #1872

Does the version of bfgminer on MinePeon have the getwork proxy? 

I'm looking to replace my OpenWRT system with a RPi/MinePeon system, and I need to use getwork proxy for my ASICMiner Blades.

It should if you git pull the latest Minepeon.  I see BFGMiner 3.5.1 on mine which definitely has the proxy.

HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
November 12, 2013, 05:26:48 PM
 #1873

Does the version of bfgminer on MinePeon have the getwork proxy? 


It should if you git pull the latest Minepeon.  I see BFGMiner 3.5.1 on mine which definitely has the proxy.

Excellent, thanks. Cheesy

| 
 
50
| 




                       ▄
           ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
▄▄▄▄█████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████

█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
█████████  █████████████
▀▀▀▀█████  █████████████
           ▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
                       ▀
| 
 
$1,5 M
|


        ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
      ▄█████▀▀███▀▀█████▄
    ▄███▀     ███     ▀███▄
   ████       ███       ████
  ███▀                   ▀███
 ███▀                     ▀███
▄██▀       █████████       ▀██▄
███                         ███
███        █████████        ███
███                         ███
▀██▄       █████████       ▄██▀
 ███▄                     ▄███
  ███▄                   ▄███
   ████       ███       ████
    ▀███▄     ███     ▄███▀
      ▀█████▄▄███▄▄█████▀
        ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀
 
|
 
<>
<>
<>
<>
 
GITHUB
TWITTER
YOUTUBE
FACEBOOK
btharper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
November 13, 2013, 04:25:10 PM
 #1874

Bit of funny behaviour that I noticed recently. I noticed that MinePeon was reporting ~20% hardware errors, after briefly freaking out I figured out that it's based on (hardware errors / accepted shares), since all my miners are setup to submit on relatively high difficulties (64 on bitminter, 256 on p2pool backups. Higher variance, lower overhead) an accepted share is much less common than my diff1 shares and it tends to inflate the relative frequency of hardware errors by a factor of the difficulty I'm running at, any way to deal with this or is it coming from cgminer itself?
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2013, 07:28:43 PM
 #1875

Bit of funny behaviour that I noticed recently. I noticed that MinePeon was reporting ~20% hardware errors, after briefly freaking out I figured out that it's based on (hardware errors / accepted shares), since all my miners are setup to submit on relatively high difficulties (64 on bitminter, 256 on p2pool backups. Higher variance, lower overhead) an accepted share is much less common than my diff1 shares and it tends to inflate the relative frequency of hardware errors by a factor of the difficulty I'm running at, any way to deal with this or is it coming from cgminer itself?

Depends on what version you are using.

Up until 0.2.4 I was calculating the percentages myself and I never seemed to be able to get it right.  0.2.4 onwards the miner API started to actually give percentages so MinePeon now uses them.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2013, 08:31:13 PM
 #1876






Oh no! Not again! bfgminer: Last version: 3.6.0


Please stop, your constant nagging tires me.

I am aware of miner releases, and I take my time to thoroughly test them before I release them.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
btharper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
November 14, 2013, 03:06:04 AM
 #1877

Bit of funny behaviour that I noticed recently. I noticed that MinePeon was reporting ~20% hardware errors, after briefly freaking out I figured out that it's based on (hardware errors / accepted shares), since all my miners are setup to submit on relatively high difficulties (64 on bitminter, 256 on p2pool backups. Higher variance, lower overhead) an accepted share is much less common than my diff1 shares and it tends to inflate the relative frequency of hardware errors by a factor of the difficulty I'm running at, any way to deal with this or is it coming from cgminer itself?

Depends on what version you are using.

Up until 0.2.4 I was calculating the percentages myself and I never seemed to be able to get it right.  0.2.4 onwards the miner API started to actually give percentages so MinePeon now uses them.

Neil
Ahh, I'm on 0.2.3 and I think I understand where the number is coming from I just thought it wasn't the best way to do it. I'll update and see if I still have any issues. What's the currently recommended upgrade process right now? Copy everything from the Advanced>Backup and then reupload it after adding the new image to the SD card?
Notanon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383


Pastor of Muppets


View Profile
November 14, 2013, 05:07:04 AM
 #1878






Oh no! Not again! bfgminer: Last version: 3.6.0


Please stop, your constant nagging tires me.

I am aware of miner releases, and I take my time to thoroughly test them before I release them.

Neil

If the releases can be git-pulled in the miner and updated accordingly, it's kind of pointless having those announcements.

AMHash
ASICMINERROCKMINER ● Purchase from: AMHash (20Th/s min) ● Havelock (1Gh/s min)
Cloud-mining contracts: 0.0012 BTC per Gh ● Maintenance fee: $0.001551 per Gh per day ● Upto 6% Christmas Bonus

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 14, 2013, 07:00:07 AM
 #1879

Well you can ignore that one above - for that one, he copied my klondike USB code into his miner ... without our usbutils ... heh I can see problems happening there ... Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
November 14, 2013, 07:34:43 AM
 #1880






Oh no! Not again! bfgminer: Last version: 3.6.0


Please stop, your constant nagging tires me.

I am aware of miner releases, and I take my time to thoroughly test them before I release them.

Neil
Ok, Neil, as you wish. As giving you the daily donation period is also tiring me, I'll stop both announcements/comments and donation period to you.

I rest my case.

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
Pages: « 1 ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 [94] 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!