Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 07:39:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux mining distro for the Raspberry PI - MinePeon  (Read 681294 times)
mogrith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


Use Coinbase Account almosanywhere with Shift card


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2013, 06:18:21 AM
 #1801

Thanks tk1337,

My BF's should be in Monday. Want to put them in my Minepeon rig this will help a lot.

Merge mine BLC+PHO+ELT+XDQ+BBTC+UMO+LIT pool is open http://la1.blakecoin.com tips: 1MogRiTHpQZ7bkpq49cSVWADrTt7Jrghp
1511206769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511206769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511206769
Reply with quote  #2

1511206769
Report to moderator
1511206769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511206769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511206769
Reply with quote  #2

1511206769
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511206769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511206769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511206769
Reply with quote  #2

1511206769
Report to moderator
1511206769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511206769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511206769
Reply with quote  #2

1511206769
Report to moderator
1511206769
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511206769

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511206769
Reply with quote  #2

1511206769
Report to moderator
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2013, 11:11:08 AM
 #1802

Oh no! Not again! cgminer: LATEST-IS-3.7.0

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
kronut
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86



View Profile
November 04, 2013, 08:24:25 PM
 #1803

Here's how I got my Klondikes to work on 0.2.3 (I'm still on this version for the lcd display).

Log in with ssh and compile cgminer 3.6.6

Code:
sudo git clone https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer cgminer
cd cgminer/
sudo chmod +x ./autogen.sh
sudo ./autogen.sh
sudo ./configure --enable-klondike
sudo make

After the binary is compiled, go to /opt/minepeon/bin , move the old binary to cgminer_old. Copy the new binary in from /home/minepeon/cgminer/

Edit /etc/udev/rules.d/01-cgminer.rules and add this to the bottom :

#Klondike
ATTRS{idVendor}=="04d8", ATTRS{idProduct}=="f60a", SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ACTION=="add", MODE="0666", GROUP="minepeon"

Reboot and you should be good to go.
tk1337
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
November 04, 2013, 09:58:25 PM
 #1804

Oh no! Not again! cgminer: LATEST-IS-3.7.0


CGMiner seems to work much better in MinePeon than several of the previous versions (at least for me).

If I helped you & you feel generous, donate some BTC to -> 1337tkvMSeY2fNgyNXVshAZixnGxLxuSmy
Do you like cheap GH/s? | MobileMinerApp Plugin for MinePeon
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
November 04, 2013, 10:02:52 PM
 #1805

CGMiner seems to work much better in MinePeon than several of the previous versions (at least for me).

I am finding that too.  It very much seems that they are starting to make headway with the plug and play of the "not we well" engineered devices. 

I should have the cgminer latest out to git very soon, I am just running tests now (as I always do, no amount of nagging will make me stop).

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
November 05, 2013, 10:46:17 AM
 #1806

Does anyone already knows the Solid-Run's Carrier-One?

Great, if it can run MinePeon...

Quote
Overview

Solid-Run's Carrier-One is the internal development board for the i.MX6 microSOM. Based on the scalable Freescale i.MX6 family of system-on-chip (SoC) ranging from a single to quad Cortex-A9 processor cores, 2D/3D hardware graphics processing unit, video decoding and encoding acceleration hardware, HDMI 1080p 3D broad range of peripherals.

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
November 05, 2013, 01:17:30 PM
 #1807

Oh no! Not again! cgminer: LATEST-IS-3.7.1

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile WWW
November 05, 2013, 01:44:29 PM
 #1808

Oh no! Not again! cgminer: LATEST-IS-3.7.1


Check again!  Grin

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  MobileMiner: Monitor and manage your rigs from your browser or phone  |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
November 05, 2013, 02:43:23 PM
 #1809

LOL...
Oh no! Not again! cgminer: LATEST-IS-3.7.2

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
btharper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
November 05, 2013, 02:45:55 PM
 #1810

Does anyone already knows the Solid-Run's Carrier-One?

Great, if it can run MinePeon...

Quote
Overview

Solid-Run's Carrier-One is the internal development board for the i.MX6 microSOM. Based on the scalable Freescale i.MX6 family of system-on-chip (SoC) ranging from a single to quad Cortex-A9 processor cores, 2D/3D hardware graphics processing unit, video decoding and encoding acceleration hardware, HDMI 1080p 3D broad range of peripherals.

Looking at it, it probably could. Looks like another general competitor in the tiny/cheap market. Possibly cheaper and more powerful than the RasPi. Not sure how quickly all the software ports over (I think everything is very generally built for Linux and anything that can run Linux).
btharper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
November 05, 2013, 02:57:30 PM
 #1811

Wondering about a new project for the pi; I've been looking for a way to setup a general "P2Pool" option for the pi as a backup pool (or primary for other folks if they like) but since many of them are only listed by IP address and aren't run on static IPs a dynamic tool to lookup addresses would be nice. I've done the basic digging into how, I'm just not sure the easiest way to get the functionality into minepeon, so any advice (or ambitious coders wanting to take it on) would be appreciated.

There are a few nodes I can find reliable domain names for, using these as seed nodes for a fresh install start iterating through http://<node>:9332/peer_addresses to find other peers and keep a running list of nodes with zero fee (0 or 0.0), then add them to the end (or beginning) of the pools list in the miner config (and reload the miner if needed). Repeat once every several days or when the number of alive nodes left goes below a certain threshold. Bonus if pool response time or other latency factors can be taken into account.

Any thoughts on where this would go in the codebase?
bomberb17
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 486


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 03:46:34 PM
 #1812

Is there a way to log in to minepeon web page remotely? I have the port forwarded in my router, I enter my ip and then the username/password, but then nothing happens (if I was in my home network, it would ask me username/password again and then display the page)
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
November 05, 2013, 04:07:14 PM
 #1813

Is there a way to log in to minepeon web page remotely? I have the port forwarded in my router, I enter my ip and then the username/password, but then nothing happens (if I was in my home network, it would ask me username/password again and then display the page)
You need to redirect the port 443... SSL connection... https://...

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
bomberb17
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 486


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 05:11:41 PM
 #1814

Is there a way to log in to minepeon web page remotely? I have the port forwarded in my router, I enter my ip and then the username/password, but then nothing happens (if I was in my home network, it would ask me username/password again and then display the page)
You need to redirect the port 443... SSL connection... https://...

Can I change port 443 to another (5-digit) port? I don't want bots/hackers to try bruteforcing my credentials...
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 05:16:17 PM
 #1815

Is there a way to log in to minepeon web page remotely? I have the port forwarded in my router, I enter my ip and then the username/password, but then nothing happens (if I was in my home network, it would ask me username/password again and then display the page)
You need to redirect the port 443... SSL connection... https://...

Can I change port 443 to another (5-digit) port? I don't want bots/hackers to try bruteforcing my credentials...

You should be able to do that in your port forward rule in your firewall.
External IP / port: 32768 forward to Internal IP / port: 443

tk1337
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
November 05, 2013, 06:14:35 PM
 #1816

Is there a way to log in to minepeon web page remotely? I have the port forwarded in my router, I enter my ip and then the username/password, but then nothing happens (if I was in my home network, it would ask me username/password again and then display the page)
You need to redirect the port 443... SSL connection... https://...

Can I change port 443 to another (5-digit) port? I don't want bots/hackers to try bruteforcing my credentials...

Changing the port isn't going to do much anything if someone was trying to "hack" your your raspberryPi, that's why they have port scanners... an open port is an open port regardless of how safe you *think* it is.

It being on SSL (whether valid or not) encrypts traffic (to an extent) where you're not sending straight clear text all the time.

And as far as brute-force hacks go, if you're password is so weak that one can be brute-force hacked (in any given time frame of your life) then I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but you should consider using a different password.

I good thing I like to tell people is, find a phrase that means something to them, go to an online md5 tool, type in the phrase and get the hash, whola password, for extra fun, find a split point in the hash, then take from that split point on and put it to the front, or get really fun with shit and mix in different hash strings Cheesy

If I helped you & you feel generous, donate some BTC to -> 1337tkvMSeY2fNgyNXVshAZixnGxLxuSmy
Do you like cheap GH/s? | MobileMinerApp Plugin for MinePeon
whiteEAGLE
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 07:42:57 PM
 #1817

hello forum!

Today i got 2 nanofury NF1 USB-Miners and i'd like to mine with this on the RPi with minepeon, but i don't know how to set up.

Untill now i was runnig minepeon with bfgminer 3.4.0 and 1 Block Erupter USB.
I was able to get the Nanofurys start mining on windows, but not on Minepeon....

Which settings do i need for runnig the block erupter and the nanofurys on minepeon?

Sorry for my bad english - schooltime is long behind Sad

Hope someon can help me...

MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
November 05, 2013, 07:48:11 PM
 #1818

Wondering about a new project for the pi; I've been looking for a way to setup a general "P2Pool" option for the pi as a backup pool (or primary for other folks if they like) but since many of them are only listed by IP address and aren't run on static IPs a dynamic tool to lookup addresses would be nice. I've done the basic digging into how, I'm just not sure the easiest way to get the functionality into minepeon, so any advice (or ambitious coders wanting to take it on) would be appreciated.

There are a few nodes I can find reliable domain names for, using these as seed nodes for a fresh install start iterating through http://<node>:9332/peer_addresses to find other peers and keep a running list of nodes with zero fee (0 or 0.0), then add them to the end (or beginning) of the pools list in the miner config (and reload the miner if needed). Repeat once every several days or when the number of alive nodes left goes below a certain threshold. Bonus if pool response time or other latency factors can be taken into account.

Any thoughts on where this would go in the codebase?

I have thought about it.

The major problem is that p2pool requires a running and up-to-date bitcoind and the raspberry pi just cannot do that.  It runs fine it cannot download and process the blockchain though.  Even if I give it a head start by using a "pre downloaded chain" it cannot even keep it up-to-date because of the CPU and IO requirements (not to mention it will kill any SD card).

I am playing around with some other hardware (cubieboard 2 & beaglebone black) and while they are better off for CPU they are still not enough (and they still use SD for IO's).

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
tk1337
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
November 05, 2013, 08:21:41 PM
 #1819

I am playing around with some other hardware (cubieboard 2 & beaglebone black) and while they are better off for CPU they are still not enough (and they still use SD for IO's).

I thought the beagle-bone blacks had a 2GB flash/solid state storage on them with an optional SD slot for extra storage?

If I helped you & you feel generous, donate some BTC to -> 1337tkvMSeY2fNgyNXVshAZixnGxLxuSmy
Do you like cheap GH/s? | MobileMinerApp Plugin for MinePeon
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
November 05, 2013, 08:31:25 PM
 #1820

I am playing around with some other hardware (cubieboard 2 & beaglebone black) and while they are better off for CPU they are still not enough (and they still use SD for IO's).

I thought the beagle-bone blacks had a 2GB flash/solid state storage on them with an optional SD slot for extra storage?

Yep it does.  I could also use a USB HDD for storage, but it still does not solve the CPU requirement problem.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!