Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2019, 10:19:28 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 ... 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [UPDATE] RX480 (Ref) 31+Mh, Custom Rom - VDDC OFFSET + Custom timing  (Read 229895 times)
Nikolaj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446
Merit: 255


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 06:38:03 AM
 #41

So uhm, yeah, i managed to get my custom rom running on Windows 10 by bypassing that aweful signature check :p
(Kudo's to Gupsterg and Lordkag for that)
Decided to create a new thread because my other threads are becoming a serious mess..

Reason why using claymore's,  couldn't directly get Genoil's to detect my card  Roll Eyes My apologies for that..


Results.

First run (no mod): 24Mh+ : Core clock 1275, Mem Clock 2000



Larger image: Here



Second run (modded): 28Mh : Same clocks, so: 1275, 2000



Larger image: Here



Next run (still modded): 30.5 - 31Mh : Lowered core to 1192 and raised memory to the (for now) max of 2250.



Larger image: Here



Then, for my final(for now) run: 31.5-32Mh : Raised core to 1220 and raised memory to 2275  Tongue



Larger image: Here



Will be doing more tests later, i'm sure i'll be able to go over 32Mh.
Great thing about this, when i ran the first testrun with stock clocks, card was at around 60 degrees and no abnormal fan speed.

Overall, awesome card Smiley


Power usage tests will follow later when i'm done tweaking my rom to the sweet spot Smiley


Greetings!


So 32mh just eth shows 120 watts gpu-z

I can do 26mh just eth and show 85 watts in gpu-z

So 35 watts does 6mh. That is pretty good scaling for the extra 6mh

Can you still set the card back to 26mh and 85 watts via lower clocks on the custom bios.

The ability of both without a re flash would be nice.

If you run six of these cards on a mobo it looks like you can use a single psu.


Be careful, these are  ot direct readings. Check the power consumption with a real watt-meter at the wall, and derive the amount from the idle value. With the latest settings I wouldn't be surprised to see a power consumption of 140/150W
1558606768
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558606768

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558606768
Reply with quote  #2

1558606768
Report to moderator
1558606768
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558606768

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558606768
Reply with quote  #2

1558606768
Report to moderator
1558606768
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558606768

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558606768
Reply with quote  #2

1558606768
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558606768
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558606768

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558606768
Reply with quote  #2

1558606768
Report to moderator
1558606768
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558606768

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558606768
Reply with quote  #2

1558606768
Report to moderator
Calivet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 08:56:34 AM
 #42

 Grin Thank you for sharing!!!!!
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1012
Merit: 1183

Huh?


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 11:42:18 AM
 #43

Haven't had time to read all the replies.. sorry for that.

For the linux guys.

Rom is here: Here


For Windows 10 users, you can do this:

i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC.

If this fails for some reason, you can reboot with Signature checks disabled by rebooting into advanced options (Hold left shift key while hitting reboot button) and hit F7.

You need to copy the modified atikmdag.sys file into your drivers folder as well (C:/Windows/System32/Drivers)

File can be found here: Here

Rom has modified timings and higher limits. (Memory 2275, higher tdp limit...)

I'll do an energy friendly rom later this week.

For the Windows 7 users, i'll look into that this week.

Greetings

Alubert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 02:51:32 PM
 #44

Haven't had time to read all the replies.. sorry for that.

For the linux guys.

Rom is here: Here


For Windows 10 users, you can do this:

i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC.

If this fails for some reason, you can reboot with Signature checks disabled by rebooting into advanced options (Hold left shift key while hitting reboot button) and hit F7.

You need to copy the modified atikmdag.sys file into your drivers folder as well (C:/Windows/System32/Drivers)

File can be found here: Here

Rom has modified timings and higher limits. (Memory 2275, higher tdp limit...)

I'll do an energy friendly rom later this week.

For the Windows 7 users, i'll look into that this week.

Greetings


Thanks for sharing the excellent work. Would that work on the Windows 8.1. I have used that for quite long time.
Tmdz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 09:27:53 PM
 #45

Haven't had time to read all the replies.. sorry for that.

For the linux guys.

Rom is here: Here


For Windows 10 users, you can do this:

i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC.

If this fails for some reason, you can reboot with Signature checks disabled by rebooting into advanced options (Hold left shift key while hitting reboot button) and hit F7.

You need to copy the modified atikmdag.sys file into your drivers folder as well (C:/Windows/System32/Drivers)

File can be found here: Here

Rom has modified timings and higher limits. (Memory 2275, higher tdp limit...)

I'll do an energy friendly rom later this week.

For the Windows 7 users, i'll look into that this week.

Greetings

Thanks for sharing!

Is this for the 4gb or 8gb reference card, or will it work for both?
Eyedol-X
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 504



View Profile
August 15, 2016, 10:19:14 PM
 #46

Haven't had time to read all the replies.. sorry for that.

For the linux guys.

Rom is here: Here


For Windows 10 users, you can do this:

i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC.

If this fails for some reason, you can reboot with Signature checks disabled by rebooting into advanced options (Hold left shift key while hitting reboot button) and hit F7.

You need to copy the modified atikmdag.sys file into your drivers folder as well (C:/Windows/System32/Drivers)

File can be found here: Here

Rom has modified timings and higher limits. (Memory 2275, higher tdp limit...)

I'll do an energy friendly rom later this week.

For the Windows 7 users, i'll look into that this week.

Greetings

Thanks for this, as a Windows 10 user, I would rather boot into linux off a flash drive, update the bios using your rom and then reboot into Windows to not have to disable signing and integrity checks built into Windows.

I am familiar with flashing and modifying Nvidia roms via CLI/DOS but have never done it Linux.

Would you (or another person with the knowledge that is reading this) be willing to put together a steps list in order to flash your rom via Linux or even better an ISO with the drivers built in so we can quickly/easily update to your ROM?

I'm very interested to see the results of the power saving rom you create.

EDIT: If I'm understanding the Windows link correctly, We can't use this rom without first using the modded file for Windows and this is what requires the signing/integrity checks to be turned off... So I answered my own question here somewhat lol

Now to decide if I want to switch to Linux...
Dev_Sempak_coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 16, 2016, 02:36:57 AM
 #47

any detail tutorial for newbie ? im never flash any bios, and this is my first experience, i want to try it, but im afraid to break my vga.
Haven't had time to read all the replies.. sorry for that.

For the linux guys.

Rom is here: Here


For Windows 10 users, you can do this:

i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC.

If this fails for some reason, you can reboot with Signature checks disabled by rebooting into advanced options (Hold left shift key while hitting reboot button) and hit F7.

You need to copy the modified atikmdag.sys file into your drivers folder as well (C:/Windows/System32/Drivers)

File can be found here: Here

Rom has modified timings and higher limits. (Memory 2275, higher tdp limit...)

I'll do an energy friendly rom later this week.

For the Windows 7 users, i'll look into that this week.

Greetings

Thanks for this, as a Windows 10 user, I would rather boot into linux off a flash drive, update the bios using your rom and then reboot into Windows to not have to disable signing and integrity checks built into Windows.

I am familiar with flashing and modifying Nvidia roms via CLI/DOS but have never done it Linux.

Would you (or another person with the knowledge that is reading this) be willing to put together a steps list in order to flash your rom via Linux or even better an ISO with the drivers built in so we can quickly/easily update to your ROM?

I'm very interested to see the results of the power saving rom you create.

EDIT: If I'm understanding the Windows link correctly, We can't use this rom without first using the modded file for Windows and this is what requires the signing/integrity checks to be turned off... So I answered my own question here somewhat lol

Now to decide if I want to switch to Linux...

ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 03:09:46 AM
 #48

any detail tutorial for newbie ? im never flash any bios, and this is my first experience, i want to try it, but im afraid to break my vga.


I second on that!

Step by step tutorial with screenshots will help us - newbies

Ginooo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 06:37:14 AM
 #49

Haven't had time to read all the replies.. sorry for that.

For the linux guys.

Rom is here: Here


For Windows 10 users, you can do this:

i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC.

If this fails for some reason, you can reboot with Signature checks disabled by rebooting into advanced options (Hold left shift key while hitting reboot button) and hit F7.

You need to copy the modified atikmdag.sys file into your drivers folder as well (C:/Windows/System32/Drivers)

File can be found here: Here

Rom has modified timings and higher limits. (Memory 2275, higher tdp limit...)

I'll do an energy friendly rom later this week.

For the Windows 7 users, i'll look into that this week.

Greetings

Thanks for sharing!

all 480 card can use this rom?
Deepcleen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 02:31:27 PM
 #50

Haven't had time to read all the replies.. sorry for that.

For the linux guys.

Rom is here: Here


For Windows 10 users, you can do this:

i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC.

If this fails for some reason, you can reboot with Signature checks disabled by rebooting into advanced options (Hold left shift key while hitting reboot button) and hit F7.

You need to copy the modified atikmdag.sys file into your drivers folder as well (C:/Windows/System32/Drivers)

File can be found here: Here

Rom has modified timings and higher limits. (Memory 2275, higher tdp limit...)

I'll do an energy friendly rom later this week.

For the Windows 7 users, i'll look into that this week.

Greetings

Thanks for sharing!

all 480 card can use this rom?

No. It is just for the reference AMD RX 480. But that cards has only 6 pin PCIE connector. So you have to be careful.
brizio71
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456
Merit: 250


Blockchain Just Entered The Real World


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 03:07:27 PM
 #51

Haven't had time to read all the replies.. sorry for that.

For the linux guys.

Rom is here: Here


For Windows 10 users, you can do this:

i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC.

If this fails for some reason, you can reboot with Signature checks disabled by rebooting into advanced options (Hold left shift key while hitting reboot button) and hit F7.

You need to copy the modified atikmdag.sys file into your drivers folder as well (C:/Windows/System32/Drivers)

File can be found here: Here

Rom has modified timings and higher limits. (Memory 2275, higher tdp limit...)

I'll do an energy friendly rom later this week.

For the Windows 7 users, i'll look into that this week.

Greetings

Thanks for sharing!

all 480 card can use this rom?

No. It is just for the reference AMD RX 480. But that cards has only 6 pin PCIE connector. So you have to be careful.

It works with ASUS RX480 reference ?




   ▄▄███████▄▄       ▐█     █▌         ██          ▐██████▄▄       ▐██████▄          ██         ▐█▄        █▌    ███████▌
 ▄███▀▀   ▀▀███▄     ▐█     █▌        █▌▐█         ▐█   ▀▀██▄     ▐█   ▀█▌        █▌▐█        ▐███▄      █▌       █▌   
▐██▌        ▐██▌    ▐█     █▌       ██  ██        ▐█      ▐█▌    ▐█   ▄█▌       ██  ██       ▐█ ▀██▄    █▌       █▌   
███          ███    ▐█     █▌      ██   ██       ▐█       ██    ▐██████▀       ██   ██      ▐█   ▀██▄   █▌       █▌   
▐██▌   ██▄   ▐██▌    ▐█     █▌     ██████████      ▐█      ▐█▌    ▐█▀██▄        ██████████     ▐█    ▀██▄ █▌       █▌   
 ▀███▄▄ ▀██▄ ▀█▀     ▐█▄   ▄█▌    ██       ██     ▐█   ▄▄██▀     ▐█  ▀██▄     ██       ██    ▐█      ▀███▌       █▌   
   ▀▀█████▀██▄        ▀██████▀    ██         ██    ▐██████▀▀       ▐█   ▀█▌   ██         ██   ▐█        ▀█▌       █▌   
           ▀▀▀

A Blueprint for Mapping Decentralized Data


Telegram             Twitter             Medium             LinkedIn
██
██
██
██
██
   
Data Stamping
Constellation Creation
Enriched data and services
██
██
██
██
██
   
With Quadrant, any form of

Data can be Authenticated.
eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 03:09:24 PM
 #52

It should. All reference models are same with different stickers and packaging.

Tmdz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 03:38:15 PM
 #53

but is it for the 4gb or 8gb models?
eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 03:43:22 PM
 #54

8GB


sevenzk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 03:54:20 PM
 #55

I flashed it using atiflash 2.74 on windows 7, plug it out and put it on ubuntu 14.04, with amdgpupro 16.30. Speed is very jumpy, from 21MH/s to 28MH/s. Sapphire RX 480 8gb reference card. Thanks for the bios, I`m sure it's still in early trial and I hope it still can be improved Cheesy
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 05:05:38 PM
 #56

So uhm, yeah, i managed to get my custom rom running on Windows 10 by bypassing that aweful signature check :p
(Kudo's to Gupsterg and Lordkag for that)
Decided to create a new thread because my other threads are becoming a serious mess..

Reason why using claymore's,  couldn't directly get Genoil's to detect my card  Roll Eyes My apologies for that..


Results.

First run (no mod): 24Mh+ : Core clock 1275, Mem Clock 2000



Larger image: Here



Second run (modded): 28Mh : Same clocks, so: 1275, 2000



Larger image: Here



Next run (still modded): 30.5 - 31Mh : Lowered core to 1192 and raised memory to the (for now) max of 2250.



Larger image: Here



Then, for my final(for now) run: 31.5-32Mh : Raised core to 1220 and raised memory to 2275  Tongue



Larger image: Here



Will be doing more tests later, i'm sure i'll be able to go over 32Mh.
Great thing about this, when i ran the first testrun with stock clocks, card was at around 60 degrees and no abnormal fan speed.

Overall, awesome card Smiley


Power usage tests will follow later when i'm done tweaking my rom to the sweet spot Smiley


Greetings!

yeah i think its better to wait until a mod with lower memory and core voltage is reduced which should improve stability
keep us posted and thanks !

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1012
Merit: 1183

Huh?


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 06:02:46 PM
 #57

Ok, here.

For the linux guys.

Just flash rom and run it, card won't consume more than 100w and will stay under 85degrees at all times.
No more jumping around between DPM states.

When running stock, speed on Ethereum will be around 30Mh (as you can see in my included image).

Core clock is set to go to 1191Mh and memory will go to 2200.

Rom: Here



Large image: Here

For the Windows guys, for now, same thing, only Windows 10 with signature check disabled and a modified atikmdag.sys file.


Had no chance to do a decent energy test, will do this later.

Greetings

Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1012
Merit: 1183

Huh?


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 06:56:31 PM
 #58

Here's one for those who don't care about electricity.

Speed is around 31.5 out of the box, you can raise that memory to 2300Max but i wouldn't do that. Stick to 2275Max.

Core will go to 1285 and memory is at 2250.
Every limit raised, no worries, i did not go over specs, so there's basically no risk of frying your card Smiley

Rom: Here



Larger: Here



Ps. using these roms is at your own risk.
I'm not responsible for any damage done.

If you can't afford to brick your card, don't flash.
If you do not trust me, don't flash.
If you're happy with your card as it is out of the box, don't flash.

I don't need any donations or payments or whatever, a thank you is more than enough Smiley
I do this for fun and to help the community, also because i like screwing around.

I am however open for a serious cooperation with serious people or big farm owners Smiley 'who isn't :p'
Would they benefit from it? Of course, i never share my fastest roms  Wink


Greetings!

Dum3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 07:28:07 PM
 #59

Quick question,once custom rom flashed will the wattman app still work?
marvykkio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 07:42:37 PM
 #60

Here's one for those who don't care about electricity.

Speed is around 31.5 out of the box, you can raise that memory to 2300Max but i wouldn't do that. Stick to 2275Max.

Core will go to 1285 and memory is at 2250.
Every limit raised, no worries, i did not go over specs, so there's basically no risk of frying your card Smiley

Rom: Here



Larger: Here



Ps. using these roms is at your own risk.
I'm not responsible for any damage done.

If you can't afford to brick your card, don't flash.
If you do not trust me, don't flash.
If you're happy with your card as it is out of the box, don't flash.

I don't need any donations or payments or whatever, a thank you is more than enough Smiley
I do this for fun and to help the community, also because i like screwing around.

I am however open for a serious cooperation with serious people or big farm owners Smiley 'who isn't :p'
Would they benefit from it? Of course, i never share my fastest roms  Wink


Greetings!

You used beautiful words, and you've proven humble as a person, and not greedy like many people in this forum,
deserves all my respect.

if not use your rom because I'm not capable, I thank you for the help that you give to the community on the forum.

thank you so much.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 ... 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!