Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2018, 02:48:38 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 ... 133 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 396699 times)
#Darren
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 416
Merit: 250


GIGZI - INDEPENDENT WEALTH MANAGEMENT


View Profile
July 24, 2013, 03:28:31 PM
 #1221

People starting to mine should know that by now block finds are rare even on i7 3770k @ 4.4 !
I used to find a block a day and I have found none during the last 72h...

same here



████████████▀████▄████████████████▀███▀████████████████▄█
███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀█████████████████████▀████████████████████████████
████████▀▀████████████████████▀▀█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████▀███████
      |                  |                  |            
1545144518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545144518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545144518
Reply with quote  #2

1545144518
Report to moderator
1545144518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545144518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545144518
Reply with quote  #2

1545144518
Report to moderator
1545144518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545144518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545144518
Reply with quote  #2

1545144518
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1545144518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545144518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545144518
Reply with quote  #2

1545144518
Report to moderator
1545144518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545144518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545144518
Reply with quote  #2

1545144518
Report to moderator
Stinky_Pete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 24, 2013, 04:56:51 PM
 #1222

Still getting new blocks mined on my i7-970 Gulftown at 3.2GHz (2 today, 2 yesterday). Maturing seem to take at least 48 hours, so I'm guessing a lot of machines have dropped out of the network.

arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 24, 2013, 05:37:41 PM
 #1223

Where can we report feature requests now as the github account is disabled?

mikaelh, would it be possible to add the 5-chains value to the mininginfo rpc call and/or add a separate rpc call for it? Just like for getprimespersec. That would be really handy for measuring performance!

That's already done. It's called (get)chainspermin.

Cool, I missed that! Thanks.
Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 07:07:17 PM
 #1224

Still getting new blocks mined on my i7-970 Gulftown at 3.2GHz (2 today, 2 yesterday). Maturing seem to take at least 48 hours, so I'm guessing a lot of machines have dropped out of the network.

What settings are you using and how many primes per second are you getting? I'm mining  on my 3930k and get anything from 4k to 5700 primes per sec and have only gotten one block in three days of mining.

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 24, 2013, 07:34:37 PM
 #1225

Still getting new blocks mined on my i7-970 Gulftown at 3.2GHz (2 today, 2 yesterday). Maturing seem to take at least 48 hours, so I'm guessing a lot of machines have dropped out of the network.

The difficulty is still going up so there are definitely more people joining than leaving.
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 07:41:09 PM
 #1226

Still getting new blocks mined on my i7-970 Gulftown at 3.2GHz (2 today, 2 yesterday). Maturing seem to take at least 48 hours, so I'm guessing a lot of machines have dropped out of the network.

What settings are you using and how many primes per second are you getting? I'm mining  on my 3930k and get anything from 4k to 5700 primes per sec and have only gotten one block in three days of mining.

It really is hard to tell if/when you'll get a block.
I don't mean that as in "I don't know how to calculate it", I mean it in the sense that "I'm not sure if it can be calculated".

Prime numbers and prime chains are quite fickle and inconsistent things.  With hash-based cryptocurrency, there's a certain uniformity and predictability with difficulty.  With primes and prime chains, there's some predictability, but not enough to get you a simple formula.  See the "Difficulty Adjustability of Proof-Of-Work" of the primecoin paper.

With hash based coins, the question is simply "if I throw dice with X sides, what's the odds I'll get a number lower than [difficulty]".
With primecoin, the question is "what's the odds that I'll find a chain of primes [difficulty] numbers long, with the next number not being prime and having a remainder greater than [difficulty]".


So yeah.  I have no idea (and neither does anybody else).


P.S.: Just because you're finding X primes/sec doesn't mean you'll find them with the correct properties.

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 08:10:17 PM
 #1227

Still getting new blocks mined on my i7-970 Gulftown at 3.2GHz (2 today, 2 yesterday). Maturing seem to take at least 48 hours, so I'm guessing a lot of machines have dropped out of the network.

What settings are you using and how many primes per second are you getting? I'm mining  on my 3930k and get anything from 4k to 5700 primes per sec and have only gotten one block in three days of mining.

It really is hard to tell if/when you'll get a block.
I don't mean that as in "I don't know how to calculate it", I mean it in the sense that "I'm not sure if it can be calculated".

Prime numbers and prime chains are quite fickle and inconsistent things.  With hash-based cryptocurrency, there's a certain uniformity and predictability with difficulty.  With primes and prime chains, there's some predictability, but not enough to get you a simple formula.  See the "Difficulty Adjustability of Proof-Of-Work" of the primecoin paper.

With hash based coins, the question is simply "if I throw dice with X sides, what's the odds I'll get a number lower than [difficulty]".
With primecoin, the question is "what's the odds that I'll find a chain of primes [difficulty] numbers long, with the next number not being prime and having a remainder greater than [difficulty]".


So yeah.  I have no idea (and neither does anybody else).


P.S.: Just because you're finding X primes/sec doesn't mean you'll find them with the correct properties.

Thanks for the explanation - I was just curious about settings since I'm using the default sieve size and sieve percentage  and don't know if changing them helps at all right now - I saw people discussing different settings making a difference on the testnet and was wondering if there were any better settings that I could use right now.

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
Tuck Fheman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2013, 08:20:59 PM
 #1228

Thanks for the explanation - I was just curious about settings since I'm using the default sieve size and sieve percentage  and don't know if changing them helps at all right now - I saw people discussing different settings making a difference on the testnet and was wondering if there were any better settings that I could use right now.

Your best bet is to run some test w/your box on testnet to find your settings. For v7 my best are 2M/8%, 2M/14% did well too. However, no blocks w/v4-v7 for me on i7 860 @ 3.22.

I do spend a lot of time on testnet though. I figured since I wasn't finding blocks I could at least find some good settings for any other i7 quad miners out there and I'll wait for the GPU miner.

gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 08:29:10 PM
 #1229

Thanks for the explanation - I was just curious about settings since I'm using the default sieve size and sieve percentage  and don't know if changing them helps at all right now - I saw people discussing different settings making a difference on the testnet and was wondering if there were any better settings that I could use right now.

Your best bet is to run some test w/your box on testnet to find your settings. For v7 my best are 2M/8%, 2M/14% did well too. However, no blocks w/v4-v7 for me on i7 860 @ 3.22.

I do spend a lot of time on testnet though. I figured since I wasn't finding blocks I could at least find some good settings for any other i7 quad miners out there and I'll wait for the GPU miner.

You might be able to help me with a noob question.  Whenever I enable testnet=1 in my .conf file, I always end up with issues.
It always shows that it's out of sync, 2 weeks behind, and "no block source available".

What am I doing wrong?

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 08:41:53 PM
 #1230

Thanks for the explanation - I was just curious about settings since I'm using the default sieve size and sieve percentage  and don't know if changing them helps at all right now - I saw people discussing different settings making a difference on the testnet and was wondering if there were any better settings that I could use right now.

Your best bet is to run some test w/your box on testnet to find your settings. For v7 my best are 2M/8%, 2M/14% did well too. However, no blocks w/v4-v7 for me on i7 860 @ 3.22.

I do spend a lot of time on testnet though. I figured since I wasn't finding blocks I could at least find some good settings for any other i7 quad miners out there and I'll wait for the GPU miner.

You might be able to help me with a noob question.  Whenever I enable testnet=1 in my .conf file, I always end up with issues.
It always shows that it's out of sync, 2 weeks behind, and "no block source available".

What am I doing wrong?

I don't think you are doing anything wrong - it has another block chain on the test net and that needs to sync separately. I ran into some issues syncing with it with antivirus software (only for the first part). It might help to disable your firewall temporarily until you have part of the block chain and multiple block sources. Then again I'm a complete noob and might be goiing about this completely wrong - take what I say with a grain of salt.

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 08:45:16 PM
 #1231


You might be able to help me with a noob question.  Whenever I enable testnet=1 in my .conf file, I always end up with issues.
It always shows that it's out of sync, 2 weeks behind, and "no block source available".

What am I doing wrong?

I don't think you are doing anything wrong - it has another block chain on the test net and that needs to sync separately. I ran into some issues syncing with it with antivirus software (only for the first part). It might help to disable your firewall temporarily until you have part of the block chain and multiple block sources. Then again I'm a complete noob and might be goiing about this completely wrong - take what I say with a grain of salt.

Ok, I'm glad it's not just me.  I'll just hold tight then.

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 08:49:18 PM
 #1232


You might be able to help me with a noob question.  Whenever I enable testnet=1 in my .conf file, I always end up with issues.
It always shows that it's out of sync, 2 weeks behind, and "no block source available".

What am I doing wrong?

I don't think you are doing anything wrong - it has another block chain on the test net and that needs to sync separately. I ran into some issues syncing with it with antivirus software (only for the first part). It might help to disable your firewall temporarily until you have part of the block chain and multiple block sources. Then again I'm a complete noob and might be goiing about this completely wrong - take what I say with a grain of salt.

Ok, I'm glad it's not just me.  I'll just hold tight then.

I just set up the software on my laptop and it took a few moments with no connection and now seems to be syncing. Waiting might help as there seem to be a few minor issues with getting your computer to sync at first.

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 09:05:47 PM
 #1233

mikaelh has been hard at work optimizing the code (10 new commits on bitbucket)

After an hour running this on mainnet I'm seeing consistently higher pps and chainspermin than with hp7 on an identical box

I think it's time for another round of donations to keep mikaelh going  Smiley

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
Dsfyu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 09:22:36 PM
 #1234

mikaelh has been hard at work optimizing the code (10 new commits on bitbucket)

After an hour running this on mainnet I'm seeing consistently higher pps and chainspermin than with hp7 on an identical box

I think it's time for another round of donations to keep mikaelh going  Smiley

How much higher are you seeing? I would donate in primecoin now but I only mined my first block yesterday and it still is immature - it's going to be at least another day before I am able to use the coins.

Don't just trade, get paid to Atomic⚛Trade !!!
Disclaimer: I am a noob. Assume I know nothing until proven otherwise.
Vigil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 24, 2013, 09:58:42 PM
 #1235

Still getting new blocks mined on my i7-970 Gulftown at 3.2GHz (2 today, 2 yesterday). Maturing seem to take at least 48 hours, so I'm guessing a lot of machines have dropped out of the network.

What settings are you using and how many primes per second are you getting? I'm mining  on my 3930k and get anything from 4k to 5700 primes per sec and have only gotten one block in three days of mining.

You are lucky. I have been mining for at least a week at 4000 PPS and have yet to get a single block.
fredeq
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1429
Merit: 1004


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2013, 10:02:52 PM
 #1236

No block for 2 days on Xeon e5 3,7 Ghz, decided to go ypool...

Btw while hp7 shows around 3800 primes/s, the ypool miner shows 8000 primes/s. Maybe I should not compare, dunno.

https://whattomine.com - Check what to mine Smiley
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 10:10:02 PM
 #1237

mikaelh has been hard at work optimizing the code (10 new commits on bitbucket)

After an hour running this on mainnet I'm seeing consistently higher pps and chainspermin than with hp7 on an identical box

I think it's time for another round of donations to keep mikaelh going  Smiley

How much higher are you seeing? I would donate in primecoin now but I only mined my first block yesterday and it still is immature - it's going to be at least another day before I am able to use the coins.

Current mining info from the box compiled from the latest code:
Code:
{
    "blocks" : 81661,
    "chainspermin" : 10,
    "currentblocksize" : 10284,
    "currentblocktx" : 1,
    "difficulty" : 9.26995111,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "primespersec" : 2995,
    "pooledtx" : 1,
    "sievepercentage" : 11,
    "sievesize" : 4400000,
    "testnet" : false
}

and mining info from the box running hp7:
Code:
{
    "blocks" : 81663,
    "chainspermin" : 7,
    "currentblocksize" : 1000,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "difficulty" : 9.26969045,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "primespersec" : 2010,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "sievepercentage" : 11,
    "sievesize" : 4400000,
    "testnet" : false
}

PPS and CPM fluctuate on both boxes, but the newest code is performing ~30% better based on the stats. It's hard to tell what improvement this would translate to in finding blocks.

I'm wary of comparisons between testnet and mainnet - due to the difference in difficulty, some optimizations might never get used on testnet while they are in constant use in mainnet because of the higher difficulty.

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
rahlquist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 24, 2013, 10:24:45 PM
 #1238

Oh yeah, there are still the glibc and libstdc++ dependencies. Those are quite hard to get rid of. For now your best option is probably to compile it yourself. You can try taking a few pointers from my guide here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=259022.0

That only shows how to compile the daemon though. You'll need to install the Qt development packages in addition to compile the Qt client.
Thanks for the help. The incompatibility here and with another key app caused me to dump Cent and go with Fedora 19. Getting 2608pps on my new server rig ( amd FX-6300 based) now with your client. Smiley Not bad for a sub $450 server.
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 24, 2013, 10:27:36 PM
 #1239

No block for 2 days on Xeon e5 3,7 Ghz, decided to go ypool...

Btw while hp7 shows around 3800 primes/s, the ypool miner shows 8000 primes/s. Maybe I should not compare, dunno.

YPool is interesting in that they are finding 5% of the blocks which appears consistent with their stats page ~3/hour

If we could estimate the total number of miner nodes in the primecoin network then we could establish whether the 3000 workers are more or less 5% of the total network.

I suspect that the ypool miner performance is worse, but the aggregated effect of the pool is helping to avoid orphan blocks.

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
Tuck Fheman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2013, 10:44:48 PM
 #1240

For comparison, these are my current stats w/HP7 on i7 860 @ 3.22 Win7/64

{
"blocks" : 81643,
"chainspermin" : 15,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 9.26953751,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 4,
"primespersec" : 2026,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"sievepercentage" : 8,
"sievesize" : 2000000,
"testnet" : false
}

{
"blocks" : 81626,
"chainspermin" : 7,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 9.26957542,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 4,
"primespersec" : 2437,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"sievepercentage" : 8,
"sievesize" : 2000000,
"testnet" : false
}

{
"blocks" : 81707,
"chainspermin" : 8,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"difficulty" : 9.27111542,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : 6,
"primespersec" : 2307,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"sievepercentage" : 8,
"sievesize" : 2000000,
"testnet" : false
}


I don't really see much improvement using all threads, in fact I'd have to say I see less CPM when doing so. It appears I see higher CPM when using 4.

My experience since 7/17 has been ... mining primecoin with one cpu is like being in a really unlucky PPLNS pool.



Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 ... 133 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!