Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 07:43:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 143976 times)
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 03:37:47 AM
 #101


Thanks.. exact same temps here .. it's strange that the temp is different for 1 side, even though the airflow is the same

Sushi told me that the safe temps for overclocking is about 50°C

I would beleive that. At 400MHz, one unit runs at 48/50 and the other at 51/52. The hotter one has a lower hasrate over a 4 day average. I just tuned it down to 4e81 hoping to see how it handles at a slightly lower speed/temp

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
1513151009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513151009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513151009
Reply with quote  #2

1513151009
Report to moderator
1513151009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513151009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513151009
Reply with quote  #2

1513151009
Report to moderator
"I'm sure that in 20 years there will either be very large transaction volume or no volume." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513151009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513151009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513151009
Reply with quote  #2

1513151009
Report to moderator
1513151009
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513151009

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513151009
Reply with quote  #2

1513151009
Report to moderator
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 08:42:30 AM
 #102

At 375 I'm seeing about 193 Gh/s on my unit. it doesn't like 400 at all, too many hardware errors.  I am using an Antec 620W 80+ PSU.  Should I be using a higher rated PSU?

goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 09:52:28 AM
 #103

At 375 I'm seeing about 193 Gh/s on my unit. it doesn't like 400 at all, too many hardware errors.  I am using an Antec 620W 80+ PSU.  Should I be using a higher rated PSU?
All my 400MHz / 200GH/s Antminers like a 750W PSU. None of them liked 650W or 600W PSU at 400MHz (some or all x in the status).
All work fine at 375MHz/192GH/s with 600 - 750W PSUs.

The buck regulator is a 30A part. Output voltage is 1.1V. Every 8 chip uses one buck regulator. When drawing > 30A the regulator efficiency dwindles a lot. You can Do the math Wink

 my PSUs are 80Plus Gold / Platinum rated.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
slasher71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 11:43:36 AM
 #104

Hi

Just wondering.... if overclocked, thinking of adding another fan, any idea if it's better to have it sucking or blowing at the other end of the frame?

Slash

I installed a second fan and having it move air in the same direction as the existing fan, i.e. blowing out. The hot air appears to be moving faster and the antminer is stable at room temp.

Thanks did you get much temperature difference ...once the 2nd fan was installed ?

Not really, as my antminer was running cool at 40-45, but the hot air is moving faster away from the antminer.  I am seeing a lot of cold air escape one side of the antminer right by the (original) incoming fan.  Maybe placing the antminer in a bfl single type of enclosure would force this air to move across the heatsink in a more efficient manner...but with the miner running so cool as-is, I am not sure there's a need for this.

As a test I tried to enclose the miner.... the temps shot straight up.....so not a good idea.. that was with 2 fans 1 at each end
madpoet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 11:45:13 AM
 #105

One suggestion if you have space... take them out of the frame and get fans pointed directly at the heatsinks.  The design is space efficient but not heat efficient.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 01:53:40 PM
 #106

At 375 I'm seeing about 193 Gh/s on my unit. it doesn't like 400 at all, too many hardware errors.  I am using an Antec 620W 80+ PSU.  Should I be using a higher rated PSU?
All my 400MHz / 200GH/s Antminers like a 750W PSU. None of them liked 650W or 600W PSU at 400MHz (some or all x in the status).
All work fine at 375MHz/192GH/s with 600 - 750W PSUs.

The buck regulator is a 30A part. Output voltage is 1.1V. Every 8 chip uses one buck regulator. When drawing > 30A the regulator efficiency dwindles a lot. You can Do the math Wink

 my PSUs are 80Plus Gold / Platinum rated.

375MHz is 190.5GHash for me over 12hrs - i intent to push it upwards again

I have 1 unit that runs at 51/53 degrees for 400MHz and produces 199-200GHash using a 730W PSU (2 rails)       - I assume this is the best the unit can do, due to heat
My second unit runs at   48/50 degree for 400MHz and produces 205-207GHash using a 600W PSU (Corsair, 1 rail)  -  I think a small amount of improvement may be possible

I previously tried the 425 code on the first unit and it did not respond well, with the hashrate being lower, in the 185-188GHash range

Does anyone know if it is possible to set them at 390MHz or 410MHz? I think that could be a good wa to reduce the temperature slightly on one unit, and squeeze a few GH from the other

I

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
finlof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 05:35:16 PM
 #107

FYI - when clocked at 400 (200gh/s) my killawatt reports a draw of 460 watts at the wall using a thermaltake 700 watt PS.  i'm sure it is a little less now that it's plugged into my 220v circuit, but just wanted to report my watt usage.
lubah
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 09:15:44 PM
 #108

just received my 2nd ant -  Smiley

noticed the original is running: Load: 1.95 1.92 1.94
and the new one is running: Load: 2.04 1.93 1.29

both seem to be hashing around the same rate...

any reason I should upgrade?   what's the latest f/w?

what do these load values represent?
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 06:31:58 AM
 #109

At 375 I'm seeing about 193 Gh/s on my unit. it doesn't like 400 at all, too many hardware errors.  I am using an Antec 620W 80+ PSU.  Should I be using a higher rated PSU?
All my 400MHz / 200GH/s Antminers like a 750W PSU. None of them liked 650W or 600W PSU at 400MHz (some or all x in the status).
All work fine at 375MHz/192GH/s with 600 - 750W PSUs.

The buck regulator is a 30A part. Output voltage is 1.1V. Every 8 chip uses one buck regulator. When drawing > 30A the regulator efficiency dwindles a lot. You can Do the math Wink

 my PSUs are 80Plus Gold / Platinum rated.

goxed which gold/platinum PSU do you recommend?

goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 08:34:42 AM
 #110

At 375 I'm seeing about 193 Gh/s on my unit. it doesn't like 400 at all, too many hardware errors.  I am using an Antec 620W 80+ PSU.  Should I be using a higher rated PSU?
All my 400MHz / 200GH/s Antminers like a 750W PSU. None of them liked 650W or 600W PSU at 400MHz (some or all x in the status).
All work fine at 375MHz/192GH/s with 600 - 750W PSUs.

The buck regulator is a 30A part. Output voltage is 1.1V. Every 8 chip uses one buck regulator. When drawing > 30A the regulator efficiency dwindles a lot. You can Do the math Wink

 my PSUs are 80Plus Gold / Platinum rated.

goxed which gold/platinum PSU do you recommend?
I regularly ab(use) the following PSUs Wink

a) Seasonic or made by Seasonic but different brand
b) Sparkle or made by Sparkle but different brand
c) Rosewill Tachyon / Capstone series

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 08:38:42 AM
 #111

good cuz I ordered a rosewill capstone series 750 80 + gold Tongue

nairb131
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 12:16:28 PM
 #112

Does any one have a good recommendation for a fan to add to the back or maybe know where to source another of the fans it comes with stock? I would really like to add another one to see how that fairs.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 02:54:54 PM
 #113

Does any one have a good recommendation for a fan to add to the back or maybe know where to source another of the fans it comes with stock? I would really like to add another one to see how that fairs.

any 120mm fan (PWM preferably) will work, but you should look for a minimum of 70CFM (the stock fan is capable of >100CFM i think) to get ideal airflow

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
slasher71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 03:30:21 PM
 #114

Does any one have a good recommendation for a fan to add to the back or maybe know where to source another of the fans it comes with stock? I would really like to add another one to see how that fairs.

any 120mm fan (PWM preferably) will work, but you should look for a minimum of 70CFM (the stock fan is capable of >100CFM i think) to get ideal airflow

Reeven ColdWing 120mm PWM (36.6 dBA, 106.7 CFM at 2000 RPM - high setting)
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 06:45:47 PM
 #115

I think now is possible to change a settings via luci interface.
On system/backup first generate configuration archive and save it on hdd. Open it and edit asic-freq and save it.
Then go login into anminer again system/backup and restore backup archive and reboot.
Never tried but could work.
novymivo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 07:24:17 PM
 #116

I think now is possible to change a settings via luci interface.
On system/backup first generate configuration archive and save it on hdd. Open it and edit asic-freq and save it.
Then go login into anminer again system/backup and restore backup archive and reboot.
Never tried but could work.
I tried.
Didn't work for me.
PSU buyers.
The best option is to buy used DELL 750 W server psu in uk for 15 pounds each. Working perfect.

1DP6hkRCNoxE15QFfyeqxRk1qu7gX4FzGS
madpoet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 08:00:56 PM
 #117

Don't you have to modify the power cables for that?
novymivo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 08:18:12 PM
 #118

Don't you have to modify the power cables for that?
yes
but is simple
give me 10 minutes i will try to find right topic with instruction.

edit :
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=344948.280

Any question pm me.
I got 2 already in use.

1DP6hkRCNoxE15QFfyeqxRk1qu7gX4FzGS
CroverNo01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
December 16, 2013, 12:41:13 AM
 #119

Where can I buy the power cables for the dell psu server ?

Thanks
mijanur
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 04:36:35 AM
 #120

This is my current setting "ANT201311001752".

What needs editing for the overclocking?
I want to compare this original file with a modded asic-freq file for this specific model.

Quote



package 'cgminer'

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
       
#option 'freq_value'    '4f81'  #400M       
     
#option 'chip_freq'     '400'       

#option 'timeout'       '35'         
                                   
option 'freq_value'     '4d81'  #350M
option 'chip_freq'      '350'       
option 'timeout'        '40'         
                         
#option 'freq_value'    '4c81'  #325M
#option 'chip_freq'     '325'       
#option 'timeout'       '40'         
                                             
#option 'freq_value'    '0b81'  #300M
#option 'chip_freq'     '300'       
#option 'timeout'       '45'         
                                             
#option 'freq_value'    '0981'  #250M
#option 'chip_freq'     '250'       
#option 'timeout'       '55'         
                                             
#option 'freq_value'    '0781'  #200M
#option 'chip_freq'     '200'
       
#option 'timeout'       '70'
#option 'freq_value'    '4f02'  #193M
#option 'chip_freq'     '193'
       
#option 'timeout'       '70'


Im waiting on a replacemnt wrt card cant wait to get it running again.

I will edit the asic-freq file from the backup on pc and then restore from the edited backup zip. instead of ssh into the antminer.


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!