Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 10:59:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 143989 times)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2013, 03:02:07 AM
 #41

Hey is there a new firmware with a version of cgminer which does not hog cpu?
Thanks
Still waiting for them to post their current code before I can see if I can do anything with it. Also I don't know if I'll be able to create firmware for it or just cgminer binaries.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513205999
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513205999

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513205999
Reply with quote  #2

1513205999
Report to moderator
1513205999
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513205999

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513205999
Reply with quote  #2

1513205999
Report to moderator
novymivo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 04:07:11 AM
 #42

Dear goxed
Can you explain me how to overclock antminer by using linux step by step ?
I got raspberry pi with minepeon .
kind regards

1DP6hkRCNoxE15QFfyeqxRk1qu7gX4FzGS
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 06:53:29 AM
 #43

Dear goxed
Can you explain me how to overclock antminer by using linux step by step ?
I got raspberry pi with minepeon .
kind regards


Sorry, but antminer has a built in host computer (similar to Avalons). You need to modify the files as instructed in the first post of this thread. since cgminer source is not available (pls see the previous post) this is the only way to OC at the moment.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
novymivo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 04:29:16 PM
 #44

This thread is for support related discussions of the BITMAIN Antminer S2 hashing device

How to overclock your miner to 400MHz / 205GH/s

The miner will draw 500 - 525Watts after this setting

A) ssh into your miner

B) edit the following file
/etc/config/asic-freq

C) change timeout to 36, freq_value to '0780', 'chip_freq' to 400.

Code:
root@antMiner2:/etc/config# vim asic-freq

package 'cgminer'

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        #option 'freq_value'      '0780'        #400M
        #option 'freq_value'    '4d81'  #350M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '350'
        option 'timeout'        '36'
        #option 'freq_value'    '4c81'  #325M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '325'
        option 'freq_value'     '0780'  #350M
        option 'chip_freq'      '400'
        #option 'freq_value'    '0580'  #300M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '300'
        #option 'freq_value'    '0981'  #250M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '250'
        #option 'freq_value'    '4f02'  #190M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '190'


How to RESET your OpenWRT card in case of an unresponsive miner

Please follow the steps in the instruction manual provided by BITMAIN below.
https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/blob/master/manual/AntMiner%20FAQ.pdf?raw=true
https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/tree/master/manual


Please donate if it works for you: 1FrW5ka9CRVWdL9EM4Jut9eHWU1a1biyy5
Goxed i will try one more time Smiley.
Can you tell me where i can find the window with these options to change in main menu for antminer ?
Are you running overclocked ??

1DP6hkRCNoxE15QFfyeqxRk1qu7gX4FzGS
yuancraft
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
December 05, 2013, 04:41:11 PM
 #45

dear goxed can you helping me ?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=344970.msg3836387#msg3836387

change ip to 192.168.1.181 then dadah

cant ping cant login in web config page

just see green flash led, green led on RJ45 port .....
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 11:26:38 PM
 #46

This thread is for support related discussions of the BITMAIN Antminer S2 hashing device

How to overclock your miner to 400MHz / 205GH/s

The miner will draw 500 - 525Watts after this setting

A) ssh into your miner

B) edit the following file
/etc/config/asic-freq

C) change timeout to 36, freq_value to '0780', 'chip_freq' to 400.

Code:
root@antMiner2:/etc/config# vim asic-freq

package 'cgminer'

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        #option 'freq_value'      '0780'        #400M
        #option 'freq_value'    '4d81'  #350M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '350'
        option 'timeout'        '36'
        #option 'freq_value'    '4c81'  #325M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '325'
        option 'freq_value'     '0780'  #350M
        option 'chip_freq'      '400'
        #option 'freq_value'    '0580'  #300M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '300'
        #option 'freq_value'    '0981'  #250M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '250'
        #option 'freq_value'    '4f02'  #190M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '190'


How to RESET your OpenWRT card in case of an unresponsive miner

Please follow the steps in the instruction manual provided by BITMAIN below.
https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/blob/master/manual/AntMiner%20FAQ.pdf?raw=true
https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/tree/master/manual


Please donate if it works for you: 1FrW5ka9CRVWdL9EM4Jut9eHWU1a1biyy5
Goxed i will try one more time Smiley.
Can you tell me where i can find the window with these options to change in main menu for antminer ?
Are you running overclocked ??


Actually you have to ssh into your miner. There is no GUI options at the moment. All command line. Please make a backup of your firmware before tinkering if you are unsure.
Thanks

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
madpoet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 11:42:54 PM
 #47

Working great thanks goxed!
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 11:47:49 PM
 #48

Working great thanks goxed!
Smiley glad

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
madpoet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 02:23:54 PM
 #49

Hey goxed these were posted over in a different thread... what do you think about pushing even higher?

400   3.2   4F81   35
425   3.4   5081   33
450   3.6   5181   31
475   3.8   5281   30
500   4   5381   28

I am thinking with some better cooling it might be possible Smiley
bclcjunkie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 814



View Profile
December 06, 2013, 03:12:58 PM
 #50

goxed have you tried? i've got lousy PSU atm, need to get a better one before overclocking..

Hey goxed these were posted over in a different thread... what do you think about pushing even higher?

400   3.2   4F81   35
425   3.4   5081   33
450   3.6   5181   31
475   3.8   5281   30
500   4   5381   28

I am thinking with some better cooling it might be possible Smiley
finlof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 03:52:13 PM
 #51

excellent tip.  was easy to do and increased my hashing by over 10%.  will definitely tip you

edit - tip sent.  cheers
finlof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 08:21:17 PM
 #52

goxed have you tried? i've got lousy PSU atm, need to get a better one before overclocking..

Hey goxed these were posted over in a different thread... what do you think about pushing even higher?

400   3.2   4F81   35
425   3.4   5081   33
450   3.6   5181   31
475   3.8   5281   30
500   4   5381   28

I am thinking with some better cooling it might be possible Smiley
i tried the 425 setting and i got a lot of hardware errors and was hashing more slowly than at 400.  if you're going to overclock best to stick with 400 for now.
CroverNo01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
December 06, 2013, 10:04:21 PM
 #53

When I SSH into my miner I get

Code:
  _______                     ________        __
 |       |.-----.-----.-----.|  |  |  |.----.|  |_
 |   -   ||  _  |  -__|     ||  |  |  ||   _||   _|
 |_______||   __|_____|__|__||________||__|  |____|
          |__| W I R E L E S S   F R E E D O M
 -----------------------------------------------------
 BARRIER BREAKER (Bleeding Edge, r38031)
 -----------------------------------------------------
  * 1/2 oz Galliano         Pour all ingredients into
  * 4 oz cold Coffee        an irish coffee mug filled
  * 1 1/2 oz Dark Rum       with crushed ice. Stir.
  * 2 tsp. Creme de Cacao
 -----------------------------------------------------

Can anyone provide the steps or a video tutorial ?

Sure you will gain tips for this, myself being one of them

Thanks
JohnC.
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 10:12:13 PM
 #54

After logging in via SSH the following steps:
1. type:  "cd /etc/config"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
2. type: "vim asic-freq"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
3. hit I button to enable "edit mode" and adjust the settings, lines beginning with # are ignored.
4. after you're done hit the ESC button to exit "edit mode".
5. type ":wq" (without the quotes) to execute write and quit.
6. you'll be back in the command line, type reboot to restart your device.

You can check your frequency in the web interface miner status page.
If everything went ok, you're mining with higher speed Smiley

Then you can donate to me for providing you with extra steps to unleash ultimate hashing power Tongue 15j3fDzunHtoTsDH7MAKQQiG95q5yWYTfk

Keep looking at your HW errors to make sure your device isn't frying up.
I've added some tiny heatsinks, and running 400Mhz but still 3.3% HW error.
But my Antminer is using the Corsair AX860 80+ Platinum PSU and @400Mhz it's sucking around 395W out of the wall-socket Smiley
madpoet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 10:31:22 PM
 #55

How can you tell what your hardware errors are?
finlof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 10:32:05 PM
 #56

After logging in via SSH the following steps:
1. type:  "cd /etc/config"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
2. type: "vim asic-freq"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
3. hit I button to enable "edit mode" and adjust the settings, lines beginning with # are ignored.
4. after you're done hit the ESC button to exit "edit mode".
5. type ":wq" (without the quotes) to execute write and quit.
6. you'll be back in the command line, type reboot to restart your device.

You can check your frequency in the web interface miner status page.
If everything went ok, you're mining with higher speed Smiley

Then you can donate to me for providing you with extra hashing power Tongue 15j3fDzunHtoTsDH7MAKQQiG95q5yWYTfk

also note which miner version/revision you have (look at OP's post below).  mine were both the 2013/11/18 build date, which i found out easily after opening the asic-freq file (since it had the same format as he shows below).

make sure once you do step 3 above that you place a # in front of the 3 original 350M lines and remove the # from the 400M lines.


C) change timeout to 36, freq_value to '0780', 'chip_freq' to 400.
For miners with build date 2013/11/4
Code:
root@antMiner2:/etc/config# vim asic-freq

package 'cgminer'

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        #option 'freq_value'      '0780'        #400M
        #option 'freq_value'    '4d81'  #350M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '350'
        option 'timeout'        '36'
        #option 'freq_value'    '4c81'  #325M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '325'
        option 'freq_value'     '0780'  #350M
        option 'chip_freq'      '400'
        #option 'freq_value'    '0580'  #300M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '300'
        #option 'freq_value'    '0981'  #250M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '250'
        #option 'freq_value'    '4f02'  #190M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '190'

For miners with build date 2013/11/18
Code:

package 'cgminer'

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        option 'freq_value'      '4f81'        #400M
        option 'chip_freq'     '400'
        option 'timeout'       '35'

        #option 'freq_value'     '4d81'  #350M
        #option 'chip_freq'      '350'
        #option 'timeout'        '40'

        #option 'freq_value'    '4c81'  #325M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '325'
        #option 'timeout'       '40'

        #option 'freq_value'    '0b81'  #300M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '300'
        #option 'timeout'       '45'

        #option 'freq_value'    '0981'  #250M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '250'
        #option 'timeout'       '55'

        #option 'freq_value'    '0781'  #200M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '200'
        #option 'timeout'       '70'

        #option 'freq_value'    '4f02'  #193M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '193'
        #option 'timeout'       '70'


CroverNo01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
December 06, 2013, 11:11:18 PM
 #57

Have found another way actually as well, Download the backup of the firmware then edit there make copy of original

Edit the correct file then reupload. worked like a treat Smiley

Thanks
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 04:23:59 AM
 #58




1.  First thing to do is get putty.  google it download putty.exe
2.  Second step is open putty.exe
3.  Inside the putty program put the IP of your machine in the hostname field.
4.  Click Open
5. accept the prompt to accept a key or connect to the host
6.  If the client connects you will get a prompt that says "login as:" .  Put your username in that field.  default username is "root".
7.  pw is "root".  hit enter
8.  once you logged in successfully type  "cd /etc/config" hit enter
9.  type "vim asic-freq" hit enter.  A terminal text editor should show you the config file.
10.   Now pay attention there are at least two different asic-freq configuration files out.
If your config has mainly numbers for the "option 'freq_value" such as "option 'freq_value'     '0780'  #350M"  settings then you have the top config goxed posted.  if it is "#option 'freq_value'     '4d81'  #350M" you have the other config.

Also note that the default setting does not have # in front of the "#option" setting.  The 400 setting on my config is commented out with #.  Un-comment that shit. :0
11.  top config should have these settings:  config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        #option 'freq_value'      '0780'        #400M
        #option 'freq_value'    '4d81'  #350M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '350'
        option 'timeout'        '36'

Other config should have these settings:

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        option 'freq_value'      '4f81'        #400M
        option 'chip_freq'     '400'
        option 'timeout'       '35'

To modify an area use the arrow keys.  Once you are in the text field area hit delete  to delete or insert to type text.
Once you are done modifying the config tap the escape key.
then type  ":x" to save and quit
if you screwed up the config just type
":q!" to quit without saving.
reboot miner after settings are in place.

bclcjunkie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 814



View Profile
December 07, 2013, 05:09:05 AM
 #59

finlof, greaterninja thanks! you guys are awesome!
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 05:53:42 AM
 #60

I am testing 425 mhz...most I have gotten is 225 GH/s so far.  It does not seem stable and the damm thing was beeping at me for 2 minutes.  Live and learn right?
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!