Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 02:29:20 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 143967 times)
mackminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345



View Profile
January 10, 2014, 11:57:35 PM
 #181

What PSU's are people here using - I'm getting more of these - the ones I have currently are limited to only 450watts (Antec).....I was thinking of two steps up in models (620)

Thanks.

1BFf3Whvj118A5akc5fHhfLLwxYduMmq1d
1513132160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513132160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513132160
Reply with quote  #2

1513132160
Report to moderator
1513132160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513132160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513132160
Reply with quote  #2

1513132160
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513132160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513132160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513132160
Reply with quote  #2

1513132160
Report to moderator
1513132160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513132160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513132160
Reply with quote  #2

1513132160
Report to moderator
1513132160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513132160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513132160
Reply with quote  #2

1513132160
Report to moderator
thecr4ne
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 12:51:08 AM
 #182

I'm using an HP 403781-001 1000W server PSU.

I had to solder some jumpers to get it to turn on, and I soldered some 6 AWG wire from the ground and +12v connection points to a 75 amp rated connector*, and sacrificed 2 modular PCIe cables from an ATX PSU and attached a corresponding connecter to them. (My S1 has the 6-pin PCIe power connectors). I also added a male 4pin Molex power connector to connect additional fans if I decide to.
 
http://i.imgur.com/0Etu4DZ.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/UFKHyap.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/DezZd5t.jpg

I found pinout diagrams for this and other server PSUs at an RC forum as they use these for battery chargers. The red and blue lines indicate jumpers needed to power on the PSU.
http://i.imgur.com/zinkJ4b.png

I still need to come up with a safe cover for this as there are live, high current elements exposed, but for now I've got a big shroud to keep anything from touching it.

This thing has had no trouble running my S1 at 400MHz. It's not the quietest, but it was only $33 on amazon and I used a gift card, so it was the way to go.


*Note: The +/- signs on the 75amp connectors are opposite where I wanted them in relation to the leads coming from the PSU so I just wired it up to suit my needs, and will re-label them. I have indicated this in one of the images.



BTC 1CzEKDmig6NMKR24vd4xhiGjwfHTEMKCCQ 
NMC N2tJxWkmgcXy8AKndBRtXUb2bfVNSsbsxk
forzendiablo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


the grandpa of cryptos


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 01:33:09 AM
 #183

so how far can i push this machine without modyfing it? i mean i can take some extra cooler and put near but i dont want to mess with the design itself.
currently i made it to 220ghs. is it possible to push it higher?

yolo
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:50:24 AM
 #184

so how far can i push this machine without modyfing it? i mean i can take some extra cooler and put near but i dont want to mess with the design itself.
currently i made it to 220ghs. is it possible to push it higher?

please share how you managed 220GH? I thought these would not go past 400MHz (200GH) without high error rates - presumably due to 1.1V being too little for higher hashrates

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Bismarckbkk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 11:06:23 AM
 #185

Ive tried until 450 mhz and it never does perform over the 203gh/s long term that everyone gets.

410 415 420 425 still gives the same results. At 450 hasing rate is 10 - 20% lower.


Please tell us how you got 220gh/s .

1EPhcyv9GPcCwwbtVt3a3nwC1o4pn67bax
forzendiablo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


the grandpa of cryptos


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 01:24:16 PM
 #186

option 'freq_value'      '0780'

+ older FW: 20131212

+ a PSU with gold standart.


if this helped dont be scared to tip me!

yolo
lelemago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 01:38:25 PM
 #187

someone can share code value from 400 to 425 in 5Mhz step?
for older FW 20131212 and new FW 20131226.
Thx
Guava
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 02:08:07 PM
 #188

someone can share code value from 400 to 425 in 5Mhz step?
for older FW 20131212 and new FW 20131226.
Thx

You can find them here at the bottom: https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/raw/master/manual/AntMiner%20FAQ.pdf
But its 25Mhz/step

1J1VmJKZbeEvNCxTtpcouini15RDkMchRP
Bismarckbkk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 02:08:44 PM
 #189



+ older FW: 20131212



I do not understand this, can you please explain?

1EPhcyv9GPcCwwbtVt3a3nwC1o4pn67bax
lelemago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 02:17:24 PM
 #190


You can find them here at the bottom: https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/raw/master/manual/AntMiner%20FAQ.pdf
But its 25Mhz/step

yes, exactly i know. I want try 5Mhz to 5Mhz step increase.
 Smiley



I do not understand this, can you please explain?

this is the previous firmware, you can download fron Antminer Github.
Bobs Yerunkle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


Заявка успешно подтверждена


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 02:48:59 PM
 #191

so how far can i push this machine without modyfing it? i mean i can take some extra cooler and put near but i dont want to mess with the design itself.
currently i made it to 220ghs. is it possible to push it higher?
Please post a screenshot of 220GH/s.  Undecided
jarkkom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile
January 11, 2014, 03:25:42 PM
 #192

What is acceptable HW rate?
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 03:49:52 PM
 #193

Bitmain have open sourced S1 miner. Schematics are available so volt regulator data sheet and some instructions.
However, somebody with knowledge need to confirm what resistor to change or pencil mode.
The regulator is a 30AMP part and is running well beyond its rated limits.
Yes i know that, i post this regarding to earlier discussion. But high mhz have high hw errors with 1.1 v. So maybe solution is to modify v of the chips with pencil mode.
Need somebody to confirm which R to change and will that work.
BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2014, 04:35:48 PM
 #194

Personally i do not believe he runs it at 220Gh as i already tried 0780 with proper cooling. Screens of proof would be nice.

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
Bismarckbkk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:36:18 PM
 #195

yes im using 0780 too, 203gh/s avrg seems to be the upper limit for me

1EPhcyv9GPcCwwbtVt3a3nwC1o4pn67bax
lelemago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:10:46 PM
 #196

I found my upper limit to 210gh/s average @425mhz

http://s28.postimg.org/bckokmz1l/proof210ok.jpg
BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2014, 06:12:25 PM
 #197

Which firmware?

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
ineedit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:59:12 PM
 #198

What is acceptable HW rate?

All my ant's average between 0.005% to 0.016% @ 375MHz, if I overclock to 400Mhz then the error rate can hit > 5% but then at 400Mhz that the total number of accepted shares on the pool is far smaller than expected and it is not financially worth it when electricity, etc is factored in.

If I have been help then please show your thanks         BTC: 127PRogAVZiV3fEmpJERh9KemK3a3Ffh6G         LTC: LXghFL8mZffpTFkm2nRTesuDrV5DJQP3Js
Bismarckbkk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 07:23:14 PM
 #199

I found my upper limit to 210gh/s average @425mhz



That is pretty nice, how are you cooling?

1EPhcyv9GPcCwwbtVt3a3nwC1o4pn67bax
Bismarckbkk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 08:08:46 PM
 #200

what timeout are you using? 33?

1EPhcyv9GPcCwwbtVt3a3nwC1o4pn67bax
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!