Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 01:23:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 143990 times)
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
December 17, 2013, 05:31:55 PM
 #121

Mijanur,
Dont,restoring backup wont work for changing critical settings, you need to ssh. I tought the same, never tried but other member told it dos not work.
Read op post.
1513387413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513387413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513387413
Reply with quote  #2

1513387413
Report to moderator
1513387413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513387413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513387413
Reply with quote  #2

1513387413
Report to moderator
1513387413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513387413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513387413
Reply with quote  #2

1513387413
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513387413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513387413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513387413
Reply with quote  #2

1513387413
Report to moderator
1513387413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513387413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513387413
Reply with quote  #2

1513387413
Report to moderator
1513387413
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513387413

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513387413
Reply with quote  #2

1513387413
Report to moderator
mijanur
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 04:35:04 AM
 #122

okay thanks for saving my machine  Shocked
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 05:32:57 AM
 #123

does anyone know if there is settings for 410MHz or 390MHz? Would be nice to be able to adjust in steps smaller than 25MHz

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
madpoet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 01:25:29 PM
 #124

Honestly for me 375 has been the best.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 09:28:12 PM
 #125

Honestly for me 375 has been the best.

At 400MHz, my miners show 199-204GH in the webUI, but 209-214 at the pool (ghash.io). Im quite happy with these figures, but would like to adjust down slightly to reduce power draw and heat (hence 390 would be a nice value)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
madpoet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 09:35:34 PM
 #126

But what do your hardware errors look like?  That's where I have had problems Sad
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 10:06:29 PM
 #127

IMO hardware errors are probably related to quality and capacity of PSU.  I can do 375, and avg. just over 190Ghs, (confirmed by webUI and pool) with a 620w 80 plus bronze PSU. Now if kick it up to 400mhz with the same psu, I get hardware errors  galore and the hash rate goes down......

DrJimmy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
December 21, 2013, 06:53:15 PM
 #128

I was running my Ant with a Corsair 750 CXM power supply and very frequently I had to power down my miner to get rid of random x on the chips, even after updating the miner config page I get random xxs.  I switched the power unit to a Cooler Master 1000W and it has been running smoothly ever since. Just wanted to share this about the Corsair psu, however, it could just be a bad unit.
Keefe
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 681


View Profile
December 22, 2013, 03:14:25 PM
 #129

I'm running two AntMiners (at 180GH each) on a single Corsair TX950 with no problems at all.

BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
December 25, 2013, 02:19:43 AM
 #130

Anyone tried the 500Mhz setting and different cooling?

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
December 25, 2013, 03:55:21 AM
 #131

Haven't heard of anyone trying it, but I don't think the voltage regulators would do well under that load.

BotwinBG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
December 26, 2013, 07:04:51 PM
 #132

Not sure if this is the right thread - has anyone tried encasing the unit to improve the airflow? A lot of air is escaping on the sides, never reaching the far side. Or would simply attaching another fan remedy the situation? Also, does anyone know what temperature these chips can safely operate at?
Aexcu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
December 26, 2013, 09:58:49 PM
 #133

Haven't heard of anyone trying it, but I don't think the voltage regulators would do well under that load.

Someone mentioned these earlier. For what voltage have the regulators on board been designed?

I'm also wondering what would be the safe levels for these?
Batteryman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
December 28, 2013, 10:21:17 AM
 #134


Sorry if this has been answered elsewhere, but I did have a good look through the forum.

My question is this.

Is there any advantage using something like Slush's proxy to pre-fetch, in order to speed up the Antminers overalll throughput, or does it not make much difference?


klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 28, 2013, 10:03:24 PM
 #135

Haven't heard of anyone trying it, but I don't think the voltage regulators would do well under that load.

Someone mentioned these earlier. For what voltage have the regulators on board been designed?

I'm also wondering what would be the safe levels for these?


They should be capable of 30A - Texas Instruments TPS53355

that means 33W at 1.1V (total of 264W for antminer), but obviously that doesnt match up with the reality (almost 2x that draw at 400MHz). Am i missing something, or is the chip simply capable of much higher than rated capacity?

alternatively, would increasing voltage to 1.3V and reducing frequency mean a lower amperage draw on the regulator for similar power use/hashrate?

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 03:12:45 AM
 #136

So, it is possible that they can run on 450 or even 500Mhz with the proper cooling?

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
Beans
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 10:25:09 AM
 #137

After logging in via SSH the following steps:
1. type:  "cd /etc/config"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
2. type: "vim asic-freq"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
3. hit I button to enable "edit mode" and adjust the settings, lines beginning with # are ignored.
4. after you're done hit the ESC button to exit "edit mode".
5. type ":wq" (without the quotes) to execute write and quit.
6. you'll be back in the command line, type reboot to restart your device.

You can check your frequency in the web interface miner status page.
If everything went ok, you're mining with higher speed Smiley

Then you can donate to me for providing you with extra hashing power Tongue 15j3fDzunHtoTsDH7MAKQQiG95q5yWYTfk

also note which miner version/revision you have (look at OP's post below).  mine were both the 2013/11/18 build date, which i found out easily after opening the asic-freq file (since it had the same format as he shows below).

make sure once you do step 3 above that you place a # in front of the 3 original 350M lines and remove the # from the 400M lines.


C) change timeout to 36, freq_value to '0780', 'chip_freq' to 400.
For miners with build date 2013/11/4
Code:
root@antMiner2:/etc/config# vim asic-freq

package 'cgminer'

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        #option 'freq_value'      '0780'        #400M
        #option 'freq_value'    '4d81'  #350M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '350'
        option 'timeout'        '36'
        #option 'freq_value'    '4c81'  #325M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '325'
        option 'freq_value'     '0780'  #350M
        option 'chip_freq'      '400'
        #option 'freq_value'    '0580'  #300M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '300'
        #option 'freq_value'    '0981'  #250M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '250'
        #option 'freq_value'    '4f02'  #190M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '190'

For miners with build date 2013/11/18
Code:

package 'cgminer'

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        option 'freq_value'      '4f81'        #400M
        option 'chip_freq'     '400'
        option 'timeout'       '35'

        #option 'freq_value'     '4d81'  #350M
        #option 'chip_freq'      '350'
        #option 'timeout'        '40'

        #option 'freq_value'    '4c81'  #325M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '325'
        #option 'timeout'       '40'

        #option 'freq_value'    '0b81'  #300M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '300'
        #option 'timeout'       '45'

        #option 'freq_value'    '0981'  #250M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '250'
        #option 'timeout'       '55'

        #option 'freq_value'    '0781'  #200M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '200'
        #option 'timeout'       '70'

        #option 'freq_value'    '4f02'  #193M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '193'
        #option 'timeout'       '70'




A couple of my units look exactly like whats shown in the top chart and they are definitely the 2013/11/18 units. I ended up using.

freq_value'  '0780'
'chip_freq'  '400'
option 'timeout' '36'

It's seems to be working fine, anything wrong with how I did it?

ScaryHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 08:21:54 PM
 #138

So how do I actually set up the pool in miner configuration for the 180gh AntMiner?

I don't really have any numbers to enter in there, I normally do stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 (I don't think wzkid likes to give out actual ip numbers)

Then my address for my worker, and x for password.



But, it does not seem to be taking it. The little spinner just sits there and spins, says applying changes to  /etc/config/cgminer     and nothing happens.

I also have a red "unsaved changes = 1" at the to right, no idea what this means....   dhcp.cfg06f37d=domain

Batteryman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 05:39:58 PM
 #139


Sorry for the idiot questions.  Embarrassed

What does the load: 2.13 2.09 1.19 in the top right hand corner mean?

I can't find it in any documentation?

Batteryman.

Bobs Yerunkle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


Заявка успешно подтверждена


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 05:52:59 PM
 #140

Sorry for the idiot questions.  Embarrassed
What does the load: 2.13 2.09 1.19 in the top right hand corner mean?
I can't find it in any documentation?
Batteryman.

1 Minute Load 5 Minute Load 15 Minute Load
You can see similar data on Status > Real Time Graphs
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!