Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 12:53:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 143992 times)
wedgy2k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 275



View Profile
May 26, 2014, 06:56:41 AM
 #741

Hi all,
I have 2 S1 ants version 1.6.
<snip>
My old version 1.5 overclocked without problem.

How do you tell if its v1.5 or v1.6 please?
(Sorry, can't asset with your OC question...)
it's printed on the controller board

Thank you (obvious really.....Apologies for such a bone question)
This explains a few things
My 1.6 runs cooler as the FAN spins quicker at 2200 so is louder than my 2 x 1.5 that run 3c hotter where the fans never go above 1800 so they are noticeably quieter.
All 3 have pull fans on the "open end" in preparation for the English summer  Grin

1513601603
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513601603

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513601603
Reply with quote  #2

1513601603
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
AngusCanine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092

https://bitcy.biz/?ref=CryptoKlepto


View Profile
May 26, 2014, 11:56:31 PM
 #742

Is there a step by step guide on overclocking the s1 with putty or similar ssh? My stock s1 only hashes at 160

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72FU4Z_n0B4

I don't OC to 400 though i set the frequency to 375 less power and less hardware errors.
this video worked for me thank you

fulanomengano
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 27, 2014, 05:42:13 AM
 #743

there is documentation in the github manuals for the U1 usb device. It relies on a weird mathematical method of several combined binary strings from the hex code.  Once sorted out its *relatively* straight forward to calculat eany frequency you want, to about 1.75MHz precision

Thanks for the information. Fancy math indeed! I wasn't able to "reverse engineer" the calculation (ie take a desired frequency and find the Hex value that I should use on the mining script) but I was able to calculate valid values for all the 4 digit Hex numbers. I found a lot that were supposed to be valid but they didn't work when using my U2 with BFGMiner. Maybe my math was wrong or maybe the U2 don't take all valid values in the formula. It's more probable my math was wrong, since I got some weird "valied" values, like 306.1429 or something like that. Will keep experimenting and create a list of valid HEX/frequency combinations.

FM

BTC: 1Fd8n26auEzWQSqmf4HU1xyiEpPoJmhXuS
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
May 27, 2014, 12:07:25 PM
 #744

there is documentation in the github manuals for the U1 usb device. It relies on a weird mathematical method of several combined binary strings from the hex code.  Once sorted out its *relatively* straight forward to calculat eany frequency you want, to about 1.75MHz precision

Thanks for the information. Fancy math indeed! I wasn't able to "reverse engineer" the calculation (ie take a desired frequency and find the Hex value that I should use on the mining script) but I was able to calculate valid values for all the 4 digit Hex numbers. I found a lot that were supposed to be valid but they didn't work when using my U2 with BFGMiner. Maybe my math was wrong or maybe the U2 don't take all valid values in the formula. It's more probable my math was wrong, since I got some weird "valied" values, like 306.1429 or something like that. Will keep experimenting and create a list of valid HEX/frequency combinations.

FM


i threw out the paper i was working on, but the biggest factor is to determine your desired frequency and work backwards.

Final Freq (lets say its 300) = 25Mhz (this wont change) x [N/M] (M being 1, 2, or 4 based on the last hex value being a 0,1,or 2 respectively).

That makes calculating 'N' from the formula a bit easier. Once you do the method 2 or 3 times its easier to predict the hex code you will need. (for example, the 200-225 range is generally a x0yz  with x being 4 or 5 in most of my work for that frequency range.

and using the U1 or U2 as a testbench is a great way to see if it will run and check if the average hashrate is what you expected. 

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
eddyann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
May 27, 2014, 03:27:48 PM
 #745

Hi,

I think the Antminer S1 controller has bricked during the flashing process. Well I did not do anything wrong, download from bitmain, upload and verified successfully, wait, but it takes forever to complete while waiting to the luci UI to appear (well, it never appear though...). During that time I noticed the rx/tx LAN port flashing behaviour is no longer normal. orange LED no longer light up and it keep on disconnect/connect (the router link LED is on and off).

tried to follow the failsafe

http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/generic.failsafe

but the green LED on the board does not show any sign of failsafe mode. after the flashing, the green LED is not flashing rapidly even with the reset button to initiate the failsafe.

Any successful unbrick controller? I need a proper guide.  Huh Huh
Moria843
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429


Found Lost beach - quiet now


View Profile
May 28, 2014, 04:08:01 PM
 #746

Had the green LED on one blade of an S1 stop blinking and is completely off. Is this supposed to indicate or mean anything?

The unit is still hashing at about 190 Gh/s.

Hot time, summer in the city, back of my mine getting hot & gritty!!!
mindtrip
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1062



View Profile WWW
May 28, 2014, 09:36:12 PM
 #747

Seems like root access via SSH has a different password then the web interface does anyone have that? I wanted to poke around and test some OC Settings I upgraded to a 1300 Watt Platinum PSU. Will old Clock settings work on the new S2's?

K3nn3th
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 28, 2014, 10:12:29 PM
 #748

Thank you, I was just looking for something like this.
Keep up the good work.
SecureErase
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 05:24:08 AM
 #749

Had the green LED on one blade of an S1 stop blinking and is completely off. Is this supposed to indicate or mean anything?

The unit is still hashing at about 190 Gh/s.

Broken led, if it hashes as before.

mindtrip
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1062



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2014, 03:43:29 PM
 #750

I have found out some info on the OC of the S2 Please follow my new thread here I will keep it updated with my progress
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=629997.0

Moria843
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429


Found Lost beach - quiet now


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 06:42:05 PM
 #751

Questions on S1 heat sink cleaning/adding air filters

Been running my S1s for 3 months. I've noticed dust build-up in the heat sink fins and have been experimenting with adding filters to keep them clean. Thought it would only cause the fan speed to increase but all experimenting causes too much heat or the power to go above 850 W (I have 2 overclocked S1s per Corsair 850RM, also have 2 fans on each S1).

Wondering if I'm worrying about something I don't need to worry about??

Questions for those of you who have run S1s for a long time:
Should I just not worry about the fins getting dirty?
Do you have to occasionally clean and about how often?

Thanks for sharing your experiences.

Hot time, summer in the city, back of my mine getting hot & gritty!!!
wedgy2k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 275



View Profile
May 29, 2014, 07:16:24 PM
 #752

Questions for those of you who have run S1s for a long time:
Should I just not worry about the fins getting dirty?
Do you have to occasionally clean and about how often?

Thanks for sharing your experiences.

I have the additional "exhaust" fitted to mine
Once a fortnight I will take the intake fan off, vacuum the dust build up, blow and brush out the fan and put back together
They will run quieter and cooler if you do this

Aexcu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 07:30:22 PM
 #753

My AntMiner S2 doesn't show any BestShare, the figure remains at 0.

The miner has been mining 100% fine otherwise for weeks. Has latest firmware. All my S1's show a BestShare and screenshots from other people's S2's seem to have a BestShare...

Any clues?
dr.copycat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 07:56:53 PM
 #754

AntMiner S1, new 2days old. Accepted   668, Rejected12,  HW 123,   Utility 43,   WU 2505,   DiffA   37616, DiffR 240, BestShare 40547.
Is it too many errors,on other machines I dont have hw errors
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 08:00:07 PM
 #755

AntMiner S1, new 2days old. Accepted   668, Rejected12,  HW 123,   Utility 43,   WU 2505,   DiffA   37616, DiffR 240, BestShare 40547.
Is it too many errors,on other machines I dont have hw errors

0.3% is fine.
wedgy2k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 275



View Profile
May 29, 2014, 08:01:38 PM
 #756

AntMiner S1, new 2days old. Accepted   668, Rejected12,  HW 123,   Utility 43,   WU 2505,   DiffA   37616, DiffR 240, BestShare 40547.
Is it too many errors,on other machines I dont have hw errors


Try this
http://instacalc.com/20772
I got it off of another member (Sorry can't remember who)

dr.copycat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 08:09:53 PM
 #757

0.36079456494 %, Is it a good or bad
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
May 30, 2014, 06:07:02 AM
 #758

AntMiner S1, new 2days old. Accepted   668, Rejected12,  HW 123,   Utility 43,   WU 2505,   DiffA   37616, DiffR 240, BestShare 40547.
Is it too many errors,on other machines I dont have hw errors


Use the Antminer Monitor to watch for error and other parameters. That software will show error in %.
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1053



View Profile
May 30, 2014, 12:01:23 PM
 #759

Got a strange network problem with one of my Ants

I can log in fine through the GUI and SSH

The status page shows this which is why it's not mining



However the network page does show it connected.



I've triple checked all the settings, and even done system reset with the button on the controller card.

Any ideas ?


daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 857


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
May 30, 2014, 01:26:19 PM
 #760

Do you have your DNS stuff set correctly? Had this problem when moving my S1's from my home to my office. Home was 192.168.2.1 and work is .254, or you can use google 8.8.8.8.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!