Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 12:53:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 143992 times)
infamousdutch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104



View Profile WWW
December 11, 2013, 03:53:13 AM
 #81

After logging in via SSH the following steps:
1. type:  "cd /etc/config"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
2. type: "vim asic-freq"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
3. hit I button to enable "edit mode" and adjust the settings, lines beginning with # are ignored.
4. after you're done hit the ESC button to exit "edit mode".
5. type ":wq" (without the quotes) to execute write and quit.
6. you'll be back in the command line, type reboot to restart your device.

You can check your frequency in the web interface miner status page.
If everything went ok, you're mining with higher speed Smiley

Then you can donate to me for providing you with extra steps to unleash ultimate hashing power Tongue 15j3fDzunHtoTsDH7MAKQQiG95q5yWYTfk

Keep looking at your HW errors to make sure your device isn't frying up.
I've added some tiny heatsinks, and running 400Mhz but still 3.3% HW error.
But my Antminer is using the Corsair AX860 80+ Platinum PSU and @400Mhz it's sucking around 395W out of the wall-socket Smiley

This post deserves it's on thread!  Thanks JohnC!

1513601586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513601586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513601586
Reply with quote  #2

1513601586
Report to moderator
1513601586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513601586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513601586
Reply with quote  #2

1513601586
Report to moderator
1513601586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513601586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513601586
Reply with quote  #2

1513601586
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513601586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513601586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513601586
Reply with quote  #2

1513601586
Report to moderator
1513601586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513601586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513601586
Reply with quote  #2

1513601586
Report to moderator
1513601586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513601586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513601586
Reply with quote  #2

1513601586
Report to moderator
sagiko
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 04:15:30 AM
 #82

Anyone tried ant with a p2pool? It seems to getting a very high reject rate 25 to30% on my local p2pool node. My BFL ASIC 60G and 5G box on the same node is doing fine with 5% reject rate.  Is there any cgminer config I can/shall tune?

BitCoin Wallet: 1H7Tjg7xVE4xtdS1b7ZoKKFVbKdSMuNafZ
VinCeCream
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 12:30:34 PM
 #83

yup,
375MHz=
Code:
4E81

What about the 'timeout' value for these settings ?

cheers

goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 12:40:24 PM
 #84

yup,
375MHz=
Code:
4E81

What about the 'timeout' value for these settings ?

cheers
37 is good for 375MHz.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
AndiDC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 12:55:02 PM
 #85

Confirmed, using 375 MHz and 37 timeout is hashing at about 200 Ghash/s
        option 'freq_value'     '4e81'  #375M
        option 'chip_freq'      '375'         
        option 'timeout'        '37'
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 01:52:37 PM
 #86

Confirmed, using 375 MHz and 37 timeout is hashing at about 200 Ghash/s
        option 'freq_value'     '4e81'  #375M
        option 'chip_freq'      '375'         
        option 'timeout'        '37'

interesting that 400MHz gets the same speed then...?

also, i tried the 425MHz code and was getting around 185-190GHash and semingly more errors, so i backed off to 400

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
AndiDC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 05:33:47 PM
 #87

Confirmed, using 375 MHz and 37 timeout is hashing at about 200 Ghash/s
        option 'freq_value'     '4e81'  #375M
        option 'chip_freq'      '375'        
        option 'timeout'        '37'

interesting that 400MHz gets the same speed then...?

also, i tried the 425MHz code and was getting around 185-190GHash and semingly more errors, so i backed off to 400
Yes,  over a few  hours the did  close  to 200 with both frequencies.
Aexcu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
December 11, 2013, 07:14:50 PM
 #88

yup,
375MHz=
Code:
4E81

Is this the same value (375MHz) for all of the revisions of AntMiner?

I'm wondering why there has been two different values quoted for 400 MHz:

        option 'freq_value'      '0780'        #400M
        option 'freq_value'      '4f81'        #400M

Is it related to the firmware version you're running OR the actual physical AntMiner board revision?
Maciek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230


amlt.coinfirm.io


View Profile WWW
December 11, 2013, 09:00:17 PM
 #89

Where do I buy those ANTMINER ASICs?


amlt.coinfirm.io - The token of compliance by Coinfirm
slasher71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 01:17:01 AM
 #90

Hi

Just wondering.... if overclocked, thinking of adding another fan, any idea if it's better to have it sucking or blowing at the other end of the frame?

Slash
infamousdutch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104



View Profile WWW
December 12, 2013, 05:42:59 AM
 #91

Hi

Just wondering.... if overclocked, thinking of adding another fan, any idea if it's better to have it sucking or blowing at the other end of the frame?

Slash

I installed a second fan and having it move air in the same direction as the existing fan, i.e. blowing out. The hot air appears to be moving faster and the antminer is stable at room temp.

AndiDC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:13:56 AM
 #92

Hi

Just wondering.... if overclocked, thinking of adding another fan, any idea if it's better to have it sucking or blowing at the other end of the frame?

Slash

I installed a second fan and having it move air in the same direction as the existing fan, i.e. blowing out. The hot air appears to be moving faster and the antminer is stable at room temp.
I put one fan in the front sucking the warm air out just as infamousdutch did. Temps are stable and hashrate is stable and I feel a bit safer with more air flowing through the device. You can use the power connector on the second mining card.
Airwhale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:49:09 AM
 #93

I've managed to place the LAN and the WAN on the same address,  and I can't access my miner.  Any advice/suggestions on how to reboot/restore the control card back to original default settings?
Airwhale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 07:27:37 AM
 #94

annnd,  it's in the first post of this thread.  Sorry I'm blind, everyone.
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 03:26:59 PM
 #95

I did not overlocked, using corsair cx500 so mybe wont have enough juice...
But I play a lot with cooling solution.
I placed additional silent fan on the opposite side, soaking hot air out. I powering it direct from PDU molex (no need of pwm and pluging into miner power).
Also covered the top of the miner but just half (cover the place where ethernet port and control board is located).

I found also something interesting.
I covered a gap between those 2 heatsink. Just where original fun start to blow cold air in.Noticed that trough that gap air is blowing but does not do anything useful. With blocking it, it force the air blowing trough radiator and nothing go outside.

How much 375mhz use power?
I bought PDU (cx500) before got a miner so now Iam sorry :/
slasher71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 03:36:27 PM
 #96

I've managed to place the LAN and the WAN on the same address,  and I can't access my miner.  Any advice/suggestions on how to reboot/restore the control card back to original default settings?

You will probably have to do a hard reset


Q:How to reset to the default state?
A: There is no reset button in the first batch of AntMiner. If AntMiner has to be reset, please follow these steps.
Step 1: Set your PC’s IP address as 192.168.2.x, and then connect AntMiner with your PC via a network cable.
Step2: Power on AntMiner for a while when it is inthe normal state. The WAN LED should be light.
Step3: With the miner still switched on use a piece of wire between the 2 points for more than 3 seconds. (see image below)

Note you do need to take you time as I found it difficult to access the points as the cables are in the way

http://s30.postimg.org/5pfgg9hr3/reset.png

The Antminer once reset will have a new ip address 192.168.2.99 instead of the default one on the label

Then access the miner via a browser 192.168.2.99 after a couple of minutes

Then start again with the setup

Good luck

slasher71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 03:53:46 PM
 #97

Hi

Just wondering.... if overclocked, thinking of adding another fan, any idea if it's better to have it sucking or blowing at the other end of the frame?

Slash

I installed a second fan and having it move air in the same direction as the existing fan, i.e. blowing out. The hot air appears to be moving faster and the antminer is stable at room temp.

Thanks did you get much temperature difference ...once the 2nd fan was installed ?
infamousdutch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104



View Profile WWW
December 12, 2013, 08:36:13 PM
 #98

Hi

Just wondering.... if overclocked, thinking of adding another fan, any idea if it's better to have it sucking or blowing at the other end of the frame?

Slash

I installed a second fan and having it move air in the same direction as the existing fan, i.e. blowing out. The hot air appears to be moving faster and the antminer is stable at room temp.

Thanks did you get much temperature difference ...once the 2nd fan was installed ?

Not really, as my antminer was running cool at 40-45, but the hot air is moving faster away from the antminer.  I am seeing a lot of cold air escape one side of the antminer right by the (original) incoming fan.  Maybe placing the antminer in a bfl single type of enclosure would force this air to move across the heatsink in a more efficient manner...but with the miner running so cool as-is, I am not sure there's a need for this.

BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2013, 10:34:21 PM
 #99

Oh, can't wait for mine Smiley

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
slasher71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 10:51:16 PM
 #100

Hi

Just wondering.... if overclocked, thinking of adding another fan, any idea if it's better to have it sucking or blowing at the other end of the frame?

Slash

I installed a second fan and having it move air in the same direction as the existing fan, i.e. blowing out. The hot air appears to be moving faster and the antminer is stable at room temp.

Thanks did you get much temperature difference ...once the 2nd fan was installed ?

Not really, as my antminer was running cool at 40-45, but the hot air is moving faster away from the antminer.  I am seeing a lot of cold air escape one side of the antminer right by the (original) incoming fan.  Maybe placing the antminer in a bfl single type of enclosure would force this air to move across the heatsink in a more efficient manner...but with the miner running so cool as-is, I am not sure there's a need for this.

Thanks.. exact same temps here .. it's strange that the temp is different for 1 side, even though the airflow is the same

Sushi told me that the safe temps for overclocking is about 50°C
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!