Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2018, 09:18:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 144044 times)
popinjay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 09:56:19 PM
 #581

What kind of 24 hour returns is everyone getting right now?  I just set up my S1, overclocked to a frequency of 393, holding steady at 200GH/s and error rate around 0.5%.  The past 24 hours I have mined about 0.01 bitcoin which is about half of what I would expect.  Could it be just a bad run in the pool? Currently at BTCGuild PPLNS.  Any thoughts?  Perhaps I should wait for a full week and see what I get!

through slush's pool I am seeing about .0258 daily and my Average hashrate in last 10 rounds: 189133 Mhash/s

mine has been running for 4.5 day nows

I would say get out of that pool as quickly as possible

I set my payout at .1 and got my first payout in just about 4 days

I'm ordering another S1 on moonday

slush's pool : Pool luck (1 day, 7 days, 30 days):   120%, 120%, 107%

thats pretty good!  think it would be worth it to stay since pool should should normalize and BTC has been running low the past week or two so should get above 100% for a while?

24 horu retunrs just got  abit better at 0.018 BTC

 ♦  Just-Dice.com  ♦  (https://just-dice.com)   ♦  1% House Edge Dice Game  ♦  (https://just-dice.com)   ♦  Play or Invest  ♦  (https://just-dice.com)
1524561486
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524561486

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524561486
Reply with quote  #2

1524561486
Report to moderator
1524561486
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524561486

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524561486
Reply with quote  #2

1524561486
Report to moderator
1524561486
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524561486

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524561486
Reply with quote  #2

1524561486
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 16, 2014, 12:39:58 AM
 #582

For those interested:
Ive succeeded in pencil voltmodding my S1 ... after a days worth of digging through the PCB spec sheet from antminer and not knowing hardly anything about electronics... I dared to try.... =)
So far, its not blown up and Ive modded each of the 8 "modules" on the S1 successfully.
This has been tested only on the December version of the units, after studying differences between Dec/Jan units...not sure if this works the same on Jan ones.... but should.

RESULTS:
Stock:
1.11v on chips measured on top portion of the modules
400mhz @ 1.8% HW

Modded:
1.15-1.18v measured same place, consistency is hard to get w/ a pencil so.... there is some variance between modules
400mhz @ .002% HW

Temps rose about 5c and fan spins a few hundred RPM faster to compensate.
Power also increased by about 25-30w measured at wall

Further OC results are not in yet, thats next on the list.
For now I am keeping a close eye on voltages / temperatures VRMs & ASICs - all seem within good spec
Ultimately hoping it wont die over the next few hours...

ITEMS NEEDED:
voltmeter(that can measure resistance) & pencil

METHOD:
Before proceeding get a ballpark measurement of the chips on the "modules" by doing this:
Make sure voltmeter is set to VDC measurement!

Put negative voltmeter probe on the "GND" contact on the first module
Put positive probe on the bottom side of the orange square component thats in the middle of the "module"
Do this for all modules and note.
Stock they should be right around 1.10-1.11v

NEXT..THE MOD:

Power off the antminer completely!
When looking at a "blade" ... the left most "module" will have a resistor labeled R12.
Measure its resistance from end to end w/ voltmeter, it should read around 4.4-4.45k

Now, take pencil and scribble on top of the resistor from end to end... probably around 10-15 light strokes

Measure the resistor once again ... our target is 4.25-4.3k

If its lower than that, take ur finger and using finger tip skin, swipe it downwards across the resitor.. lightly

Measure resistor again .... if took too much off (back to 4.4 or in the 4.35k area)

Then apply more pencil....

Repeat this process till u meet target of 4.25-4.3k

Once this resistor reads correctly move over to same resistor on the next "module"

Once an entire blade all reads similar target resistance .. Turn the antminer on.
During its bootup process measure resultant voltage by doing this:

Make sure voltmeter is set to VDC measurement!

Put negative voltmeter probe on the "GND" contact on the first module
Put positive probe on the bottom side of the orange square component thats in the middle of the "module"

Do this for all "modules" on the modified "blade"
The voltages so all be close to 1.15-1.17v
Anything higher than 1.2v .. IMMEDIATELY power off the antminer.

If all is well, then you can proceed to the other "blade" on the antminer.



POST METHOD:
Monitor the temps of the antminer, I use finger test method of VRM components ... note the temps of individual components on top of each module .. if after the mod they are scorching hot to the touch and immeditely can feel them "burn" ur finger... well, thats too hot for my comfort ... so may want to undo the mod.
Also, note the difference in feel of temp of the chips before / after mod ...
The hottest VRM / ASIC is gonna be the furthest from the fan ...
Optionally can run the voltage a bit lower on these modules furthest from the fan too... =)


Results should be similar, significantly lowered HW error at same clock speeds before mod. Therefore allowing you to eventually clock it higher ... once you have confirmed the unit is stable and running within temp spec ... for at least a day or 2 I say.

Its all risk so, its up to you of course =)

* HAVE FUN! BE CAREFUL!

** I cant be held responsible if you blow up ur shit!

*** POST RESULTS!

TIP: the little VRM heatsink packs I see being sold on ebay for antminers would keep the VRM's very comfy for a mod like this! I would recommend this for attempting anything thats 1.2v+
The pencil mod can easily take ur antminer into the 1.35v range w/ a solid amount of graphite applied... but u would need SUPERDUPER cooling on that puppy! HIGHLY NOT RECOMMENDED!

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


Double your Personal Bitcoin Funds.


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2014, 01:00:36 AM
 #583

It's getting a little warm outside and my ants are going up in temps. Most of them are between 41C and 46C "BUT" fans don't seem to spin any faster. Maximum fan speed I've seen is 2040 in the GUI. What gives? Should they be running faster to keep things cool? Is there something I can do other than pulling the blue wire?
It's starting to feel like my posts are invisible. Did I get banned or something?

New Bitcoin fund doubling platform has launched!
Receive Automated Payment Every 2 Hours
Appealing alternative with Sophisticated algorithms.
https://Btc-Funds.com
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 16, 2014, 01:03:20 AM
 #584

It's getting a little warm outside and my ants are going up in temps. Most of them are between 41C and 46C "BUT" fans don't seem to spin any faster. Maximum fan speed I've seen is 2040 in the GUI. What gives? Should they be running faster to keep things cool? Is there something I can do other than pulling the blue wire?
It's starting to feel like my posts are invisible. Did I get banned or something?

I know how that feels, especially since I just posted an easy vmod and Ive seen not many attempt this...
But, ur temps are fine, the fan really starts spinning up when u hit the 50's area....

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
DumaDoo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 16, 2014, 02:03:14 AM
 #585

It's getting a little warm outside and my ants are going up in temps. Most of them are between 41C and 46C "BUT" fans don't seem to spin any faster. Maximum fan speed I've seen is 2040 in the GUI. What gives? Should they be running faster to keep things cool? Is there something I can do other than pulling the blue wire?
It's starting to feel like my posts are invisible. Did I get banned or something?

I know how that feels, especially since I just posted an easy vmod and Ive seen not many attempt this...
But, ur temps are fine, the fan really starts spinning up when u hit the 50's area....

You should post some pictures, i'm not entirely sure where these parts are located on the Antminer!

hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 944
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 16, 2014, 02:36:12 AM
 #586

 Do these miners have a built in temp sensor to operate a PWM case fan? Is it using a standard 4-pin PWM connector from the board?
mindtrip
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1099
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
March 16, 2014, 03:32:48 AM
 #587

It's getting a little warm outside and my ants are going up in temps. Most of them are between 41C and 46C "BUT" fans don't seem to spin any faster. Maximum fan speed I've seen is 2040 in the GUI. What gives? Should they be running faster to keep things cool? Is there something I can do other than pulling the blue wire?

Just an Idea I installed a second fan on the back side of all my ants to pull the hot air out since the other one blows in. I powered it off a molex plug on the 1000W PSU I am sharing on 2 ants. Its pulling 778 at the wall with 2 OC'd ants and the additional fans. This helps keep my temps lower but I have also experienced a few warmer days and had my temps rise a little at the hot point in the day

          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
.
|
.
|
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
unthy
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


Double your Personal Bitcoin Funds.


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2014, 06:00:24 AM
 #588

So mid 40's is ok then.

I do have a fan on the back of all my ants. I've also just ordered a few Delta 150cfm 120mm 4 pin fans from frozencpu.com. I plan on replacing the cooler master 64cfm fans with these.

I just wasn't sure when I saw temps keep rising yet fan only spinning at 1600rpm but that's ok I guess.

My problem is ambient temperatures since I have to occasionally be in my office a few minutes in a day.

It's getting a little warm outside and my ants are going up in temps. Most of them are between 41C and 46C "BUT" fans don't seem to spin any faster. Maximum fan speed I've seen is 2040 in the GUI. What gives? Should they be running faster to keep things cool? Is there something I can do other than pulling the blue wire?
It's starting to feel like my posts are invisible. Did I get banned or something?

I know how that feels, especially since I just posted an easy vmod and Ive seen not many attempt this...
But, ur temps are fine, the fan really starts spinning up when u hit the 50's area....

I read your post but just didn't get it. It's interesting though. A picture or two would be nice and motivate people to try out your mod.

New Bitcoin fund doubling platform has launched!
Receive Automated Payment Every 2 Hours
Appealing alternative with Sophisticated algorithms.
https://Btc-Funds.com
freebit13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500

I got Satoshi's avatar!


View Profile
March 16, 2014, 08:22:01 AM
 #589

Do these miners have a built in temp sensor to operate a PWM case fan? Is it using a standard 4-pin PWM connector from the board?
Yes and yes Wink

Decentralize EVERYTHING!
freebit13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500

I got Satoshi's avatar!


View Profile
March 16, 2014, 08:26:38 AM
 #590

It's getting a little warm outside and my ants are going up in temps. Most of them are between 41C and 46C "BUT" fans don't seem to spin any faster. Maximum fan speed I've seen is 2040 in the GUI. What gives? Should they be running faster to keep things cool? Is there something I can do other than pulling the blue wire?
It's starting to feel like my posts are invisible. Did I get banned or something?
Depending on the age of the ant, they seem to have slightly different temp ranges set. One of mine will sit at 40 with higher fan speed and the other will sit at 45 with lower fan speed, I think there must be a setting in the firmware somewhere, but I'm not sure where. If they start to get hotter than 49 without spinning faster and your error rate is high, then I'd be worried, until then it sounds pretty normal.

Decentralize EVERYTHING!
fredsbend
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 17, 2014, 01:57:13 AM
 #591

I have myself an Antminer S1, overclocked to 200 Gh/s.

I think it is overheating. The chips on the fan side are pretty hot, but I can touch them without it hurting. The chips on the opposite side are so hot that I can only touch them for about a second before it burns. From this side image (https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fbitcoinmalaysia.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2013%2F12%2FIn-Stock-Bitmain-AntMiner-S1-180Gh-s-2.jpg&t=537&c=EIKKbM4jYKz2gg), you can see the pins in the center that I think are holding the heat sink on the opposite side. There is a grey paste oozing from them; I think it is thermal paste.

It has been running two days straight now, and the room temp is about 70F to 75F.

What is going on here?

Bitcoin? Looks like fun.
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


Double your Personal Bitcoin Funds.


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2014, 04:57:49 AM
 #592

Would these 11x11x5mm heatsink help cooling down the chips at all? Also how would I stick them on, just thermal paste?


New Bitcoin fund doubling platform has launched!
Receive Automated Payment Every 2 Hours
Appealing alternative with Sophisticated algorithms.
https://Btc-Funds.com
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 944
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 17, 2014, 05:10:32 AM
 #593

    I've heard of people using those on other devices and they mix a small amount of epoxy on a spot or two with the thermal paste but I'm not sure if I would recommend using your miner to experiment and find out what the right amount is.
freebit13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500

I got Satoshi's avatar!


View Profile
March 17, 2014, 06:47:37 AM
 #594

I have myself an Antminer S1, overclocked to 200 Gh/s.

I think it is overheating. The chips on the fan side are pretty hot, but I can touch them without it hurting. The chips on the opposite side are so hot that I can only touch them for about a second before it burns. From this side image (https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fbitcoinmalaysia.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2013%2F12%2FIn-Stock-Bitmain-AntMiner-S1-180Gh-s-2.jpg&t=537&c=EIKKbM4jYKz2gg), you can see the pins in the center that I think are holding the heat sink on the opposite side. There is a grey paste oozing from them; I think it is thermal paste.

It has been running two days straight now, and the room temp is about 70F to 75F.

What is going on here?
If you have not added extra fans to cool the unit, downclock it back to the original setting NOW! An overclocked unit is not able to cool itself sufficiently without extra fans. You need to add extra fans or you are going to damage the unit.

Decentralize EVERYTHING!
jjj0923
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2014, 04:36:25 AM
 #595

just a little fyi

8 pm marked my first full week mining with the S1 - hardly any downtime except for 2 hours when I moved it from home to a data center (where I have two 72u cabinets)

bitcoinx estimated weekly income at $418 USD - my first week was $488 on slush's pool.

just an fyi:

with difficulty increases - break even will be about 9 weeks....

Smiley

Lifeforce Pools : http://www.lifeforce.info
Earthcoin :http://eac.lifeforce.info -  Netcoin:  http://net.lifeforce.info - Hundred Coin Pool : http://100.lifeforce.info
Redoakcoin Pool : http://roc.lifeforce.info Guldencoin http://nlg.lifeforce.info also Worldcoin, Guncoin, NOBL, USDe, Tagcoin, Topcoin , Tagcoin , Credits, Goldcoin & Hobonickels
PhilippeD
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10

Bitmain login : philBTC


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2014, 02:25:33 PM
 #596


Bitmain login : philBTC - My Miners : AntMiner S2
PhilippeD
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10

Bitmain login : philBTC


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2014, 03:43:45 PM
 #597

can someone tell me if this is normal.  ghash.io tells me i am running at 180ghs, but my hw errors are so high.

http://postimg.org/image/wj6f3r6o9/full

No, you have not high errors, you have low errors : 0,3% is low not high !

The simple formule to calculate errors is : HW / DiffA x 100




Bitmain login : philBTC - My Miners : AntMiner S2
shaxs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 19, 2014, 04:00:51 PM
 #598

can someone tell me if this is normal.  ghash.io tells me i am running at 180ghs, but my hw errors are so high.

http://postimg.org/image/wj6f3r6o9/full

No, you have not high errors, you have low errors : 0,3% is low not high !

The simple formule to calculate errors is : HW / DiffA x 100





No the formula would be:

HW / (HW + DiffA + DiffR) *100.
fredsbend
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 19, 2014, 09:43:58 PM
 #599

just a little fyi

8 pm marked my first full week mining with the S1 - hardly any downtime except for 2 hours when I moved it from home to a data center (where I have two 72u cabinets)

bitcoinx estimated weekly income at $418 USD - my first week was $488 on slush's pool.

By my math, you must have four or five S1's. Right now, a single S1 should average 0.1701 BTC per week (assuming overclocked to 200). At today's rate of about $615 you make about $100 per week.

Bitcoin? Looks like fun.
shaxs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 19, 2014, 09:44:42 PM
 #600

just a little fyi

8 pm marked my first full week mining with the S1 - hardly any downtime except for 2 hours when I moved it from home to a data center (where I have two 72u cabinets)

bitcoinx estimated weekly income at $418 USD - my first week was $488 on slush's pool.

By my math, you must have four or five S1's. Right now, a single S1 should average 0.1701 BTC per week (assuming overclocked to 200). At today's rate of about $615 you make about $100 per week.

Yep about right. Thats what I figured as well.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!