Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 12:52:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 143939 times)
Gamer67
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294

тσ ¢σιи σя иσт тσ ¢σιи?


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 05:27:56 AM
 #301

I am going to remove all of my # now

Hello 1TH



To the moon Smiley


*Just kidding

"I am not Dorian Nakamoto."
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513039921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513039921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513039921
Reply with quote  #2

1513039921
Report to moderator
1513039921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513039921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513039921
Reply with quote  #2

1513039921
Report to moderator
1513039921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513039921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513039921
Reply with quote  #2

1513039921
Report to moderator
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 06:11:17 AM
 #302

Something strange happened while overclocking today.  I forgot to put the # in front of the 350.  So I had both 375 and 350 running at the same time.  When I first rebooted the miner, for a couple of minutes it was running at 532Ghs, I should have took a screen shot.  It finally came down to 400, then 300 and around 210.  I was having no HW pop at all, and it was still running at 350.  Any thoughts about this.  If i continued with both of them, would I damage chips?  Thanks in advance..

the averaging system can report strangely at times, espescially during the first 10-15 minutes. Ive seen 800GH in the 5s and 300GH average before at about 15min into use, but the pool was 200GH. it quickly/eventually settled to a correct average

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Share2Care
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 09:38:09 AM
 #303

After logging in via SSH the following steps:
1. type:  "cd /etc/config"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
2. type: "vim asic-freq"(without the quotes) and hit enter.
3. hit I button to enable "edit mode" and adjust the settings, lines beginning with # are ignored.
4. after you're done hit the ESC button to exit "edit mode".
5. type ":wq" (without the quotes) to execute write and quit.
6. you'll be back in the command line, type reboot to restart your device.

You can check your frequency in the web interface miner status page.
If everything went ok, you're mining with higher speed Smiley

Then you can donate to me for providing you with extra steps to unleash ultimate hashing power Tongue 15j3fDzunHtoTsDH7MAKQQiG95q5yWYTfk

Keep looking at your HW errors to make sure your device isn't frying up.
I've added some tiny heatsinks, and running 400Mhz but still 3.3% HW error.
But my Antminer is using the Corsair AX860 80+ Platinum PSU and @400Mhz it's sucking around 395W out of the wall-socket Smiley

Complete newbie question, but when you say login to ssh, is that just logging into the Antminer?

Where can I find the area that enables me to modify the scripts~?

Many thanks for your help gents & ladies Smiley
Darthswan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Best IoT Platform Based on Blockchain


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 10:11:48 AM
 #304

I am going to remove all of my # now

Hello 1TH



To the moon Smiley


*Just kidding


LOL. 


     
     ██
    ███
  █ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 █  ██
   



         ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
      ▄████████████████████▄
    ▄████████████████████████▄
   █████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀████
  ██████      ███████      █████
 █████████▌   ███████   █████████
▐█████████▌   ███████   █████████▌
████████                   ███████
▐███████▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄██████▌
 ██████████   ███████   █████████
  ██████▀▀▀   ███████   ▀▀▀█████
   █████      ███████      ████
    ▀████████████████████████▀
      ▀████████████████████▀
         ▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀


 
 ▄▄         ▄▄             ▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌           ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌     ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▌      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▄██████████▌   ▄███████████   ▄██████████
▐█████████████▌  ███▀     ▐██▌  ▐███▀     ███  ▐███▀
▐██▌       ▐██▌ ▐██▌      ▐██▌  ███▌      ███  ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌  ███▄     ▐██▌  ▐███▄     ███  ▐███▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▀██████████▌   ▀██████  ███   ▀██████████
▀▀         ▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀


██
███
███
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
 ██ 
  █

.......Whitepaper.......
.
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
FacebookTwitterBitcointalk
ScaryHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 02:15:01 PM
 #305

Hey guys, I have made a youtube video with step by step instructions on how to overclock your antminer. Check it out here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72FU4Z_n0B4



Great overclocking video vvhiteknight. Thank you. I'll send you a donation later on today (in LTC, too cheap for BTC  Grin)

GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 07:26:42 PM
 #306

Something strange happened while overclocking today.  I forgot to put the # in front of the 350.  So I had both 375 and 350 running at the same time.  When I first rebooted the miner, for a couple of minutes it was running at 532Ghs, I should have took a screen shot.  It finally came down to 400, then 300 and around 210.  I was having no HW pop at all, and it was still running at 350.  Any thoughts about this.  If i continued with both of them, would I damage chips?  Thanks in advance..

Im gonna go out on a limb and say its impossible to *damage* the chips w/ incorrect frequency settings. I know it can cause the clock gen to hang, depending on the incorrect setting, and require a power cycle *happened to me*.... but since we are just messing w/ clock gen and not voltage control....I doubt its possible to do long term damage via just clock settings.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 758


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2014, 08:38:52 PM
 #307

Sorry guys for the late response

Had a very busy work period and got not much time to play with the miners not look at the tweaks of them

Have added the various options and started slowly test some of them

You guys was ofcourse right with the either the freq file not being correct or that the cooling was

It was the cooling the minute i took the blue wire from the connector they started blowing like an idiot Cheesy

Which made a instant cooldown from 45 C to 29 C

The 387.5 was giving me a instant boost from 175 Gh to almost 195 Gh so i let the machine run with it.
But its somewhat early to tell the initial results are nice

However when i changed the values to the 393 settings the miner started to run slower. And the hw value goes up quick.
The same applies to the 400 setting, again i tested only shortly.
But in a few minutes both settings result in more hw errors and slower hash.

Before someone says its your psu .... i am sure its a very good one, it has feeded 3 x 7970 @ 1100 Mhz at litecoin mining with ease.
This NZXT hale 90 - 80+ Gold - 1000 watt, is not even start its fan to cool because its cold as ice.
(added test connected my enermax 1350 watt and same results)
 
Ofcourse the winter temps here to be near freezing and at some moments below -2 C help as well

[LAZY MODE] ON
How can i get the stats of the antminers onto a monitoring program like bamt had or something similar
And can scp be installed on these, so i can winscp into them from work as well Cheesy
[LAZY MODE] OFF
Darthswan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Best IoT Platform Based on Blockchain


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 09:46:22 PM
 #308

Something strange happened while overclocking today.  I forgot to put the # in front of the 350.  So I had both 375 and 350 running at the same time.  When I first rebooted the miner, for a couple of minutes it was running at 532Ghs, I should have took a screen shot.  It finally came down to 400, then 300 and around 210.  I was having no HW pop at all, and it was still running at 350.  Any thoughts about this.  If i continued with both of them, would I damage chips?  Thanks in advance..

Im gonna go out on a limb and say its impossible to *damage* the chips w/ incorrect frequency settings. I know it can cause the clock gen to hang, depending on the incorrect setting, and require a power cycle *happened to me*.... but since we are just messing w/ clock gen and not voltage control....I doubt its possible to do long term damage via just clock settings.

Thanks for the reply.  That's good to know.  I have 3 miners now overclocked.  Each miner is truly different.  I'm running them at 375M:

Antminer1   1816   3155840   3072      0.0575%
Antminer2   10   3132010   4379      0.0003%
Antminer3   1247   486225   869      0.2554%

I'm thinking about kicking #2 up to 400 just because of the extremely low HWI.  I wish the other's were like that.


     
     ██
    ███
  █ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 █  ██
   



         ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
      ▄████████████████████▄
    ▄████████████████████████▄
   █████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀████
  ██████      ███████      █████
 █████████▌   ███████   █████████
▐█████████▌   ███████   █████████▌
████████                   ███████
▐███████▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄██████▌
 ██████████   ███████   █████████
  ██████▀▀▀   ███████   ▀▀▀█████
   █████      ███████      ████
    ▀████████████████████████▀
      ▀████████████████████▀
         ▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀


 
 ▄▄         ▄▄             ▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌           ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌     ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▌      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▄██████████▌   ▄███████████   ▄██████████
▐█████████████▌  ███▀     ▐██▌  ▐███▀     ███  ▐███▀
▐██▌       ▐██▌ ▐██▌      ▐██▌  ███▌      ███  ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌  ███▄     ▐██▌  ▐███▄     ███  ▐███▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▀██████████▌   ▀██████  ███   ▀██████████
▀▀         ▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀


██
███
███
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
 ██ 
  █

.......Whitepaper.......
.
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
FacebookTwitterBitcointalk
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 758


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2014, 10:33:29 PM
 #309

The 2 boxes are running for 2 hours at 387 Mhz and result is


             Gh. avg  Accepted       HW   utility  discarded     localwork       wu      Temp

Box1       196        24,941       3,102     175         506      455,826     2,801      30, 31

Box2       198        31,570            58     173         630      584,426     2,782      31, 31


Anyone know what the red led means which starts burning after several hours mining ?

bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 758


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
January 26, 2014, 12:02:39 AM
 #310

I had this happen overnight as well on one of mine.  Temp on mine is 42 & 43 and it is sitting in an aircon server room.
Unit is definitely hashing away on 400 setting (202Gh/s) and pool reporting continual hashing data, so xxxx must be bogus in some way, or at least does not prove unit has stopped.  
I will join this club.

Woke this morning to:
xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx

Shut it down and let it sit for 5 minutes.

Now back to:
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo
oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo oooooooo

(at least for the moment...)

S1 had been running for >4 days constant.


I do not have them very long but i see them showing those each day, after reboot all seem ok.
but during a day they slowly change all into the x ....
When i reboot them they are back to o, the nasty part is they are only a few days in my posession.
Even changed the psu from 850w corsair to nzxt 1000w and my 1350w one.
Seems to keep coming back, not sure if the fix on the fan will help will see that tommorow.
Crossing fingers that will do the trick
BuildTheFuture
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 12:55:55 AM
 #311

Mine switches back and forth between all "o" and all "x". I just let it keep running without reboot, it eventually cycles back to the other one. (so far  Smiley )
ScaryHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 01:55:37 AM
 #312

Confirmed, using 375 MHz and 37 timeout is hashing at about 200 Ghash/s
        option 'freq_value'     '4e81'  #375M
        option 'chip_freq'      '375'         
        option 'timeout'        '37'

At 400 Mhz, I got way too many hardware errors, like 50%...so, I'm trying the 375 settings.

Dunno why that was so high errors, but I guess it's just the luck of the draw.
BuildTheFuture
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 02:56:40 AM
 #313

I wonder just out of curiosity, has anyone tried underclocking to 200 to see if it really hits anywhere near the claimed 0.68 J/GH on chip? Might become useful a few months from now when difficulty reaches the moon.
Darthswan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Best IoT Platform Based on Blockchain


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 03:05:52 AM
 #314

I wonder just out of curiosity, has anyone tried underclocking to 200 to see if it really hits anywhere near the claimed 0.68 J/GH on chip? Might become useful a few months from now when difficulty reaches the moon.

Sorry, I want bitcoins


     
     ██
    ███
  █ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 █  ██
   



         ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
      ▄████████████████████▄
    ▄████████████████████████▄
   █████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀████
  ██████      ███████      █████
 █████████▌   ███████   █████████
▐█████████▌   ███████   █████████▌
████████                   ███████
▐███████▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄██████▌
 ██████████   ███████   █████████
  ██████▀▀▀   ███████   ▀▀▀█████
   █████      ███████      ████
    ▀████████████████████████▀
      ▀████████████████████▀
         ▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀


 
 ▄▄         ▄▄             ▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌           ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌     ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▌      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▄██████████▌   ▄███████████   ▄██████████
▐█████████████▌  ███▀     ▐██▌  ▐███▀     ███  ▐███▀
▐██▌       ▐██▌ ▐██▌      ▐██▌  ███▌      ███  ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌  ███▄     ▐██▌  ▐███▄     ███  ▐███▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▀██████████▌   ▀██████  ███   ▀██████████
▀▀         ▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀


██
███
███
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
 ██ 
  █

.......Whitepaper.......
.
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
FacebookTwitterBitcointalk
Hippievogel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 08:58:16 AM
 #315

best psu to use is the ax860 for 2 antminers.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 10:33:09 AM
 #316

I wonder just out of curiosity, has anyone tried underclocking to 200 to see if it really hits anywhere near the claimed 0.68 J/GH on chip? Might become useful a few months from now when difficulty reaches the moon.
You'd also have to change out 8 resistors to lower the  voltage to the chips.
ineedit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 11:21:32 AM
 #317

Sorry guys for the late response
...
Which made a instant cooldown from 45 C to 29 C
....
Before someone says its your psu .... i am sure its a very good one, it has feeded 3 x 7970 @ 1100 Mhz at litecoin mining with ease.
This NZXT hale 90 - 80+ Gold - 1000 watt, is not even start its fan to cool because its cold as ice.
(added test connected my enermax 1350 watt and same results)
 
Ofcourse the winter temps here to be near freezing and at some moments below -2 C help as well

[LAZY MODE] ON
How can i get the stats of the antminers onto a monitoring program like bamt had or something similar
And can scp be installed on these, so i can winscp into them from work as well Cheesy
[LAZY MODE] OFF


What is the watts at the wall when running the fans at 100%?

scp is already part of openwrt, I use it to copy files between ants all the time.

If I have been help then please show your thanks         BTC: 127PRogAVZiV3fEmpJERh9KemK3a3Ffh6G         LTC: LXghFL8mZffpTFkm2nRTesuDrV5DJQP3Js
Darthswan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Best IoT Platform Based on Blockchain


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 01:26:00 PM
 #318

Well I'm over here fine tuning this clock speed here are the results after a 12 hours of running:

Antminer1   5586           1915520   2176      0.2904%   387M       195G
Antminer2   10242   1914541   3058      0.5313%   387M       195G
Antminer3   4529           1785578   1498      0.2528%   375M       191G

I'm getting a consistent 581 from the 3 of them.  When I try and go higher the errors get crazy.  I feel comfortable at these numbers.  The temps are in that 44C range.  I was thinking about taking two of them to 393, but I think I'm going to leave it here for now.  Curious as to you all's thoughts about these numbers.  Good, bad, can be pushed more? 

Thanks.


     
     ██
    ███
  █ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 █  ██
   



         ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
      ▄████████████████████▄
    ▄████████████████████████▄
   █████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀████
  ██████      ███████      █████
 █████████▌   ███████   █████████
▐█████████▌   ███████   █████████▌
████████                   ███████
▐███████▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄██████▌
 ██████████   ███████   █████████
  ██████▀▀▀   ███████   ▀▀▀█████
   █████      ███████      ████
    ▀████████████████████████▀
      ▀████████████████████▀
         ▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀


 
 ▄▄         ▄▄             ▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌           ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌     ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▌      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▄██████████▌   ▄███████████   ▄██████████
▐█████████████▌  ███▀     ▐██▌  ▐███▀     ███  ▐███▀
▐██▌       ▐██▌ ▐██▌      ▐██▌  ███▌      ███  ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌  ███▄     ▐██▌  ▐███▄     ███  ▐███▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▀██████████▌   ▀██████  ███   ▀██████████
▀▀         ▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀


██
███
███
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
 ██ 
  █

.......Whitepaper.......
.
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
FacebookTwitterBitcointalk
vvhiteknight
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 05:43:26 AM
 #319

Hey guys for those of you who are getting your antminers tomorrow I have a couple of videos on youtube which tell you how to setup and overclock your antminers so you can get them running and oced inside 10 minutes of getting them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akw9GAeIH5k

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=72FU4Z_n0B4

Check out the Youtube Channel Coin Central for Crypto related Tips, Tricks, Tutorials and News.

http://tinyurl.com/CoinCentral
thecr4ne
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 09:15:15 PM
 #320

Those of you running at 387.5 MHz,

Which hex code are you using? I re-read through this thread and found "5e82" and "5E85"
What timeout are you using?
How much power are you drawing?

Thanks.

BTC 1CzEKDmig6NMKR24vd4xhiGjwfHTEMKCCQ 
NMC N2tJxWkmgcXy8AKndBRtXUb2bfVNSsbsxk
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!