Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 10:42:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 143961 times)
Melech
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


Moloch.net


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2014, 07:24:56 PM
 #641

While testing my antminer OC, I worked out some numbers for various overclocking frequencies.  Here is what I have now in my /etc/config/asic-freq file:

        #option 'freq_value'    '4f81'  #205GHs (16x)
        #option 'chip_freq'     '400'
        #option 'timeout'       '35'

        #option 'freq_value'    '5f05'  #202GHs (15.75x)
        #option 'chip_freq'     '393.75'
        #option 'timeout'       '36'

        #option 'freq_value'    '5e85'  #198GHs (15.5x)
        #option 'chip_freq'     '387.5'
        #option 'timeout'       '37'

        option 'freq_value'    '5e05'  #195GHs (15.25x)
        option 'chip_freq'     '381.25'
        option 'timeout'       '37'

        #option 'freq_value'    '4e81'  #192GHs (15x)
        #option 'chip_freq'     '375'
        #option 'timeout'       '38'

        #option 'freq_value'    '5d05'  #188GHs (14.75x)
        #option 'chip_freq'     '368.75'
        #option 'timeout'       '38'

        #option 'freq_value'    '5c85'  #185GHs (14.5x)
        #option 'chip_freq'     '362.5'
        #option 'timeout'       '39'

        #option 'freq_value'    '5c05'  #182GHs (14.25x)
        #option 'chip_freq'     '356.25'
        #option 'timeout'       '39'

        #option 'freq_value'    '4d81'  #180GHs (14x) (default)
        #option 'chip_freq'     '350'
        #option 'timeout'       '40'


Mine seems to work best with 4e81 (375MHz, 192GHs, 0% error) or 5e05 (381.25MHz, 195GHs, 0.15% error)
Anything above 387MHz (5e85), gives me 5%+ error rate.  I suppose I can live with 195GHs.  I should also note that I am only using the stock fan, no extra cooling, reading 47/44C @2280Hz.

I have 0 HW errors with 0700, 4e81 or 5d85.  These should all be 375MHz.  Is one of these a more preferred value to use?

1513118539
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118539

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118539
Reply with quote  #2

1513118539
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513118539
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118539

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118539
Reply with quote  #2

1513118539
Report to moderator
1513118539
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513118539

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513118539
Reply with quote  #2

1513118539
Report to moderator
hanti
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 10:59:21 AM
 #642

thx  Melech Wink thats what i needed (lower values then 375,  highter then 350)

bitterdog
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 08:24:31 PM
 #643

There is a cgminer fix for HW errors in the github 4 days old... how do you update just the cgminer?


https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/tree/master/cgminer
solarion
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


FastInvest- Future of Digital Banking


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 09:15:40 PM
 #644

There is a cgminer fix for HW errors in the github 4 days old... how do you update just the cgminer?

clear
cd /usr/bin/
wget http://kano-kun.net/AntS1/cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
chmod +x cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
mv cgminer cgminer.original
ln -s cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4 cgminer

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS1

kano is a good egg. Wink


bitterdog
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 10:05:39 PM
 #645

There is a cgminer fix for HW errors in the github 4 days old... how do you update just the cgminer?

clear
cd /usr/bin/
wget http://kano-kun.net/AntS1/cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
chmod +x cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
mv cgminer cgminer.original
ln -s cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4 cgminer

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS1

kano is a good egg. Wink



thanks
Melech
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


Moloch.net


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2014, 10:34:33 PM
 #646

clear
cd /usr/bin/
wget http://kano-kun.net/AntS1/cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
chmod +x cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
mv cgminer cgminer.original
ln -s cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4 cgminer

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS1

kano is a good egg. Wink

I just did this, and I immediately noticed 2 things...

My temperature/fan reading has gone up from 47/44 @2100rpm to 49/45 @2280rpm.

I'm also now getting TONS of 'discarded' showing up.  I was getting 1 discard for every 8 accepted.  I'm now getting 2 discards for every 1 accepted. 

Is that bad?

solarion
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


FastInvest- Future of Digital Banking


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 10:41:45 PM
 #647

1) temp settings and controls on the bitmain were not working previously.

2) discard is effectively meaningless for stratum. Ignore it.

Melech
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


Moloch.net


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2014, 10:51:41 PM
 #648

1) temp settings and controls on the bitmain were not working previously.

2) discard is effectively meaningless for stratum. Ignore it.
I'm not sure what you mean the temp settings and controls were not working before.  I've always seen temp, and a fan speed.  The fan also speeds up according to the temp.  Is that not what you are referring to?

Thanks for the info on the discards.  It doesn't appear to impact performance according to the numbers I'm seeing on GHash.IO and Eligius.


Edit: I'm also not sure what the original cgminer version was.  I got my antminer s1 used.  The date on it is Jan 2014.

solarion
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


FastInvest- Future of Digital Banking


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 11:14:10 PM
 #649

I could have been more clear.

According to Kano, there was no code to disable or throttle the s1 in an overheat situation prior to the latest cgminer bitmain release(4.2).

Feb 07 firmware had cgminer v3.12 I believe.

Melech
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


Moloch.net


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2014, 11:20:22 PM
 #650

Ok, gotcha.  Sounds like that is just for overheating.

I suppose I won't worry about the slight increase in temps for now.  It's only ~1C warmer, and perhaps my ambient temperature went up slightly.

Thanks for your help

MichelG
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 03:00:19 PM
 #651

clear
cd /usr/bin/
wget http://kano-kun.net/AntS1/cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
chmod +x cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
mv cgminer cgminer.original
ln -s cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4 cgminer

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS1

kano is a good egg. Wink

I just did this, and I immediately noticed 2 things...

My temperature/fan reading has gone up from 47/44 @2100rpm to 49/45 @2280rpm.

I'm also now getting TONS of 'discarded' showing up.  I was getting 1 discard for every 8 accepted.  I'm now getting 2 discards for every 1 accepted. 

Is that bad?

Hi Melech, I installed the same FW on my Ants, and as you said, the temperature increased from 4/5C leaving the S1s at 48/50C @ 2220rpm. I use them to eat my home, and I get a nice 21-22C in the whole house  Tongue Grin

Michel

BTC : 1LaSeFpa8kQ18mVrHikcLhW3C3x9H5TJU6
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 04:07:20 PM
 #652

There is a cgminer fix for HW errors in the github 4 days old... how do you update just the cgminer?

clear
cd /usr/bin/
wget http://kano-kun.net/AntS1/cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
chmod +x cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
mv cgminer cgminer.original
ln -s cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4 cgminer

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS1

kano is a good egg. Wink


How could I implement this across 14 different units at once?  its a pain to open up 14 SSH modules and input these steps one at a time for each.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
March 29, 2014, 04:20:14 PM
 #653

There is a cgminer fix for HW errors in the github 4 days old... how do you update just the cgminer?

clear
cd /usr/bin/
wget http://kano-kun.net/AntS1/cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
chmod +x cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
mv cgminer cgminer.original
ln -s cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4 cgminer

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS1

kano is a good egg. Wink


How could I implement this across 14 different units at once?  its a pain to open up 14 SSH modules and input these steps one at a time for each.

No one said it'd be easy Wink

Check out dsh (distributed shell)

apt-get install dsh

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 06:23:26 PM
 #654

There is a cgminer fix for HW errors in the github 4 days old... how do you update just the cgminer?

clear
cd /usr/bin/
wget http://kano-kun.net/AntS1/cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
chmod +x cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
mv cgminer cgminer.original
ln -s cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4 cgminer

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS1

kano is a good egg. Wink


How could I implement this across 14 different units at once?  its a pain to open up 14 SSH modules and input these steps one at a time for each.

No one said it'd be easy Wink

Check out dsh (distributed shell)

apt-get install dsh

^perfect, that the sort of thing i was looking for. Anyone have experiences where th epdate requires the miners to be downclocked a little bit? Mine generally are all set at various speeds from 375Mhz to 400Mhz and I want to make sure the update wont cause some of them to immediately become troublesome.

all my maintenance is remote (teamviewer to a local PC that runs a putty SSH)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Melech
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


Moloch.net


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2014, 10:21:56 PM
 #655

I just upgraded the fan(s) on my antminer so I decided to post the details of my experimenting.
I purchased 2x http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103192 from newegg.
The specs on the fans: 95CFM @36dBA @2000RPM, ??CFM @28dBA @1600RPM, 52CFM @19dBA @1200RPM.

First, I tried adding the second fan as is.  All it would do is try to spin and stop.  It never stayed spinning for more than a 3-5 seconds.  This was because the PWM is based off the main fan, which has a higher range of RPM, so my second fan wasn't getting enough volts.

Next I tried using the 1600RPM "Silent Mode Adapter" that came with the fan.  This worked, and lowered my temps from 49/47 to 46/43.  My primary fan also lowered from 2280 to 1980 RPM as a result of lower temps.

Then I tried replacing the original fan with the second fan I got from newegg.  I did not use the RPM adapters, and let PWM do it's thing.  Fan speed was slow, only 700-900 RPM, and temps rose above 52 in a few minutes, so I aborted this test.

Next, I used the 1200RPM adapter on both fans.  Fan speed reported ~1200RPM, and temps were 52/50 after 30 min.

Lastly, I used the 1600RPM adapter on both fans.  Fan speed reporting 1800RPM with temps of 45/43 after 30 mins.


Conclusion: with 2 of these fans using the supplied 1600RPM adapters, I dropped my temps by ~5C, and noise level by ~10db (guessing).  Now my antminer is not any louder than my computer.

ps. These fans could run faster if, instead of using the 1600RPM adapter, I remove the 4th pin from the fan power connector. This would make the fan(s) always run at full speed (2000RPM).  I did not try this since my temps/noise are great using the 1600RPM adapter that came with the fans.

DevonMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 459



View Profile
March 29, 2014, 11:06:49 PM
 #656

ps. These fans could run faster if, instead of using the 1600RPM adapter, I remove the 4th pin from the fan power connector. This would make the fan(s) always run at full speed (2000RPM).  I did not try this since my temps/noise are great using the 1600RPM adapter that came with the fans.

Running fans at full speed doesn't make a lot of noise (or use more electricity). I have several Ants running with full speed fans (one at each end) to pull the air through. Just removed the stock fan and replaced with two Akasa 140mm on 120mm body fans.

http://www.akasa.co.uk/update.php?tpl=product/product.detail.tpl&no=181&type=Fans&type_sub=PWM%20Control&model=AK-FN073

They work well, and also cool the outside of the blades a little because of their size. Air flow is 4 degrees C warmer from input to output.

The stock fans are amazing at 125CFM+, but the Akasa fans have 109.55 CFM ... and having one on each end seems works well for me.

Melech
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


Moloch.net


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2014, 11:13:08 PM
 #657

Running fans at full speed doesn't make a lot of noise (or use more electricity).
Not true at all.  A fan running at 4000RPM produces WAY WAY WAY MORE noise than a fan running at 2000RPM.  It also uses more electricity.  The stock fan that comes with the antminer is rated for 1A@12v.  That'll spin up to 4000+RPM.  The fans I replaced mine with, max out at 0.4A, which only lets them spin up to 2000RPM max.  I'm running them ~1600RPM, which should only use about 0.3A.  There is a direct relation between amps, rpms, and db's.

If your alaska fans are not louder than the stock fan, it's because your alaska fan maxes out at 1600RPM (probably around 0.4A since it's a 140mm fan).  It's rated for 21.7dBA at full speed, which is about the noise level of the stock fan spinning at 1000RPM.  Crank that stock fan up to 4000+RPM and tell me it's not loud...

AngusCanine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092

https://bitcy.biz/?ref=CryptoKlepto


View Profile
March 30, 2014, 03:55:54 AM
 #658

s1 miner config and stats. I have miner configured but 0 gh/s it has a few get work, some discarded, but not seeing it on my pool

AngusCanine
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092

https://bitcy.biz/?ref=CryptoKlepto


View Profile
March 30, 2014, 03:58:04 AM
 #659

s1 miner config and stats. I have miner configured but 0 gh/s it has a few get work, some discarded, but not seeing it on my pool


im using a antec earth watts (650) with dual rails this should be enough to power the miner

fasbit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418

./fasbit


View Profile WWW
March 30, 2014, 03:31:35 PM
 #660

There is a cgminer fix for HW errors in the github 4 days old... how do you update just the cgminer?

clear
cd /usr/bin/
wget http://kano-kun.net/AntS1/cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
chmod +x cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4
mv cgminer cgminer.original
ln -s cgminer-ants1-4.2.0-00567a4 cgminer

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/tree/master/AntS1

kano is a good egg. Wink


How could I implement this across 14 different units at once?  its a pain to open up 14 SSH modules and input these steps one at a time for each.

This will work in MOSIX.

./fasbit
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!