Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 06:09:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BITMAIN Antminer S1 support and OverClocking thread  (Read 143971 times)
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 04:04:34 AM
 #241

I haven't managed to control the fan yet, but for those who don't care about noise and want better cooling you can just remove the blue wire from the fan connector (or cut it, if you're lazy). Just use a small precision flat blade screwdriver and push in the little locking tab at the back of the 4 pin fan connector. In the absence of a PWM signal the fan just spins up to full speed, which the Antminer is reporting as 3900RPM. Doing that dropped my temps from 47 to 35 at 400MHz.
1513145349
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513145349

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513145349
Reply with quote  #2

1513145349
Report to moderator
1513145349
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513145349

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513145349
Reply with quote  #2

1513145349
Report to moderator
1513145349
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513145349

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513145349
Reply with quote  #2

1513145349
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513145349
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513145349

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513145349
Reply with quote  #2

1513145349
Report to moderator
ineedit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 01:01:01 PM
 #242

I know it's a dumb question....but how exactly does one calculate the HW error rate? No matter what values from the posted screen-shots I use, I never get the correspond HW error rate.
 
...

The formula is HW / (HW + DiffA + Diffr + DiffS) = %

If I have been help then please show your thanks         BTC: 127PRogAVZiV3fEmpJERh9KemK3a3Ffh6G         LTC: LXghFL8mZffpTFkm2nRTesuDrV5DJQP3Js
gsmline
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 04:54:53 PM
 #243

when I got it today antminer as a heap?
ineedit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 06:21:01 PM
 #244

I knew I read this somewhere but I could not remember where but I have found it whilst looking for clues on tuning the Ant's

Future: We are designing a type of new control board based on ARM A8. When it is ready, the chain number can be up to 16, and the chip number can be up to 256 per chain.

https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/blob/master/PCB/README.md

If I have been help then please show your thanks         BTC: 127PRogAVZiV3fEmpJERh9KemK3a3Ffh6G         LTC: LXghFL8mZffpTFkm2nRTesuDrV5DJQP3Js
ineedit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 11:06:04 AM
 #245

Here I come with my conclusion.

According to 'AntMiner U1 Manual' (I assumed that it's also for AntMiner S1 too)

...
To play safe, 400 MHz is the best one (for me for now), with relatively low HW error and stated in the manual+FAQ. =)

Are you taking into account the calculation that is made in /etc/init.d/cgminer which occurs between the setting in the asic-freq file and the inclusion of the values used in the --bitmain-options which would be similar to those in the AntMiner U1 Manual. The calculation is

    #TO=$(( 12690 / $_cf ))
    #_cf = 25 *((($_regv >> 7)&0x7f) + 1)/(((($_regv >> 2) & 0x1f) + 1) * (0x1 << (&_regv & 0x3)))

Where

    _regv freq_value
    _cf  chip_freq
    _TO  timeout

and included in the cgminer command string

 --bitmain-options 115200:32:8:$_T0:$_cf:$_regv

If I have been help then please show your thanks         BTC: 127PRogAVZiV3fEmpJERh9KemK3a3Ffh6G         LTC: LXghFL8mZffpTFkm2nRTesuDrV5DJQP3Js
FortuneNVirtue
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 01:22:54 PM
 #246

In short, 'AntMiner U1' in AntMiner U1 user guide and 'AntMiner S1' in AntMiner FAQ
have the same frequency and the frequency hex such as

'4D81' for 350MHz, '4F81' for 400MHz, '5081' for 425MHz, and so on.

https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/tree/master/manual

Focusing for the Frequency and Frequecy HEX, they share the same values. (I think the calculation/equation should be the same)
So, if I find some specific MHz for U1, I assume that I should be able to apply it to S1,too.
ineedit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 03:19:58 PM
 #247

In short, 'AntMiner U1' in AntMiner U1 user guide and 'AntMiner S1' in AntMiner FAQ
have the same frequency and the frequency hex such as

'4D81' for 350MHz, '4F81' for 400MHz, '5081' for 425MHz, and so on.

https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/tree/master/manual

Focusing for the Frequency and Frequecy HEX, they share the same values. (I think the calculation/equation should be the same)
So, if I find some specific MHz for U1, I assume that I should be able to apply it to S1,too.

As arguments to the cgminer executable, yes.

But the entries in the asic-freq are used in the function in the /etc/init.d/cgminer script and modified before they get passed to the cgminer executable.


If I have been help then please show your thanks         BTC: 127PRogAVZiV3fEmpJERh9KemK3a3Ffh6G         LTC: LXghFL8mZffpTFkm2nRTesuDrV5DJQP3Js
Aexcu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 128


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 08:31:43 PM
 #248

Future: We are designing a type of new control board based on ARM A8. When it is ready, the chain number can be up to 16, and the chip number can be up to 256 per chain.


Could this imply that they are actually (possibly) building a board which has 256 ASICs compared to the existing 32? That'd be 8x more, meaning 720 GH/s per blade. 16 blades would thus equal to 11.520 TH/s.

Maybe they have a 1.44 TH/s AntMiner S2 (2 blades rack model) under works?
Darthswan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 492


Best IoT Platform Based on Blockchain


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 08:45:01 PM
 #249

Good Afternoon,

I'm in now looking at over clocking my S1.  Only problem is, I'm not completely familiar with the process.  I do have extra fans for my miner, so I can keep the heat down.  One question I have, in the op, the build dates of the machines, does that matter?  I ask because I got my machine much later.  I know you have to SSH your way into the miner, what are the proper command props?  Is it a cut and paste, or more?  Thanks for your assistance in advance.


     
     ██
    ███
  █ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 █  ██
   



         ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
      ▄████████████████████▄
    ▄████████████████████████▄
   █████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀████
  ██████      ███████      █████
 █████████▌   ███████   █████████
▐█████████▌   ███████   █████████▌
████████                   ███████
▐███████▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄██████▌
 ██████████   ███████   █████████
  ██████▀▀▀   ███████   ▀▀▀█████
   █████      ███████      ████
    ▀████████████████████████▀
      ▀████████████████████▀
         ▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀


 
 ▄▄         ▄▄             ▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌           ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌     ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▌      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▄██████████▌   ▄███████████   ▄██████████
▐█████████████▌  ███▀     ▐██▌  ▐███▀     ███  ▐███▀
▐██▌       ▐██▌ ▐██▌      ▐██▌  ███▌      ███  ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌  ███▄     ▐██▌  ▐███▄     ███  ▐███▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▀██████████▌   ▀██████  ███   ▀██████████
▀▀         ▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀


██
███
███
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
 ██ 
  █

.......Whitepaper.......
.
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
FacebookTwitterBitcointalk
Darthswan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 492


Best IoT Platform Based on Blockchain


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 09:54:21 PM
 #250

I'm now overclocking.  I'm in that 190G to 195G range.  Good learning curve.  Now I'm ready for my next machine.



     
     ██
    ███
  █ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 █  ██
   



         ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
      ▄████████████████████▄
    ▄████████████████████████▄
   █████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀████
  ██████      ███████      █████
 █████████▌   ███████   █████████
▐█████████▌   ███████   █████████▌
████████                   ███████
▐███████▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄██████▌
 ██████████   ███████   █████████
  ██████▀▀▀   ███████   ▀▀▀█████
   █████      ███████      ████
    ▀████████████████████████▀
      ▀████████████████████▀
         ▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀


 
 ▄▄         ▄▄             ▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌           ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌     ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▌      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▄██████████▌   ▄███████████   ▄██████████
▐█████████████▌  ███▀     ▐██▌  ▐███▀     ███  ▐███▀
▐██▌       ▐██▌ ▐██▌      ▐██▌  ███▌      ███  ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌  ███▄     ▐██▌  ▐███▄     ███  ▐███▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▀██████████▌   ▀██████  ███   ▀██████████
▀▀         ▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀


██
███
███
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
 ██ 
  █

.......Whitepaper.......
.
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
FacebookTwitterBitcointalk
wickedsick
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 465


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 03:35:33 PM
 #251

i got a nice spike Smiley)

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 04:16:15 PM
 #252

Good Afternoon,

I'm in now looking at over clocking my S1.  Only problem is, I'm not completely familiar with the process.  I do have extra fans for my miner, so I can keep the heat down.  One question I have, in the op, the build dates of the machines, does that matter?  I ask because I got my machine much later.  I know you have to SSH your way into the miner, what are the proper command props?  Is it a cut and paste, or more?  Thanks for your assistance in advance.


the instructions are available, but basically:
-SSH in using port 22, u/p is root/root
- 'vi /etc/config/asic-freq' enters the editor for the file
- 'i' key enters edit mode - go ahead and make the changes
-'ESC' returns to view mode
- ':wq!' writes the file and quits the editor
-reboot

I find that 400MHz gives around 201-203GH and 387.5MHz gives about 196-198GH

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Darthswan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 492


Best IoT Platform Based on Blockchain


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 06:03:52 PM
 #253

Good Afternoon,

I'm in now looking at over clocking my S1.  Only problem is, I'm not completely familiar with the process.  I do have extra fans for my miner, so I can keep the heat down.  One question I have, in the op, the build dates of the machines, does that matter?  I ask because I got my machine much later.  I know you have to SSH your way into the miner, what are the proper command props?  Is it a cut and paste, or more?  Thanks for your assistance in advance.


the instructions are available, but basically:
-SSH in using port 22, u/p is root/root
- 'vi /etc/config/asic-freq' enters the editor for the file
- 'i' key enters edit mode - go ahead and make the changes
-'ESC' returns to view mode
- ':wq!' writes the file and quits the editor
-reboot

I find that 400MHz gives around 201-203GH and 387.5MHz gives about 196-198GH


Thanks Klondike_Bar.

I figured it out yesterday.  I'm been average 190 to 200. 


     
     ██
    ███
  █ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 █  ██
   



         ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
      ▄████████████████████▄
    ▄████████████████████████▄
   █████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀████
  ██████      ███████      █████
 █████████▌   ███████   █████████
▐█████████▌   ███████   █████████▌
████████                   ███████
▐███████▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄██████▌
 ██████████   ███████   █████████
  ██████▀▀▀   ███████   ▀▀▀█████
   █████      ███████      ████
    ▀████████████████████████▀
      ▀████████████████████▀
         ▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀


 
 ▄▄         ▄▄             ▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌           ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌     ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▌      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▄██████████▌   ▄███████████   ▄██████████
▐█████████████▌  ███▀     ▐██▌  ▐███▀     ███  ▐███▀
▐██▌       ▐██▌ ▐██▌      ▐██▌  ███▌      ███  ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌  ███▄     ▐██▌  ▐███▄     ███  ▐███▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▀██████████▌   ▀██████  ███   ▀██████████
▀▀         ▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀


██
███
███
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
 ██ 
  █

.......Whitepaper.......
.
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
FacebookTwitterBitcointalk
Cheeseater
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 09:45:17 PM
 #254

Has anyone ran across an Ant that just isn't happy at 400? I have 3 others running at 400 with 200gh and low HW errors but one is just not a happy camper. Lowered it it to 375 and it's running the same speed it was at 400 around 190 now with very low HW errors. Just curious if anyone else has come across a mule as well.
Darthswan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 492


Best IoT Platform Based on Blockchain


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 10:52:06 PM
 #255

Has anyone ran across an Ant that just isn't happy at 400? I have 3 others running at 400 with 200gh and low HW errors but one is just not a happy camper. Lowered it it to 375 and it's running the same speed it was at 400 around 190 now with very low HW errors. Just curious if anyone else has come across a mule as well.

My miner didn't like 400 at all, way to many errors.  At 375, i'm getting 400 numbers.


     
     ██
    ███
  █ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 ██ ███
 █  ██
   



         ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
      ▄████████████████████▄
    ▄████████████████████████▄
   █████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀████
  ██████      ███████      █████
 █████████▌   ███████   █████████
▐█████████▌   ███████   █████████▌
████████                   ███████
▐███████▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄██████▌
 ██████████   ███████   █████████
  ██████▀▀▀   ███████   ▀▀▀█████
   █████      ███████      ████
    ▀████████████████████████▀
      ▀████████████████████▀
         ▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀


 
 ▄▄         ▄▄             ▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌           ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌     ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▌      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▄██████████▌   ▄███████████   ▄██████████
▐█████████████▌  ███▀     ▐██▌  ▐███▀     ███  ▐███▀
▐██▌       ▐██▌ ▐██▌      ▐██▌  ███▌      ███  ███▌
▐██▌       ▐██▌  ███▄     ▐██▌  ▐███▄     ███  ▐███▄
▐██▌       ▐██▌   ▀██████████▌   ▀██████  ███   ▀██████████
▀▀         ▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀


██
███
███
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
███ ██
 ██ 
  █

.......Whitepaper.......
.
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.
FacebookTwitterBitcointalk
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 758


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 11:42:21 PM
 #256

Well i see the miner doing avg 175 Gh
So i thought why does it go so slow
Read the whole thing about changing the file in the miner
When i looked at that given file i see that it already has the numbers given
Still the boxes do not go faster then around 175 Gh on average
Not even close to 190 at all, anyone has a clue why they run so slow ?!?!?
Both boxes do run about 45 to 48 c with the fans doing 1800 rpm
Cheeseater
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 01:52:28 AM
 #257

Did you remove the # signs from in front of the 400 values and place them in front of the 350 values?
freebit13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546

I got Satoshi's avatar!


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 11:36:01 AM
 #258

Has anyone ran across an Ant that just isn't happy at 400? I have 3 others running at 400 with 200gh and low HW errors but one is just not a happy camper. Lowered it it to 375 and it's running the same speed it was at 400 around 190 now with very low HW errors. Just curious if anyone else has come across a mule as well.

My miner didn't like 400 at all, way to many errors.  At 375, i'm getting 400 numbers.
Yeah, same here, but I'm sure it's down to the power supply and cooling... the stock fan seems to be happy to keep the chips around 45deg, but they run much better at lower temps.

Decentralize EVERYTHING!
marcocoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 11:48:09 AM
 #259

This thread is for support related discussions of the BITMAIN Antminer S2 hashing device

How to overclock your miner to 400MHz / 205GH/s. My suggestion is to clock them at 375. 400 is a bit too harsh on the voltage regulator.
All clock speeds including 375MHz work on both revision of boards.

The miner will draw 500 - 525Watts at the wall (110V mains) after this setting

....

Please donate if it works for you: 1FrW5ka9CRVWdL9EM4Jut9eHWU1a1biyy5

Hi,

Is there a special Btmain Antminer U1 support thread for Wndows users?

Thanks
slasher71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 03:01:26 PM
 #260

Can anyone tell me the timeouts for these frequencies for Build date 2013/11/18
  
375     MHz    '4E81'   '38'
387.5   MHz    '5E85'   ''
393.75 MHz    '5F05'   ''
400     MHz    '4F81'   '35'  
406.25 MHz    '6005'   ''
412.5  MHz     '6085'   ''
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!